Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #17 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 501ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 DG Heaven

1    9/8/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.3 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow...
-Extemely diverse: Each hole has a very unique personality...tight wood, open wood, tunnel shots, open field, major elevation changes, major demand for perfect execution amd accuracy...this is a course that will absolutely not bore you with repetition.
-Very difficult: The course without hesitation became my new benchmark when evaluating my level of playing. So long as you can direct your disc well and are willing to play smarter and not always go for a shot Chuck Norris would, you can survive here, though I recommend beginners to develop your game elsewhere. For intermediates, advanced, and open players...many throws/lines, every disc.
-Stunning vistas: hole 6 basket>lake view is breath taking and really steals the thunder from an otherwise beautiful look from tee #7 down a large hill with a tight fairway, lake on the right. The whole course is filled with grade A scenery..where to begin..see it for yourself, I can't do that for you.
-Good rubber tee pads and signs: most tee pads were in good shape and signs were effective in visually describing the hole (especially since on most holes, the basket is not viewable from tee pad). It was easy to find next tee as well.
-Narrow fairways that usually have one or two reasonable gaps.
-Wasn't busy on a fair weathered mid afternoon Saturday in early September.
-indoor bathrooms and a water fountain near tee pads #1/10
-very natural feel to the course: not too many times where there was much need for maintenance. Most fairways are mixture of rocks and grass, so there was only a few holes with a need to mow and maintain (they were maintained well).
-Almost everything I could ask for out of a DG course, except a low score ;)
Cons: -Don't mess up: hard to recover here...score can take a beating if you tree out early due to big distance and high expectations of par here.
-Though super cool when visible enough to add to the landscape, many of the fairways are covered in small rocks that make walking tricky at times. Be careful not to twist an ankle.
-No scorecards available to my knowledge.
-No trash cans on course: littering was not bad, but a trash can halfway through front and back nine couldn't hurt.
I can barely criticize this course....demands a great performance but otherwise unbelievable all around.
Other Thoughts: It's like this course tells a story. It's rare that a course has enough of a natural landscape and environment to provide the variety Nockamixon does. What a great experience.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Beast of the East

1    7/27/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tough! With an average length of over 500', many elevation changes, some extreme, and wooded-fairways frequently strewn with rough rocks, the holes on this par-67 course provide a real litmus test for up-n-coming players to measure themselves against.
Cons:
Not for the faint of heart - inappropriate for beginners, too much too soon for non-masochistic intermediates. Wear stout shoes!

Single tee/basket position. Frequent chances for disc loss.
Other Thoughts:
Why did I like this course so much, despite feeling as if I had just gone 18-rounds with a heavyweight boxer, who enjoyed toying with me?

- There are no "unfair" shots required from the tee - if you can throw straight, and/or have good command of when/how much your disc turns/fades, you will be in a reasonable spot after your first throw - however, reasonable might not be good enough.

- There are no "unfair" fairways - yes, there are plenty of trees and branches to avoid, but nothing ridiculously tight, nor bizarre shapes to throw.

- There are no "unfair" basket positions. There are certainly challenging ones, such as open-but-steeply-sloped #6, #14 down-slope and near the creek, and #16, under a rise and surrounded by shallow water, but no jail cells or such.

To score well on this course, you are continually challenged to be accurate on each and every shot - lose focus, you're likely adding a stroke, if not two. For the longer holes, if you hit the "sweet spot" with your drives, the next shot, while still challenging, will provide you a good opportunity to reach the basket on your approach. However, miss the optimal spot, and you'll often have a much more awkward second shot, and will be scrambling to save par. For the six par-3 holes, major elevation changes and/or wooded-tightness must be overcome to have a birdy opportunity.

If anywhere in the area, and looking for a serious challenge, consider playing this course. Be forewarned, however, that it is quite tough, especially the longer, less open, rougher back nine.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course

1    6/5/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MarlinRoth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Well-structured course with a lot of options, a nice park and the land was incorporated well.
Cons: very tough for beginners
Other Thoughts: My friend and I are beginners and went here. We ignored the warnings that this course is not for beginners and I had 3 drivers at the time, all of which we lost while playing the course haha. Seriously, don't play this course until you are pretty confident in your ability, or you are ready to lose a few discs.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Love this course and try to play it every time i am on the east coast. Very challangeing mentaly and physchialy (humidty can be rough).
Cons: Holds water after rain, some review say soggy but i found it downright wet. I was prepaired and it wasnt an issue.
Other Thoughts: Definatly not recomended for beginners, and can make the best of us breakdown, but its the challange that will keep you coming back. Great place to grab a beer and food about 2 miles down the road.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Rockin' Nock Your Socks Off!

2-4    5/13/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 championship caliber holes with rubber tees, multiple baskets and pins. Two nine hole loops back the parking lot and restrooms and course map. The variety of shots and use of elevation and terrain is phenomenal with natural bunkers and pits. Fairways are quite fair for the most part, and the holes tend to be long with some par 4's and 5's, but also mixed with some 3's to make some birdie 2's and even ace run. If you veer much off the fairway you will be punished. Mostly wooded with a couple open shots that are still very challenging with the extreme elevation, wind, and well placed trees/baskets. Some of the greens are a bit intimidating with huge elevation drop off and or water. You are constantly weighing risk vs reward. Navigation is pretty good and not much underbrush in the woods, and mowed fairways where possible. Disc golf only area with some gorgeous views!
Cons: I'm not knocking a course of this caliber for a what some people might consider cons. Not a great beginner course although I saw some first timers trying to play, the kiddie course is down the street at Sellersville, but's it's also a great fun course for anyone there. Nocky can be a little muddy in places and it's rocky, so bring your hiking shoes/boots as footing can be an issue. Grass doesn't get mowed on the rockier fairways for obvious reason but the rocks also cover much of the fairway so it's not hard to find your disc. There's a little bit of poison ivy in places, not bad at all though. Hole 17 plays down a path of some sort. Disc loss is possibility. Tee signs can be faded.
Other Thoughts: Nockamixon figuratively and literally rocks! This is arguably one of the best courses to really test a player's mettle vs a championship level layout with an atheistically pleasing surrounding. Most the holes here are signature worthy and just provide an absolute joy and terror to play with some tricky basket placements and great elevation changes. You really have to think about setting up for the next shot on the longer holes so placement shots are crucial to birdie or even par in many cases. My first visit here I pretty much had the course to myself making it very serene. The second time I came back during a tag match and there were a few other groups playing, but still managed to breeze through and locals are nice. Nockamixon is my #1 course in Pa and ranks in my top 3 public park courses out of 100+ in a toss up depending on the minute. I will go out of my way driving up/down I-95 every time I get the chance to play here! It rocks so hard it will nock your socks off!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course.

1    5/10/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: beagle757
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous course, almost all of the holes are very scenic, playing is like taking a hike. I also enjoyed the variety of holes, lots of elevation, some streams, lots and lots of trees.
Cons: Not very good signage, difficult for newcomers to find their way about.
Other Thoughts: I personally found this course very challenging, almost too much so at times, thus I think that I would rate it higher if I was more experienced. Not recommended for beginners.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Radical

1    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: TheBirdGuy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is extremely cool. I had no idea what I was getting myself into.
- I showed up and at hole 1 there were restrooms and a bulletin board with a map of the course on it.
-The course is absurdly wooded (in a good way) and there are also plenty of rocks/boulders being swallowed by the ground.

I am so overwhelmed with joy about this place, I am finding it hard to write anything that makes sense.

-There are a few open holes with BEAUTIFUL backdrops... #6!!!! It's absurd. The hole overlooks a massive lake with a dock of sail boats, motor boats, jet skis, you name it. It is so pretty. You'll find yourself taking 1 hour to play that hole because of how pretty it is.
- There is some awesome elevation change with all sorts of terrain, from fields of grass, trees to maneuver through, rocks-grass and trees, you name it, they have it covered.
-Hole 8 was awesome because the pin is being hung from a tree, which is so unique and cool.
-The course starts and finishes right next to each other (by the parking lot).
- There is pond which the course circles throughout the day. You start to the left of it and eventually end up playing back on the right side of it.
-This course covers a BUNCH of land. You will walk so much. At hole 12-15 you will be walking up and down, so be prepared to work those legs. 12-13 is like climbing a cliff. It's awesome because it is such an extreme elevation change from hole 12-15.
-They have rubber tee pads with signs which tell you what # hole you are at.
-Overall Pro: This course has it all and will not disappoint you.
Cons: There is no signage for the holes. You need to take a picture of the map, or print it out and carry it with you. The numbered metal signs have the Par and Length scratched in by hand, so look for that.

They need to make some signage which also tells you where the next hole is. With some directional sense, you can figure it out quite easily, but at some parts of the course it gets a bit confusing without help of a map.
Other Thoughts: -This course is by far the most difficult course I have ever played and the people we talk to along the way agree. Definitely not a beginner friendly course. You will need to be accurate because some holes (like 17) have a bunch of trees and more importantly boulder-like rocks which won't be shy about eating your discs.

-You might say that it isn't well maintained in the wooded parts of the course, but that is something that is quite charming to me. It gives it this natural feel which makes it that much better to play.

This course is definitely a favorite of mine, and I plan on coming here plenty more. Very memorable, difficult and fun.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Measuring Stick

5+    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Designed by disc golfers for disc golfers, this course has it all. Well defined fairways, excellent topography, and a large variety of hole layouts. I am relatively new to the sport, and this course is the measuring stick I use to define if I am actually improving as a player. If you think you've improved your accuracy and/or driving distance, this is the place where you will notice. The environment is beautiful, particularly on the back 9. Baskets are in good shape and clearly labeled. Tee pads are rubber, but in good shape overall. Even though it can get crowded, the layout makes you feel like you are all alone out there. The course was very clean overall. Love the new hand drawn tee signs, awesome addition to the course that addressed a major shortcoming. Each hole is very unique and memorable.
Cons: Hard to come up with many, non concrete tee pads are the only reason I do not rate this course a 5 (I appreciate it would be impossible to get concrete to some of the tee areas).
Other Thoughts: Playing here is definitely an experience. If you live anywhere is the area, you must play this course at some point. Prepare for a workout, and budget at least two hours to get through 18 holes. I like how the course wraps back around to the parking lot/restrooms after 9 holes so you can go back to your car if you need to for a snack or change of clothes. Bring extra shoes, it can be quite soggy.

Nockamixon definitely penalizes errant drives into the woods. Finding your disc is a challenge (the rocks and pond on hole 17 especially come to mind, as do the thickets on hole 7) and if you do find it, getting back out to the fairway is no picnic. Some holes are epically long and require perfect execution from rec players to even think about par. Due to the nature of many fairways (rocks), one cannot run up on 2nd and 3rd shots, which really tests your ability to throw for distance from a standing position. Not purely a grip it/rip it course, accuracy is essential as well. I would encourage new players to start somewhere else first, and then come here. Playing a first round here may be enough to discourage a new player from pursuing the sport further due to the difficulty Nockamixon presents.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great up and coming course

5+    4/11/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Discgolfer7383
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: very defined fairways, great for big arms, very technical shots
Cons: Boulder field on 17, after it rains alot of the holes become very muddy
Other Thoughts: I love the course layout it's a tough course but very fun to play.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 excellent

2-4    3/31/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very challenging but very senic
All holes are uniquely different
Great combo of wooded and non wooded holes
Beautiful area. Holes 6-9 are awesome as well as 11-16
Cons: Holes do not have signs with distance or map of where pin is located. Hole 2 is extremely muddy and is dubbed old swampy
Other Thoughts: Nockamixon is a great course. It is difficult and newcomers could get discouraged. Playing this course will definitely make you a better player as there are a wide variety of technical shots and power shots.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.