Quakertown, PA
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #12
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great up and coming course

5+    4/11/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Discgolfer7383
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: very defined fairways, great for big arms, very technical shots
Cons: Boulder field on 17, after it rains alot of the holes become very muddy
Other Thoughts: I love the course layout it's a tough course but very fun to play.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 excellent

2-4    3/31/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very challenging but very senic
All holes are uniquely different
Great combo of wooded and non wooded holes
Beautiful area. Holes 6-9 are awesome as well as 11-16
Cons: Holes do not have signs with distance or map of where pin is located. Hole 2 is extremely muddy and is dubbed old swampy
Other Thoughts: Nockamixon is a great course. It is difficult and newcomers could get discouraged. Playing this course will definitely make you a better player as there are a wide variety of technical shots and power shots.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly lengthy course, about 9000ft for 18 holes. Challenging to say the least. This course is definitely not for beginners or novices.I have been playing for a little while, but I took a friend who never really plays and he had fun but didn't even attempt to keep score. I like a challenge so I didn't mind.
- A very technical course, you have to hit the fairways or you will be in trouble. Puts course management skills at a premium.
- Great terrain, elevation changes, mostly fairly wooded, but a couple of open holes.
- Tees are rubber, they are decent, not the best, but netter than gravel.
- The baskets are in good shape, love the hole with the basket hanging from a tree.
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate around, especially if you have never played there before.
- No fairway or basket maps at the tee pads- I had to just guess where the pins were on a couple of holes and just throw.
- The next hole can be hard to find at times, There are no signs pointing you in the right direction, and there were no course maps available when I went.
Other Thoughts: This course could easily be rated higher. Most of the negatives of this course can be easily fixed.

This course demands that you be able to throw a myriad of shots. If you can throw hyzers, anhyzers, OH, rollers, and sidearm you will be at an advantage.

The terrain is very rocky, and I went when It was a little cold. The course was soaking wet and difficult to walk without stepping in a lot of mud and water. Bring proper footwear or you could be at a disadvantage, or at the very least just uncomfortable.

This course is a challenge. A prime example of the importance of accuracy over distance.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Great Experience

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2013
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: World Class caliber course located in a beautiful state park. Long, primarily wooded technical course with a few open holes that play out over rolling hills. Each hole is numbered and has good sized rubber tee pads and sturdy working baskets. There are dual pin placements at each hole. Distinct pathways between holes make navigation easy. There is great use of elevation and water OB; streams and a pond come into play throughout. Numerous outstanding holes including #6 (downhill shot to a sloped basket with Marina in the background), #7 (long straight downhill shot), #8 (uphill shot to a hanging basket), #12 (uphill shot over a stream), #13 (downhill shot to basket on the other side of a creek), #16 (moat behind basket) and #17 (long shot to basket on the edge of a pond). Many amenities here including log benches and bathroom facilities. Permanent signs added in 2012. Good layout, good variety and an overall great playing experience.
Cons: A few of the holes a bit TOO wooded with no real line to hit if your drive isn't perfect. There are a few safety issues here, most notably drives coming off hole 7 directly toward the hole 8 tee, and the parallel holes of 12 and 13 running in the opposite direction. An unbelievable number of huge rocks prevent run-ups at numerous holes. Areas of the course are marshy and wet. Bag poles at each hole would make a nice added extra. None of the cons detract from the overall experience here.
Other Thoughts: With beautiful views and a great, challenging layout, Nockamixon is an outstanding course in nearly every aspect. This is most certainly not your casual round of disc golf but instead is a lengthy, grueling exercise which will test you at every turn. Pinpoint drives and a variety of shots are needed for success and there are no "gimme's" here. Beginners will struggle, but this course will make you a better player. A truly superb playing experience and one of the top courses on the east coast.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nockamixon the Hidden Gem

1    11/2/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: bilythekid
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This place is set on some pristine land. Most say this is not a beginner course, however it is a wonderful course for all golfers. It is one of the most peaceful and secluded, massive courses I have ever played. Just pack a lunch if you think your shots might be missing fairways all day...
There is probably only four holes on the course that can be aced, but every basket has a flag on it. Nearly two thirds of the holes have casual water streams, some with waterfalls, while O.B. water only comes into play on about 6 holes.
Serious use of elevation change. Some incredibly scenic views on the front nine of lake nockamixon. A hanging basket, 10 par-four holes and 2 par five holes!! Old fences, Rock walls, you name it.

This course added 30 points to my player rating in one summer, not kidding. If you can hang at Nocky, you can probably hang anywhere.

Way under-rated! Must See for any skill level!
Cons: The inherent nature of the land often has one throwing a second tee shot on the longer holes from a standstill due to rocky footing.

Poor signage

It will take you a minimum of 2 hours to play here, and that's assuming you've played it more than a handfull of times already...
Other Thoughts: There is random draw doubles on Wednesday's starting at 5pm

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded challenge

1    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through thick woods with some rolling elevation changes. The hills aren't huge, but they are used well to add some challenge and variety. The woods are thick enough to provide pretty tough punishment for errant shots, but the rough isn't so nasty that it's going to eat discs on every shot. The tees are nice level rubber pads, and the baskets are in fine shape. The course has good flow with no major navigation issues and two 9 hole loops back to the parking lot.

The layout is long and tough, definitely not for the faint at heart. I really enjoyed throwing multiple drives on many holes, I love having to think about landing zones to set up a second shot especially on a course that brings rocks into play to mess with your footing on many fairways. There is a great mix of shot shapes both off the tee and further down the fairway, making you throw every disc and every shot you've got. The fairways have enough room to work your lines, but are tight enough that you've really got to throw accurately to stay out of trouble. The big hole distances make you want to go for big distance but you'll pay for biting off more than you can chew.
Cons: My biggest issue here was with the complete lack of descriptive signage. There are large numbered signs, and many of them have distances sharpied on, but with long blind holes it's a lot of walking to figure out where to throw. The course holds a lot of water after a rain, and can get pretty gross and muddy in some spots. With how rocky the fairways are, I can't imagine trying to keep them mowed. That said, some were pretty overgrown in spots which can get a little frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will hate this course. It's long and tight with plenty of rough to punish inaccurate drives. Experienced players will be truly tested here, you need distance and accuracy on all kinds of lines to score well. If you don't like tight wooded shots, you're not going to have a great time here, it could get old if that's not your kind of fun.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Don't "Knock" on Nocky!

5+    9/19/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me first off start by saying this, 9,000+ft in just 18 holes!! Let that sizzle in your brain for a minute.
This course is hands down a professional grade challenge. Slip up on just one throw and your score is headed down the drain. "Nocky" as the locals call it, is the most unforgiving course when it comes to staying on the fairway. We are talking about tight fairways, thousands of trees, thick brush, and holes that sprawl out more than 800'ft. Let's just say you can only see a few baskets from the actual tee off. Nocky has par 3 to par 5 holes which are still an absolute challenge and struggle just to hit par. Every shot from the tee pad ending at the basket has to be money, EVERY SHOT! Kick off that fairway and your looking at a minimum bogey to double. The course uses the vast land it covers to its advantage including huge elevation changes, ledges, rocks, tree's, streams and creeks. This isn't your simple "Grip it n Rip it" course. On every throw your looking to position yourself for the next up shot. Course has beautiful concrete tee pads and baskets are in great shape. Also the majority of the baskets have large bright orange flags on them for easy spotting. Hole #7 basket is actually hanging from an enormous tree "over the hill and through the woods" lol.
The course is a state gameland and also offers many amenities on site. The park has a pond by hole #17 & 18. Nocky is also home to an extremely large marina and picnic sites. Restrooms by hole #1 & 10.
Again, I can't stress this enough. The course is made for the pro disc golfer in mind and is an unbelievable challenge that will stress out any amateur player! If you are new to disc golf, I would highly recommend steering clear of Nocky! If you think you can handle this massive challenge and shoot par, all I have to say is I DARE YOU! :-)
Cons: The only con I can honestly think of is the fact that the tee pads do not have a flight path sign showing tee to basket and the par/distance to pin. With that being said, this is still a top notch course by far!
Other Thoughts: I play Nocky maybe once a month if I'm up to it. The course will simply beat you down and laugh at your discs. I enjoy the challenge and look forward to pushing myself to better my game. This course will better your game in just about every aspect, this is a mind blowing course that will force you to re-think your "normal" strategy. I HIGHLY recommend this course to any "pro" who hasn't played it and also recommend it to any Intermediate/Advanced Amateur looking to improve your game and take on a TRUE CHALLENGE! Like I always say, get out and play on fellow golfers!!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great challenege

2-4    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: hyperspike
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park
Its easy to find your way even not being there as most of the pins are near the next tees.
Hard technical course that will require all of your shots.
Cons: would be nice to have multiple tees, there is definitely room for them... this course would greatly benefit from a set of beginner esk tees.
Other Thoughts: be careful with your driver on hole 7, we lost one.
lots of tough hiking moving through the course.


overall i would say if you are looking for a challenge come here... not a place for beginners.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Separating the Men from the Boys

5+    11/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays about 9000ft in 18 holes, yet I only threw a fast driver twice. The course places an absolute premium on control and will punish you for mistakes. This course is not for beginners or novices. I will write this review assuming you are experienced enough to want a challenge:
* long course with technical fairways
* good use of hills, ledges, drop offs, and "open" areas
* several holes require good placement of drives (both accuracy and distance control) to setup your next shot - miss it and you'll struggle to get par
* several par 4's in the 450-600 ft range...and they are technical!
* Tees are rubber, but are still quite grippy in wet weather, a plus back here.
* baskets are in excellent condition, they look brand new
* big orange marker flags on the baskets
* big number signs for each tee
* rest rooms by 1st/10th tees
* alternate baskets added on several holes, a nice touch
Cons: Very few. My only con was that there were no signs showing the fairway layout. New signs went in last year and they are very nice.
Other Thoughts: The new signs are cool! Hand drawn and painted, they are accurate and add a nice touch of character. This course continues to impress and has become one of my favorites.

It is not for the faint of heart, as you must be disciplined to make well-placed drives or spend time getting out of trouble, often resulting in bogey. Once off the fairway, there are few "short cuts" and one must submit and throw back out.

The terrain is very rocky and the brush can get very heavy during the summer. I really enjoy Nocky in the fall and spring, when things aren't so thick. Be prepared with proper footware and get ready to hike! You'll be tired!

If you want a true challenge, and can realize the importance of accuracy over distance, which means teeing off alot with mids and fairway drivers, then this is your course. It is also about a 20-25 min drive from Tinicum, so the two could be played in one day.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    10/27/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2011
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very tough review for me because my game is not ready for this course. I have been playing for about 2 years and this course made me feel like a beginner. I do not want to give it a bad review because my game isn't great. It is a challenging course and will make you realize your true control abilities. The course is awesome but I did not have a good time. I do appreciate the course for what it is, and when/if I get alot better I will be back.
Other Pros:
-orange flags on the baskets
-amazing setting in a woods will lots of boulder deposits
-nice sized fairways but the long distances make them seem narrower
-many holes worthy of signature holes elsewhere
-clever/unique pin placements
-clean and safe
-the first nine loop back in case you can only fit in 9 holes or need the restroom located there
Cons: I think my biggest complaint is the tee markers do not show the pin position. I am not against blind holes but because of the length of some holes it gets hard to figure out. (The tee markers do have hand written distances on them.) The navigation to the next tee is easy enough but bring a map for those pin positions.
The rocky terrain makes a stepping approach very tough once you're off the tee. This definetly exposed my weaknesses to me. It can also chew up the inexpensive plastics. Watch your step.
Other Thoughts: To the locals who have worked on the course: Your hard work was noticed! The rock formations, cleared out fairways, clean woods, walkways, and everything else was great!
My favorite holes was #16 because of the elevation changes, awesome pin placement, water/boulder hazards, and under 400ft throw!

18 holes will give you quite a workout, make sure to come prepared!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.