Nicholasville, KY 
Lake Mingo DGC Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #3 (Taken 12/2013)
4 / 225ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Go For Bingos at Mingo

5+    4/15/2014   6/19/2012
Review By: Faulk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -In my backyard
-nice warm up/practice course
-all holes offer an ace run
-decent mix of open fairways and left/right book and cranny placements
-very beginner friendly towards new players or first timers trying to Lear
-Ducks in play on holes 1 and 9 offer extra targets if you miss the basket
-not much disc golf traffic, never waits on teepads or fairways.
-I have 30+ aces here
Cons: -course can be played at par or below by intermediate/advanced players quite easily
-in downtown nicholasville (if you live in ky this should make sense)
-drainage issues virtually through out the entire park making it a giant swamp, bring your rain boots.
-the walk between each hole is a short or reasonable distance, but some tees could be confusing to locate your first time playing.

-trash in every fairway, all around the park, walking trails, pond, shelters, teepads.
-if you're a "people person" this isn't where I would suggest coming to make new friends or mingle. Unless you're in search of schedule 1 narcotics, which in that case just close your eyes and point in any general direction.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite 9 hole courses to play simply because I can walk out my door to it. Don't go out of your way to come play this course. Great warm up for the near by beast known as riney b, great beginners course. Cons out weigh the pros, city needs to clean this place up. Even google maps has it named the "lake mingo trash can".

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A fun 9 holer

1    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun 9 hole course with a little bit of everything. There's a few long holes, a few short ones, a few where OB really comes into play, and some elevation changes.

I found the first half of the course a bit easier, but the last part got a bit more challenging. There's an opportunity for a birdie on all the holes, but some require a much better shot to do so than others.

The signs and tee pads are in great shape. The layout is good, given what this park has to offer.
Cons: I think this course is aimed more towards newer plays, but I still enjoyed playing here and it served as a great warm up for Riney B.

There were quite a few geese and duck droppings around hole 1, but that's the only place I noticed this.

The course plays close to the walking path in a few area's so please be aware and courteous of other people in the park.
Other Thoughts: Don't go to this course expecting a challenge and you won't be disappointed; it's a course for newer players. Despite this, I still thought it was an enjoyable 9 holes of golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Its a pit

3/17/2008   3/18/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and slightly wooded holes, great course for a beginner
Cons: Tons of people usually in the park, standing water in many of the fairways, swirling wind do to park being located in a valley, "wildlife" has been an issue during small event in the past
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course for a newbie but its hard to keep coming back to a course where most holes are reachable with a putter. Not to mention ruining a pair of socks everytime you walk through a fairway.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too many people

5/1/2007   3/1/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Although there are a couple of holes that are fun, the cons outweigh the pros on this course.
Cons: If you play this on a weekend, especially a nice one, be prepared to yell "Fore!" a lot.
Other Thoughts: I really have nothing good to say about the course. I've been twice, and I won't be going back. If you live in the area, might as well go play the much more challenging Riney B (3 minutes away) or Shillito Park (15 minutes away).

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.