Auburn, WA 
White River Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #4
3 / --   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Fairway



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Triple Mando!

5+    1/23/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: John M. Fretz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course layout and flow. They've improved things here and you can really tell by how well course looks and flows, especially on the back.
Beautiful scenery: trees, river, etc.
Hole 14 triple mando is AWESOME and challenging
Cons: I would've rated this excellent or higher if there was better signage on both red and blue tees. I know my way around here, but better/more signs would help newbies or non-locals.
A couple Natives were shooting at squirrels or something with .22 rifles behind fence by holes 8, 9, and 10. Kind of unnerving while trying to drive to be worried about getting shot in the back
Other Thoughts: awesome course, Great improvements, I'm sure they'll update sign situation soon, too

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Busy but worth it.

1    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout with long and short tee pads on many of the holes.

Pretty well marked. (Although bringing a map doesn't hurt if you haven't played it before)

Drains well and stays dry most of the time.

Dog friendly(leash).
Cons: Parking is limited.

Not a whole lot of distance. Only a couple of holes that really let you air it out.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the river on the 13th hole.

Quite a few left-curving holes. Convenient if you're a RHBH player.

The course gets pretty busy but most of the people play quickly so there isn't a lot of wait time.

You'll probably break in a few discs in the course of a round with all the trees to shoot around/thru.



1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Blackberrries

1    8/25/2007   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun and modestly technical (need an accurate shot)
Good for all types of players
Lots of wildlife around
Late summer early fall there are blackberry bushes full of great fruit. Just the thing for a hot summer day.
Cons: Needed a guide to get around
Other Thoughts: It was a while ago when i played this so it may have change a bit since then.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful day on the river

2-4    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: DiscoKid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course IMO, is in good shape; delivers a good balance of tight and "air it out" holes... Particularly enjoy the back nine as you get some elevated tee boxes where good drives are rewarded--and quite pretty to watch!
Cons: Though the course is very dry (for those of you outside the Seattle area, we've had a very dry spring/early summer); this has kept the undergrowth/brush fairly tame yet--it's still very possible to lose a disc or two--even in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really enjoy White River... Today was another gorgeous Seattle sunshiny day... round of disc golf with my 23 year old son and two of his buddies and... the old man comes up victorious--again! 65 today from the blues... Life is good!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course south of Seatac in Washington.

2-4    5/16/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautifully maintained and easy to navigate course along the picturesque White River makes for a wonderful time playing disc golf. The baskets and tee pads are in excellent condition just like the rest of the course and there are plenty of places to sit down if needed. Very technical course with a lot of variety between hole lengths and there is a good amount of challenge. Plenty of parking even on the busiest days. There are no crossing fairways which is a rarity, even the best courses have some crossing, also the course guides you back around to your car.
Cons: The course gets busy with golfers and also busy with pedestrians and a couple of holes throw near busy walking paths. A couple of spots on the course have places where you might lose a disc in the brush.
Other Thoughts: Others have commented on the amount of trees and that there is more luck than skill, I totally disagree. Yes the course is tight in places but this is what makes the course fun, besides for every tight hole there are as many open fairway holes. There are other places I have played that are worse as far as having trees and tight fairways. The summer configuration of the course is all I have played so I can't comment on what it's like other wise.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 White River

1    11/10/2008   1/8/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First tee-box first tee sign, top quality, perhaps the best I've seen in all of Washington. Its very nice to see a Washington course with paved tee-boxes, and not huge mud puddles. A mix of open and tight holes, and very tight holes, mostly good for tree bashing. White River is tucked away in a very picturesque natural setting, its one of the places my wife asks "where was that?" with an excited voice when my screen saver flashes a picture of this course. If you have skill weaving it through the trees you'll love this course. You can hear the river running almost the entire round, its quite relaxing. This course has some elevated baskets and tee boxes and alternate tee-boxes. White River has easy directions, plenty of parking and a porta potty. Along the course there are plenty of places to sit.

There are a couple of memorable holes. I liked how number one has a well defined fairway and then you transition right into playing in the thick forest on number two. The tee box at number five was awesome, one of the rare times I liked the tee-box more than the target. The course then takes you for a quick jaunt back into the woods. Then you get to play along the river where the courses features an elevated tree guarded basket. Finally you go down a hill and into the open for more well defined fairways. That's my idea of fun, I enjoyed my experience.
Cons: When I played in early November, there was almost no undergrowth issues, however is seems like it can get bad when the weather is nice. Refer to the picture of the number four fairway "enjoy looking for your disc" that type of undergrowth is not my idea of fun. I have to be fair though, when I played in November, it wasn't much of an issue. Some of the layout from basket to tee was confusing, we would find a tee and then realize we were at the wrong one and have to re-throw from the correct tee.
Other Thoughts: On the foggy, rainy day I was there a Native American dude was signing loudly by the river, it made the experience feel wilder. My better than average grade might be due to the fact that I didn't play the summer layout. Next time I'm in the city during the summertime I will shoot for hitting up the summer layout and rewrite this review. I just didn't have the frustration issues that others seem to have had. The only thing I found frustrating was how fast the sun set in November. I look forward to playing this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 White River DGC

2-4    1/17/2010   4/14/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 189  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful scenic discgolf course located in a wonderful city park along the White River. Entering the park there is plenty of parking available near the kiosk and hole #1. Restrooms are just off the side as well as a drinking fountain.

As far as course layout, White River does a fantastic job providing a mixture of open and wooded holes allowing no one style the competative advantage. Baskets are visible on the majority of holes and if not there are signs with distance and pin placement available.

The course does a nice job taking advantage of the elevation available. There will be several opportunities for shots to sail along the rolling hills and down toward the water some. Each hole has a unique look! The course is challenging, requiring large controlled drives, tight accurate fairway shots, and long narrow putts through wooded areas.

Duel tee pads on some holes (red and blue - winter and summer) add to the fun and challenge. Blues tee pads are all cement and the red are a mix (cement, rubber).The baskets were quality and in great shape .
Cons:
After the first hole the course plays into the woods where on a few holes some might find their shots to be difficult and that their lines to the pin are non-existant (especially during the summer). Continuing to cut back some of the growth on those holes might make for better lines on the course and allow for skill rather than a lucky skip.

However, I really couldn't find a whole lot wrong with this course. White River was well manicured, clean, and in great shape. The locals along with the parks and rec do a fantastic job on course upkeep!
Other Thoughts:
White River provides a wonderful opportunity for some quality northwest discgolf. The park for the most part is dedicated to discgolf (occasional walkers) and the local club has a strong following.

If you are looking for some new plastic or any discgolf merchandise, look for MANDO'S downtown. They have quality goods and a great price. The owner's are great and do a lot for the discgolf community.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.