Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #2 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cons?

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: Bushman71
Played: 149  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I've had this course programmed into my GPS for 2 years now and I finally got to play it. It was a wet between the boulders and windy but worth the wait. Loved all 18 holes of Nockamixon, babbling brooks, water falls, boulder fields, big shots, technical shots, so on and so on. The course changes from hole to hole. You play in wooded boulder fields then flat, grassy fair ways, blind down hill shots, huge hyzers over tree tops. It's a mix of all the best holes rolled into one course. If your in the area it is a must play. If its not in your area program it into you GPS and go play.
Cons: The only disappointment is it makes most other courses a little blander. Sure it has a lot of wet spots but II would call it a con, it's part of the experience at playing the best course I've played so far.
Other Thoughts: Words and pics don't do this course justice. It will brake you if your not on your game but wow does it hurt so good.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hardcore disc golf!

1    5/2/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW! This course was fantastic!

You looking for challenge? Nocky has it.

How 'bout natural beauty? You found it.

This monster demands respect yet treats its guests with fair play and beautiful, rugged terrain.

The reputation of Nockamixon's long, narrow fairways had me skeptical upon arrival. There is not much that irks me more on a course than ridiculously convoluted fairways. This course is fair. Whew. My biggest concern behind me.

Now the bonuses kept rolling in.

The diversity was through the roof. There was nice elevation, including a shot out toward the boat docks to a pin precariously perched on a relatively steep hillside. Hole 7 is a nice 400+ ft, par 3, sail shot and hole 14 offered a gorgeous right hook shot through some early trees, over the creek, down to a reachable pin. Hole 10 was a sick, hard left hook that continued hooking for about 800ft. I wont bore with a hole by hole breakdown but I can assure you, the diversity kicked ass.

The rough was exactly as it should be. It makes your next shot tougher but you should leave with your entire bag of discs.

The mental aspect of this course is not to be underestimated. You will be presented with options on some holes but typically you will need to choose, and more importantly HOLD, long lines to achieve par. Pick your landing zones well. Don't expect pitch and putts or ace runs here.

I felt navigation was a breeze. Really, it was about the only simple thing on this course. The handcrafted signage and next tee signs were spot on.
Cons: The rocky ground can make footing a bitch. If you have weak ankles, wear shoes/boots with good ankle support. It's wise to take your time while choosing your paces in some spots.

This isn't really a con but this is not a course for everyone. Trust me, Nocky will beat down anyone lacking a solid, well rounded game.
Other Thoughts: This course really left an impression. It has so much to offer. I very much look forward to a chance to get back to play this one.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

1    2/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've ever played.

The course is long, and really well layed out. Lots of wooded holes, some nice water holes, and a few wide open holes keep things interesting. You need a perfect combination of power and precision to play well here.

It's a wooded monster with a lot of great views, and more variety than most.
Cons: I think it could use a few more water hazards to make things even more interesting.
Other Thoughts: This and sankanac are my favorite eastern PA courses by far.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Nocky Monster

5+    1/1/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: lion1143
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nocky has everything that you could ask for in a championship course. It winds mostly through the woods with plenty of water and elevation changes. There are several signature holes with my favorites being #6, #7, #10 & 16. You could probably ask 10 locals what their favorite holes are and not get the same answer twice. There are just that many great holes here.
Cons: I can't wait for concrete tee pads and the course can be muddy.
Other Thoughts: Do your best to stay on the fairway as errant shots will
find the woods, water or worse the boulder fields-yes this place has these pre-historic, pre-ice age meteor fields that will eat your discs and bruise your arse. Hats off to the designers of this course for incorporating all of mother natures beauty and her dark side. This course is just that good.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

the ultimate beast!

2-4    11/9/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: Prostar47
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a championship caliber course that requires all facets of your game, whether it be a certain type of shot, or a great mental game. It all comes into effect here.

Nockamixon has several keys to being a fantastic course.

1) Diversity. Every hole on this course has its on personality and doesn't seem like you're throwing the same shot on every hole.

2) Challenge. Nockamixon will leave you walking away bruised and battered physically and mentally with the tough challenge that is there. A good mix of short and long holes with a great choice of risk vs. reward.

3) Great use of the terrain. There is small creeks that come into effect throughout the course, as well as sloped hills to the sides (to deal with those tricky roll away shots), great uphill and down hill shots, and huge boulder fields that mess with footing and really make you choose your shots wisely. Also great views of the marina and ponds.

4)Amenities: Huge parking lot to accomodate large tournaments, nice bathroom onsite, a good practice basket site.
Cons: Not much to complain about due to this being a fantastic course. The only thing is take a few tree away on some of the holes where its more of a hope and pray you get through, rather than hitting a specific line.
Other Thoughts: This course left me feeling crushed after finishing playing with scores of 80/81/81 the three times ive played it, but walked away feeling amazed at such an awesome course.

my favorite holes were hole 8, hole 14, and hole 16.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Slippery when wet.

2-4    12/7/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2012
34 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Championship level course. Nearly as scenic as Jorelemon and as tough as Iron Hill.
Course is difficult but fair. Mostly generous fairways that punish you if you veer off, but still provide a small hope of recovery.
Course is rocky and heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation, and several risk vs. reward opportunities with risky basket positions.
Holes 6-8 are memorable holes with a view of the lake:
Hole 6 is on a very steep slope making your putt very risky. Hole 7 is an elevated tee where you can get some serious hang time on the disc, just be careful not to turn over your driver. 8 is a steep uphill shot to a hanging basket. Several scenic holes in the back 9 picture fairways covered in glacial rocks and walls of trees on each side. I won't go hole by hole since there are already 48 other reviews.
Nice Rubber Tee pads and hand made signage.
A few holes had multiple baskets. If that 600 foot hole is not difficult enough you can make it 800+.
Superb maintenance.
Bathrooms on site (when unlocked)
This was one of the few courses where I used every single disc in my bag.
Cons: The only option is to play a gold level layout with a majority of blind holes.
Holes feature some decent distance, but you need to learn to throw from a stand still because good footing is very rare. The rocky terrain and slippery mud makes getting a run up nearly impossible.
Definitely a chance of disc loss, especially if you attempt this course solo.
Sign missing on hole 11. (possible victim of the Hurricane)
Even with signage you may find yourself wondering where baskets are on occasion.
Other Thoughts: This course is a long course. Don't plan on an hour and a half round this one will take some serious time.
The terrain is tough, this is not a course for children or strollers. If you want to play with your children try Sellersville.
Hurricane Sandy has caused some damage and taken down some trees, but the clean up effort is clearly already underway and is quickly being cleaned up.
It is very clear there is a lot of local support for this course, it was very well maintained.

34 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 Nocki Insight

1    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: FrolfWearJohn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The course has character. Each hole is different in its own way. No repetitive shots, no same lies. Tight fairways on some holes and beautiful flowing fairways on others. The views of the lake are great off of hole 6-9. Also, the leaves are starting to change, and if you've ever been in bucks county during the fall, its gorgeous.
Cons: Only con I can think of is that I can't live on the course and play 24/7.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played here, or are afraid to lose a disc bc of past experience, head out again. The course is in immaculate condition, and lost disc percentages are going down.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven

1    9/8/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow...
-Extemely diverse: Each hole has a very unique personality...tight wood, open wood, tunnel shots, open field, major elevation changes, major demand for perfect execution amd accuracy...this is a course that will absolutely not bore you with repetition.
-Very difficult: The course without hesitation became my new benchmark when evaluating my level of playing. So long as you can direct your disc well and are willing to play smarter and not always go for a shot Chuck Norris would, you can survive here, though I recommend beginners to develop your game elsewhere. For intermediates, advanced, and open players...many throws/lines, every disc.
-Stunning vistas: hole 6 basket>lake view is breath taking and really steals the thunder from an otherwise beautiful look from tee #7 down a large hill with a tight fairway, lake on the right. The whole course is filled with grade A scenery..where to begin..see it for yourself, I can't do that for you.
-Good rubber tee pads and signs: most tee pads were in good shape and signs were effective in visually describing the hole (especially since on most holes, the basket is not viewable from tee pad). It was easy to find next tee as well.
-Narrow fairways that usually have one or two reasonable gaps.
-Wasn't busy on a fair weathered mid afternoon Saturday in early September.
-indoor bathrooms and a water fountain near tee pads #1/10
-very natural feel to the course: not too many times where there was much need for maintenance. Most fairways are mixture of rocks and grass, so there was only a few holes with a need to mow and maintain (they were maintained well).
-Almost everything I could ask for out of a DG course, except a low score ;)
Cons: -Don't mess up: hard to recover here...score can take a beating if you tree out early due to big distance and high expectations of par here.
-Though super cool when visible enough to add to the landscape, many of the fairways are covered in small rocks that make walking tricky at times. Be careful not to twist an ankle.
-No scorecards available to my knowledge.
-No trash cans on course: littering was not bad, but a trash can halfway through front and back nine couldn't hurt.
I can barely criticize this course....demands a great performance but otherwise unbelievable all around.
Other Thoughts: It's like this course tells a story. It's rare that a course has enough of a natural landscape and environment to provide the variety Nockamixon does. What a great experience.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Beast of the East

1    7/27/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tough! With an average length of over 500', many elevation changes, some extreme, and wooded-fairways frequently strewn with rough rocks, the holes on this par-67 course provide a real litmus test for up-n-coming players to measure themselves against.
Cons:
Not for the faint of heart - inappropriate for beginners, too much too soon for non-masochistic intermediates. Wear stout shoes!

Single tee/basket position. Frequent chances for disc loss.
Other Thoughts:
Why did I like this course so much, despite feeling as if I had just gone 18-rounds with a heavyweight boxer, who enjoyed toying with me?

- There are no "unfair" shots required from the tee - if you can throw straight, and/or have good command of when/how much your disc turns/fades, you will be in a reasonable spot after your first throw - however, reasonable might not be good enough.

- There are no "unfair" fairways - yes, there are plenty of trees and branches to avoid, but nothing ridiculously tight, nor bizarre shapes to throw.

- There are no "unfair" basket positions. There are certainly challenging ones, such as open-but-steeply-sloped #6, #14 down-slope and near the creek, and #16, under a rise and surrounded by shallow water, but no jail cells or such.

To score well on this course, you are continually challenged to be accurate on each and every shot - lose focus, you're likely adding a stroke, if not two. For the longer holes, if you hit the "sweet spot" with your drives, the next shot, while still challenging, will provide you a good opportunity to reach the basket on your approach. However, miss the optimal spot, and you'll often have a much more awkward second shot, and will be scrambling to save par. For the six par-3 holes, major elevation changes and/or wooded-tightness must be overcome to have a birdy opportunity.

If anywhere in the area, and looking for a serious challenge, consider playing this course. Be forewarned, however, that it is quite tough, especially the longer, less open, rougher back nine.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course

1    6/5/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MarlinRoth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Well-structured course with a lot of options, a nice park and the land was incorporated well.
Cons: very tough for beginners
Other Thoughts: My friend and I are beginners and went here. We ignored the warnings that this course is not for beginners and I had 3 drivers at the time, all of which we lost while playing the course haha. Seriously, don't play this course until you are pretty confident in your ability, or you are ready to lose a few discs.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.