Newark, DE 
White Clay Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #2
3 / 251ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun for a Beginners

5+    7/31/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am new to disc golf and White Clay is the primary course that I play. When people describe the course, the 2 overwhelming themes are beginner friendly and left handers have an advantage. Since I drive RHFH, I don't necessarily agree with the second point and will point some of that out in the review. This review is for the reds. Again, I am new so please forgive me if this review isn't technical enough:

Hole 1-- located down the hill from the porta potty, past the picnic tables. You will see the practice basket first. The first tee is behind the practice basket in the tree line. This hole is RHBH friendly. It has a wide open fairway with rough down the right hand side. Good first hole to warm up on, not a lot of risk of a lost disc.

Hole 2-- Fun Hole. It is right or left hand friendly. With skill and a little luck, you could ace this hole. Just bend the disc towards the basket from either side. The basket is protected by a tree so you can't go straight at it.

Hole 3-- Here is where you will want to be LH. The basket is on an elevated "green" to the right. It is guarded by an evergreen about mid fairway and a tree by the basket. From watching people shoot at this basket, most people land their disc at the bottom or "in" the hill.

For Hole 4, go onto the dirt path/ road and walk up abt 20 yards. It not far, but the tee for 17 is right by the hole 3 basket--don't go that way!

Hole 4-- This is really a RH hole. If you have a bad drive, you can easily lose a disc. With a good drive, you fly over all the weeds with a RH or LH and be right by the basket.

Hole 5-- steep uphill with the tee box slanted uphill. I am not sure if it is mental or not but steepness of the tee box screws me up. With a decent drive, this is a pretty easy hole.

Hole 6-- As I get better, this hole gets harder. It is a slight downhill with a sharp downhill the last 20-30 feet. There are woods behind the basket. I threw a mid range on a perfect line and speed ( I thought) and ended up deep in the woods. I am not sure how to play this hole( a high hyzer?). These are the holes I love, a real mental challenge, not grip it and rip it.

Hole 7--coming back up the hill. A relatively easy hole with a good drive but there is no fun in driving uphill.

Hole 8--fun hole for RH or LH. Again the basket is hidden behind a tree, but you have a real shot at an ace if you get it just right.

Hole 9--this must be the hardest hole on the course. I am not sure what to do. Next time I play I am going to throw my disc at the nearest bush. It seems like if I try to avoid the bushes and trees, that is where it ends up. This hole is a narrow fairway with the basket guarded by trees. The basket is in the woods on a slight downhill so the disc rolls a lot. Seriously though, if you can throw a tomahawk, this may be the hole.

Hole 10-- this is where being LH is awesome, the drive is a short narrow shot through the trees and then take a hard right. I throw a little hyzer FH and land it out in the field. It is a fun second shot here, all skill. There is a window in the trees to the right of the basket. A nice easy throw RHBH into the window and you have a good shot at a deuce.

Hole 11-- First hole with no shade at all. This is your first real grip it and rip it hole especially RHBH. I don't like these holes... moving on.

Hole 12--LH bias here. You are still out in the sun which sucks right now. I use a mid range and try to bend it at the end of tree line to the right. This is basically a dog leg right. The basket is pretty open. It is an ok hole, not the greatest.

Hole 13-- Here is some love for the RH. The basket is not far but guarded by a huge tree. RHBH can bend it right around for an ace opportunity.

Hole 14-- A hole for LH. Not much to tell on this one. It is pretty long for me. The hole is right out in the open, so putting is easy.
Hole 15-- Deceivingly hard hole in my opinion. It is built for LH and seems easy but you really don't have much of a window. I seem to hit a tree every time and not sure why.

Hole 16- I love this hole. It is built for LH. It is short and you can definitely make an ace. The trick is to bend it around the evergreen mid fairway--not that hard.

Hole 17-- This is the signature hole of the course. It is a long hole where you drive from an elevated tee. There is danger along the left but with a good drive, you are a long putt for birdie. As you can tell, I don't like the grip it and rip it holes, but drives on this hole are a thing of beauty. If you find a couple valks in the poison ivy along the left, they're mine!

Hole 18-- This is like the last hole at a putt-putt where you put the ball in the clown's mouth for a free game. It is a short hole looking for an Ace. If no one is behind you, throw everything in your bag at it.
Cons: Pay to play. Alot of college kids which at times, can be a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: You can play a round here in a bout an hour if no one is in front of you.

have fun

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 awesome course

1    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: hyperspike
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained fairways. Super friendly locals. Great flow to this course working in longer and shorter holes and also going from hole to hole all the tee boxes were easy to find. between holes 2 and 3 there's an AWESOME place to sit and chill for a few min over looking a few later holes.
Cons: roughs are ROUGH, if you really shank a drive on certain holes, chances are slim you will find it.
Other Thoughts: I drove about an hour to get there was was NOT disappointed. Put this one on your list.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but Nothing Spectacular

5+    4/24/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: mwalter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The foliage is pretty well trimmed and the park itself is very well maintained. Not particularly crowded, so you're rarely stuck behind anyone. Pretty good balance between straight, left and right-hand throwing paths.
Cons: There are some areas on the course they don't cut for wildlife purposes. These areas can get waist high by mid-summer and are filled with thorns and poison ivy. Most of the holes are similar length, which can make it feel a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This course is probably the most "lefty favorable" layout I've ever played, so a well developed sidearm is distinct advantage. Good course for beginners, since you don't get punished too harshly for leaving the fairway.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/14/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: De Hermit
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A picturesque course nestled in the 'Wedge' of northern DE. A variety of shots needed (i.e. left, right, straight, 's' shots, uphill and downhill). Numerous available lines on the majority of holes make this course very fun to play numerous times. Large concrete tees provide adequate run ups. Primary baskets are in very good condition. Alternate baskets on holes 4,8,9,11 and 12. The more than adequate fairways are well maintained year-round. A great course to play back-to-back rounds on as it plays rather quickly. Good course for beginners, but enough of a challenge for advanced players to have a good time and try and chalk up another ace (holes 2, 5, 13, 16 and 18). Practice basket located 100' left of hole 1's tee. Porta-John located at the entrance side of parking lot, bathrooms located on opposite end. Frequently someone else available and willing to golf with.
Cons: The rough (tall grass and thorns) can be rather brutal in places, predominantly late May through October, but still very manageable(though park maintenance has done a great job of eliminating previously problematic areas on holes 1, 9 and 12). Holes 4 and 17 tend to see the most discs lost. The alternate pins (Modified Mach 3's I believe) are remnant of the original course and are rather rusty. White Clay has seen a fair share of abuse in the way of litter and vandalization (stickers and graffiti on tee signs, broken sign covers, and sadly basket theft in the near past). A lot of the abuse stems from the influx of students every Fall to the University of DE. $3 In State fee, $6 Out of State fee can be rather unpleasant after a few trips but a seasonal pass pays for itself quickly.
Other Thoughts: Hold 1's tee is located 100' feet to the right of the practice basket, which happens to be straight downhill from the Porta-John past the picnic tables. Plenty of other activities available within the park (i.e. hiking, biking, bird watching, 'life-course', playground, volleyball, horseshoe pits, grills and spacious pavilion available, and live music on Wed. during the Summer in the amphitheater). Ample restaurants/bars available only minutes from the park in Newark. 15 mins. away from two world class courses, Carousel Park and Iron Hill. The Ski Bum (218 East Main Street) is less than 10 min from the course and has a large selection of Innova discs, bags and straps along with Delaware Disc Golfer (DDG) tournament stamped discs. Random draw doubles are held during the warmer months, starting roughly 2hrs prior to dusk.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun to play. This course is not long at all, and it gives you a real opportunity to score a three or better on each hole. The course has a natural flow to it, so it is easy to follow and know where the next hole is. The course is well maintained in a pretty park, and had pretty good tee signs which gave you a good idea of what was required for the hole. The course would be a great course to take newer disc golfers too as it is much shorter than other courses in the area, and would be less frustrating to play. I always like it when a course offers you multiple ace hole opportunities, and this course does just that. The course also had really nice tee pads with plenty of space for run up.
Cons: No score cards or directions as to where to go when you pull into the park. If there wasn't someone else in the park with a bag on, we wouldn't have known where to go to start this course.

Even though short doesn't make a course bad, a couple times while playing this course you felt like you had already played that same hole.

$6 bucks out of state is a joke, especially since bathrooms weren't even open. I don't know, that just bothered me.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun to play for the first time. We had just finished playing Carousel earlier that day which is sooooo long and difficult, White Clay was a nice change of pace and offered fast play without having to think too much about what or where you are going. When we come back to Delaware again to play, I'm sure we will try and play this course again.
6/10/2014
After playing this course again this past week, I have come to the conclusion that we will not seek out this course again. The entire course is very short and repetitive. I would say this course plays extremely well for a left handed player as there are a lot of left to right holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    6/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very creative hole layouts
-multiple pin placements (alternate pins are not in very good shape though as they are old/rusted)
-decent signage, but its almost not even needed because once you have played the course once, you'll know it well enough that the signs aren't needed.
-creative layout.
-a little bit of everything, not too much of any one style of hole...a couple long holes requiring great distance, a couple pins are hidden behind huge bushes or obstacles, etc. great variety here.
-very few non disc golfers on the course.
-fairways are very well maintained
-baskets in great shape.
-challenging, but still beginner/am friendly.
Cons: -pay-to-play, but if your in-state and play disc golf regularly you NEED to have an annual pass. its a no brainer.
-my main gripe with this course is...THE BRUSH. It has eaten soooooo many of my discs. a spotter is a must or you will lose at least 1 disc while your playing, maybe more. they should really do something about this insane brush.
-i would personally enjoy some more wide open shots, but thats not what this course is...if you want to watch your disc sail 400+ feet, go to brandywine. if your into slightlyyy more technical shots, this is the course for you.
Other Thoughts: i love this course, i can't say enough about it. it would be flawless in my opinion if they cut down some of that nasty brush and poison ivy. But other than that, i have no complaints at all.

beginners should shoot in the 70's, intermediate ams should shoot around 60-55. pros should get anywhere below 50.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: stimpsonhoek
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes are all relatively short distances, nothing too crazy. No distance drivers needed. Can see most of the baskets from the tees, except for a couple of the doglegs. Excellent concrete tees. The round took me and my rookie friend a little over an hour, and we took our time here and there. He was new to disc golf and was able to par/bogie all the holes using my extras (made him a fan of the game instantly). The light hills made it interesting and there were some good tree obstacles, but again, nothing too crazy. The course was mostly easy to navigate, only a couple times did we have to look around for where to go next. The fairways were all well kept, good approaches, and nice baskets. If you are new to disc golf, this is a good course to start out on. If you are more experienced, expect some possible aces, easy 2 shot holes. I laid up my destroyer easily by most of the baskets, was hard to not overshoot (friend used my shorter driver).
Cons: No signs in parking lot for where to go (head downhill from picnic area, opposite side of parking lot from little amphitheatre) and no signage on course for next hole direction, which is needed in some areas.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course. Nice if you are short on time or just want to waste an hour or so, or can play it twice for more fun of course. Again, great beginner course. I was amazed at the short distances most of the holes were. Thouroughly enjoyed it, was a great diversion on a sunday afternoon. And again, my friend who never played before loved it. Even when he sliced off the main drags, he was still able to get it back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Decent Course

1    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 68  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good solid 18 hole course which is challenging enough for the advanced player yet not impossible for the amateur. Not necessary to have a cannon arm to be successful here provided you have a reasonable degree of accuracy. Features a nice assortment of wooded holes without many mammoth trees blocking your way. Concrete tee pads are more than sufficient and the course is easy to navigate. Pins are pretty visible from the tee box for the most part. Course is well kept and clean. A must play prior to taking the challenge of playing morale killer courses like Carousel and Iron Hill.
Cons: Many holes surprisingly seem to favor the lefty thrower, which is great for lefties but bad for righties without a good anhyzer in their arsenal. Course could use "next tee" signs directing you through the course. Probably not enjoyable to play in the summer for the average player who veers into the rough with great frequency- thorns galore here. Doesn't have the variety of elevation and long open holes to meet some peoples' taste. While not a factor in the offseason, paying to play is a turn off.
Other Thoughts: Played in the "Hangover Open" on New Years Day when the shrubbery and rough weren't major factors and shot reasonably well for my first time here. I liked the course and feel one can reasonably improve their score each time out with some adjustments. Delaware seems to have a loyal disc golf following, and while I wouldn't take another 2 hour ride just to play this one course, it certainly is a good place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tech Lite

1    9/7/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 421  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Decent concrete single teepads, multi-position pin postions, signs showing current location of basket.
Cons:
High grass and some thick underbrush make disc-loss a possibility. A few non-players on the walking paths. $6 to enter park, but you could also play relatively-nearby Lums, Brandywine, and Bellevue on the same day for that one fee.
Other Thoughts:
The holes on this course are what I would describe as "tech lite". No holes could be described as wide open, but none are super tight. Many holes will have a defined and often-narrowing fairway, with a tree or two guarding the approach to the basket. Obstacles come into play at various points - narrow-windows to throw through early, grouping of trees in the midst of the fairways, and/or somewhat-protected basket locations. Most holes are flat, only a few with minor elevation changes. 2/3rds of the holes fall into the 230'-310' range, average distance ~280'. Nice variety of shots needed - was left/right turning neutral. A few holes have extra, unmarked baskets.

Navigation: The course is fairly easy to follow, despite the lack of a map. A couple of tips: To find tee #1, start at the top of the nearest parking lot to the entrance. Walk down the path, keeping the picninc tables to your right. In a clearing to your right is the practice basket - walk towards then past it, tee #1 will be on the left. Also, the tee just to the left of basket #3 is #17; To find #4, go right to the main path, then left up to the tee about 150' away.

Favourite hole #9: About 300', fairway lined with trees on both sides, need to go straight the first 200' or so, then a gentle right-then-left turn to reach the basket set in the edge of the woods.

Played on Labor Day, and there was a Beatles tribute band playing a free show. It ended with Helter Skelter just as we were approaching #18, so it was a mad dash to the car to beat the worst of the traffic!

This course is good for players looking for something beyond open grip-n-rip, but not wanting the other extreme of tree pinball.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just Fun to Play

5+    5/2/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just a fun course to play. It has a bit of everything, some technical holes, a couple where you need good distance and some in between. It doesn't have the length of a course like Brandywine or the extreme woods of a course like Lum's Pond but it has a bit of both in moderation. The course does use elevation well and on the front nine it alternates uphill hole followed by a down hill hole several times. It doesn't feel repetitive though because of the different shots required. This is a great course to bring a group of friends with varying abilities. It is still challenging effort for the good players without being so impossible to cause the newbies to want to quit. As optidiscic said this course is the perfect complement to Iron Hill. After playing Iron Hill a couple of times you can come back to White Clay and feel like Superman or Chuck Norris (depending on your point of view).
Cons: Some of the holes are a little short and a few of the alternate baskets are in disrepair. There is also no teepad on 18 but I assume that is because the managers did not want to disturb the root system of the many nearby trees.
Other Thoughts: This course is challenging enough to not be boring but is easy enough to be a lot of fun. My favorite hole on the course is definitely hole 17, a great tee shot from an elevated pad and a difficult uphill approach shot to be in position to make par.
With the renovations to Iron Hill, northern DE has a great group of courses in a small area. Brandywine has the length and ability to "air it out;" White Clay has the accessibility to many levels of players and the requirement for finesse shots; Lum's Pond is the place to go for a quick round and a BBQ afterward; and Iron Hill is the place to go when you need a challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.