Nicholasville, KY 
Lake Mingo DGC Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #4 (Taken 12/2013)
5 / 300ft.   5 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good DG course, busy park

1    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: jbrian24
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Easy to follow layout
-Good signage
-Fun to play, not too difficult
Cons: -Goose poop on hole 1
-Park is busy, we had to skip hole 1 twice due to fishermen on that end of the lake. Had to wait on a couple more holes for people playing in/crossing the fairway. The walking path can come into play on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun little course to play if the park isn't busy. Might be better suited for winter when there aren't any geese or fishermen and less park goers.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9 Hole

1    4/19/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: JHo4UK
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy Access to a well maintained park. Great practice course for mid-range drives. The markings are up to date and the course changes gears from hole to hole the best it can with the amount of space available.
Cons: 9 hole course gets repetitive. A few extremely short holes and not many alt. pin placements.
Other Thoughts: Great course for those who live in Jessamine County, great to practice on to get ready for the harder Riney B course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice and quaint

5+    10/6/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little 9 hole course set in a relatively busy park. The course is easy enough to bring beginners to play and enjoy but has enough variety to keep recreational and intermediate players entertained. The course opens with an easy open field straightforward hole. The second hole adds a little more distance and a couple of trees. The 3rd hole is an accuracy shot through the trees, but htere are some good lines. The 4th hole is pretty much an open field with just one pine tree to intimidate the drive. Hole 5 is by far the best chance for an ace, but with ample OB it can be challenging. Hole 6 allows you to bring out your distance throw for an up hill shot. Hole 7 allows for a couple different approaches to a tee tucked in a small grove of trees. Number 8 can be difficult with a drainage ditch as OB on the right and trees on the left. The last hole is up hill at the end, but a decent finishing hole. They use the park well and have some modest elevation changes, and some trees incorporated.
Cons: While I play this course frequently, and enjoy it a lot there are some cons. The first hole is covered with goose poop frequently, and since I have a friend with an irrational fear of geese, the fowl can also be bothersome. There are some chances to lose discs with errant shots, such as in the pond, or in a couple of backyards. Also there is not a lot of distance on this course. The wind can also wreak havoc at times on this course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course, and for me some of the holes are a challenging distance. The marked pars are nice for beginners. This is not as good an all around course as Riney B. I do rank it higher than Centennial for the trees in play, even though Centennial is longer. If you are in the area, this is a nice 30 minute course with a decent quick layout, and tends to be fun for all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My old home course.

5+    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Mingo is a shortish, nine-hole course in a public park, and an excellent place to learn disc golf. Three holes are long enough to let you learn distance. Four holes require (relatively simple) technical throws. The course opens with a shot over (or around) the corner of a lake, and closes with an easy shot across an open field. Played with the marked OB's, the course becomes much more challenging - particularly 1, 5, and 8 on windy days.

The course has nice tee pads, good signage, close parking and port-a-potties, trash cans, a water fountain by the skate park, good flow, and is easy to navigate. It is placed in a friendly, open park that is easy to find. There is almost always someone playing this course.
Cons: The park can get crowded, and that can interfere with disc golf on occasion. I've had helpful kids a few times pick up my discs and bring them back to me. A few holes can get muddy when it rains.
Other Thoughts: Lake Mingo was two blocks from my house for years so I've played it 100+ times; it continued to be reasonably enjoyable after all that time. I really like the new over-the-lake shot on #1. I've heard folks complain that the course is too short, but then I've seen the same folks turn in high scores. Lake Mingo is a beginner's course, but it's more difficult than it looks.

Feel free to throw when the geese are in your way; they are used to discs and will impassively dodge your throws. But beware their ample droppings.

#4 pin has moved to the left. It is now guarded by the trees and culvert. And, as noted above, #1 is now a shot over water.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mingo Lingo/Ice Bowl Style

1    1/17/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a small open 9er that wraps nicely around a multiuse park with a lake. There is a shelter house, plenty of trash cans and a bathroom. Most of the holes are open, a few have spares big trees. There are some OB and a small drainage ditch come into play. Saw my first ace on a temp hole, disc hit a large rock and bounced in. Despite the course being in a small park there are some nice holes. Definitely more of a beginers course. But still fun.
Cons: Only 9 holes, but as was said a good warmup for Riney B, as it is less then a mile away.
Other Thoughts: Have fun play disc golf.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Patience Required!

5+    12/13/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good shot variety for a 9 hole course.
OBs are in play to add to the challenge (walking paths and concrete drainage ditches).
Nice Teepads & good signage.
A Few nice holes :
#2 - Tucked in behind a large tree(it was more challenging prior to bushes being removed)
#7 - Forehand beauty (or turnover) to a pin protected by large mature trees and an OB ditch if long.
#8 - This hole can really bite you (especially on a windy day) - Trees and other fairway to left and OB length of the fairway on the right. Big tree right in the middle to go around. Challenging hole.
Cons: Hole # 1 can be a swamp if there has been any rain (Really Bad!!!)
Geese dropping pollute the area around the lake - Not just a few to miss.

There is so much in this small park that there are rounds where you seem to encounter a new delay on each hole here are some (Softball game in hole #1 & #9 fairways, Kite flying in #4 & #6 fairways, Cheerleading practice in #6, Softball again in #4, Picture session on bridge beside #5 basket). Lots of walkers to watch out for. You've got to be patient on nice days.
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong this is a fun 9 hole course to play but you must be patient with all of the other activity that goes on at times. I have played this course when all went well and there was no delays but that is not typical. If you are in the area it's worth trying.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole course

5+    6/20/2006   12/20/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Mingo is a well maintained 9 hole park with excellent baskets.

The course has some good basket locations, I especially like #2 where the basket is behind a tree and several large bushes. There are not any real technical shots, but on the holes with trees you will need to have decent accuracy.

Most holes are in the 200-250 range, with one uphill hole that plays around 350. The course was developed for beginners, and is fairly easy.
Cons: Not a lot of length here, but is great for practicing midrange shots.

Hole 1 is installed close the pond, and the fairway is usually covered with duck droppings.

The park can get really busy in the summer with kids and people walking around the park trail.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for a quick round, as it only took about 25 minutes, and is playable with a midrange and a putter.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center