Roseburg, OR
Whistler's Bend Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 442ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One Of My Top Five Favorites!

5+    7/22/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2012
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the most scenic places you will ever play disc golf! The course begins its way into large oak trees then into a forest of large old firs (I've seen owls here). The 3rd hole is the first signature hole - a short 260' drive from a slight elevated perch down to an ace-worthy pin nestled down at the end of a 50' wide fairway. After winding through the woods the course busts out to a section of oaks and grassy field along the bend of the mighty Umpqua River. The second "signature" is hole # 9 - downhill about 300', the basket sits on a cliffs edge with the river about 80' below; beautiful and treacherous! The terrain is similar until you get to 14, then you are "Top of the World" and launching your entire bag at a pin that is 600' long from a hill that's about 100' high! True beauty lies in the fact that you will seemingly have to this place to yourself - it's rarely crowded, and away from the world.

The signs have been replaced and are very nice and help you with hole lengths and pin positions!
Cons: This is minor - but holes #16 and #18 are almost identical in their makeup - long, open and pins are set into some protected trees. Having these two holes so close together is rather obvious. They are also the least exciting of all holes unless you like wide open bombers.

It's so damn far away from most of the world (see pros) - 30 mins. out of Roseburg, OR (it's right on 1-5, but it is also quite away from most of the world!)
Other Thoughts: The camping here is truly outstanding, and they have a couple of yurts for rent on site too. Since it's so far away for some - I recommend staying here for at least one night and making a weekend out of it.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Bend in the River - Disc Golf Adventure!

2-4    7/25/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: thrownow
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A beautiful piece of land at this bend in the Umpqua River. Rent a Yurt or camp by the river and play a great course. Then jump in the river and float down to the campground. The course has good variety; open holes - some with good length, a nice wooded section that comes out to a couple of scary placements above the river (go downstream for the easy trail down). You will need your whole bag to solve the puzzle of which flight is best on the BIG downhill - #14.
Cons: It was hot there - but foolish to whine with the river right there! Wish it was closer to Corvallis - so I could play it when I visit there.
Other Thoughts: This is a Destination Adventure Disc Golf course. You can plan a disc golf vacation just to play this course and not be disappointed. Please note that I place a premium on natural beauty in my reviews - this course locale is the most beautiful that I have encountered.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Excellence

1    8/14/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Whistler's Bend is a beautiful park in the remote foothills out in the middle of nowhere in Roseburg. The first six holes were my favorite, they were wooded tee shots that were all less than 300 feet or so. After that the holes really open up and become much longer. Hole fourteen is an amazing 600 foot downhill bomb into an open field area, not many courses have a hole or holes like this one unless it is a mountain course and this is better because there is little chance to lose it from here unless you really throw one offline so feel free to empty your bag as long as you are willing to go and get them all. The scenery is excellent and this is well worth the drive from anywhere to play here.
Cons: OK hole number nine has issues. I like risk versus reward but I don't like throwing away plastic and if you do anything but lay up the disc is off the cliff and into the river below, this is not only a horrible pin placement but a huge safety hazard. The first six holes are short and the last three or four holes are long, open and boring.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is not the place to take the kids or the family out to play on as this course is build for the advanced to pro level players. If you don't like hikes or losing discs I would say skip holes seven,nine,thirteen and fourteen. You can camp right at the course and there is another eighteen hole course twenty minutes away so this is a great place to plan a road trip like I did. Also the wind is a killer, I'm not sure if you consider this a pro or a con but even in the dense wooded portion of the course the wind was blowing freely.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing

1    10/7/2008   7/6/2009
Review By: oregon disc
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course layout was fantastic (i was here last fall), very challenging, and incredibly capivating views. Top of the World, was one of the most fun holes ever!!! 12-15 second hang-time on a disc (we video recorded a few drives)!!
Cons: It's a bit of a drive (unless you live close to roseburg).. if you go, it's best to camp or at least play two rounds.. bring lunch, there is no vending within miles and miles..
Other Thoughts: I wish this course was my local course..

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2009
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
-location. this course is set on a pristine piece of land by the river. The course starts in the forest and ends with some big meadow shots.
-course progression was awesome. first 10 holes play mostly through the trees, while the last 8 are mostly 400+ meadow shots with a couple smaller trees to negotiate.
-restrooms, water, camping, swimming. all the positives that come with a course being in a well-cared-for park. (free parking)
-every shot needed. i have an inconsistent forehand, but a few times i had no other choice.
-this course DEMANDS great accuracy and distance for a good round.
-watching the disc sail, sail, and sail off top of the world.
-nice tee boxes and baskets all the way through
-often more than one route you can take off the drive.
Cons:
-layout confusion after 11. All of the previous holes have well-worn paths or signage leading to the next tee, but after hole 11 the paths disappear and most tee boxes are a good distance from the previous basket. Seems like the flow could be improved a bit. No crossing fairways though.
-lack of signage or course maps (unless i just missed them)
Other Thoughts: - as previously mentioned, the pics don't do this course justice at all... and the pics are beautiful...
-i couldn't believe i was the only person there enjoying this course (weekday mid-day) I felt over privileged for sure.
-this is the type of park i'd still come to hang out at if it didn't have a course.
-my inner DGer is so happy right now. This course is worth a long trip to play. The on site campgrounds make it even better for out of towners.
-this course gets a 4.5 because the only improvement i can think of is signage and extended walks to tees, and a bit of redundancy later in the round. It could easily be reconfigured into a 5 by making you play a couple of the meadow holes earlier in the round, then return to the woods.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 ...Wow. Speachless.

1    8/12/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: BullBurner
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What can I say that hasn't already been said? Out of this world beauty wrapped by an angellic bow that is the Umpqua River. This course makes me proud to be an Oregonian :D

The course is a nice mix of short technical holes and long open ones. Yes, there are a lot of the open ones in succession on the back 9 but I like it.

I believe it is hole #14, the "On top of the world" hole......holy crap. Now THAT'S an awesome hole. You know, when I played this course I had no idea that it was rated so high (I didn't even know about this site until yesterday) but I had a feeling that Whistler's was 1 version of Disc Golfing Nirvana.
Cons: None. But if you don't like 90+ degree weather I wouldn't go in the middle of the summer. Try Spring or fall.
Other Thoughts: The pics of this course on the site just don't do this course ANY justice at all. It is just absolutely jaw dropping to experience Whistler's and I consider myself very fortunate to be only 1 hour away from this amazing course.

11 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Probably the best in Oregon

2-4    3/10/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 83  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.1 Years
23 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Best scenery of any year-round Oregon course
- First 9 holes are fantastic
- Most of the course is challenging but not impossible, even for non-pros
- Elevation is a huge factor
- Good mix of lengths & openness
- Easy to navigate
- Well-maintained
Cons:
- Back 9 has too many long, similar holes
- A bit far away from stores, restaurants, etc.
- Some poison oak
Other Thoughts:
Whistler's Bend may be the best disc golf course in Oregon. It's a long drive from most population centers, but with camping on-site, it can be a weekend destination. It's also an easy detour for those heading up or down I-5. The scenery is beautiful at any time of year; the park is nestled in a steep valley along a horseshoe-shaped bend in the rocky Umpqua River, so that you're surrounded on almost all sides by the beautiful blue-green water. (The river only comes into play on a few holes, however.)

Holes #1-#6 and #8 are in pretty heavy woods, with numerous doglegs both left and right, and a couple of uphill & downhill shots as well. #7 requires you to navigate a long corridor of oak trees, with the basket dangerously close to the river. #9 is an amazing signature hole: a grassy downhill slope, bordered by shrubs and trees on either side, with the basket in plain view but just a few feet in front of a 30-foot cliff that drops down to the water. If you go over the cliff, there's a rocky shelf that might catch your disc, but it's not an easy shot back up.

The massive downhill shot on the famous hole #14 (600' out and 120' down) is fun, but seldom mentioned is the tough uphill low-ceiling shot on #13 that gets you there. Both are unlike anything else in Oregon.

My only complaint about Whistler's Bend, apart from its remoteness, is that most of the holes in the back nine are very long and don't have many obstacles (and a surprising number of them require you to shoot at a basket you can't see, just down a gentle hill or over a small rise). Out of #11, #12, #15, #16, and #18, the shortest hole is about 350'. I don't have a huge arm, and I don't find these types of holes as much fun, especially with so many of them in quick succession. That's the only thing keeping my rating from being a full 5 stars.

The good news is that while the back nine may be long and (in my opinion) a little boring, you're unlikely to lose a disc there, and those long open holes are pretty predictable -- by which I mean they're more skill than luck, and a solid shot isn't going to get deflected off course by a capricious tree. I think even beginning disc golfers could enjoy a round at Whistler's Bend.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 me

5+    2/3/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: jacobhanson13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: top of the world is diggn. like throwing at the river. good place for advanced players or amatures alike. or just to take a walk whatever your into
Cons: i hate walking. dont like throwing IN the river. lots of uneven hills and terain
Other Thoughts: had a good time

1 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite in Oregon

5+    8/29/1996   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.7 Years
17 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Perhaps THE BEST top of the world shot I have played. The course occupies an incredible vista surrounded by a huge bend in the Umpqua River, and has camping available on site. Lots of variety with extreme elevation in a couple places, long sweeping faiways, peppered with some tight woods and tricky landing zones.
Cons: In the days I played it, it was not yet permanent with baskets, concrete tees, or even a permanent layout (seems like it changed every time I went - but that's not even really a drawback). If it were any less dramatic - maybe the distance off the highway might be a drawback - but given the quality - it's not an issue.
Other Thoughts: This was a course I gladly drove 6-7 hours to get to from Seattle. Yeah it's out of the way - but WOW is all I can say. Out of 240 courses this one stays in my top 10 forever.

17 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Go South, Young Man!

5+    6/2/2005   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
7 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course in Oregon.
Cons: Not many. Too long? Too hard? Too much Poison Oak? Too far away from the interstate?
A disc eater?
Other Thoughts: The views on this course are astounding. I suspect sometimes that the reason this place doesn't end up in an Oregon Visitors Guide is because this is the kind of place that would make people want to live here? I love this course. It's long, hard, tough, and awesome.
Definitely a destination kind of place. Absolutely beautiful, challenging and rewarding.

7 of 26 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.