Roseburg, OR 
Whistler's Bend Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #8 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 273ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Probably the best in Oregon

2-4    3/10/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 94  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.5 Years
23 Helpful / 2 Not
- Best scenery of any year-round Oregon course
- First 9 holes are fantastic
- Most of the course is challenging but not impossible, even for non-pros
- Elevation is a huge factor
- Good mix of lengths & openness
- Easy to navigate
- Well-maintained
- Back 9 has too many long, similar holes
- A bit far away from stores, restaurants, etc.
- Some poison oak
Other Thoughts:
Whistler's Bend may be the best disc golf course in Oregon. It's a long drive from most population centers, but with camping on-site, it can be a weekend destination. It's also an easy detour for those heading up or down I-5. The scenery is beautiful at any time of year; the park is nestled in a steep valley along a horseshoe-shaped bend in the rocky Umpqua River, so that you're surrounded on almost all sides by the beautiful blue-green water. (The river only comes into play on a few holes, however.)

Holes #1-#6 and #8 are in pretty heavy woods, with numerous doglegs both left and right, and a couple of uphill & downhill shots as well. #7 requires you to navigate a long corridor of oak trees, with the basket dangerously close to the river. #9 is an amazing signature hole: a grassy downhill slope, bordered by shrubs and trees on either side, with the basket in plain view but just a few feet in front of a 30-foot cliff that drops down to the water. If you go over the cliff, there's a rocky shelf that might catch your disc, but it's not an easy shot back up.

The massive downhill shot on the famous hole #14 (600' out and 120' down) is fun, but seldom mentioned is the tough uphill low-ceiling shot on #13 that gets you there. Both are unlike anything else in Oregon.

My only complaint about Whistler's Bend, apart from its remoteness, is that most of the holes in the back nine are very long and don't have many obstacles (and a surprising number of them require you to shoot at a basket you can't see, just down a gentle hill or over a small rise). Out of #11, #12, #15, #16, and #18, the shortest hole is about 350'. I don't have a huge arm, and I don't find these types of holes as much fun, especially with so many of them in quick succession. That's the only thing keeping my rating from being a full 5 stars.

The good news is that while the back nine may be long and (in my opinion) a little boring, you're unlikely to lose a disc there, and those long open holes are pretty predictable -- by which I mean they're more skill than luck, and a solid shot isn't going to get deflected off course by a capricious tree. I think even beginning disc golfers could enjoy a round at Whistler's Bend.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/3/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: jacobhanson13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: top of the world is diggn. like throwing at the river. good place for advanced players or amatures alike. or just to take a walk whatever your into
Cons: i hate walking. dont like throwing IN the river. lots of uneven hills and terain
Other Thoughts: had a good time

1 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite in Oregon

5+    8/29/1996   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 186  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 34.1 Years
17 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Perhaps THE BEST top of the world shot I have played. The course occupies an incredible vista surrounded by a huge bend in the Umpqua River, and has camping available on site. Lots of variety with extreme elevation in a couple places, long sweeping faiways, peppered with some tight woods and tricky landing zones.
Cons: In the days I played it, it was not yet permanent with baskets, concrete tees, or even a permanent layout (seems like it changed every time I went - but that's not even really a drawback). If it were any less dramatic - maybe the distance off the highway might be a drawback - but given the quality - it's not an issue.
Other Thoughts: This was a course I gladly drove 6-7 hours to get to from Seattle. Yeah it's out of the way - but WOW is all I can say. Out of 240 courses this one stays in my top 10 forever.

17 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Go South, Young Man!

5+    6/2/2005   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
7 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course in Oregon.
Cons: Not many. Too long? Too hard? Too much Poison Oak? Too far away from the interstate?
A disc eater?
Other Thoughts: The views on this course are astounding. I suspect sometimes that the reason this place doesn't end up in an Oregon Visitors Guide is because this is the kind of place that would make people want to live here? I love this course. It's long, hard, tough, and awesome.
Definitely a destination kind of place. Absolutely beautiful, challenging and rewarding.

7 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch

5+    1/9/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
31 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is great for a family outing or just a day trip. There are nice short and long courses. This will challenge a amatuer to get better and will be enjoyed by pros as well. The camp spots are nice and clean. The river is good for boating, fishing, and swimming in the summer. The last nine holes is great for the power thrower where the first are good for accurate tree threaders. The top of the world throw is a cool shot that lets you just watch your disk glide for what seems like a mile. Easy to see baskets and diverse terrain makes this a course to replay many times! They like to change the baskets around sometimes, not too bad but this time hole 4 was directly perpendicular with the tee pad... a easy hole but little odd...
Cons: A little out of the way from the interstate, but that is kinda cool to locals.

A few holes like #6 are just throw and pray holes with the amount of trees.

Amatuers like me can not get par 3s on all the holes...

On holes 7 and 9, there is a good chance you can lose your disk in the river.

Tons of poisin oak in the summer... stay on the beaten paths...
Other Thoughts: It is a treat to have this as home turf. It is a great park and disk course. The holes are a good balance betwwen challenge and diversity.

31 of 32 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    12/24/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: MadMax
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
16 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I have played this course more times than I can count. And I have to say, this course has got to be the most challenging, but fun course to play. 1-3 are easy, really cake walks.. Then you get to 4-15 and your skills are really tested. 6, you actually have to shimmy through the woods and make it down to the basket... INSANE! I love it, but yeah, all around, great course. I wouldn't play any other course without comparing it to Whistlers.. I play Riverside, and Green all the time and I always say "This would be a lot harder and more interestin at Whistler" Anyone who has the oppertunity to make a day trip for playing disc golf and wants to play a great course, pack a lunch, grab some sodas and make it a day up there.
Cons: the oppertunity to lose discs... INSANE, seems like everytime I go up there we're always chasing one down
Other Thoughts: Anyone who has this as there home course is lucky... Oh wait, thats me and my gang lol NICE!

16 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Truely wonderful

1    12/9/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2010
7 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: There are a lot of long fun open holes. A good mix of short techy holes with lots of trees. River right by course and comes in to play.The vistas of the beautiful surroundings are worth seeing even if not a disc golfer. One of the most fun drives from "the top of the world". The flow is pretty good, only like once did I say where next. There is also on sight camping and picnic spots. Swimming may be an option on those hot summer days. I could maybe think of more pros, but I can also sum it up by saying it is a must play for any die hard disc golfer and a great place to see for anyone.
Cons: The cons are few and far between. There were no maps available. It is still playable without a map or guide. Some holes may be a bit hard for beginners.
It is a bit of a drive off of I-5 and that is where most people will be coming from.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play this course more often. I have always seen friendly locals who will point you in the right direction. Thanks to whomever is responsible for this course, I really love it.

7 of 21 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/16/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 37 Years
3 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: A great variety of holes. Beautiful scenery with camping, yurts and showers.
Cons: The only con, is that it is located outside of Roseburg - nothing against Roseburg, just that it's not close to other cities, or courses.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the detour off of I-5. Bring your 'A game', spend the weekend, and have fun!

3 of 22 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/11/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 169  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 14.4 Years
36 Helpful / 0 Not
-Astounding scenery / views
-Fantastic variety of holes / shots ranging from short wooded technical shots, to more open 500+ bombs.
-Great elevation, some rather extreme up hill shots and one monster "Top of the World" shot of 700 something feet downhill (birdyable with a putter!)
-Usually quite clean, well taken care of by locals
-Onsite camping, with yurts available.
-Onsite showers (I think they are free!)
-Very challenging holes (one is about 350' downhill with a 40' cliff 50' behind the basket that goes straight into the river)
-Home of the Great Northwest Open, kicking off the Oregon Series every year.
-Outhouses available
-River swimming/fishing next to course
-Nice tee signs
-Great tee pads
-Well defined fairways
-Great hiking nearby with waterfalls and hot springs!
-Beautiful HUGE old growth oak trees everywhere.
-Poison oak is prevalent on some holes
-No maps available at kiosk
-I wish the course had a couple true par 4s. Not really a "con" but I think it would benefit the course greatly.
Other Thoughts:
Whistler's Bend is one of the best courses I have ever played, definitely making my top 10, possibly top 5.

This is what I consider "Destination Golf". There is camping on site so you drive out to the course and stay there all weekend, it's heaven. You can play three or four rounds a day and never get bored from the course, although it will likely tire your body out a bit, at which point you get in your car and drive up to Tokatee hot springs and relax hippy style. Or drive up to one the dozens of beautiful waterfalls and just bask in the beauty. On top of that, the river offers great swimming and fishing possibilities. Why go to Disneyland when you can take your whole family to Whistler's and actually enjoy yourselves!?

Ok, seriously though, Whistler's bend is one of the best designed courses I've ever played. It is such enjoyable golf that as soon as you finish the first round, you won't even want to waste the time to grab a snack before you head out for your second round! It's just THAT good.

36 of 36 people found this review helpful.

 Best of state

8/8/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.4 Years
26 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of types of holes, beginning with tightly wooded yet fair woods holes of mostly short lengths, then a bunch of 400-500' tougher holes through more open area, a few baskets on the edge of a cliff leading down to a river. Then you go up a massively steep tight hole to tee off from one of the highest points above a basket ever, beating out Delaveaga's last hole. Great land for disc golf. Cement tees. Somewhat marked. Not too tough to scare people away.
Cons: Some signs broken, all inaccurate currently due to changes (I prefer to see new signs before changes are made-just makes it too hard for someone coming to play the course!). Hard but not impossible to navigate without a map, none provided.
Course design has no cons.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the world. Possibly the best land for a course ever, best views. Just needs better markings.

26 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.