Roseburg, OR 
Whistler's Bend Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #4 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 279ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Great course with a view

1    7/3/2014   10/16/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has beautiful views throughout. The variety adds a lot to the aesthetics, with nice river views, rolling meadows, mossy woods, and beautiful hills surrounding the park. The variety carries over to the holes as well, with a really nice balance of open holes with protected pins, technical wooded shots of all different lengths and shapes and tricky elevation shots. There is a nice balance of left and right turning shots, you need a really complete set of skills to score well here.

I think I used every disc in my bag, with everything from short tricky putter shots to big distance bombs. The elevation adds a lot to the course as well, with lots of tricky pin positions and interesting uphill and downhill drives. One pin was perched on a small cliff with a drop off behind down to the river, serious pucker factor on that drive. The top of the world shot is an obvious bonus, it's a lot of fun to throw down a big hill like that, and it's even better as the payoff to a tough uphill hole right before it.

The amenities here are great, with nice tees, baskets in great shape and good signage. The tee signs do a nice job of showing the hole layout, and include a marker for the current pin position. The maintenance was great when I played, and it was really nice to see that the long grass prairie areas weren't allowed anywhere near where shots would land.
Cons: There were a few areas with poison oak, though it wasn't too terribly bad here. Navigation was a little tricky in some places, and with poor cell signal it can be tough to pull up the map on the fly. Having it on your phone or printed out before you get to the park is a good plan. A few of the open holes weren't very exciting, just big drives and boring upshots. They would have been better served a little shorter or enough longer to make real par 4 holes.

The course was under construction when I played, so I didn't ding the rating for several missing or inaccurate signs, but they did make our round a little tougher. I'm assuming (hoping) that gets straightened out when the construction and renovation is finished.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful and challenging place to play disc golf, and I definitely recommend a trip here. The onsite camping right by the river makes it an even nicer road trip destination. Beginners might find the course pretty tough, it's not much of a disc eater but it's tough with plenty of length and technical shots. Experienced players will find lots of interesting challenges here. It's a course where it's certainly possible to score low, but you have to have a well rounded game and avoid mistakes to make that happen.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

The best!

2-4    6/19/2013   6/19/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-Tee signs are LEGIT. They explain out the course really well and actually show accurately where the basket is.
-Pin locations change often. Matter of fact there were 3 holes that had the baskets changed into different locations overnight while we stayed at the camp.
-Top of World hole is pretty awesome. I think I threw every driver I had off it the first time up there.
-Plenty of benches and trash cans which are needed. This course is pretty demanding.
Cons: -Only bathroom is at beginning of course
-Noticed a little bit of poison oak, but this is Oregon so thats pretty much expected.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. Make sure to take plenty of water with you because it is physically demanding. Plenty of long bomber holes and quiet a few tight and technical holes as well. Really hole 9 and hole 14 are both "signature" holes. The design put into this course is just awesome. This is my favorite course that I have played so far. AMAZING! Love this place and can not wait to go back!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Epic Beauty - Worth the Journey

1    12/27/2013   4/15/2014
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To echo nearly every other review this is one of the most beautiful disc golf courses I have ever played.



Worth the trip! Go out of your way to play this course. I was on a trip to Portland and had some extra time. I took a chance and made the drive to Whislter's Bend. I was glad I did. because It was well worth the trip. I have played over 230 courses around the US and I immediately added the course to my "favorites".

I used bullet points if you want the abridged version.

Breathtaking Beauty - Not only do you get to experience the magnificent vistas on signature Hole 14, but this course is also wrapped in a beautiful oxbow bend on the Umpqua River. There are moss covered trees in the forest, rolling grassy meadows and baskets perched on the cliffs above the river. The photos I added to DGCR cannot begin to capture the stunning beauty of this out of the way gem. I don't know how many more adjectives I can use to describe the beauty.

Challenging Course - This course offers a variety of terrains as well as a variety of challenges. There is some extreme elevation and baskets perched on cliffs along the river's edge. There are tighter wooded holes that require accuracy and some more wide open holes where you can go all out. Some holes have up to three placements. The extra pin locations add different challenges and keep it fresh for frequent players.

Wet n Wild - Water does come into play on a couple of holes depending on pin placements. The view of the river from these baskets is really stunning although it can be intimidating. More advanced level players with control will only need to worry when some of the baskets are close to water's edge. Newer players need to be aware of the water hazard all along the right on Hole 7.

Excellent Signage - No map needed. Great full color signs that are well placed. Excellent graphics include information about all placements and the way to the next tee. A bolt shows the current pin placement so there is no guessing where the target is if you can't see it from the tee.

Concrete tees - The generous concrete tees were level and were well maintained. Some of the holes had two tee areas. Some of the tee areas were a little muddy.

All Abilities - Easy enough for players of all abilities to play and navigate. However, beginners should play the holes close to the water with extreme caution.

Trash Cans - Ample trash cans throughout course. They were being emptied and there was no litter on the course.

Area dedicated for disc golf - No need to worry about dog walkers and picnics on the fairways. This course provides solitude and allows you to get away from it all and connect with nature. If found it really relaxing and inspiring.

Wildlife - I saw a group of deer while I was walking to the tee on Hole 14.

18 in a row - The course is designed so that once you leave the parking area you do not return until you complete Hole 18. Prepare accordingly.

Restrooms - There were clean, well maintained restroom buildings in the parking area.

Camping - I did not camp, but the campgrounds are on site and were also very beautiful.

Swimming and Fishing - Apparently you can swim and tube in the river during the summer.

See for yourself - A gorgeous photo of Hole 14 was featured on the back cover of the 2014 INNOVA Calendar.
Cons: It is kind of tough to think of any cons.

Out of the Way - It is certainly out of the way, but I thought it was well worth the drive and wouldn't consider this a con. Don't be surprised if there is no cellphone service or 4G connection. Sorry, I didn't look at my phone to know for sure.

Muddy - Some of the tee areas were a bit muddy, especially both tees on 14. Maybe a little crushed gravel around the muddy tees areas would help.

Man Overboard - It is possible to lose discs in the river.

Walking - There can be some long walks between holes (depending on pin placements). You are routed to play all 18 holes before returning to the parking lot.

Additional Tees - Some holes have two sets of tees. Maybe more could have two tees.

Poison Oak - Proceed with caution if you are afflicted.
Other Thoughts: ScreenSaver - This course was on my wishlist because I had a beautiful screensaver of Hole 14 on my laptop for a couple of years. I had daydreamed about being in that photo, so I couldn't resist the opportunity to play the course while I was on a trip to Portland. A similar photo of Hole 14 was featured on the back cover of the 2014 INNOVA Calendar.


Worth the drive - Yes, I already said this, but it needs repeating. I drove 125 miles out of my way to come play this course and I was so glad I did. If you are driving by on Interstate 5, it will only be 10 miles out of your way. I urge you not to miss the opportunity to play Whistler's Bend and enjoy the unique beauty of this course.


Travel Tip - I arrived in Roseburg too late in the day and was unable to get in a round before dark. I ended up spending the night at the Motel 6 in Roseburg. It was the highest rated hotel on TripAdvisor and as a bonus it was under $50.00 for the night. It was clean, worth the price and there is a delicious 24 hour restaurant next door. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. It doesn't have a lot of amenities, but it is clean, close and convenient, plus the price was right.


Rating - Absolutely a Five Disc view and a five disc experience. Since there is some room for improvements, I will award a 4.5.


13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Epic Scenery

2-4    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 36  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tucked away in a park a few miles up the road from Roseburg this is by far the most scenic course I have ever played. Drive in, follow the sign and do a loop around the campgrounds to the upper level/day use area.

-Tee Signs: All of their full color signs are very useful, descriptive and give directions to the next tee.
-Shot Variety: Something for everyone here, some tight tunnels, throws over trees, wide open bomber shots, lots of risk reward with the holes that play along the hill leading to the river.
-Top of the world: 14 is awesome, took me a few throws to get the angle right but always great to see a disk fly and fly.
-The View/Solitude: I was here by myself without any other park users around seemingly, it was an awesome experience, got to take my time and took a few panoramic photos of different holes.
-Multiple pins: Every hole has 2/3 positions, some greatly changing the look and feel of the hole. If the pins are in short positions this has the potential to create longer walks to the next pad.
Cons: -Missing Basket: I ended up playing hole 4 using a stick someone had put in the pole pocket as a tone pole.
-16/18: They seem a little boring and tacked on as just wide open shots across fields, not horrible but also not up to the rest of the courses standard.
Other Thoughts: A course you must play if you are in the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

New favorite

1    8/17/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: adiscted
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great layout; good use of land and natural obstacles
-beautiful surroundings
-far enough away from town to be completely serene
-camping at the park
-many elevation changes; a few downhill shots-namely 3 and 14
-signature "top of the world" hole- 100ft drop and 600+ feet with an alternate tee
-calm and not too crowded, nobody if you hit the right time of day
-wooded and open field shots make for an awesome variety
-very minimum on underbrush- nearly none
-very good signage, never had to pull the map out
Cons: Not much really...
-hole 9 is scary with the drop to the water appx 15feet behind the basket and downhill from the basket and that's really all I have to say
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely stunning! I heard nothing but good things about this course... and all those people were absolutely right! If you have the capability to get out to this course, don't pass the chance. I've played about 20+ courses in my few months of play, and this one is, hands down, the new fave! Happy rounds :)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

1    5/19/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Ski'ndisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful well designed course set in an unbelievably picturesque setting.
No other use of the course area make it a selfish delight!
Great signage and tee pads!
Challenging! Great mix of holes, bring your accuracy and big armů 810 ft..down hill # 14.. so cool! Could've thrown from there all day!
What all disc experiences should be like!
Cons: ??
Bit out of the way.. (Not sure if this is a Con).
Other Thoughts: Gave the course and enthusiastic 5 rating for all the pro's, but also for the setting! Very beautiful. Did a 7 day disc playing tour of Oregon and Tahoe and we saw and played some amazing courses, bu this was definitely our favorite course! The serenity and beauty of the area are spectacular.
It was everything and more of what we expected to find in a out of the way stop in remote Oregon! Even if the course was bad, it would be hard to rate this experience below a 3! However, the course is fun to play and has something for every level of player. If you have non-disc players with you they will enjoy the experience as well!
A true hidden gem! If you're traveling the Oregon coast.. this is a must stop

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/27/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: McComasDG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Variety of open field holes and wooded holes. variety of length. both right and left fade placements. beautiful shot from up the hillside to a green far below and over the road. challenging pin locations near the cliff overlooking the river. challenge you to go for it or lay up. camping practically on the course. Great destination golf.
Cons: not many. I enjoyed playing this course and would play it regularly if nearby

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Beast

5+    8/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Location - Scenic, beautiful park surrounded by the Umpqua river. Good mix of tight wooded holes with open ups and downs. Two crazy cliff side baskets (that I lost two discs on)

Elevation - the hilliest course I've ever played on. Quite a workout, but makes many holes unique shots

Signage - The best I've ever seen. Every hole number is marked with multiple colored baskets, with corresponding colored holes on the bottom of the sign, where the bolt through the colored hole indicates which basket is in play. Very Nice.

Trash cans - you can never have enough and having them around the course is great. Now if people just PUT THEIR TRASH IN THEM THAT WOULD BE GREAT, TOO.

Camping - I planned this to be a camping trip from the beginning and I wasn't disapointed. $15 a first come/first serve 23 site campground. You can tube around the bend in the river during the heat of the mid day.

Top of the World (14th tee) - Awesome, tricky shot. Never seen anything like it...
Cons: The 18th hole is a little too open field boring. This is compared to the most of the others which are mostly excellent. This is the only thing I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Notable holes:
7 - Tough with the cliff side basket position. I lost an old wraith here going for glory. The cliff side definitely messes with your mind.

9 - Some evil genius thought up this hole. The teepad is about 100ft above where the hole is, one basket position puts you at the edge of the same cliff as 7. You have to throw down hill just long enough. I birdie it the first two times, thinking I was going to lose a disc.

13 - 150ft of steep incline straight up hill the whole way. Throw a roller here on the drive, it worked for me.

14 - Your 175 ft above the basket, which is about 800ft away. Most guys screw up (like I did the first time) by throwing it straight out from the tee. The secret is to throw it down, almost straight at it, with a ton of snap. Great hole.

One round on this course is a HIKE. Bring plenty of water and good shoes. It seems at times that you are constantly going uphill. Playing it 2.5 times wore me down in the hot summer sun.

Lastly, some might complain that there aren't any par 4s here, but the way I saw it, par 3 for the course makes it a difficult challenge, but ultimately quite fair for most of the courses I've played. Very well designed.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Prestine's Mother

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: joy4all
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Signs are elite for tees
-pads are in top condition
-course is cut
-Altitude and elevation changes are drastic on some and make it an elite challange
-Hole fourteen at the water tower is breathtaking. An awe of awe shoot to stand and watch.
-hole thirteen is not evenb for the crusher, its for the uphill roller. Wow an elite shoot
-the trees in 1-2 are old growth.
-camper and hikers not in the way
-the Umpqua river shoots are picture perfect and punishable if you overshoot. Its just a donated plastic if your all gun no accuracy.
-some very tight tunnel shoots.
-course is even strength to lhbh and rhbh
-good solid length to course
-hikers paradise and nature reserve.
Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: the first course that requires a full shot bag of discs. You will to play great here use, flicks, backhands, big hyzer, annie hyzer, skips, rollers of all kinds, thumbers, scooby rollers and so on. This is Gods country so keep it clean!

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    6/22/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 184  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.7 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Very scenic area
-Nice mix of shots, some wooded, others wide open
-Excellent color signs
-Great tee pads, grippy even in the rain
-Very easy to find your way, with broad paths connecting holes (at least in the wooded sections)
-You end right where you started
-I did not see any poison oak
Cons: -About half of the baskets were hidden from the tee
-About 4 or 5 times you had a 100-300 ft walk from the last pin to the next tee, and this disrupted flow. I felt you could easily have a 27 hole course in the same footprint and not sacrifice distance or technical difficulty
Other Thoughts: I was expecting more given the high rating, but the course was also all in the 'short' due to a doubles tournament that had just finished for the day. I played in the pouring rain and it was still fun. Their version of "Top of the World" is awesome, especially from the pro tee. It is great to watch a disc fly so far and for so long.

A bit off the beaten path, but worth it. I think if the pins had been in the long, my rating would have been even higher.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.