Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 527ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Love this course and try to play it every time i am on the east coast. Very challangeing mentaly and physchialy (humidty can be rough).
Cons: Holds water after rain, some review say soggy but i found it downright wet. I was prepaired and it wasnt an issue.
Other Thoughts: Definatly not recomended for beginners, and can make the best of us breakdown, but its the challange that will keep you coming back. Great place to grab a beer and food about 2 miles down the road.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Rockin' Nock Your Socks Off!

2-4    5/13/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 championship caliber holes with rubber tees, multiple baskets and pins. Two nine hole loops back the parking lot and restrooms and course map. The variety of shots and use of elevation and terrain is phenomenal with natural bunkers and pits. Fairways are quite fair for the most part, and the holes tend to be long with some par 4's and 5's, but also mixed with some 3's to make some birdie 2's and even ace run. If you veer much off the fairway you will be punished. Mostly wooded with a couple open shots that are still very challenging with the extreme elevation, wind, and well placed trees/baskets. Some of the greens are a bit intimidating with huge elevation drop off and or water. You are constantly weighing risk vs reward. Navigation is pretty good and not much underbrush in the woods, and mowed fairways where possible. Disc golf only area with some gorgeous views!
Cons: I'm not knocking a course of this caliber for a what some people might consider cons. Not a great beginner course although I saw some first timers trying to play, the kiddie course is down the street at Sellersville, but's it's also a great fun course for anyone there. Nocky can be a little muddy in places and it's rocky, so bring your hiking shoes/boots as footing can be an issue. Grass doesn't get mowed on the rockier fairways for obvious reason but the rocks also cover much of the fairway so it's not hard to find your disc. There's a little bit of poison ivy in places, not bad at all though. Hole 17 plays down a path of some sort. Disc loss is possibility. Tee signs can be faded.
Other Thoughts: Nockamixon figuratively and literally rocks! This is arguably one of the best courses to really test a player's mettle vs a championship level layout with an atheistically pleasing surrounding. Most the holes here are signature worthy and just provide an absolute joy and terror to play with some tricky basket placements and great elevation changes. You really have to think about setting up for the next shot on the longer holes so placement shots are crucial to birdie or even par in many cases. My first visit here I pretty much had the course to myself making it very serene. The second time I came back during a tag match and there were a few other groups playing, but still managed to breeze through and locals are nice. Nockamixon is my #1 course in Pa and ranks in my top 3 public park courses out of 100+ in a toss up depending on the minute. I will go out of my way driving up/down I-95 every time I get the chance to play here! It rocks so hard it will nock your socks off!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course.

1    5/10/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: beagle757
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous course, almost all of the holes are very scenic, playing is like taking a hike. I also enjoyed the variety of holes, lots of elevation, some streams, lots and lots of trees.
Cons: Not very good signage, difficult for newcomers to find their way about.
Other Thoughts: I personally found this course very challenging, almost too much so at times, thus I think that I would rate it higher if I was more experienced. Not recommended for beginners.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Radical

1    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: TheBirdGuy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is extremely cool. I had no idea what I was getting myself into.
- I showed up and at hole 1 there were restrooms and a bulletin board with a map of the course on it.
-The course is absurdly wooded (in a good way) and there are also plenty of rocks/boulders being swallowed by the ground.

I am so overwhelmed with joy about this place, I am finding it hard to write anything that makes sense.

-There are a few open holes with BEAUTIFUL backdrops... #6!!!! It's absurd. The hole overlooks a massive lake with a dock of sail boats, motor boats, jet skis, you name it. It is so pretty. You'll find yourself taking 1 hour to play that hole because of how pretty it is.
- There is some awesome elevation change with all sorts of terrain, from fields of grass, trees to maneuver through, rocks-grass and trees, you name it, they have it covered.
-Hole 8 was awesome because the pin is being hung from a tree, which is so unique and cool.
-The course starts and finishes right next to each other (by the parking lot).
- There is pond which the course circles throughout the day. You start to the left of it and eventually end up playing back on the right side of it.
-This course covers a BUNCH of land. You will walk so much. At hole 12-15 you will be walking up and down, so be prepared to work those legs. 12-13 is like climbing a cliff. It's awesome because it is such an extreme elevation change from hole 12-15.
-They have rubber tee pads with signs which tell you what # hole you are at.
-Overall Pro: This course has it all and will not disappoint you.
Cons: There is no signage for the holes. You need to take a picture of the map, or print it out and carry it with you. The numbered metal signs have the Par and Length scratched in by hand, so look for that.

They need to make some signage which also tells you where the next hole is. With some directional sense, you can figure it out quite easily, but at some parts of the course it gets a bit confusing without help of a map.
Other Thoughts: -This course is by far the most difficult course I have ever played and the people we talk to along the way agree. Definitely not a beginner friendly course. You will need to be accurate because some holes (like 17) have a bunch of trees and more importantly boulder-like rocks which won't be shy about eating your discs.

-You might say that it isn't well maintained in the wooded parts of the course, but that is something that is quite charming to me. It gives it this natural feel which makes it that much better to play.

This course is definitely a favorite of mine, and I plan on coming here plenty more. Very memorable, difficult and fun.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Measuring Stick

5+    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Designed by disc golfers for disc golfers, this course has it all. Well defined fairways, excellent topography, and a large variety of hole layouts. I am relatively new to the sport, and this course is the measuring stick I use to define if I am actually improving as a player. If you think you've improved your accuracy and/or driving distance, this is the place where you will notice. The environment is beautiful, particularly on the back 9. Baskets are in good shape and clearly labeled. Tee pads are rubber, but in good shape overall. Even though it can get crowded, the layout makes you feel like you are all alone out there. The course was very clean overall. Love the new hand drawn tee signs, awesome addition to the course that addressed a major shortcoming. Each hole is very unique and memorable.
Cons: Hard to come up with many, non concrete tee pads are the only reason I do not rate this course a 5 (I appreciate it would be impossible to get concrete to some of the tee areas).
Other Thoughts: Playing here is definitely an experience. If you live anywhere is the area, you must play this course at some point. Prepare for a workout, and budget at least two hours to get through 18 holes. I like how the course wraps back around to the parking lot/restrooms after 9 holes so you can go back to your car if you need to for a snack or change of clothes. Bring extra shoes, it can be quite soggy.

Nockamixon definitely penalizes errant drives into the woods. Finding your disc is a challenge (the rocks and pond on hole 17 especially come to mind, as do the thickets on hole 7) and if you do find it, getting back out to the fairway is no picnic. Some holes are epically long and require perfect execution from rec players to even think about par. Due to the nature of many fairways (rocks), one cannot run up on 2nd and 3rd shots, which really tests your ability to throw for distance from a standing position. Not purely a grip it/rip it course, accuracy is essential as well. I would encourage new players to start somewhere else first, and then come here. Playing a first round here may be enough to discourage a new player from pursuing the sport further due to the difficulty Nockamixon presents.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great up and coming course

5+    4/11/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Discgolfer7383
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: very defined fairways, great for big arms, very technical shots
Cons: Boulder field on 17, after it rains alot of the holes become very muddy
Other Thoughts: I love the course layout it's a tough course but very fun to play.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 excellent

2-4    3/31/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very challenging but very senic
All holes are uniquely different
Great combo of wooded and non wooded holes
Beautiful area. Holes 6-9 are awesome as well as 11-16
Cons: Holes do not have signs with distance or map of where pin is located. Hole 2 is extremely muddy and is dubbed old swampy
Other Thoughts: Nockamixon is a great course. It is difficult and newcomers could get discouraged. Playing this course will definitely make you a better player as there are a wide variety of technical shots and power shots.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly lengthy course, about 9000ft for 18 holes. Challenging to say the least. This course is definitely not for beginners or novices.I have been playing for a little while, but I took a friend who never really plays and he had fun but didn't even attempt to keep score. I like a challenge so I didn't mind.
- A very technical course, you have to hit the fairways or you will be in trouble. Puts course management skills at a premium.
- Great terrain, elevation changes, mostly fairly wooded, but a couple of open holes.
- Tees are rubber, they are decent, not the best, but netter than gravel.
- The baskets are in good shape, love the hole with the basket hanging from a tree.
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate around, especially if you have never played there before.
- No fairway or basket maps at the tee pads- I had to just guess where the pins were on a couple of holes and just throw.
- The next hole can be hard to find at times, There are no signs pointing you in the right direction, and there were no course maps available when I went.
Other Thoughts: This course could easily be rated higher. Most of the negatives of this course can be easily fixed.

This course demands that you be able to throw a myriad of shots. If you can throw hyzers, anhyzers, OH, rollers, and sidearm you will be at an advantage.

The terrain is very rocky, and I went when It was a little cold. The course was soaking wet and difficult to walk without stepping in a lot of mud and water. Bring proper footwear or you could be at a disadvantage, or at the very least just uncomfortable.

This course is a challenge. A prime example of the importance of accuracy over distance.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Great Experience

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2013
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: World Class caliber course located in a beautiful state park. Long, primarily wooded technical course with a few open holes that play out over rolling hills. Each hole is numbered and has good sized rubber tee pads and sturdy working baskets. There are dual pin placements at each hole. Distinct pathways between holes make navigation easy. There is great use of elevation and water OB; streams and a pond come into play throughout. Numerous outstanding holes including #6 (downhill shot to a sloped basket with Marina in the background), #7 (long straight downhill shot), #8 (uphill shot to a hanging basket), #12 (uphill shot over a stream), #13 (downhill shot to basket on the other side of a creek), #16 (moat behind basket) and #17 (long shot to basket on the edge of a pond). Many amenities here including log benches and bathroom facilities. Permanent signs added in 2012. Good layout, good variety and an overall great playing experience.
Cons: A few of the holes a bit TOO wooded with no real line to hit if your drive isn't perfect. There are a few safety issues here, most notably drives coming off hole 7 directly toward the hole 8 tee, and the parallel holes of 12 and 13 running in the opposite direction. An unbelievable number of huge rocks prevent run-ups at numerous holes. Areas of the course are marshy and wet. Bag poles at each hole would make a nice added extra. None of the cons detract from the overall experience here.
Other Thoughts: With beautiful views and a great, challenging layout, Nockamixon is an outstanding course in nearly every aspect. This is most certainly not your casual round of disc golf but instead is a lengthy, grueling exercise which will test you at every turn. Pinpoint drives and a variety of shots are needed for success and there are no "gimme's" here. Beginners will struggle, but this course will make you a better player. A truly superb playing experience and one of the top courses on the east coast.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nockamixon the Hidden Gem

1    11/2/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: bilythekid
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This place is set on some pristine land. Most say this is not a beginner course, however it is a wonderful course for all golfers. It is one of the most peaceful and secluded, massive courses I have ever played. Just pack a lunch if you think your shots might be missing fairways all day...
There is probably only four holes on the course that can be aced, but every basket has a flag on it. Nearly two thirds of the holes have casual water streams, some with waterfalls, while O.B. water only comes into play on about 6 holes.
Serious use of elevation change. Some incredibly scenic views on the front nine of lake nockamixon. A hanging basket, 10 par-four holes and 2 par five holes!! Old fences, Rock walls, you name it.

This course added 30 points to my player rating in one summer, not kidding. If you can hang at Nocky, you can probably hang anywhere.

Way under-rated! Must See for any skill level!
Cons: The inherent nature of the land often has one throwing a second tee shot on the longer holes from a standstill due to rocky footing.

Poor signage

It will take you a minimum of 2 hours to play here, and that's assuming you've played it more than a handfull of times already...
Other Thoughts: There is random draw doubles on Wednesday's starting at 5pm

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.