Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 556ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 You can Feel the Love here.

5+    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 74  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.5 Years
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Welcome to Central-North-Eastern Pennsylvania, you have just chosen to play one of our most challenging courses. Where your skill level will be tested and graded on your drives, ability to hold and shape lines and long distance putting accuracy. This location you have just entered was selected by disc golfers, designed by and built by disc golfers to not be your average neighborhood course. The thinking process here was to lull you with picturesque backdrops, elevation changes and scenic wooded paths for your cool walking pleasure. Then as we all know how disc golf can have it's cold and brutal darkside. You will instantly be smacked out of your lull to the humbling reality that you have come to be rated and challaneged.

You can easily find the first tee just to the left of the restrooms next to the parking lot (#13).Take a walk past the facilities toward the pond and look for the path on your left you will see the first tee, where it all starts. Make sure you have your seat in the upright position are firmly strapped in and we have your complete attention. Your guided tour is about to begin so please enjoy and keep in mind this was for your pleasure..........
Your first 3 holes start out in the 400 & 500 ft ranges with room for great drives and some tree love to show you some of the more shaded areas that we have to offer. Again, don't become discouraged with the feeble distances of your drives, we are about to enter the open area with rolling fields and scenic vistas. You will have the opportunity to watch your discs fly like the local hawks sailing on the thermals and wind pockets. Hole #6 is just a stunning shot for your disc as well as your camera. Looking out onto the panoramic view of the lake and boat docks. Here you will have a sense of triumph thinking you smell a birdie in the air and the making of one. You drive out and gently glide to a comfortable lye within 60 feet of the basket. Now the moment is at hand, will you risk going for the birdie and chance the death roll to the bottom of the slope where the basket is precariously located. Or think to play it safe? Knowing that this course offers few chances for a birdie opportunity or ace run. Choose well, remember this is a thinking game not just body mechanics. In a few steps from the basket you see the tee pad for hole #7. Another beauty of a shot! You look out and your mind struggles with your options on how to drive, for your second chance at birdie. As you survey the landscape you notice the basket is strategically tucked into a few low trees in a meadow far below to prevent a ace. This is where you will need to stand tall and be a man. Throw care to the wind and trust me on this one. Power drive out toward the lake hard and high allowing for a nice big hyzer fade left over the thorn jungle on the right to land near the basket.Think big and you will be rewarded for your effort with a near perfect lye next to the basket and a birdie. As we all know with every down hill soon to follow will come an up hill drive. Welcome to hole #8. Up the hill, across the meadow. than yet one more climb to finish at the hanging basket from a large tree. Yes, a novelty I know. But,... it adds to the fun factor for this course. Well, lets add a little distance to your next shot back down through the rolling hills.......and you will. Hole #9 finishes the front 9 with a 730 foot basket snuggled up near the treeline. You have now had your moment in the sun and the lush green fields working on your tan.

As you walk back to the restrooms to find the tee pad for hole #10. You take a breather,....adding up your score and thinking about the front nine sitting on the tee pad for #10. It's time for a change you decide, "I need to up my game." The back nine will do just that. So get ready to test your backwoods lore and hiking skills over rock fields, boulder strewn paths, foot bridges over flowing streams and gorges. Hole 10 can be a lumber jacking experience at 821 feet through the woods. I hope you planned your day well, bringing extra water and water proof light weight hiking shoes. Because you will need both depending on the time of year. This area can get muddy and stay damp. Cool, shady, rocky goat trails lead you through this area that play holes that look like old logging roads. Hole 12 is your only break at 252 ft. Soon comes one of my favorite holes of this course and what in my mind is how I always remember this place. Hole #16, a sweet 399 ft. straight down hill drive over water twice. I love this shot, it just begs you to empty your bag trying for a Cubby Ace. Resist the urge, because the last two holes are both over 550 feet. Well.......okay take two or three drives if you must, just make sure course traffic is light and your not holding anyone up. After all it is about having fun and you have to take it where you can here. No.17 is a long slow anhyzer fade right ending just short of the pond. Both sides of this fairway can eat your disc faster then a blink of your eye. To one side you have a marshy swamp and what looks to be a glowing stagnate pool. On the other side is a boulder field were the cranny goblins hide your errant thrown disc. Watch your footing please as you spend time looking for your disc. Moving right along. Don't worry all you have left is #18. The walk to 18 can be very swampy during Spring and heavy rains. Take a deep breath, you are almost done. Only this last hole at 567 feet around the pond through the woods over rocks, lumber jacking your way to the basket. In the fall your disc is subject to a game of hide and seek in deep leaves after ricocheting off several trees to confuse it's exact position. Oh, is't this just fun! Didn't you feel the love?

Congratulations, you have just finished your Nocky experience. How, do you feel? A little beat up? Tired? Go head and tally up that score sheet. Yeah I know, you aren't looking forward to it. The Good, the Bad and some really Ugly. As you look down at your score sheet after a hard played round and feel that tear welling up in your eye. Thinking to yourself that you should donate your discs and bag to the local boys club or maybe list them on Ebay? Take solace in knowing a score of +5 to +10 is a good day here. This wasn't meant to be your local pitch and putt. This was a test from the Disc Golf Gods themselves, to see if you are the man that you think your are? Or just a mere mortal and casual DG player? So hold your head high and walk with your shoulders back........you have been challenged.
Cons: There are few and truly negligible in the greater scope of things here. Remember this was meant to be a test and challenge. So some of the down sides are;

* You came here unprepared for a challenge.
* You didn't bring your "A" game.
* You wore sneakers or your sandals broke.
* You can only power drive off of a concrete tee and a level elevated fly pad won't do.
* You need lot's of amenities and comforts to ease your game.
* You hate lot's of walking and rocky ground.
* Your feet got muddy or wet.
* Your ego is bruised and your not quite ready for the Pro tour.
* No multi basket locations.
* No multi pads to make Noobs feel at home.
* Signs yes, but by now you should be able to follow a path?..........No?
* Tee signs, are basic. Hole number and distance, what more do you need? You can see the basket? Your good.
* You don't like playing in the woods?.....to many trees?...........DUH!......test remember?........
Other Thoughts: Okay! Ready for round TWO?

Nockamixon is a great park and a tough play. It can be like a love hate relationship. It's beauty takes you in and its technicality gives you a black eye. Pain or Pleasure? Which is it for you? One thing for sure is you can't just go for the ride once! You have to come back and play again. It will whisper your name in the night beckoning you to try again. If it doesn't than maybe this isn't the game for you?

Oh! As a side note 9 miles up the road is a sweet 9 holer that is too good to pass up. It will get your juices flowing............so if your in the neighborhood you might as well hit Unami Creek.

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lost Disc Hole#11 Green Champion

1    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: There are some really long throws for this course, so that is nice to finally air a few throws out. A good mix of tree to openings. Definitely soggy after raining a few days back.
Cons: The brush will burn you if you throw into it. A lot of sticker bushes, would NOT recommend if it has rained within 72 hours to play the course. Very confusing to find the first tee, if you find the bathrooms at Lot#13 then head to the Left of the Lake and it is in the tree line.

Unfortunately we lost a green/clear 172 champion to the Left 80ft short of the hole on #11. If you find it our last name of Hull and the phone number is on it. Please be considerate and return it to its owners.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately we lost a green/clear champion to the Left 80ft short of the hole on #11. If you find it our last name of Hull and the phone number is on it. Please be considerate and return it to its owners, we would be grateful for your generosity.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

All courses are not created equal

5+    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: armedtotheteeth
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2013
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Scenery
-Elevation Changes
-Water Hazards
-Dense wooded areas
-Boulder fields
-Mach 3 Baskets
-Challenging Course Design
-Pro Par's for all holes
Cons: -Difficulty locating the first tee
-Innova Baskets on 7 and 9?
-No Tee signs (not to be confused with hole markers)
Other Thoughts: Holes 1-5 play through a mostly wooded area, with fairly open fairways. They play perfectly in my opinion, giving the player a chance to ease his/her way in to the course.

Holes 6-9 open up to the marina area. Lots of ups and downs, where strong wind usually comes in to play. Very challenging! Chances are you will pick up some bogies on these holes. Remember to bring your Predator or Firebird!

Holes 10 and 11 are the most technical the course has to offer. Very tight fairways often leading to scattered trees with no intentional path to the basket. My suggestion? Pray!

Holes 12-14 play up from and then back down to a small stream. Moderate challenge here, with clear paths to the baskets. Hole 14 is my personal favorite, but I won't spoil it for people here.

Holes 15-16 play up to and around a man made damn. 16 is particularly epic, throwing down along the dam embankment to the stream leading under the dam. The basket is positioned smack in the middle of the stream! Very fun!

Holes 17 and 18, the final stretch. These holes will make or break par for the day. This is the time for straight conservative throwing. Footing can also be quite hazardous on these holes, so watch your step.!

Overall, this course is phenomenal whether you be a seasoned player, or an intermediate with a desire to get better at the game! Remember its all about fun, not the score at the end, so don't get discouraged and enjoy yourself!

PS- stop at oWowCow creamery just 2 miles from the park entrance. The best Ice Cream I've ever had!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 First time to Nockamixon Course

1    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: flyfarmblues
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Though I only played the front 9, there are some very challenging holes. Challenging, meaning- Holes are long, no marking info to give you an idea of where the baskets are, and some baskets are just located in cool/far/ funky spots.
Cons: Wet...Everywhere. There doesnt seem to be any good drainage for the water that is running throughout the front 9.
Also, for the length of some holes, it would be nice if there were better markings so you know where you are throwing. First time- take a map!
Also, slightly difficult to locate...I decided while I was already out to play here, so I used Google Maps from my phone.If you plug in Nockamixon Park, it will take you to the other side of the lake from where the course is located (7-8 miles between parking lots), so be sure to have the location of the course before the trek.
Other Thoughts: My "home" course is Tyler State Park, so in comparison...this course is decent, but not as close to Tyler as their review ratings suggest...

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 new review

1    3/20/2009   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: very nice scenery. hills overlooking the lake, streams, waterfall type areas. the terrain changes including elevation makes this course challenging and fun. throwing both up and down steep hills, over the streams and a mix of open and moderately dense woods. you also play through boulder-fields. the baskets themselves are a thing of interest. one hangs from a tree rather than being stuck in the ground, 18 is raised up an additional 2 or 3 feet on top of a pillar of rocks. another is in a dry part of a creek bed thats 3 or 4 feet lower than the fairway. many near the edge of a cliff or near a watertrap means some careful putting.
Cons: a few of the holes are just too long and or difficult. the par is higher on some of them, but they are still insanely difficult to get a good score on. its is easy to get frustrated and forget that this course was designed especially for pros. navigation can be a little difficult at times but is not bad.
Other Thoughts: i am ashamed of the poor review i gave this course a few weeks ago. i hadnt played it in over a year and i never had someone who knew their way around. playing with a group recently (that knew the course inside and out) completely changed my perspective on it.

5 of 23 people found this review helpful.


1    5/10/2009   3/8/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This course offers a large coverage area. It makes for great views. Presents as challenging and technical.
Cons: A lot of rocky areas, especially in the middle of the fairway. Increased potential to lose discs.

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    12/18/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nockamixon was designed by disc golfers for disc golfers and this is the absolute truth. I'm going to use the word variety a lot in my review because this was the predominant attribute of the course.

Although the course is mostly wooded, the holes ranged from fairways dotted or bordered by trees to straight up PA back country. Some of the wooded holes could accommodate a max distance driver while others required a more controllable disc, finesse, and skill. The more open holes included flat clearings to wide open holes where a long bomb drive could easily be accommodated. Hole 5, the 803' par 5 is an amazing hole that provides the opportunity for controlled drives, but the trees situated throughout the fairway are an ever-present danger that makes for interesting play.

Elevation changes come into play practically every other hole creating tricky approaches or letting the disc rip over long downhill fairways.

Water comes into play frequently on this course. Kudos should be given to the course designers for the clever way in which they worked this hazard into the different holes. For the most part, the water provided a great scenic backdrop, but you always know is there, lurking, waiting to grab a disc after an unintentional roll or bad bounce.

The variation in scenery is awesome. Backwoods paths, boulder fields, ponds, trickling brooks, gushing streams, wide-open vistas, to...I could go on for a while.

I really liked the basket placement at Nockamixon. Different aspects of the terrain were used to create unique putting situations. A few standouts included a tall basket atop a rock pile and a chain-mounted basket hung from a tree.

For the most part, the tee pads were clean and in great shape. The tee signs were also in pretty good shape, large, and clearly visible.
Cons: As most homeowners know, water is a necessity in life and your house's biggest enemy. Same goes for Nocky. The streams running through the course are beautiful, but the course is a bit boggy. This is likely a bigger problem in the spring and summer and after any rain storm or a big melt.

When the foliage is when it's in full bloom it is a big nightmare and disc stealer in the summer.

I was lucky enough to have a pair of local players walk me through my first time (and played a fun round), but without a map or other local disc golfers, course navigation might be a slight problem for first-timers.
Other Thoughts: It's a tough course (dare I say a monster?), but a couse I'm gald I played and will play again. Newer players might find Nockamixon difficult, hell, experienced players find Nockamixon difficult, but there is so much variety that you'd be hard-pressed not to have a good time.

For any noob that is intimidated by or has been chewed up and spit out by courses like Tyler State Park could test their chops and regain some confidence at Nockamixon. I highly recommend this course.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 not for starters

2-4    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great for semi-pro level and above average, alot of elevation changes in the right spot and many risk vs reward on almost all of the holes, t's are decent but worn
Cons: Only a handfull of the holes here are fun for staters to play the rest will leave you very very annoyed and chasing after your disk, this is not for people just starting out.
Other Thoughts: this course will have you pulling your hair out if you hit a bad wind or toss wrong during the summer months., prepare to lose disks. also do not play this if it rained recently you will not have fun at all this place is like a sponge. the fall is fun here since the grass is almost dead and easier to find disks, i expect spring to be the same as fall probably better once its dry and before the green happens

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.


1    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Major challenge. It was made even harder by a drenching rain, complete with slick pads, slick chains, and the obligatory slippery rocks in and around the fairways. Trees, trees, and more trees, lots of water, left, right, slopes. Everything I was hoping for. great views of the lake, state park setting is awesome.

Hole 14 is one of the better holes out there with an attainable 300 foot downhill basket, but the stream makes it a sick shot. Today is was more like a raging torrent. If my disc went in, it was gone. I'd love to play this course again on a dryer day, but the inclement weather made it fun in its own way.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: thanks to optidiscic for showing me the local routes on such a nasty day!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Beautiful Beating in Disc Golf!

5+    7/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2011
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For starters, I am an opinionated reviewer due to being one of a handful of volunteers who helped build this course. That being said I will try to be as fair as possible in this review. I think I know the course inside and out like few others.
This course was conceived and built by disc golfers for disc golfers. This does not mean newcomers should not test their mettle against one of the hardest courses ever built. I say this because Nocky is just a thrill to play and don't feel bad no one conquers it.There are no filler holes. Long wooded fairways ending in technical approaches! Every hole will challenge in a way that the prior hole did not. It's long ,8911 feet, and primarily wooded with significant elevation shifts on 2/3 of the holes. The 4 "open" holes, 6,7,8 and 9, still have trees to negotiate off the tee or on approach so there is no reckless driving here. The wind coming off the lake really plays with the disc on holes 6 & 7. There are several creeks that come into play on holes 11,12,14,15,16 and ponds factor on 17. There are also massive boulder fields off the fairway on holes 16 &17. So before we start just remember that unlike other challenging courses that derive their difficulty from a handful of factors, Nockamixon can make your score blow up in countless ways. Wind, Hills, Rocks, Water, Woods, Length, and not to mention the mental aspect of playing the highest rated SSA of any Worlds Championship course ever. (67 by the top pros!) I should know my score has blown up on this course many times. The frustration of not hitting that miniscule fairway and landing in an ice age boulder field on hole 17 can soon turn to joy when your standing off balance atop a giant rock and recover with an approach for the ages. It's just that type of course, plenty of opportunity to save par or even save bogey if you will. You never just throw and approach and putt here. You think about every shot before and even afterwards as you drive home. Nocky is a permanent course in the "eternal" long position so never will you show up and the baskets are in a short position.(holes 1,13,14,and 18 have 2 long baskets each) I think of this as a pro because your gonna get that challenge everytime you show up here, unlike other courses with short pin positions. A quick rundown of the holes:
1-530 ft a flat wooded drive anhyzer off the tee and hyzer upon approach
2-414 ft slight uphill with 2 lanes on either side of a row of evergreens
3-527 ft extremely wooded fairway down to a right dogleg and then to a basket behind a low stone wall
4-246 ft short drive between 2 goal post trees to a basket behind a massive stone wall and perched atop a boulder
5-678 ft long wooded weaving fairway, many complain it's a par 4....just take your bogey, Climo 3ed here and he thought he Eagled as well only to learn it was a par 4. Welcome to Nocky champ!
6-363 ft downhill into the open with dramatic views of Lake Nockamixon all around...the wind drifting off the lake and the pin position on the side of a huge grassy hill can garner birdies as well as double bogeys
7-438 ft Biggest elevation drop on course...big throw into the air to a green surrounded by trees below, placement golf here
8-501 ft uphill journey that eventually ends at a hanging basket from a massive branch
9-730 ft downhill screamer to a grassy plateau and then downhill again to a protected basket tucked in some cedars
A walk past your car and the bathrooms and your looking at
10-821 ft of tight fairway dogleg left that ends with a basket behind a rock wall, this is a true par 5
11-485 ft tight fairway with many options to approach a basket snuggled between 2 creeks
12-252 ft options off the tee R or L uphill but beware as there is a dramatic cliff to the right with many knockdown trees
13-548 ft of can you throw straight to avoid jail left or drop off right...the basket sits atop a cliff so don't over throw your approach
14-305 ft throw R down a tight wooded fairway or L over a creek that lines the entire alternate fairway and make a run at the basket all the way down there
15-555 ft between 2 trees over a steep bank and then uphill to a basket tucked above to the right
16-399 ft downhill a power line over a creek and the baskets sits in the streambed with water beyond and surrounded by waterfalls...did I mention the boulder field that lines the left side of the fairway!
17-552 ft of can you keep it on the fairway tight unforgiving ponds to the left, boulder field to the right...downhill and eventually to a basket that is framed by a huge pond behind her
18-567 ft a nasty right dogleg that will have you negotiate trees, a rock wall and a stream bed before your finally out of the woods on an open green and putting to finish your day!
Nocky is a unique course that will challenge you in so may ways. The beauty of the place will keep you smiling as your score goes well into the 70s, 80s and above!
Cons: What makes Nocky so great is what makes it so despised. It's just so difficult. The chance to lose discs is possible if you can't keep it on the fairways. the shule is not so thick, it's just that the course is entirely woods and long so your often driving wildly off the tee with little room for error. Many novices tend to rip with reckless abandon and then its search search search. The footing can be mush or rocky if you don't land in the proper areas....this can be fun as you will often be forced to stand and drive off balance. many get upset that they can't run up and X step due to slipping or tripping. When it rains the course can be a soggy mess, especially holes 3,7 and 18. Never was meant as a beginner course and will beat down any inexperienced players without mercy. If you attempt to lay up you are usually left with an equally difficult 2nd shot...you are better off going for it which typically spells dusaster for those who have less experience.
Other Thoughts: I love this course like no other. I have played many other courses and few can compare to this place, combining beauty and difficulty. Keep in mind that the course is maintained by less than 5 people and it is a labor of love. The deer do their part as well eating all the foliage off the cedars up to the 2 meter mark! Plans are in the works to upgrade and improve the course. I would think a trip to Nocky is worthwhile for every level of golfer. Pro's will be truly challenged and novices will enjoy the chance to play a real course in an amazing setting. When conditions are wet and Nocky is not maintained it is a 4 disc rating but when it's dry and the course is maintained it is a five disc rating. The true true scenario is somewhere in between...

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center