Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #10
5 / 821ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nockamixon the Hidden Gem

1    11/2/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: bilythekid
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This place is set on some pristine land. Most say this is not a beginner course, however it is a wonderful course for all golfers. It is one of the most peaceful and secluded, massive courses I have ever played. Just pack a lunch if you think your shots might be missing fairways all day...
There is probably only four holes on the course that can be aced, but every basket has a flag on it. Nearly two thirds of the holes have casual water streams, some with waterfalls, while O.B. water only comes into play on about 6 holes.
Serious use of elevation change. Some incredibly scenic views on the front nine of lake nockamixon. A hanging basket, 10 par-four holes and 2 par five holes!! Old fences, Rock walls, you name it.

This course added 30 points to my player rating in one summer, not kidding. If you can hang at Nocky, you can probably hang anywhere.

Way under-rated! Must See for any skill level!
Cons: The inherent nature of the land often has one throwing a second tee shot on the longer holes from a standstill due to rocky footing.

Poor signage

It will take you a minimum of 2 hours to play here, and that's assuming you've played it more than a handfull of times already...
Other Thoughts: There is random draw doubles on Wednesday's starting at 5pm

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded challenge

1    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through thick woods with some rolling elevation changes. The hills aren't huge, but they are used well to add some challenge and variety. The woods are thick enough to provide pretty tough punishment for errant shots, but the rough isn't so nasty that it's going to eat discs on every shot. The tees are nice level rubber pads, and the baskets are in fine shape. The course has good flow with no major navigation issues and two 9 hole loops back to the parking lot.

The layout is long and tough, definitely not for the faint at heart. I really enjoyed throwing multiple drives on many holes, I love having to think about landing zones to set up a second shot especially on a course that brings rocks into play to mess with your footing on many fairways. There is a great mix of shot shapes both off the tee and further down the fairway, making you throw every disc and every shot you've got. The fairways have enough room to work your lines, but are tight enough that you've really got to throw accurately to stay out of trouble. The big hole distances make you want to go for big distance but you'll pay for biting off more than you can chew.
Cons: My biggest issue here was with the complete lack of descriptive signage. There are large numbered signs, and many of them have distances sharpied on, but with long blind holes it's a lot of walking to figure out where to throw. The course holds a lot of water after a rain, and can get pretty gross and muddy in some spots. With how rocky the fairways are, I can't imagine trying to keep them mowed. That said, some were pretty overgrown in spots which can get a little frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will hate this course. It's long and tight with plenty of rough to punish inaccurate drives. Experienced players will be truly tested here, you need distance and accuracy on all kinds of lines to score well. If you don't like tight wooded shots, you're not going to have a great time here, it could get old if that's not your kind of fun.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Don't "Knock" on Nocky!

5+    9/19/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me first off start by saying this, 9,000+ft in just 18 holes!! Let that sizzle in your brain for a minute.
This course is hands down a professional grade challenge. Slip up on just one throw and your score is headed down the drain. "Nocky" as the locals call it, is the most unforgiving course when it comes to staying on the fairway. We are talking about tight fairways, thousands of trees, thick brush, and holes that sprawl out more than 800'ft. Let's just say you can only see a few baskets from the actual tee off. Nocky has par 3 to par 5 holes which are still an absolute challenge and struggle just to hit par. Every shot from the tee pad ending at the basket has to be money, EVERY SHOT! Kick off that fairway and your looking at a minimum bogey to double. The course uses the vast land it covers to its advantage including huge elevation changes, ledges, rocks, tree's, streams and creeks. This isn't your simple "Grip it n Rip it" course. On every throw your looking to position yourself for the next up shot. Course has beautiful concrete tee pads and baskets are in great shape. Also the majority of the baskets have large bright orange flags on them for easy spotting. Hole #7 basket is actually hanging from an enormous tree "over the hill and through the woods" lol.
The course is a state gameland and also offers many amenities on site. The park has a pond by hole #17 & 18. Nocky is also home to an extremely large marina and picnic sites. Restrooms by hole #1 & 10.
Again, I can't stress this enough. The course is made for the pro disc golfer in mind and is an unbelievable challenge that will stress out any amateur player! If you are new to disc golf, I would highly recommend steering clear of Nocky! If you think you can handle this massive challenge and shoot par, all I have to say is I DARE YOU! :-)
Cons: The only con I can honestly think of is the fact that the tee pads do not have a flight path sign showing tee to basket and the par/distance to pin. With that being said, this is still a top notch course by far!
Other Thoughts: I play Nocky maybe once a month if I'm up to it. The course will simply beat you down and laugh at your discs. I enjoy the challenge and look forward to pushing myself to better my game. This course will better your game in just about every aspect, this is a mind blowing course that will force you to re-think your "normal" strategy. I HIGHLY recommend this course to any "pro" who hasn't played it and also recommend it to any Intermediate/Advanced Amateur looking to improve your game and take on a TRUE CHALLENGE! Like I always say, get out and play on fellow golfers!!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great challenege

2-4    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: hyperspike
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park
Its easy to find your way even not being there as most of the pins are near the next tees.
Hard technical course that will require all of your shots.
Cons: would be nice to have multiple tees, there is definitely room for them... this course would greatly benefit from a set of beginner esk tees.
Other Thoughts: be careful with your driver on hole 7, we lost one.
lots of tough hiking moving through the course.


overall i would say if you are looking for a challenge come here... not a place for beginners.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Separating the Men from the Boys

5+    11/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays about 9000ft in 18 holes, yet I only threw a fast driver twice. The course places an absolute premium on control and will punish you for mistakes. This course is not for beginners or novices. I will write this review assuming you are experienced enough to want a challenge:
* long course with technical fairways
* good use of hills, ledges, drop offs, and "open" areas
* several holes require good placement of drives (both accuracy and distance control) to setup your next shot - miss it and you'll struggle to get par
* several par 4's in the 450-600 ft range...and they are technical!
* Tees are rubber, but are still quite grippy in wet weather, a plus back here.
* baskets are in excellent condition, they look brand new
* big orange marker flags on the baskets
* big number signs for each tee
* rest rooms by 1st/10th tees
* alternate baskets added on several holes, a nice touch
Cons: Very few. My only con was that there were no signs showing the fairway layout. New signs went in last year and they are very nice.
Other Thoughts: The new signs are cool! Hand drawn and painted, they are accurate and add a nice touch of character. This course continues to impress and has become one of my favorites.

It is not for the faint of heart, as you must be disciplined to make well-placed drives or spend time getting out of trouble, often resulting in bogey. Once off the fairway, there are few "short cuts" and one must submit and throw back out.

The terrain is very rocky and the brush can get very heavy during the summer. I really enjoy Nocky in the fall and spring, when things aren't so thick. Be prepared with proper footware and get ready to hike! You'll be tired!

If you want a true challenge, and can realize the importance of accuracy over distance, which means teeing off alot with mids and fairway drivers, then this is your course. It is also about a 20-25 min drive from Tinicum, so the two could be played in one day.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    10/27/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2011
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very tough review for me because my game is not ready for this course. I have been playing for about 2 years and this course made me feel like a beginner. I do not want to give it a bad review because my game isn't great. It is a challenging course and will make you realize your true control abilities. The course is awesome but I did not have a good time. I do appreciate the course for what it is, and when/if I get alot better I will be back.
Other Pros:
-orange flags on the baskets
-amazing setting in a woods will lots of boulder deposits
-nice sized fairways but the long distances make them seem narrower
-many holes worthy of signature holes elsewhere
-clever/unique pin placements
-clean and safe
-the first nine loop back in case you can only fit in 9 holes or need the restroom located there
Cons: I think my biggest complaint is the tee markers do not show the pin position. I am not against blind holes but because of the length of some holes it gets hard to figure out. (The tee markers do have hand written distances on them.) The navigation to the next tee is easy enough but bring a map for those pin positions.
The rocky terrain makes a stepping approach very tough once you're off the tee. This definetly exposed my weaknesses to me. It can also chew up the inexpensive plastics. Watch your step.
Other Thoughts: To the locals who have worked on the course: Your hard work was noticed! The rock formations, cleared out fairways, clean woods, walkways, and everything else was great!
My favorite holes was #16 because of the elevation changes, awesome pin placement, water/boulder hazards, and under 400ft throw!

18 holes will give you quite a workout, make sure to come prepared!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 5 star challenge

5+    9/25/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 295  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nocky is back to a full 18 holes now!

This course had the highest SSA rating during the 2005 Worlds proving it is a world class challenge. Plenty of par 4's and few par 5's.

The challenge presented here comes from length (mostly in the woods), the variety, the water in play, the large rocks and boulders
which populates the terrian, the elevation changes on every hole, the wind near the marina holes and the huge dogleg on hole 10.

The PA mountain like terrian with large boulders and elevation change over looking a marina on a few holes make it very scenic.

The waterfall and creek so very close to basket #16 are simply gorgeous.

The hanging basket on #7.

The view and choice to be made on hole #14.

When I played in late Sept 2010, I saw piles a crushed stone near several tees so I'm sure the rubber tee area will be improved very soon.

A few holes have multiple fairways, pick your poison especially on #2 and #14.

Orange flags on top of each basket making it easier to spot the basket since most holes are very long in the woods. The fairways in these woods are 'fair', hit the gap repeatedly and you'll score well which is easier said than done.

Park restrooms are located between holes 1 and 10. The park itself is very clean!

Cons: While a 5 star challenge, I must knock a half star off for the bad footing on approach shots.

The rugged terrian sometimes makes it very tough to run up or get good footing while attempting each shot after teeing off. A stand still shot is required sometimes and this is very fustrating and annoys me too much.

The trees close to basket 9, I love the first shots on #9 but hate when the "green" has small trees near the basket.

The course can be muddy during certain times of the year.
Other Thoughts: This course is not for beginners, this probably should listed as a Pro above.

The Lehigh Valley and/or Allentown area is a disc golf mecca with Blue Mtn, Jordan, Little
Lehigh nearby plus Tyler and Tinicum aren't far away either.





14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Top course in PA

1    8/15/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nockamixon truly has it all. In terms of beautiful and challenging holes, Nockamixon is simply one of the best courses I have ever witnessed and I am shocked that this course isn't rated higher. Basically ever hole from 6 through 18 is a near signature hole. Holes six and seven have such beautiful views; hole ten is such a beast; eleven had such a serene feel to it; holes 12, 13, and 14 were the true definition of risk/reward, with 13 having one of the neatest fairways I have played and 14 offering the coolest double fairway I have seen. However, 16 was the true gem on the course - wow! 400 feet through the gap over two cool rock formations, one creek, and then finishing on a green surrounded by two water falls. Tough to beat that. 17 was just a brutal hole (with a sweet pond to the left and some cool rock formations to the right), and 18 was a nice finishing hole. The rocks throughout the course were just awesome - it really reminded me of Flip City in that regard. This course had it all - water, elevation, rocks, challenge, beauty, option fairways, etc. This course is simply the best course in PA and one of the best I have played.
Cons: I truly believe that every course and every thing always has a need for improvement. So even though I am rating this course as the best of the best, while admitting that it has cons, doesn't mean I don't think it's not worthy of a five. I just simply feel that nothing is perfect and every course that I have given a 5 has something to work on, because nothing is perfect. This rating of a 5 is simply acknowledgment of being the 'best of the best', as the rating indicates. Nockamixon only had two things - some of the rubber tees were a little worn, and the signs weren't as descriptive as I typically like.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area this should be the must play course - while Tyler offers a fun challenge (but is worthless in the short tees) and Jordan Creek offers a fun course, Nockamixon is the gem in PA. It's a must play.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 You can Feel the Love here.

5+    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 71  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.6 Years
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Welcome to Central-North-Eastern Pennsylvania, you have just chosen to play one of our most challenging courses. Where your skill level will be tested and graded on your drives, ability to hold and shape lines and long distance putting accuracy. This location you have just entered was selected by disc golfers, designed by and built by disc golfers to not be your average neighborhood course. The thinking process here was to lull you with picturesque backdrops, elevation changes and scenic wooded paths for your cool walking pleasure. Then as we all know how disc golf can have it's cold and brutal darkside. You will instantly be smacked out of your lull to the humbling reality that you have come to be rated and challaneged.

You can easily find the first tee just to the left of the restrooms next to the parking lot (#13).Take a walk past the facilities toward the pond and look for the path on your left you will see the first tee, where it all starts. Make sure you have your seat in the upright position are firmly strapped in and we have your complete attention. Your guided tour is about to begin so please enjoy and keep in mind this was for your pleasure..........
Your first 3 holes start out in the 400 & 500 ft ranges with room for great drives and some tree love to show you some of the more shaded areas that we have to offer. Again, don't become discouraged with the feeble distances of your drives, we are about to enter the open area with rolling fields and scenic vistas. You will have the opportunity to watch your discs fly like the local hawks sailing on the thermals and wind pockets. Hole #6 is just a stunning shot for your disc as well as your camera. Looking out onto the panoramic view of the lake and boat docks. Here you will have a sense of triumph thinking you smell a birdie in the air and the making of one. You drive out and gently glide to a comfortable lye within 60 feet of the basket. Now the moment is at hand, will you risk going for the birdie and chance the death roll to the bottom of the slope where the basket is precariously located. Or think to play it safe? Knowing that this course offers few chances for a birdie opportunity or ace run. Choose well, remember this is a thinking game not just body mechanics. In a few steps from the basket you see the tee pad for hole #7. Another beauty of a shot! You look out and your mind struggles with your options on how to drive, for your second chance at birdie. As you survey the landscape you notice the basket is strategically tucked into a few low trees in a meadow far below to prevent a ace. This is where you will need to stand tall and be a man. Throw care to the wind and trust me on this one. Power drive out toward the lake hard and high allowing for a nice big hyzer fade left over the thorn jungle on the right to land near the basket.Think big and you will be rewarded for your effort with a near perfect lye next to the basket and a birdie. As we all know with every down hill soon to follow will come an up hill drive. Welcome to hole #8. Up the hill, across the meadow. than yet one more climb to finish at the hanging basket from a large tree. Yes, a novelty I know. But,... it adds to the fun factor for this course. Well, lets add a little distance to your next shot back down through the rolling hills.......and you will. Hole #9 finishes the front 9 with a 730 foot basket snuggled up near the treeline. You have now had your moment in the sun and the lush green fields working on your tan.

As you walk back to the restrooms to find the tee pad for hole #10. You take a breather,....adding up your score and thinking about the front nine sitting on the tee pad for #10. It's time for a change you decide, "I need to up my game." The back nine will do just that. So get ready to test your backwoods lore and hiking skills over rock fields, boulder strewn paths, foot bridges over flowing streams and gorges. Hole 10 can be a lumber jacking experience at 821 feet through the woods. I hope you planned your day well, bringing extra water and water proof light weight hiking shoes. Because you will need both depending on the time of year. This area can get muddy and stay damp. Cool, shady, rocky goat trails lead you through this area that play holes that look like old logging roads. Hole 12 is your only break at 252 ft. Soon comes one of my favorite holes of this course and what in my mind is how I always remember this place. Hole #16, a sweet 399 ft. straight down hill drive over water twice. I love this shot, it just begs you to empty your bag trying for a Cubby Ace. Resist the urge, because the last two holes are both over 550 feet. Well.......okay take two or three drives if you must, just make sure course traffic is light and your not holding anyone up. After all it is about having fun and you have to take it where you can here. No.17 is a long slow anhyzer fade right ending just short of the pond. Both sides of this fairway can eat your disc faster then a blink of your eye. To one side you have a marshy swamp and what looks to be a glowing stagnate pool. On the other side is a boulder field were the cranny goblins hide your errant thrown disc. Watch your footing please as you spend time looking for your disc. Moving right along. Don't worry all you have left is #18. The walk to 18 can be very swampy during Spring and heavy rains. Take a deep breath, you are almost done. Only this last hole at 567 feet around the pond through the woods over rocks, lumber jacking your way to the basket. In the fall your disc is subject to a game of hide and seek in deep leaves after ricocheting off several trees to confuse it's exact position. Oh, is't this just fun! Didn't you feel the love?

Congratulations, you have just finished your Nocky experience. How, do you feel? A little beat up? Tired? Go head and tally up that score sheet. Yeah I know, you aren't looking forward to it. The Good, the Bad and some really Ugly. As you look down at your score sheet after a hard played round and feel that tear welling up in your eye. Thinking to yourself that you should donate your discs and bag to the local boys club or maybe list them on Ebay? Take solace in knowing a score of +5 to +10 is a good day here. This wasn't meant to be your local pitch and putt. This was a test from the Disc Golf Gods themselves, to see if you are the man that you think your are? Or just a mere mortal and casual DG player? So hold your head high and walk with your shoulders back........you have been challenged.
Cons: There are few and truly negligible in the greater scope of things here. Remember this was meant to be a test and challenge. So some of the down sides are;

* You came here unprepared for a challenge.
* You didn't bring your "A" game.
* You wore sneakers or your sandals broke.
* You can only power drive off of a concrete tee and a level elevated fly pad won't do.
* You need lot's of amenities and comforts to ease your game.
* You hate lot's of walking and rocky ground.
* Your feet got muddy or wet.
* Your ego is bruised and your not quite ready for the Pro tour.
* No multi basket locations.
* No multi pads to make Noobs feel at home.
* Signs yes, but by now you should be able to follow a path?..........No?
* Tee signs, are basic. Hole number and distance, what more do you need? You can see the basket? Your good.
* You don't like playing in the woods?.....to many trees?...........DUH!......test remember?........
Other Thoughts: Okay! Ready for round TWO?

Nockamixon is a great park and a tough play. It can be like a love hate relationship. It's beauty takes you in and its technicality gives you a black eye. Pain or Pleasure? Which is it for you? One thing for sure is you can't just go for the ride once! You have to come back and play again. It will whisper your name in the night beckoning you to try again. If it doesn't than maybe this isn't the game for you?

Oh! As a side note 9 miles up the road is a sweet 9 holer that is too good to pass up. It will get your juices flowing............so if your in the neighborhood you might as well hit Unami Creek.

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lost Disc Hole#11 Green Champion

1    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: There are some really long throws for this course, so that is nice to finally air a few throws out. A good mix of tree to openings. Definitely soggy after raining a few days back.
Cons: The brush will burn you if you throw into it. A lot of sticker bushes, would NOT recommend if it has rained within 72 hours to play the course. Very confusing to find the first tee, if you find the bathrooms at Lot#13 then head to the Left of the Lake and it is in the tree line.

Unfortunately we lost a green/clear 172 champion to the Left 80ft short of the hole on #11. If you find it our last name of Hull and the phone number is on it. Please be considerate and return it to its owners.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately we lost a green/clear champion to the Left 80ft short of the hole on #11. If you find it our last name of Hull and the phone number is on it. Please be considerate and return it to its owners, we would be grateful for your generosity.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.