Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #13
4 / 670ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 First time to Nockamixon Course

1    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: flyfarmblues
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Though I only played the front 9, there are some very challenging holes. Challenging, meaning- Holes are long, no marking info to give you an idea of where the baskets are, and some baskets are just located in cool/far/ funky spots.
Cons: Wet...Everywhere. There doesnt seem to be any good drainage for the water that is running throughout the front 9.
Also, for the length of some holes, it would be nice if there were better markings so you know where you are throwing. First time- take a map!
Also, slightly difficult to locate...I decided while I was already out to play here, so I used Google Maps from my phone.If you plug in Nockamixon Park, it will take you to the other side of the lake from where the course is located (7-8 miles between parking lots), so be sure to have the location of the course before the trek.
Other Thoughts: My "home" course is Tyler State Park, so in comparison...this course is decent, but not as close to Tyler as their review ratings suggest...

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 new review

1    3/20/2009   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: very nice scenery. hills overlooking the lake, streams, waterfall type areas. the terrain changes including elevation makes this course challenging and fun. throwing both up and down steep hills, over the streams and a mix of open and moderately dense woods. you also play through boulder-fields. the baskets themselves are a thing of interest. one hangs from a tree rather than being stuck in the ground, 18 is raised up an additional 2 or 3 feet on top of a pillar of rocks. another is in a dry part of a creek bed thats 3 or 4 feet lower than the fairway. many near the edge of a cliff or near a watertrap means some careful putting.
Cons: a few of the holes are just too long and or difficult. the par is higher on some of them, but they are still insanely difficult to get a good score on. its is easy to get frustrated and forget that this course was designed especially for pros. navigation can be a little difficult at times but is not bad.
Other Thoughts: i am ashamed of the poor review i gave this course a few weeks ago. i hadnt played it in over a year and i never had someone who knew their way around. playing with a group recently (that knew the course inside and out) completely changed my perspective on it.

5 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Nockamixon

1    5/10/2009   3/8/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This course offers a large coverage area. It makes for great views. Presents as challenging and technical.
Cons: A lot of rocky areas, especially in the middle of the fairway. Increased potential to lose discs.

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    12/18/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nockamixon was designed by disc golfers for disc golfers and this is the absolute truth. I'm going to use the word variety a lot in my review because this was the predominant attribute of the course.

Although the course is mostly wooded, the holes ranged from fairways dotted or bordered by trees to straight up PA back country. Some of the wooded holes could accommodate a max distance driver while others required a more controllable disc, finesse, and skill. The more open holes included flat clearings to wide open holes where a long bomb drive could easily be accommodated. Hole 5, the 803' par 5 is an amazing hole that provides the opportunity for controlled drives, but the trees situated throughout the fairway are an ever-present danger that makes for interesting play.

Elevation changes come into play practically every other hole creating tricky approaches or letting the disc rip over long downhill fairways.

Water comes into play frequently on this course. Kudos should be given to the course designers for the clever way in which they worked this hazard into the different holes. For the most part, the water provided a great scenic backdrop, but you always know is there, lurking, waiting to grab a disc after an unintentional roll or bad bounce.

The variation in scenery is awesome. Backwoods paths, boulder fields, ponds, trickling brooks, gushing streams, wide-open vistas, to...I could go on for a while.

I really liked the basket placement at Nockamixon. Different aspects of the terrain were used to create unique putting situations. A few standouts included a tall basket atop a rock pile and a chain-mounted basket hung from a tree.

For the most part, the tee pads were clean and in great shape. The tee signs were also in pretty good shape, large, and clearly visible.
Cons: As most homeowners know, water is a necessity in life and your house's biggest enemy. Same goes for Nocky. The streams running through the course are beautiful, but the course is a bit boggy. This is likely a bigger problem in the spring and summer and after any rain storm or a big melt.

When the foliage is when it's in full bloom it is a big nightmare and disc stealer in the summer.

I was lucky enough to have a pair of local players walk me through my first time (and played a fun round), but without a map or other local disc golfers, course navigation might be a slight problem for first-timers.
Other Thoughts: It's a tough course (dare I say a monster?), but a couse I'm gald I played and will play again. Newer players might find Nockamixon difficult, hell, experienced players find Nockamixon difficult, but there is so much variety that you'd be hard-pressed not to have a good time.

For any noob that is intimidated by or has been chewed up and spit out by courses like Tyler State Park could test their chops and regain some confidence at Nockamixon. I highly recommend this course.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 not for starters

2-4    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great for semi-pro level and above average, alot of elevation changes in the right spot and many risk vs reward on almost all of the holes, t's are decent but worn
Cons: Only a handfull of the holes here are fun for staters to play the rest will leave you very very annoyed and chasing after your disk, this is not for people just starting out.
Other Thoughts: this course will have you pulling your hair out if you hit a bad wind or toss wrong during the summer months., prepare to lose disks. also do not play this if it rained recently you will not have fun at all this place is like a sponge. the fall is fun here since the grass is almost dead and easier to find disks, i expect spring to be the same as fall probably better once its dry and before the green happens

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 nottobemissedin

1    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Major challenge. It was made even harder by a drenching rain, complete with slick pads, slick chains, and the obligatory slippery rocks in and around the fairways. Trees, trees, and more trees, lots of water, left, right, slopes. Everything I was hoping for. great views of the lake, state park setting is awesome.

Hole 14 is one of the better holes out there with an attainable 300 foot downhill basket, but the stream makes it a sick shot. Today is was more like a raging torrent. If my disc went in, it was gone. I'd love to play this course again on a dryer day, but the inclement weather made it fun in its own way.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: thanks to optidiscic for showing me the local routes on such a nasty day!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Beautiful Beating in Disc Golf!

5+    7/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2011
26 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For starters, I am an opinionated reviewer due to being one of a handful of volunteers who helped build this course. That being said I will try to be as fair as possible in this review. I think I know the course inside and out like few others.
This course was conceived and built by disc golfers for disc golfers. This does not mean newcomers should not test their mettle against one of the hardest courses ever built. I say this because Nocky is just a thrill to play and don't feel bad no one conquers it.There are no filler holes. Long wooded fairways ending in technical approaches! Every hole will challenge in a way that the prior hole did not. It's long ,8911 feet, and primarily wooded with significant elevation shifts on 2/3 of the holes. The 4 "open" holes, 6,7,8 and 9, still have trees to negotiate off the tee or on approach so there is no reckless driving here. The wind coming off the lake really plays with the disc on holes 6 & 7. There are several creeks that come into play on holes 11,12,14,15,16 and ponds factor on 17. There are also massive boulder fields off the fairway on holes 16 &17. So before we start just remember that unlike other challenging courses that derive their difficulty from a handful of factors, Nockamixon can make your score blow up in countless ways. Wind, Hills, Rocks, Water, Woods, Length, and not to mention the mental aspect of playing the highest rated SSA of any Worlds Championship course ever. (67 by the top pros!) I should know my score has blown up on this course many times. The frustration of not hitting that miniscule fairway and landing in an ice age boulder field on hole 17 can soon turn to joy when your standing off balance atop a giant rock and recover with an approach for the ages. It's just that type of course, plenty of opportunity to save par or even save bogey if you will. You never just throw and approach and putt here. You think about every shot before and even afterwards as you drive home. Nocky is a permanent course in the "eternal" long position so never will you show up and the baskets are in a short position.(holes 1,13,14,and 18 have 2 long baskets each) I think of this as a pro because your gonna get that challenge everytime you show up here, unlike other courses with short pin positions. A quick rundown of the holes:
1-530 ft a flat wooded drive anhyzer off the tee and hyzer upon approach
2-414 ft slight uphill with 2 lanes on either side of a row of evergreens
3-527 ft extremely wooded fairway down to a right dogleg and then to a basket behind a low stone wall
4-246 ft short drive between 2 goal post trees to a basket behind a massive stone wall and perched atop a boulder
5-678 ft long wooded weaving fairway, many complain it's a par 4....just take your bogey, Climo 3ed here and he thought he Eagled as well only to learn it was a par 4. Welcome to Nocky champ!
6-363 ft downhill into the open with dramatic views of Lake Nockamixon all around...the wind drifting off the lake and the pin position on the side of a huge grassy hill can garner birdies as well as double bogeys
7-438 ft Biggest elevation drop on course...big throw into the air to a green surrounded by trees below, placement golf here
8-501 ft uphill journey that eventually ends at a hanging basket from a massive branch
9-730 ft downhill screamer to a grassy plateau and then downhill again to a protected basket tucked in some cedars
A walk past your car and the bathrooms and your looking at
10-821 ft of tight fairway dogleg left that ends with a basket behind a rock wall, this is a true par 5
11-485 ft tight fairway with many options to approach a basket snuggled between 2 creeks
12-252 ft options off the tee R or L uphill but beware as there is a dramatic cliff to the right with many knockdown trees
13-548 ft of can you throw straight to avoid jail left or drop off right...the basket sits atop a cliff so don't over throw your approach
14-305 ft throw R down a tight wooded fairway or L over a creek that lines the entire alternate fairway and make a run at the basket all the way down there
15-555 ft between 2 trees over a steep bank and then uphill to a basket tucked above to the right
16-399 ft downhill a power line over a creek and the baskets sits in the streambed with water beyond and surrounded by waterfalls...did I mention the boulder field that lines the left side of the fairway!
17-552 ft of can you keep it on the fairway tight unforgiving ponds to the left, boulder field to the right...downhill and eventually to a basket that is framed by a huge pond behind her
18-567 ft a nasty right dogleg that will have you negotiate trees, a rock wall and a stream bed before your finally out of the woods on an open green and putting to finish your day!
Nocky is a unique course that will challenge you in so may ways. The beauty of the place will keep you smiling as your score goes well into the 70s, 80s and above!
Cons: What makes Nocky so great is what makes it so despised. It's just so difficult. The chance to lose discs is possible if you can't keep it on the fairways. the shule is not so thick, it's just that the course is entirely woods and long so your often driving wildly off the tee with little room for error. Many novices tend to rip with reckless abandon and then its search search search. The footing can be mush or rocky if you don't land in the proper areas....this can be fun as you will often be forced to stand and drive off balance. many get upset that they can't run up and X step due to slipping or tripping. When it rains the course can be a soggy mess, especially holes 3,7 and 18. Never was meant as a beginner course and will beat down any inexperienced players without mercy. If you attempt to lay up you are usually left with an equally difficult 2nd shot...you are better off going for it which typically spells dusaster for those who have less experience.
Other Thoughts: I love this course like no other. I have played many other courses and few can compare to this place, combining beauty and difficulty. Keep in mind that the course is maintained by less than 5 people and it is a labor of love. The deer do their part as well eating all the foliage off the cedars up to the 2 meter mark! Plans are in the works to upgrade and improve the course. I would think a trip to Nocky is worthwhile for every level of golfer. Pro's will be truly challenged and novices will enjoy the chance to play a real course in an amazing setting. When conditions are wet and Nocky is not maintained it is a 4 disc rating but when it's dry and the course is maintained it is a five disc rating. The true true scenario is somewhere in between...

26 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Do not ''Nock'' it tell you try it

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Dr.awesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Water, water , and rapids galore, after this course you will be wanting more! This course is anything but average. It has great risk reward opportunities, no hole is like the next, great baskets. Long great course worth the trip. Holes 3, 12, 11, 8, 9, 7, 4. Just a great course. Pretty scenery, like the rapids next to basket 7. This is by far the second best course i have ever played. It is worth any drive to visit a cource with such great things coming at you on every single hole you play (except the new 1 2 3 4). I recomend any one come to this course!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: No tee signs. A real bummer for people with bad knees.
Other Thoughts: This course is up there with Tyler, yet it is no comparison. If you want to have a more relaxing game, skip hole 1-4, they are no fun, 14 on this course is like 27 on another.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Good the Bad and the Ugly

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New first 4 holes are great to kick off the day. The new holes have few trees on the fairway, except for #3. This course is pro caliber course when it comes to the pars on these tough holes. Great use of terrain with hills, trees and water. Outstanding view of the lake on some holes. There is a bathroom with a water fountain. Every hole on this course has it's own different play and feel. Never does it feel as if your playing the same hole twice.
Cons: Boots or old sneakers is the way to go. This course has rock gardens with rocks ranging from pumpkin size to boulders. Off of fairway is a jungle so track your disc like a hawk. Honestly this park is a disc thief so don't take your eye of your throw. On Hole #7 and #9 the grass towards the pin is not cut and very long. At Hole #10 there are carpenter bees all about the bathrooms but they aren't a problem. Hole #17 has a little pond to the left of the fairway about 250 ft down. Also, on the same hole a big pond is right behind the pin so tone the shot down. The course par is not forgiving one bit, every throw must count. If you don't bring your A-game don't even think about bringing a scorecard.
Other Thoughts: New Hole #1 is located at the bottom of the lot near old hole 6 (now 10) Hole #3 has a mean dogleg to the right about 100-120 ft out. Hole #8 has the pin hanging from a tree. (i rolled a disc because I was behind a V tree and it hit the roots and popped in for birdie...yeah I'm bragging) Great course just stay on fairway with safe shots and you will have a fine day.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ToughEST

5+    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: jtcline
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The extra 4 holes are great! I always felt slightly cheated with only 14 holes. By far the toughest course I've ever played.
Cons: None. Thank you for cutting the grass. And thanks to all state workers and volunteers who maintain this course. It is AWESOME! (I still think #5 hole,old #1 is a PAR 5, but that is my only tiny gripe)
Other Thoughts: It is a love/ hate relationship. It is the course that truly challenges me. If I get single digits over PAR, I consider it a great round!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.