Newark, DE 
White Clay Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #4
3 / 355ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty Park, Decent Course

2-4    8/14/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice park with rolling green hills and mature trees.
-Excellent signage and concrete tees (the concrete tees were a little odd, very wide but not as long as i would like)
-Pins are well placed with the light woods being used well to protect the greens and provide a variety of shot shapes.
-Very balanced in that it doesn't cater to one particular throwing style, requires working the disc right to left, left to right, and right up the gut
Cons: -The rough in fairways and around greens was the biggest con for me. The rough i'm speaking of is really tall grass, the kind you can watch a disc enter and still be unable to find it when you come up to look. I'm all for having obstacles but this is rough that serves no purpose beyond losing plastic as it does little to impede your next shot once you find your disc.
-There are a several holes that felt like filler holes- 5-8, 16, 18.
-6 dollars for me to play here means it doesn't get as much play from me as it would otherwise warrant
-There are a few long pins but this is mostly a putter and mid course
Other Thoughts: I have enjoyed my rounds here for the most part, there certainly aren't to many courses in DE that can compete with the aesthetics of this beautiful park. I like the fact that i can work on just about any shot in the bag here due to the varied and creative layout (with the exception of long bombs). I think if i had DE tags and could get into the park for 3 bucks i would make the effort to play here more often but 6 dollars is a little steep for what i consider to be a true 3 star course. I also hate for my rounds to be taken up with probably 20 minutes on average looking for discs in tall grass. The last time i played i passed groups of 4 and 5 combing through rough just off the fairway. Overall i think the its a solid course and the layout is well done. I hope that more long pins will be added and some of the rough can be eliminated to make this course a little better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ace race prime turf

2-4    9/21/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: White Clay Creek was a refreshing surprise for me. I went for the first time after playing my 3rd ever round at Iron Hill after a job interview in Wilmington this week., since I had an entire day free after late morning. I had heard so much about Iron Hill for obvious reasons and so I never paid much thought to White Clay Creek.

This course is to me what Bellevue strives to be--a clean wide-open park dotted with trees and bushes to create unique obstacles. Like Bellevue, there aren't any real woods, but rather small groups of trees to play around and through, and like Bellevue, the holes are shorter and are meant to cater to a tech round and to make beginners feel welcome and grow their love of the game. Unlike Bellevue, there are nice elevation climbs and drops all over this course. WCC is a par 3 course that in most cases is easy to par and more difficult to birdie. More experienced throwers can play the round with a mid range and putter only; only 1 hole exceeds 400' and besides that, only 5 others that exceed 300'. Definitely go to work on accuracy, putting, and your variety of throws.

The tee areas and signs were good here. There were very few blind shots, so tracking your throw shouldn't prove cumbersome. About half of the course does factor in thick TG near the tee area, but anyone who can throw over 200' shouldn't have too much trouble missing the bad spots in most cases. Watch out namely for holes 3 and 17 for easier places to lose plastic. The park itself is very nice and well maintained. Fairway grass length was good. Navigation was nice and simple once getting started.
Cons: Without prior knowledge of the course, it can be tricky finding hole 1. Once you park in the recreation area of the park, head downhill toward the picnic tables on the side of the lot that the driveway came in, and you'll notice the practice basket down the hill. There's a little alcove in trees extending off the practice basket that leads to hole 1. From there, it's easy. The walk from 18 back to the lot is a little long and leaves room for another hole if you ask me, but the path back to the lot does follow the cross country track route.. That track does weave through the course, though it usually avoid fairway, but be careful of runners--they were there when I was playing. The course doesn't challenge more experienced players, but you can still find constructive ways to spend your round here, like taking someone new to the game.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice small course. I recommend it highly for a light, casual round or and ace race event!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Decent Course

1    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good solid 18 hole course which is challenging enough for the advanced player yet not impossible for the amateur. Not necessary to have a cannon arm to be successful here provided you have a reasonable degree of accuracy. Features a nice assortment of wooded holes without many mammoth trees blocking your way. Concrete tee pads are more than sufficient and the course is easy to navigate. Pins are pretty visible from the tee box for the most part. Course is well kept and clean. A must play prior to taking the challenge of playing morale killer courses like Carousel and Iron Hill.
Cons: Many holes surprisingly seem to favor the lefty thrower, which is great for lefties but bad for righties without a good anhyzer in their arsenal. Course could use "next tee" signs directing you through the course. Probably not enjoyable to play in the summer for the average player who veers into the rough with great frequency- thorns galore here. Doesn't have the variety of elevation and long open holes to meet some peoples' taste. While not a factor in the offseason, paying to play is a turn off.
Other Thoughts: Played in the "Hangover Open" on New Years Day when the shrubbery and rough weren't major factors and shot reasonably well for my first time here. I liked the course and feel one can reasonably improve their score each time out with some adjustments. Delaware seems to have a loyal disc golf following, and while I wouldn't take another 2 hour ride just to play this one course, it certainly is a good place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Soft Clay complements Hard Iron

1    4/12/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice course in an area of nice park that seems to be dedicated mostly to disc golf. These holes all pose some challenge to beginners and experts alike. Nice big concrete tees. Permanent dual baskets at most holes! Not too difficult to navigate. Plenty of local DGers to ask advice or to follow around. You will have to utilize your entire game here; big arm distance placemement and precision control finesse are needed to score well. Every hole employs a smattering of trees, bushes, and elevation but it's never so overwhelming that it frustrates you. It's a fun course to play and is either a good warm-up for nearby Iron Hill or a good place to play after your ego is destroyed by nearby Iron Hill. Fun bar scene in Newark so plenty of great food options. I really enjoyed holes 3 and 17. Course is not super difficult but is not boring either. A pleasant play.
Cons: I snuck in on Easter Sunday and never payed the park fee. This course is not worth the drive or the fee to play if you are out of state.(Seasonal Park Pass Makes Sense) Many of the holes seem similiar; having moderate length, moderate obstacles, and moderate elevation. There are thorns prevalent throughout this course. You can keep it in the fairway and not deal with this but I noticed that any slightly errant shot could be punished by ripped clothes and bloodshed. There are even some holes framed by a thorn bramble, hole 10? I saw thorns around the trees in the fairway often as well. These are the nasty multi-flora rosa type that can be tamed if aggressively attacked. I was surprised that these seem to be incorporated into the course as either part of the green on 10 or as a penalty for overdriving on hole 1. This is especially cruel as it is a blind shot and you can easily overdrive into these. Hole 18 was so short and had no tee? That was weird and perhaps the most anti-climactic finisher ever? There is a big natural fairway to the left of the entrance road just past basket 18. I think a massive dogleg here would be a cool finish! Dreaming again I guess.
Other Thoughts: Course is difficult to get to if your not familiar with area. Remember route 896 is a route and not a road so pay attention as this route switches roads very often. Once in the parking lot make sure you park to the immediate left corner and walk the path beyond the picnic tables down the hill and you will see the info kiosk and tee #1 hidden to your right.I think Delaware is a very underrated disc golf state. Delaware disc golf has got quite a scene for such a little state.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another typically solid Delaware State Park course

1    12/14/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Groomed, well-defined fairways. Half the holes have permanent alternate pins (the old ones are rusted, but there are guaranteed 18 brand-new pins). Tees are solid concrete. Really a beautiful park. OK paper signage. Some elevation changes and left-right variety. Seems like a great place for a first-time player, but also a technical challenge for the experienced.
Cons: Some of the alternate pins don't seem to exist (13, 3, 16). No "next tee" directions despite their need at several holes, including directions to the first tee! Hole 18 seems to be an afterthought... very short with no teebox at all (it is the only pin on a slope however)! Lots of casual walkers on the trails that wind through the course (even in December) so be careful. Oh yeah, THORNS THORNS THORNS... which isn't a con if you like being punished for moderately bad throws.
Other Thoughts: First tee is down the hill, past the picnic tables. Note that on many holes (1 and 8 especially) the "A" position is much more interesting, so don't just reflexively play all the long positions.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/26/2009   5/26/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 244  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice rolling uphill and downhill shots with plenty of brush and tree obstacles to keep things interesting. A few holes go in and out of woods, some have nicely protected baskets. Course is great to practice and learn on, as none of the holes are exceptionally long and have wide fairways, but fun enough to keep you coming back. 6 holes have 2 baskets, sometimes varying 200+ feet, the alternate holes being old baskets which are remnants of the original course layout. Most players throw to the new pins, which on 4 out of 6 are the long pins. 17 is a beauty of a shot, launching from an elevated tee through an opening in the tree line across the field to a basket protected by pines.
Cons: During the summer months the course can be almost unplayable unless you're throwing with unfailing accuracy. The fairways are wide enough, but he rough gets thick, sharp, knee deep and eats discs. A couple holes can be though to find your first time out. Tee 17 is right near Basket 3, while tee 4 is 75 yards up the trail to the right of basket 3. A sign could easily help this. Tee signs could also use an update, more than half show multiple pins, which isn't the case anymore. Some players have no respect and there is trash on the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to play Delaware courses often the state park pass is totally worth it. First tee is about 100 yards downhill from the parking lot, past the picnic tables. (Left side of parking lot as you're pulling in.)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.