Roseburg, OR
Whistler's Bend Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #11 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 420ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It Ain't All That

1    1/13/2011   1/14/2011
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 16.9 Years
14 Helpful / 38 Not
Pros: Scenic. Good mix of open bombs, short technical and long technical holes.

A few tee signs.
Cons: Only 5 (often inaccurate and misleading) tee signs. Safety issues on the long downhill bomb...I bet a lot of cars get wacked while driving by in the summertime. Poison oak,
Other Thoughts: This was a cool course. A good mix of hole design. Something for everyone. A few birdie opportunities for throwers to salivate over. Tons of roller holes. I love me some rollers.

The course is all over the place though. Piss-poor course flow has golfers hiking a ways to the next tee (sans tee sign).

14 of 52 people found this review helpful.

 Whistler's Bend

2-4    8/2/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2011
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Established in 1991, Whistler's Bend is an 18 hole disc golf course nestled along the mountainside 30 minutes east from downtown Roseburg. With the Umpqua River located in the background of many of the holes, this course is stunning and makes for one truly unforgettable round. Throughout the entire round, wildlife can be seen, whether it be by land, water, or sky. Along with the wildlife, the remoteness of the course allows for thick vegetation in the backdrop as well as throughout the course, especially the front nine holes.

The first nine holes were tightly wooded, with elevation changes, narrow windows, and guarded pin placements. Much of the challenge on the front nine was based off accuracy, not power. As the Valkyrie Kid mentioned in his review, hole # 3 had one of the better pin placements on the entire course. It is not until hole nine where the course really opens up. However, due to the placement of the pin along the edge of the cliff, long drives will find themselves sinking to the bottom of the Umpqua River. It is quite a rush trying to park a hole that has such a high risk, high reward.

The back nine holes are much more open, with more extreme elevation, and larger windows. Because of this, errant drives don't get punished nearly as bad…nearly. Fortunately, clever pin placements add to the challenge, rewarding accurate approach shots and putts. As many others have stated, hole #14 or "Top of the World" is well worth the wait. It is quite beautiful, and allows you to get a complete view of the area. By the time hole 18 is finished, you are back to the parking lot and hole one.

The course is in great shape, with cement tee pads at every hole (some even have two) that are grippy and in good shape. A few could be longer, but for the most part they worked great. The baskets are all Mach III's, have the inner chains, and catch well. The holes have multiple pin placements, are well balanced (lefty vs. righty), fair, and provide plenty of challenge for all skill levels. Because the course is located right next to a campground, there are multiple restrooms, showers, and an area to fill up water. The camping spots give a wonderful view of the river, are spacious, and provide a bbq, garbage can, and fire pit.
Cons:
As others have stated, navigation can be an issue for first timers. It gets especially confusing on the back nine. Printing off a map is highly recommended. Once played however, navigating the course is quite easy. The issue is tee signs are nonexistent and the ones they do have are few and far between. Hopefully new tee signs will be installed to help solve this issue, as it would make the course look more polished.

Although this is not a con, I wasn't sure why there were only a few holes with duel tee pads. Why have them at all if there are only a few…literally. They didn't add much of a difference with the exception of the lower tee on hole #14.

Last, that fact that there weren't any par 4's or par 5's. Although it didn't detract from the overall challenge or beauty, it would have been nice to have seen a few considering how much land was available.
Other Thoughts:
Whistler's Bend is easily one of the best courses I have played in Oregon, definately top 5 in the state! I traveled from Seattle this summer with a few friends, one who came from California, because of how much hype it has gotten over the years. I wanted to have the opportunity to play some of the best courses that the state of Oregon had to offer and Whistler's Bend didn't disappoint. I added Dexter and Adair to my trip, which made for quite the experience. Although it was quite a drive, it was well worth the trip!

NOTE: Whistler's Bend is located within 2 hours of Oregon's only National Park, Crater Lake. If you have the time I highly recommend it. It is truly breathtaking!

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

  3 Days of Bliss

2-4    9/12/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: ricochetpdx
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.9 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The top of the World is a simply amazing hole to play! The drive out to the park is beautiful, and the weather could not have been better 80 plus all 3 days. Challenging course with a good variety of shots. Campground is right next to the river so you hear the river all night. Glorious!
Cons: None really, other than the smell of the toilets when it get really hot.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very Scenic

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: demongund
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: * Unbelievably beautiful views of the Umpqua river.
* The first 9 holes are very technical through trees while the back 9 offer huge, open, shots.
* Hole 14 is ludicrously fun! The Top of the World hole is definitely worth checking out!
Cons: * Signs were good up until 12, at which point you're supposed to walk a few hundred feet and cross a road to get to the next tee. After that the confusion was minimal.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Andrew332
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course contains wooded first nine and wide open fields on back nine. Clean. Gorgeous area. Plays along Umpqua River.
Cons: Missing signage. Had problems finding holes on 12 and 17.
Other Thoughts: I played this last Thursday on a visit to Southern Oregon. As a novice player I found hole 14 a lot of fun and challenging, Its a great course and for someone who is learning the basics the course offers shorter holes with shots thru trees then long drives in open fields. Well worth the visit. The other skilled players on the course were very nice. Awesome. Try it!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place, fun course

2-4    6/27/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.8 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Given the number of times I'd driven up and down I-5 in Oregon, and hadn't stopped to play this course, I was eager to see what all the fuss is about on a road trip down from Portland to California. Stopping here meant that I wouldn't arrive home until 3AM, but it was definitely worth it.

The first thing that struck as I drove in is the natural beauty of the setting. It is really a fantastic location to plant a disc golf course. Good mix of semi-mature trees and open spaces, mixed with nice topography and the river, which meanders around the course and cradles it while it whispers at you with its rush of water.

The next thing that struck me was the mixture/variety of holes. There was a lot of interesting ways the designer(s) found for routes through some of the more dense trees, and their use of the open spaces was a lot of fun. This course covered a lot of shots, and will build important skills for anyone who plays it often enough.

When one gets out of the woods and into the open, 2 excellent gut check holes await. The first plays slightly down hill about 400', but with the river canyon on the right. There are windows along the cliff through which an overly turned-over disc will pass and good luck ever retrieving your disc again! Then there is another shortly after that plays dowhill about 300' with the river canyon/cliff just behind the basket position, with the basket itself planted on very loose soil making a fast green (caution: watch your step around this hole! I lost my footing twice there.).

There are some really fun long holes in the back 9, some of them very challenging. There is a big downhill hole that plays from 2 tee pads (I didn't notice any significant difference in challenge or distance between the two pads; wind was a much bigger factor that day).
Cons: The course is not nearly as challenging as I had expected. I'm a par player on most challenging courses, but at this course I scored 5 deuces on the first 8 holes without feeling like I had played the holes particularly well, or any better than I play other courses back home. This course is too easy. Perhaps the other pin positions could be a tad more challenging, but from where I saw the alternates located I don't think it would have been very different.

There is nice signage as you begin the course on hole 1, but these soon disappear as you continue into the round and get deeper into the course. In the back 9 the course is poorly marked and very difficult to follow the first time you play it. Find a local to guide you and tell you where the tough transitions are, or else you'll end up walking around an awful lot.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, but for me it wasn't phenomenal or best-of-the-best. I was slightly disappointed given the hype about it here at DGCR. Poor signage and low level of challenge are problems this course would need to overcome to bump itself into higher categories in my judgment. Other than that, it is a very fun course, and everyone who plays here will have a lot of fun.

The big downhill hole (14) is fun, but not nearly as epic as some of the reviews make it seem. (E.g., I wish they would move the basket further away.) It is fun, but not as great or in the same league as many others I have played at Horning's hideout (e.g., Meadow Ridge #8), Delaveaga #27, New Hogan Dam #17, Toney's Mountain #4, Zephyr Cove (several epic downhills), Snow Bowl (and multiple other ski run courses), etc.. Folks, if you like this hole, play some of these other courses, and you'll be very happy, indeed!

Notes of caution for those traveling to the course: The road to the course from I-5 killed the windshield of my car. There was a funny sign that said "watch for flying rocks" and it is no joke! Watch out for trucks. Watch out for speed traps as well, the speed limit on that road is excruciatingly slow, but that's what makes it prime pickings for traffic cops.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 My Jessica Alba Course!

1    6/2/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2010
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Whistler's Bend is Jessica Alba's face, Megan Fox's body, Angelina Jolie's lips, Farrah Fawcett's hair, Josh Groben's voice, Jerry Rice's hands, Mike Tyson's stare, your favorite Baskin and Robbins ice cream flavor, the Sistene Chapel, Paris in the spring and your faithful dog, along with your favorite bar all combined into one glorious central Oregon disc golf destination. It's the Rolls Royce of Northwest Disc Golf. From the drive heading to the park, your senses go on overload with the anticipation of the course and sheer beauty of the area. I don't know if there can be a more perfect physical setting for a course.
The course is so well designed. The holes that are not epic or masterpieces are simply wonderful, well designed, incredibly beautiful and enjoyable. The pads, signs, maintenance and cleanliness of the course are all a tribute to the local disc golf community.
Everyone raves about # 14, Whistler's most famous "Top Of The World." I've thrown DeLeaveaga's famous "Top Of The World" 18th hole and this is higher and so much more picturesque.

While # 14 is the signature hole here, # 3 was definitly my own personal favorite. It's about 260'-275' drive downhill through a 40' wide gap to a basket just waiting to be aced. You gotta be able to keep it straight.
Cons: My cons all seem so petty to me. I agree the first teepad on # 14 could be a bit longer without the dropoff at the end. It is a ways from civilization, stores, etc. And I'll agree about the lack of signage on the back nine. I don't know what happened here. The signs are excellent on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: I sound like a broken record when I keep harping on same thing, which is Oregon's wealth of 5 star rated courses. As much as I loved Pier Park, Mil McIver, Horning's Hideout and Dexter, Whistler's Bend stands in a class of it's own. But really, that's like having your choice between Jessica Alba, Jessica Biel, Megan Fox and the Sports Illustrated swimsuit models, can you really go wrong!

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/3/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: first couple of holes are shorter and more fun than the long ones cuz i can get a par or 2. its near the river so there is good views on the top of the big hill for the throw down. i think you can camp near if you like that
Cons: its really hard and windy and its a long way from the city so you cant goo here all the time. its hard to find and to find your way around too so ask someone the way to go
Other Thoughts: if you go to roseburg its a good course but its too far to drive in one day

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    5/3/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Great mix of shots.
Hole 14
Beautiful
You can tell a lot of pride goes into this course, Well taken care of.
Challenging but not frustrating
The river is amazing and comes into play a few times
Met lots of friendly people
Cons: The only problem I could find was that the Top of World Shot on hole 14 had a short Tee Pad with a huge drop off. Wish it could have been more friendly for a run up. But to be fair there is Pro Tee Pad nearby that I didn't know about at the time, it was probably better suited for a running start
Other Thoughts: This course has it all. Every type of shot could you hope for, Long, Short, Open, Wooded, Elevation changes, Scenery, and a great view of the river. It comes into play a few times but not in a you gotta throw over it kind of way but more of a if you over throw the Disc Catcher your screwed kind of way.

Number 14 was one the best holes I've ever played. Some of the views out there are unforgettable

The people I met out there were really friendly and the Park itself was well thought out taken care of. The only reason it doesn't get a 5 is because it falls just a little short of Flip City, but it comes as close as you can get. Definitely one of the best ever and I would recommend it for a road trip.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This could be the best course ever...

2-4    8/25/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Challenging long holes, that felt like they tested the limits of control and power
-The sceinery is amazing, with beutifull views of the Umpqua river on allmost all sides, mountains surounding it, and wildlife abounding.
-This course uses the land it was given in beutifull ways, there is an uphill more challenging than any I have ever thrown, only to be rewarded with a downhill that makes Top of the World at DeLa, seem like childsplay.
-There are lefts, rights, and straight shots evenly spread between the course.
-Good mix of medows and woods
-Risk / Reward shots that play close to the river
-Friendly locals
-Never felt rushed by other people on the course, nor ever held back.
-Camping on site
-Restrooms / Showers
-Water
-Swiming in the river
-All nice concrete teepads
-It's only about a 4 1/2 - 5 hour drive from home
-Easy to find my way around, even when I didn't have a guide.
Cons: -Some of the holes in the back 9 felt too open and long, just not as exciteing as the holes on the front.
-Signs are getting old and falling apart in some places. The signs are also missing the multiple pin placementes on most holes, which can be quite a bit longer.
-A little far from town, but it keeps the course more for the people that want to realy golf.
-Some poison oak
Other Thoughts: *When I played the baskets were all in their long positions, due to a tourny that had happened recently. Hole 2 was in an alternate for hole 3*
This is one of the best courses I have ever played. The challenge is unmatched in most places I have ever been, without being imposible. The holes in the front start out with more tightly wooded holes that weave through the woods. In the back it opens up quite a bit, and the last few holes fell a little bit repetitive with long straight throws over open fields to a basket tucked up in the woods.
The things realy holding this course back from a 5 are it's lack of accurate signs, and maby a little more variety in the end of the course. Even with that though, I would recomend this course to anyone who wants a challenging, but rewarding round of disc golf, that will most likely kick your @$%, but leave you wanting more. It's only about a 30-40 minute drive from the I-5, so it would make an excelent stop off for someone traveling either to or from CA, and a great destination course for anyone looking for a disc golf vacation.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.