Quakertown, PA
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #7
3 / 438ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Best Course I've Ever Seen

5+    9/13/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: patlgn
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full disclosure- This is one of the closest courses to my house and I learned to play disc golf here. So my opinion may be biased, but I prefer to think this just makes me more of an expert on the course.

Let me just start by saying- the course is AMAZING. The closest to a challenging course of ball golf I've ever come across- after playing for 5 years on 15+ courses. I've heard it called the "Pebble Beach" of disc golf, and that is correct. It's long, varied, sometimes quite difficult, and always interesting. Not a single hole seems like filler, and several of them could easily be signature holes on lesser courses. (2, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 16 come to mind, though I'm sure you could make cases for others as well)

In addition to this being a great course, it is also set in a beautiful state park. The front 9 plays along a huge hill with amazing views of Lake Nockamixon- especially the basket on hole 6. The back 9 is set back in the woods and by itself could be a great nature hike.

Tees- usually pretty well maintained. Some bumps/uneven patches, but generally very solid. Maps provide decent views of holes and give good info. No complaints.

Fairways- often long, sometimes narrow, but always fair. Despite Nockamixon's difficult reputation, I think the fairways are usually pretty open as long as you keep your discs low and take your time. There are definitely holes where the trees can be infuriating (#3 for example), but there is always a workable alley through them. This is not one of those courses where the difficulty comes from a designer that thought it would be a good idea to leave 40 trees between you and the basket. There is always a viable means of getting through- if you can't then you'll just have to swallow it. tl;dnr- difficult but fair

Rough- if you don't manage to stay in the fairways, there is a variety of obstacles ready to eat up your discs. For most holes, this would include some bushes, high grass, or trees- I find it's usually pretty easy to find your disc as long as you pay attention when it lands. The real trouble comes with the boulder fields in the woods. If you can, play with a spotter to help see where discs land on these holes (16 and 17 especially). If your disc lands in there and you don't have a good idea of where it went down, you could be searching for quite a while.

Diversity- this is the best part about nockamixon. There is every type of elevation change you can imagine. There are tees on pedestals, in (relatively) open areas, hanging from baskets, next to streams, and on the edges of steep hills. Some fairways are long corridors with trees or cliffs on either side, while others allow for open shots over trees, down hills, and across fields. Some holes are monsters (well over 700 feet), while others are short but tricky (there is one hole that allows legit ace runs- you'll have to play to find out). All of these differences keep you on your toes. And while it adds difficulty, pars and the occasional birdie are always options for adequate players.
Cons: Lots of rocks. Makes fairway run-ups difficult or impossible at times.
Other Thoughts: The key is to take your time, figure out your lines, and stick to them. Keep it fair, while still getting some distance, and you'll be fine.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sticks and Stones....and Rocks!

2-4    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I've enjoyed my rounds at Nock. My initial impression was it was crudely designed and built when I first played it several years ago. Time went by and took another crack at her. What a gem! As I played hole after hole, I was reminded of the beauty within....great mixture of terrain that challenges many aspects of your game. Some holes have multiple pin placements...check the info board for that intel. The amount of rocky terrain brings a new obstacle to the game...no extra distance on the skip and if it hits the ground hard..look for the ricochet. Not going to go into specific holes...but I loved the back nine, especially 14, 16 and 18. Just alot of fun.
Cons: The rocky sections...be careful where you step..had a few mis-steps and some difficult lies to get a halfway decent footing for a shot.
Signs were o.k., not very informational for the first round...after that, not really necessary.
Other Thoughts: Tyler is my home course, so I'm used to what a good disc golf course should play like. Nockamixon really shines as an all around excellent 18 holes of challenging fun! Put this one on your must do list...and do it!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best

1    5/5/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -A very difficult course even for top pros
-Rubber Tee Pads
-Great signage and next tee indicators
-Has pretty decent baskets
-Grass was mowed
-Elevation Changes
-I liked how shots required distance and accuracy
-good mix of par 3's,4's and a 5
- Fair Fairways (number 3 is iffy)
-Very scenic with the creek and lake
Cons: -I didn't care for the OB on two before the green, but it didn't really mind it.
-So far away in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people complain about the rocks and boulders on this course. Having rocks teaches you to throw standstills and lets you experience different shots that you are used too.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Nocky - 2005 Worlds Toughest Course

5+    5/13/2010   7/16/2013
Review By: crispy13fsw
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.9 Years
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: One of the top courses on the east coast. Period. Lots of signature holes, tests all levels of players. Was happy to volunteer on this course in 2005 for the Worlds and top players in disc golf agree.
Cons: None

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

The great outdoors

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: Cmk21
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Long holes, beautiful nature all around. Well maintained. Creeks all around. Very relaxing. Not too buggy.
Cons: Very rocky course. Be careful not to roll and ankle. Need better direction from tee to tee. Disc catchers could use some reflective tape or color to them. Hard to spot sometimes. Too many very long holes.
Other Thoughts: All around 2nd best one I've been to besides Tyler state park

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Cons?

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: Bushman71
Played: 141  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I've had this course programmed into my GPS for 2 years now and I finally got to play it. It was a wet between the boulders and windy but worth the wait. Loved all 18 holes of Nockamixon, babbling brooks, water falls, boulder fields, big shots, technical shots, so on and so on. The course changes from hole to hole. You play in wooded boulder fields then flat, grassy fair ways, blind down hill shots, huge hyzers over tree tops. It's a mix of all the best holes rolled into one course. If your in the area it is a must play. If its not in your area program it into you GPS and go play.
Cons: The only disappointment is it makes most other courses a little blander. Sure it has a lot of wet spots but II would call it a con, it's part of the experience at playing the best course I've played so far.
Other Thoughts: Words and pics don't do this course justice. It will brake you if your not on your game but wow does it hurt so good.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hardcore disc golf!

1    5/2/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.7 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW! This course was fantastic!

You looking for challenge? Nocky has it.

How 'bout natural beauty? You found it.

This monster demands respect yet treats its guests with fair play and beautiful, rugged terrain.

The reputation of Nockamixon's long, narrow fairways had me skeptical upon arrival. There is not much that irks me more on a course than ridiculously convoluted fairways. This course is fair. Whew. My biggest concern behind me.

Now the bonuses kept rolling in.

The diversity was through the roof. There was nice elevation, including a shot out toward the boat docks to a pin precariously perched on a relatively steep hillside. Hole 7 is a nice 400+ ft, par 3, sail shot and hole 14 offered a gorgeous right hook shot through some early trees, over the creek, down to a reachable pin. Hole 10 was a sick, hard left hook that continued hooking for about 800ft. I wont bore with a hole by hole breakdown but I can assure you, the diversity kicked ass.

The rough was exactly as it should be. It makes your next shot tougher but you should leave with your entire bag of discs.

The mental aspect of this course is not to be underestimated. You will be presented with options on some holes but typically you will need to choose, and more importantly HOLD, long lines to achieve par. Pick your landing zones well. Don't expect pitch and putts or ace runs here.

I felt navigation was a breeze. Really, it was about the only simple thing on this course. The handcrafted signage and next tee signs were spot on.
Cons: The rocky ground can make footing a bitch. If you have weak ankles, wear shoes/boots with good ankle support. It's wise to take your time while choosing your paces in some spots.

This isn't really a con but this is not a course for everyone. Trust me, Nocky will beat down anyone lacking a solid, well rounded game.
Other Thoughts: This course really left an impression. It has so much to offer. I very much look forward to a chance to get back to play this one.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

1    2/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've ever played.

The course is long, and really well layed out. Lots of wooded holes, some nice water holes, and a few wide open holes keep things interesting. You need a perfect combination of power and precision to play well here.
Cons: I think it could use a few more water hazards to make things even more interesting.
Other Thoughts: This and sankanac are my favorite eastern PA courses by far.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Nocky Monster

5+    1/1/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: lion1143
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nocky has everything that you could ask for in a championship course. It winds mostly through the woods with plenty of water and elevation changes. There are several signature holes with my favorites being #6, #7, #10 & 16. You could probably ask 10 locals what their favorite holes are and not get the same answer twice. There are just that many great holes here.
Cons: I can't wait for concrete tee pads and the course can be muddy.
Other Thoughts: Do your best to stay on the fairway as errant shots will
find the woods, water or worse the boulder fields-yes this place has these pre-historic, pre-ice age meteor fields that will eat your discs and bruise your arse. Hats off to the designers of this course for incorporating all of mother natures beauty and her dark side. This course is just that good.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

the ultimate beast!

2-4    11/9/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: Prostar47
Played: 64  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a championship caliber course that requires all facets of your game, whether it be a certain type of shot, or a great mental game. It all comes into effect here.

Nockamixon has several keys to being a fantastic course.

1) Diversity. Every hole on this course has its on personality and doesn't seem like you're throwing the same shot on every hole.

2) Challenge. Nockamixon will leave you walking away bruised and battered physically and mentally with the tough challenge that is there. A good mix of short and long holes with a great choice of risk vs. reward.

3) Great use of the terrain. There is small creeks that come into effect throughout the course, as well as sloped hills to the sides (to deal with those tricky roll away shots), great uphill and down hill shots, and huge boulder fields that mess with footing and really make you choose your shots wisely. Also great views of the marina and ponds.

4)Amenities: Huge parking lot to accomodate large tournaments, nice bathroom onsite, a good practice basket site.
Cons: Not much to complain about due to this being a fantastic course. The only thing is take a few tree away on some of the holes where its more of a hope and pray you get through, rather than hitting a specific line.
Other Thoughts: This course left me feeling crushed after finishing playing with scores of 80/81/81 the three times ive played it, but walked away feeling amazed at such an awesome course.

my favorite holes were hole 8, hole 14, and hole 16.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.