Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #18 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 730ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Hardcore disc golf!

1    5/2/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW! This course was fantastic!

You looking for challenge? Nocky has it.

How 'bout natural beauty? You found it.

This monster demands respect yet treats its guests with fair play and beautiful, rugged terrain.

The reputation of Nockamixon's long, narrow fairways had me skeptical upon arrival. There is not much that irks me more on a course than ridiculously convoluted fairways. This course is fair. Whew. My biggest concern behind me.

Now the bonuses kept rolling in.

The diversity was through the roof. There was nice elevation, including a shot out toward the boat docks to a pin precariously perched on a relatively steep hillside. Hole 7 is a nice 400+ ft, par 3, sail shot and hole 14 offered a gorgeous right hook shot through some early trees, over the creek, down to a reachable pin. Hole 10 was a sick, hard left hook that continued hooking for about 800ft. I wont bore with a hole by hole breakdown but I can assure you, the diversity kicked ass.

The rough was exactly as it should be. It makes your next shot tougher but you should leave with your entire bag of discs.

The mental aspect of this course is not to be underestimated. You will be presented with options on some holes but typically you will need to choose, and more importantly HOLD, long lines to achieve par. Pick your landing zones well. Don't expect pitch and putts or ace runs here.

I felt navigation was a breeze. Really, it was about the only simple thing on this course. The handcrafted signage and next tee signs were spot on.
Cons: The rocky ground can make footing a bitch. If you have weak ankles, wear shoes/boots with good ankle support. It's wise to take your time while choosing your paces in some spots.

This isn't really a con but this is not a course for everyone. Trust me, Nocky will beat down anyone lacking a solid, well rounded game.
Other Thoughts: This course really left an impression. It has so much to offer. I very much look forward to a chance to get back to play this one.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

1    2/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've ever played.

The course is long, and really well layed out. Lots of wooded holes, some nice water holes, and a few wide open holes keep things interesting. You need a perfect combination of power and precision to play well here.

It's a wooded monster with a lot of great views, and more variety than most.
Cons: I think it could use a few more water hazards to make things even more interesting.
Other Thoughts: This and sankanac are my favorite eastern PA courses by far.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven

1    9/8/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 44  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow...
-Extemely diverse: Each hole has a very unique personality...tight wood, open wood, tunnel shots, open field, major elevation changes, major demand for perfect execution amd accuracy...this is a course that will absolutely not bore you with repetition.
-Very difficult: The course without hesitation became my new benchmark when evaluating my level of playing. So long as you can direct your disc well and are willing to play smarter and not always go for a shot Chuck Norris would, you can survive here, though I recommend beginners to develop your game elsewhere. For intermediates, advanced, and open players...many throws/lines, every disc.
-Stunning vistas: hole 6 basket>lake view is breath taking and really steals the thunder from an otherwise beautiful look from tee #7 down a large hill with a tight fairway, lake on the right. The whole course is filled with grade A scenery..where to begin..see it for yourself, I can't do that for you.
-Good rubber tee pads and signs: most tee pads were in good shape and signs were effective in visually describing the hole (especially since on most holes, the basket is not viewable from tee pad). It was easy to find next tee as well.
-Narrow fairways that usually have one or two reasonable gaps.
-Wasn't busy on a fair weathered mid afternoon Saturday in early September.
-indoor bathrooms and a water fountain near tee pads #1/10
-very natural feel to the course: not too many times where there was much need for maintenance. Most fairways are mixture of rocks and grass, so there was only a few holes with a need to mow and maintain (they were maintained well).
-Almost everything I could ask for out of a DG course, except a low score ;)
Cons: -Don't mess up: hard to recover here...score can take a beating if you tree out early due to big distance and high expectations of par here.
-Though super cool when visible enough to add to the landscape, many of the fairways are covered in small rocks that make walking tricky at times. Be careful not to twist an ankle.
-No scorecards available to my knowledge.
-No trash cans on course: littering was not bad, but a trash can halfway through front and back nine couldn't hurt.
I can barely criticize this course....demands a great performance but otherwise unbelievable all around.
Other Thoughts: It's like this course tells a story. It's rare that a course has enough of a natural landscape and environment to provide the variety Nockamixon does. What a great experience.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Love this course and try to play it every time i am on the east coast. Very challangeing mentaly and physchialy (humidty can be rough).
Cons: Holds water after rain, some review say soggy but i found it downright wet. I was prepaired and it wasnt an issue.
Other Thoughts: Definatly not recomended for beginners, and can make the best of us breakdown, but its the challange that will keep you coming back. Great place to grab a beer and food about 2 miles down the road.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Measuring Stick

5+    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Designed by disc golfers for disc golfers, this course has it all. Well defined fairways, excellent topography, and a large variety of hole layouts. I am relatively new to the sport, and this course is the measuring stick I use to define if I am actually improving as a player. If you think you've improved your accuracy and/or driving distance, this is the place where you will notice. The environment is beautiful, particularly on the back 9. Baskets are in good shape and clearly labeled. Tee pads are rubber, but in good shape overall. Even though it can get crowded, the layout makes you feel like you are all alone out there. The course was very clean overall. Love the new hand drawn tee signs, awesome addition to the course that addressed a major shortcoming. Each hole is very unique and memorable.
Cons: Hard to come up with many, non concrete tee pads are the only reason I do not rate this course a 5 (I appreciate it would be impossible to get concrete to some of the tee areas).
Other Thoughts: Playing here is definitely an experience. If you live anywhere is the area, you must play this course at some point. Prepare for a workout, and budget at least two hours to get through 18 holes. I like how the course wraps back around to the parking lot/restrooms after 9 holes so you can go back to your car if you need to for a snack or change of clothes. Bring extra shoes, it can be quite soggy.

Nockamixon definitely penalizes errant drives into the woods. Finding your disc is a challenge (the rocks and pond on hole 17 especially come to mind, as do the thickets on hole 7) and if you do find it, getting back out to the fairway is no picnic. Some holes are epically long and require perfect execution from rec players to even think about par. Due to the nature of many fairways (rocks), one cannot run up on 2nd and 3rd shots, which really tests your ability to throw for distance from a standing position. Not purely a grip it/rip it course, accuracy is essential as well. I would encourage new players to start somewhere else first, and then come here. Playing a first round here may be enough to discourage a new player from pursuing the sport further due to the difficulty Nockamixon presents.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly lengthy course, about 9000ft for 18 holes. Challenging to say the least. This course is definitely not for beginners or novices.I have been playing for a little while, but I took a friend who never really plays and he had fun but didn't even attempt to keep score. I like a challenge so I didn't mind.
- A very technical course, you have to hit the fairways or you will be in trouble. Puts course management skills at a premium.
- Great terrain, elevation changes, mostly fairly wooded, but a couple of open holes.
- Tees are rubber, they are decent, not the best, but netter than gravel.
- The baskets are in good shape, love the hole with the basket hanging from a tree.
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate around, especially if you have never played there before.
- No fairway or basket maps at the tee pads- I had to just guess where the pins were on a couple of holes and just throw.
- The next hole can be hard to find at times, There are no signs pointing you in the right direction, and there were no course maps available when I went.
Other Thoughts: This course could easily be rated higher. Most of the negatives of this course can be easily fixed.

This course demands that you be able to throw a myriad of shots. If you can throw hyzers, anhyzers, OH, rollers, and sidearm you will be at an advantage.

The terrain is very rocky, and I went when It was a little cold. The course was soaking wet and difficult to walk without stepping in a lot of mud and water. Bring proper footwear or you could be at a disadvantage, or at the very least just uncomfortable.

This course is a challenge. A prime example of the importance of accuracy over distance.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Great Experience

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2013
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: World Class caliber course located in a beautiful state park. Long, primarily wooded technical course with a few open holes that play out over rolling hills. Each hole is numbered and has good sized rubber tee pads and sturdy working baskets. There are dual pin placements at each hole. Distinct pathways between holes make navigation easy. There is great use of elevation and water OB; streams and a pond come into play throughout. Numerous outstanding holes including #6 (downhill shot to a sloped basket with Marina in the background), #7 (long straight downhill shot), #8 (uphill shot to a hanging basket), #12 (uphill shot over a stream), #13 (downhill shot to basket on the other side of a creek), #16 (moat behind basket) and #17 (long shot to basket on the edge of a pond). Many amenities here including log benches and bathroom facilities. Permanent signs added in 2012. Good layout, good variety and an overall great playing experience.
Cons: A few of the holes a bit TOO wooded with no real line to hit if your drive isn't perfect. There are a few safety issues here, most notably drives coming off hole 7 directly toward the hole 8 tee, and the parallel holes of 12 and 13 running in the opposite direction. An unbelievable number of huge rocks prevent run-ups at numerous holes. Areas of the course are marshy and wet. Bag poles at each hole would make a nice added extra. None of the cons detract from the overall experience here.
Other Thoughts: With beautiful views and a great, challenging layout, Nockamixon is an outstanding course in nearly every aspect. This is most certainly not your casual round of disc golf but instead is a lengthy, grueling exercise which will test you at every turn. Pinpoint drives and a variety of shots are needed for success and there are no "gimme's" here. Beginners will struggle, but this course will make you a better player. A truly superb playing experience and one of the top courses on the east coast.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Don't "Knock" on Nocky!

5+    9/19/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me first off start by saying this, 9,000+ft in just 18 holes!! Let that sizzle in your brain for a minute.
This course is hands down a professional grade challenge. Slip up on just one throw and your score is headed down the drain. "Nocky" as the locals call it, is the most unforgiving course when it comes to staying on the fairway. We are talking about tight fairways, thousands of trees, thick brush, and holes that sprawl out more than 800'ft. Let's just say you can only see a few baskets from the actual tee off. Nocky has par 3 to par 5 holes which are still an absolute challenge and struggle just to hit par. Every shot from the tee pad ending at the basket has to be money, EVERY SHOT! Kick off that fairway and your looking at a minimum bogey to double. The course uses the vast land it covers to its advantage including huge elevation changes, ledges, rocks, tree's, streams and creeks. This isn't your simple "Grip it n Rip it" course. On every throw your looking to position yourself for the next up shot. Course has beautiful concrete tee pads and baskets are in great shape. Also the majority of the baskets have large bright orange flags on them for easy spotting. Hole #7 basket is actually hanging from an enormous tree "over the hill and through the woods" lol.
The course is a state gameland and also offers many amenities on site. The park has a pond by hole #17 & 18. Nocky is also home to an extremely large marina and picnic sites. Restrooms by hole #1 & 10.
Again, I can't stress this enough. The course is made for the pro disc golfer in mind and is an unbelievable challenge that will stress out any amateur player! If you are new to disc golf, I would highly recommend steering clear of Nocky! If you think you can handle this massive challenge and shoot par, all I have to say is I DARE YOU! :-)
Cons: The only con I can honestly think of is the fact that the tee pads do not have a flight path sign showing tee to basket and the par/distance to pin. With that being said, this is still a top notch course by far!
Other Thoughts: I play Nocky maybe once a month if I'm up to it. The course will simply beat you down and laugh at your discs. I enjoy the challenge and look forward to pushing myself to better my game. This course will better your game in just about every aspect, this is a mind blowing course that will force you to re-think your "normal" strategy. I HIGHLY recommend this course to any "pro" who hasn't played it and also recommend it to any Intermediate/Advanced Amateur looking to improve your game and take on a TRUE CHALLENGE! Like I always say, get out and play on fellow golfers!!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great challenege

2-4    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: hyperspike
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park
Its easy to find your way even not being there as most of the pins are near the next tees.
Hard technical course that will require all of your shots.
Cons: would be nice to have multiple tees, there is definitely room for them... this course would greatly benefit from a set of beginner esk tees.
Other Thoughts: be careful with your driver on hole 7, we lost one.
lots of tough hiking moving through the course.


overall i would say if you are looking for a challenge come here... not a place for beginners.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Separating the Men from the Boys

5+    11/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays about 9000ft in 18 holes, yet I only threw a fast driver twice. The course places an absolute premium on control and will punish you for mistakes. This course is not for beginners or novices. I will write this review assuming you are experienced enough to want a challenge:
* long course with technical fairways
* good use of hills, ledges, drop offs, and "open" areas
* several holes require good placement of drives (both accuracy and distance control) to setup your next shot - miss it and you'll struggle to get par
* several par 4's in the 450-600 ft range...and they are technical!
* Tees are rubber, but are still quite grippy in wet weather, a plus back here.
* baskets are in excellent condition, they look brand new
* big orange marker flags on the baskets
* big number signs for each tee
* rest rooms by 1st/10th tees
* alternate baskets added on several holes, a nice touch
Cons: Very few. My only con was that there were no signs showing the fairway layout. New signs went in last year and they are very nice.
Other Thoughts: The new signs are cool! Hand drawn and painted, they are accurate and add a nice touch of character. This course continues to impress and has become one of my favorites.

It is not for the faint of heart, as you must be disciplined to make well-placed drives or spend time getting out of trouble, often resulting in bogey. Once off the fairway, there are few "short cuts" and one must submit and throw back out.

The terrain is very rocky and the brush can get very heavy during the summer. I really enjoy Nocky in the fall and spring, when things aren't so thick. Be prepared with proper footware and get ready to hike! You'll be tired!

If you want a true challenge, and can realize the importance of accuracy over distance, which means teeing off alot with mids and fairway drivers, then this is your course. It is also about a 20-25 min drive from Tinicum, so the two could be played in one day.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.