Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #9
4 / 730ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Fairway moves around to the left



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
a course for titans

5+    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: located in one of the greatest disc golf settings i've played. well maintained with restrooms, flymats, great new tee signs, mach IIIs. many signature holes, variety in elevation and terrain. very fair and workable fairways for being a heavily wooded course. tests physical and mental endurance.
Cons: cannot think of any. i don't consider things like rocky conditions or no trashcans course cons.
Other Thoughts: as a side note, when i play nocky, it feels like i'm playing disc golf on sports champion. the best course in the region, hands down.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Course I've Ever Seen

5+    9/13/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full disclosure- This is one of the closest courses to my house and I learned to play disc golf here. So my opinion may be biased, but I prefer to think this just makes me more of an expert on the course.

Let me just start by saying- the course is AMAZING. The closest to a challenging course of ball golf I've ever come across- after playing for 5 years on 15+ courses. I've heard it called the "Pebble Beach" of disc golf, and that is correct. It's long, varied, sometimes quite difficult, and always interesting. Not a single hole seems like filler, and several of them could easily be signature holes on lesser courses. (2, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 16 come to mind, though I'm sure you could make cases for others as well)

In addition to this being a great course, it is also set in a beautiful state park. The front 9 plays along a huge hill with amazing views of Lake Nockamixon- especially the basket on hole 6. The back 9 is set back in the woods and by itself could be a great nature hike.

Tees- usually pretty well maintained. Some bumps/uneven patches, but generally very solid. Maps provide decent views of holes and give good info. No complaints.

Fairways- often long, sometimes narrow, but always fair. Despite Nockamixon's difficult reputation, I think the fairways are usually pretty open as long as you keep your discs low and take your time. There are definitely holes where the trees can be infuriating (#3 for example), but there is always a workable alley through them. This is not one of those courses where the difficulty comes from a designer that thought it would be a good idea to leave 40 trees between you and the basket. There is always a viable means of getting through- if you can't then you'll just have to swallow it. tl;dnr- difficult but fair

Rough- if you don't manage to stay in the fairways, there is a variety of obstacles ready to eat up your discs. For most holes, this would include some bushes, high grass, or trees- I find it's usually pretty easy to find your disc as long as you pay attention when it lands. The real trouble comes with the boulder fields in the woods. If you can, play with a spotter to help see where discs land on these holes (16 and 17 especially). If your disc lands in there and you don't have a good idea of where it went down, you could be searching for quite a while.

Diversity- this is the best part about nockamixon. There is every type of elevation change you can imagine. There are tees on pedestals, in (relatively) open areas, hanging from baskets, next to streams, and on the edges of steep hills. Some fairways are long corridors with trees or cliffs on either side, while others allow for open shots over trees, down hills, and across fields. Some holes are monsters (well over 700 feet), while others are short but tricky (there is one hole that allows legit ace runs- you'll have to play to find out). All of these differences keep you on your toes. And while it adds difficulty, pars and the occasional birdie are always options for adequate players.
Cons: Lots of rocks. Makes fairway run-ups difficult or impossible at times.
Other Thoughts: The key is to take your time, figure out your lines, and stick to them. Keep it fair, while still getting some distance, and you'll be fine.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best

1    5/5/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
9 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -A very difficult course even for top pros
-Rubber Tee Pads
-Great signage and next tee indicators
-Has pretty decent baskets
-Grass was mowed
-Elevation Changes
-I liked how shots required distance and accuracy
-good mix of par 3's,4's and a 5
- Fair Fairways (number 3 is iffy)
-Very scenic with the creek and lake
Cons: -I didn't care for the OB on two before the green, but it didn't really mind it.
-So far away in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people complain about the rocks and boulders on this course. Having rocks teaches you to throw standstills and lets you experience different shots that you are used too.

9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Nocky - 2005 Worlds Toughest Course

5+    5/13/2010   7/16/2013
Review By: crispy13fsw
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: One of the top courses on the east coast. Period. Lots of signature holes, tests all levels of players. Was happy to volunteer on this course in 2005 for the Worlds and top players in disc golf agree.
Cons: None

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Cons?

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: Bushman71
Played: 149  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I've had this course programmed into my GPS for 2 years now and I finally got to play it. It was a wet between the boulders and windy but worth the wait. Loved all 18 holes of Nockamixon, babbling brooks, water falls, boulder fields, big shots, technical shots, so on and so on. The course changes from hole to hole. You play in wooded boulder fields then flat, grassy fair ways, blind down hill shots, huge hyzers over tree tops. It's a mix of all the best holes rolled into one course. If your in the area it is a must play. If its not in your area program it into you GPS and go play.
Cons: The only disappointment is it makes most other courses a little blander. Sure it has a lot of wet spots but II would call it a con, it's part of the experience at playing the best course I've played so far.
Other Thoughts: Words and pics don't do this course justice. It will brake you if your not on your game but wow does it hurt so good.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Nocky Monster

5+    1/1/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: lion1143
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nocky has everything that you could ask for in a championship course. It winds mostly through the woods with plenty of water and elevation changes. There are several signature holes with my favorites being #6, #7, #10 & 16. You could probably ask 10 locals what their favorite holes are and not get the same answer twice. There are just that many great holes here.
Cons: I can't wait for concrete tee pads and the course can be muddy.
Other Thoughts: Do your best to stay on the fairway as errant shots will
find the woods, water or worse the boulder fields-yes this place has these pre-historic, pre-ice age meteor fields that will eat your discs and bruise your arse. Hats off to the designers of this course for incorporating all of mother natures beauty and her dark side. This course is just that good.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

the ultimate beast!

2-4    11/9/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: Prostar47
Played: 71  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a championship caliber course that requires all facets of your game, whether it be a certain type of shot, or a great mental game. It all comes into effect here.

Nockamixon has several keys to being a fantastic course.

1) Diversity. Every hole on this course has its on personality and doesn't seem like you're throwing the same shot on every hole.

2) Challenge. Nockamixon will leave you walking away bruised and battered physically and mentally with the tough challenge that is there. A good mix of short and long holes with a great choice of risk vs. reward.

3) Great use of the terrain. There is small creeks that come into effect throughout the course, as well as sloped hills to the sides (to deal with those tricky roll away shots), great uphill and down hill shots, and huge boulder fields that mess with footing and really make you choose your shots wisely. Also great views of the marina and ponds.

4)Amenities: Huge parking lot to accomodate large tournaments, nice bathroom onsite, a good practice basket site.
Cons: Not much to complain about due to this being a fantastic course. The only thing is take a few tree away on some of the holes where its more of a hope and pray you get through, rather than hitting a specific line.
Other Thoughts: This course left me feeling crushed after finishing playing with scores of 80/81/81 the three times ive played it, but walked away feeling amazed at such an awesome course.

my favorite holes were hole 8, hole 14, and hole 16.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nocki Insight

1    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: FrolfWearJohn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The course has character. Each hole is different in its own way. No repetitive shots, no same lies. Tight fairways on some holes and beautiful flowing fairways on others. The views of the lake are great off of hole 6-9. Also, the leaves are starting to change, and if you've ever been in bucks county during the fall, its gorgeous.
Cons: Only con I can think of is that I can't live on the course and play 24/7.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played here, or are afraid to lose a disc bc of past experience, head out again. The course is in immaculate condition, and lost disc percentages are going down.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Rockin' Nock Your Socks Off!

2-4    5/13/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 championship caliber holes with rubber tees, multiple baskets and pins. Two nine hole loops back the parking lot and restrooms and course map. The variety of shots and use of elevation and terrain is phenomenal with natural bunkers and pits. Fairways are quite fair for the most part, and the holes tend to be long with some par 4's and 5's, but also mixed with some 3's to make some birdie 2's and even ace run. If you veer much off the fairway you will be punished. Mostly wooded with a couple open shots that are still very challenging with the extreme elevation, wind, and well placed trees/baskets. Some of the greens are a bit intimidating with huge elevation drop off and or water. You are constantly weighing risk vs reward. Navigation is pretty good and not much underbrush in the woods, and mowed fairways where possible. Disc golf only area with some gorgeous views!
Cons: I'm not knocking a course of this caliber for a what some people might consider cons. Not a great beginner course although I saw some first timers trying to play, the kiddie course is down the street at Sellersville, but's it's also a great fun course for anyone there. Nocky can be a little muddy in places and it's rocky, so bring your hiking shoes/boots as footing can be an issue. Grass doesn't get mowed on the rockier fairways for obvious reason but the rocks also cover much of the fairway so it's not hard to find your disc. There's a little bit of poison ivy in places, not bad at all though. Hole 17 plays down a path of some sort. Disc loss is possibility. Tee signs can be faded.
Other Thoughts: Nockamixon figuratively and literally rocks! This is arguably one of the best courses to really test a player's mettle vs a championship level layout with an atheistically pleasing surrounding. Most the holes here are signature worthy and just provide an absolute joy and terror to play with some tricky basket placements and great elevation changes. You really have to think about setting up for the next shot on the longer holes so placement shots are crucial to birdie or even par in many cases. My first visit here I pretty much had the course to myself making it very serene. The second time I came back during a tag match and there were a few other groups playing, but still managed to breeze through and locals are nice. Nockamixon is my #1 course in Pa and ranks in my top 3 public park courses out of 100+ in a toss up depending on the minute. I will go out of my way driving up/down I-95 every time I get the chance to play here! It rocks so hard it will nock your socks off!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great up and coming course

5+    4/11/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Discgolfer7383
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: very defined fairways, great for big arms, very technical shots
Cons: Boulder field on 17, after it rains alot of the holes become very muddy
Other Thoughts: I love the course layout it's a tough course but very fun to play.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.