Roseburg, OR 
Whistler's Bend Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 269ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    6/14/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Shuie
Played: 627  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Park is out the country all by itself. Also the course was very well manicured.
- Big Tee Pads
- Some of the best signs i have ever seen has hole locations and distances but also gave other distances to like a dog leg or where the fairway got wider.(really helped in my shot selection)
-Course layout and flow are very good.
- All the holes are memorable but Hole 4 having two absolutely different fairways was a really nice idea(Never seen this before)
-Liked how all holes had some trees in play and that most were heavily wooded.
- 9s pin placement with the fall-a-away green down a cliff face into the river made me lay up!!!!
-Some holes had benches and trash cans
-Some holes had Alternate Tee pad, not all.
- Has all the Variety that a discer desires
-Camping available on site.
-Amazing veiws as you play
Cons: - Could only find one set of tee pads with the exception of 5.
-Could use a few more benches and trash cans
Other Thoughts: I drove 5 hours up from Northern California(Ukiah area) with with Whistlers being my main objective. I was quite pleased with the trip as whole but extra glad i stopped at Whistler;s to play, the course is very fun and offers some challaneges.
With that being said; Only having one set of pads lowers the course rating for me and also seeing that the course was rated quite high i figured it would be more challanging that it was as it gave Winter Park in Kewaunee,WI a run for its money last year for the number 10 spot. Winter park is much better but Whistler's is still really nice. Well, worth the time spent getting there

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

spectacular golf!

5+    10/30/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: porchmike
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: secluded- a bit out in the middle of nowhere, but in a great, well maintained park with camping, restrooms, showers, scenic views of the foothills and the umpqua river. they even have 2 yurts for rent near the campground for the luxury campers.

uncrowded except for during one of the many pro tournaments held here, which rightfully draw huge crowds due to the excellence of this course.

the hilly terrain seems to drain water very well- last time i played here was after 3 days of heavy rain, and it was pretty much bone dry on day 4.

the course has just about everything as far as shot types- left/right, up/downhill, wooded/open.

#14 is one of the best holes to watch your disc fly- 100' down and almost 600 ft across, and it's totally ace-able- and that's the junior tee! i'm a sucker for downhill shots, cause you can toss em so far...

holes #7,9,11,14, and 17 are some of the best holes in the country- see photos.

Cons: poison oak- lots of it. if you're camping, use the showers! and be wary of collecting firewood from the forest if you're not familiar w/PO! burning poison oak can be deadly if inhaled.

hole 5- seems nearly impossible to get a really good tee shot on this one due to the tree on the left and sharp uphill/left turn right at the tree- maybe a skipper would work there, dunno...

hole 13- super frustrating, steep uphill shot between 2 trees with low branches over the fairway- i never had fun on this one, probably since i was always so anxious to get to 14 and chuck my discs into the open!

for such a great course, i wish #18 was a little more interesting- just a long shot across a blank field- i'm sure they could relocate this hole, maybe closer to the river on the right side of the group camping area...?
Other Thoughts: this place is worth the trip, and one of the best courses i've played- scenic locale, great golf, nice people, and of course hole 14- i dare you not to empty your bag every time you pass by this hole.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play it

2-4    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Clean park with showers and camping next to a awesome river. Can have dog on leash while you play a round. Fun variety of shots. Clean baskets and tees. Quiet enviroment to play in.
Cons: Other then alittle trash here and there I find no cons with this course and park. Oregon knows how to take care of their parks!
Other Thoughts: Bring a hat and a swim suit, this place is hot in the summer! After hole 12 walk south towards the road for the next tee. It was the only hole that did not have a next tee sign when we played. Enjoyed the course and recommend it for all skill levels.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME!!!

1    7/16/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I just read the review below me with a very accurate walk through of the course and I must agree with most everything they have written. I recomend reading that one as well and will try to not repeat anything already written.
- Great baskets, do damage, and caught disc well.
- Benches at most every hole.
- Course layout was easy to follow, only had to check the map a few times (after 9 and after 14). The trail marks the path to the next hole fairly well.
- Not too crowded, but I could see it being more so if it wasn't a tad bit wet when I played. But even so I saw enough DGers to make me if feel like I was at a real course. (not a ghost town).
- Tee signs were very good and easy to read what was on the sign and what was in front of you. PLUS they have holes drilled in the bottom left of each tee sign with colors boardering each hole to match the 2 to 3 different basket positions. They would have a nut and bolt through the colored hole to match the color of the basket that was being used that day. (Maded it so much easier to locate the baskets)
- Thanks to the excellent tee signs it was pretty easy to spot the baskets from the tee pad.
- Tee pads were nice concrete, flat and plenty long enough for most run ups.
- No trash. I don't remember seeing much more than the one can that I picked up.
- Shot veriety... you will probably use every shot you have on this course, and with wind and elevation changes, most of you disc too.
Cons: - No trash cans that I can remember. (Even though I don't remember seeing trash cans... this place was very clean).
- Cons are not easy to find here.
Other Thoughts: - There is a bathroom at the begining of the park.
- once you are in the park, follow the road until it becomes a one way, that will loop around to the start of the course. There is a sign for the course near the bathroom. Look for that and you will be good to go.
- There are so many holes that you will leave this course remembering forever. For me it was hole #3 which is slightly down hill and straight forward through many trees. I was able to laser beam one and skip right off the top of the basket. #10 or #11 (I think) was down hill and if you over through it... down a 50ft drop to the river. (You could get it if you didn't put it in the water, but it sure makes you second guess going right at the basket). #14 like everyone says... is awesome (you will probably remember #13 since you have to shoot way up a steep hill... crazy) but #14 is an awesome veiw, and I let my disc rip... it barely cleared the road leaving me about 150ft to go... not too bad I guess, but when I let it go, it looked like it was going to fly past the basket by 100 - 200 ft.
If you haven't played this course, make plans to do so, I came all the way down from Northern Washington to play, and it was worth it. I plan to play here again the next time I'm down this way.AWESOME COURSE!!!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Over the Hills and Far Away...

2-4    7/2/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 114  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After a long drive to the middle of nowhere (the location of many great courses), you're happy to arrive at a place like this. The scenery is wonderful, with steep hills covered with pine trees and yellowed grass (the climate seems drier here than in Portland) looming over the Umqua River. Just gorgeous.

The course design here is very good. You begin in a wooded area with holes that are not overly long but require some good drives to get your pars (with some birdie opportunities). As you move into the back 9, the course gradually opens up, throwing in semi-open areas with some definite danger zones and ending with mostly open holes (see below).

Navigation is okay. On the early holes a definite path leads to the next hole. On the later holes it is less obvious where you're going next, and if I didn't have someone who knew the course, I'd want a map but wouldn't be screwed without one.

The tee signs are very good, showing the various positions for each hole along with a bolt indicating which position was in use. This is something I rarely see and wish more tee signs showed. How do you know where to throw unless you know which position is in use? Kudos to these signs. And to whoever made them (signs get all the credit; life is not fair).

A few notable holes:

#3: A nice downhill shot from a little plateau through some guardian trees not far off the tee pad to a hole straight ahead. My description is boring, but the hole is a fun little ace run with a little built in danger.

#9: Another downhill throw with the basket at the edge of where the land starts to shrug toward the river below. You have maybe 30-50 feet of area behind the basket before it turns from a slope into a sheer cliff. My friend landed near the basket but skipped down to the shore below. I had a shot out of the thick bushes on the left side of the fairway and mis-judged the hole badly, throwing over the cliff to within two feet of the river. My disc took some damage from the rocks, but I didn't lose it. Anyway, the backdrop to this hole is beautiful and can get in your head.

#13: A tough uphill shot. You need to throw uphill but slip it under the tree before a full throw up to the basket. You're better off throwing a controlled drive than getting too ambitious.

#14: Not just the signature hole, but the most fun hole I have played. The long tee is 600-700 feet (the distances are listed on the sign by the other tee) off a gigantic, steep hill. Aside from the obvious thrill of ripping your disc, there is some strategy. The direction of the wind makes a huge difference up here. Try hyzer flipping an understable disc into a right-to-left cross wind and you'll pay a steep price. Whatever you throw, your disc will stay aloft forever, but you'll be surprised at how far from the hole you still ended up. Such a fun hole, though. Side note: my friend had a Valkyrie sail left and end up in the bushes next to the campground bathrooms. Beat that!
Cons: Aside from the occasional navigation issues above, the biggest con is that three of the last four holes are duds. After the thrilling #14, #15 is an open shot that at least finishes downhill. Then #16 is a boring long drive across a field. I like #17, a cool downhill shot with some precarious pin positions. But #18 is just a very long drive across an open field into some trees. After such a fun course, it's disappointing to have it end sort of undramatically. It's kind of like the movie Cast Away. But only kind of.

The only other cons is that a couple holes have alternate tee pads, but it's not always clear which ones do and don't.
Other Thoughts: My friend and I drove down from Portland to play Dexter and Whistler's Bend. If you have a couple days in Oregon, make this one a part of your trip. Even among the plethora of terrific courses in the state, this one makes a healthy case for being the best.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Oregon's Gem.

5+    3/10/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: warrenhol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The best of the best in SO. Cant say more than that. It has tight shots, long shots, uphill shots (like you wouldn't believe), downhill shots, water hazards in play, deer sightings often, beautiful weather. Great tee pads. Amazing views, bathrooms, camping, secluded, drinkable water... And I could go forever. I love this course and for what it is, nothing could be better. Thanks to whoever found this little niche hidden in the valley of the Umpqua and built a little piece of heaven.
Cons: hmmmm. Not much
Other Thoughts: Lots, and I mean lots, of hiking. Bring bottles there is fresh water available at the beginning of the round and after the top of the world shot if you go by the restrooms. Really this is a must see course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whistler's Bend

1    2/14/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Whistler's Bend was phenomenal! Beautiful course, well maintained, and challenging shots. I have to say it's my favorite course I've ever played, and I was there is February. Would have given it a 5, but I have yet to play every course there is so I need to leave room for better courses out there.
Other Thoughts: If your debating on playing Whistlers just do it, no matter how far the drive is you won't regret playing this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 whistler's

5+    3/27/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: tehrain
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, solid terrain changes and shots for everyone. Challenging length and protected baskets on most holes. Surrounded by a river. Hole 14 "Top of the World" is fantastic, especially from the highest tee pad.
Other Thoughts: If you want to have a blast playin the annual Doubles tournament in June. Always a great time with a full course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Whistler's Bend

2-4    9/27/2010   3/27/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest attraction of Whistler's Bend in my opinion is the high variance in terrain and shots required off of the tee. Many of the early holes have well-defined, tight and sometimes twisting fairways that require accuracy, patience, and once in a while the ability to make a great save from a poor lie (or bad kick). Distance isn't the main challenge here as most holes can be reached with a well-thrown putter or midrange. The middle section of the course is moderately wooded with several clear 'no-no' areas and players largely rely on distance CONTROL to keep discs from overshooting the many large hills and dropoffs which pins are often perched on. To round out the cycle, the back section opens up allowing players the freedom to bomb with abandon. Instead of distance control, this section is mostly pure distance. There are many fewer obstacles on this section and when trees come into play, they are largely far enough down the drive's flight path that they cause little concern for bogey, rather they may prevent an otherwise good drive from reaching the putting circle. Distances on this back section seem a little off to create challenge for upper level pro players (see notes in the con section), but might serve to make excellent par four holes for amateur and below players. Most of the course in fact seems geared towards amateur and advanced players - the pro's will still enjoy many of the shots and the natural beauty of the course but may find it a little low on challenge after a few plays through.

Lots of folks mention the top of the world shot as the 'coolest' hole on the course but hole 13 actually has become one of my all-time favorite par three disc golf holes. At 303 feet in the longer position, the point-to-point distance is not all that far but an extremely steep uphill grade gives this hole at least ~400' of 'real' distance. HUGE arms can and do go over the top of the canopy of low-hanging trees to reach the putting green. Their loss though because the rest of us have the chance to throw one of the coolest roller shots in the game which lands before the low-ceiling of trees and muscles its way all the way up the hill to the pin! It certainly isn't an easy shot by any means but the layout of the hole is perfect to stun your friends with a sweet roller birdie here (and usually the tee box to test the wind on 14).
Cons: The finishing holes on this course are a bit disappointing. Sixteen and eighteen especially are at their very best, a bit boring, and at the worst (for players who throw 450'+) tweener holes which are very, very unlikely 2's but should never be more than a three unless a huge blunder is made. Sixteen especially at 500 or 535 feet and slightly uphill is the biggest culprit here. Even an average drive will put you in range for an easy, mostly wide open approach with a putter. Even great drives rarely achieve the putting circle because of the uphill trajectory needed thus setting up a perfect tweener situation. A pin situated another 100' or so back into the woods would likely turn this hole into something FANTASTIC, especially if multiple lanes are available for approaching through, but I know this is probably not possible at the moment. Eighteen has an almost identical problem with the pins ranging from 460-505 - although this hole is probably a bit more reachable for elite distance throwers, it is going to be a boring three for most of the rest of us average advanced and pro golfers.

Others have mentioned navigation issues, and while they are there, they aren't nearly as bad as folks make them seem. You will likely have to do a little bit of extra walking but you WILL be able to find all tees and all of the baskets with minimal extra effort. Tee signs and better directions would be a nice addition though.
Other Thoughts: As a lot of reviewers have mentioned, this park has everything you could want in an outdoorsy disc golf vacation. We first played this course on a disc golf/hiking big roadtrip loop from Seattle where we followed and camped at several places along the georgeous Umpqua River, popped down to nearby Crater Lake, did some hiking in Central Oregon's high desert areas, and of course hit up a bunch of courses (Whistler's, Willamette Pass, Dexter, Riverfront, Bend, Juniper Hills, etc.). Probably one of the best disc golf roadtrips I've went on to date. Summertime is perfect for this course with mainly hot(!), dry weather and cool nights. Camp out at Whistler's, play a morning (and afternoon round), take a dip in the river, fire up the BBQ at night - it really doesn't get much better than this!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Signs

2-4    3/11/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: haven't played here since '08 .... love the new tee signs and tee pads ...... real nice improvements ..... just so spectacular to play ... thanks to all who keep this jewel primed and ready to play
Cons: a little confused on 4 hole ..... sign doesn't reflect what's happening out there .... maybe a new google map would be approriate to show hole locations, something that can be printed and taken with you. I imagine because of the calibre of the course many come from around the world to play it and a new map may help those taking it on.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.