Auburn, WA 
White River Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #16
3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Home Base

5+    10/29/2014   11/9/2014
Review By: DiscTribe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the best courses around. The more I play it, the more I love it. Every hole has its own personality. It is as if each is a signature hole.
Cons: It can get busy, real busy. In the summer you can wait in line forever. Luckily in the winter the course has a stark beauty to it and the lack of foliage makes it much easier to throw and find your discs. Of course, the lack of foliage also makes it so you are going to get soaked, but this is the northwest, deal with it.
Other Thoughts: I have a few other courses I love around here too, but White River is my home base and the course that made a serious player out of me. It and Mando's will always make me tip my proverbial hat. This is what I love about dolfin'.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great White Park

2-4    11/6/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This slightly-out-of-the-way course defines and adorns the old-growth riverbottom style. I played the winter layout.
A towering mix of second-growth firs and giant maples/alders provide great shade in summer, and heavy leaf cover on about half the holes in the fall. There's some flattish, open fields on a number of holes, but most of the ground is humpy or sunken, and river rock becomes a good bit of the ground cover on #s 11-16. #s 1-2 and 6-7 have disc-hiding undergrowth lining the fairways.
#1 has all of the above features, and has got to be the toughest 1st hole I've ever seen. #2 is similar but gives you a bit more lane.
#s 3-5 let you air it out on the flattest, grassiest part of the course, but a couple of very full firs require some honest effort.
#s 6-7 give you uneven ground, big trees, big undergrowth and a big RH anny.
#s 8-12 have various-shaped lanes through smaller firs and mixed hardwoods, in a flattish, rocky, old highwater river channel.
#13 is a mid-range RH flick along the walking trail cut, to a pin tucked in the 30' pines on a bank that slopes into the river, where the water is deep and swift.
#s 14-16 again use old rocky river paths for abrupt elevation changes among nice lanes.
#s 17-18 use the fields below the parking lot for some wide-open hucking.
2 tees per hole, with the shorter mostly being rubber instead of cement. Benches on most long tees, trashcans in the lot and the gazebo near #5.
Cons: Its possible to throw the entire course RHBH, with a couple of big annys on #s 6-7, the exception being #s 13 & 15. I threw a lot of lefty flicks, but managed a par for the round.
Signage was the bare minimum to navigate the course--mostly just little blocks with numbers propped up on the ground. The original signs, of which there are a very few left, were beautifully rendered rounds of cedar.
Walkers can give you a few moments' pause on #s 13 and 17.
Other Thoughts: Though this course isn't as readily accessible to I-5 as Fenwick, its well worth the extra 5 miles, so play a few rounds.
Plenty of stores/eateries 1-2 miles before the park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Non-local review

2-4    1/26/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: Phlick
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Varied terrain
* Tight wooded shots
* Opportunities to air it out
* Red/Blue course with different pin positions
* Great park with river setting
* Bathrooms on site
* Challenging course/pin positions!
Cons: * Crowded if playing popular time/day
*UPDATED TO ADD: DO NOT LEAVE VALUABLES IN YOUR CAR. My car was broken into in the parking lot.
* NPC's on course
* Parking could be an issue if crowded
* Several holes are 'poke and pray'.
* Mats on a couple of tees
* Seats lacking
Other Thoughts: Great course. Probably my favorite Seattle area course given the multiple tees for every hole (red/blue courses) and the varied and well utilized terrain. There are also multiple pin positions for several holes keeping it interesting. The course is set in a park with a trail that the course runs along.that is popular for walkers/runners/bike riders. The terrain and trees/foliage exemplify the 'PNW Experience' with huge old pines, ferns and moss with some holly and blackberry thrown in to keep it interesting. Lots of trees on this course, lots and lots of trees. Interspersed among the tight tree shots, the course has a couple of open bombers (14 is currently playing 655' par 4) as well as some birdi-able 3's - if you get the right line. I don't believe that a couple of the holes have 'fair' fairways.. (new #1 red being one of them) and feel like it takes more luck than skill to make a good shot - but still - the huge trees, the rushing river, the elevation changes - this course has it all. Well done to the course designer and Mandos DGC maintaining the course. The only down side for this course I can think of would be the need for more trash cans and benches - which you need to deal with the crowds - both disc golf players and the walkers/bike riders on the paths that come into play on a couple of holes. Get there early on the weekends and beat the crowds - or play weekday if you have the luxury of doing so! I'm hard pressed to pick a favorite hole - I aced red 15 playing it the second time, which was beautiful, but I think I'll remember taking a 7 on hole 13 in a tournament even more. I think that has to be the signature hole for the course, even though it's not the longest or most scenic - it's really nerve jarring and a great risk/reward shot!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    7/11/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: mlihlen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Awesome Layout - The course flows nicely from hole to hole.

2. Mostly Paved Tees - There are a few that are dirt or mat.

3. Quality Baskets - They are all the same and in good repair.

4. Basket Placement - There are several pin positions on most holes.

5. Friendly Players - Most will let a solo or fast two-some play through.

6. Terrain - Varies from hole to hole so you never get bored. There is a nice variety of paths to the basket also, so even experienced players with face challenges.
Cons:
1. Busy - Which really isn't a con so much. It's nice to see the course get used and meet new people to play with. The only thing that could speed things up is breaking up some larger groups, but that really isn't a dig at the course itself.

2. Basket Visibility - There is an orange stripe around the pole, but sometimes they can almost be impossible to see even from close up, depending on the lighting conditions. It would be nice to see the baskets painted some sort of bright color. Small peeve though, it is easier once you've played there before but can still mess with you if they move the basket. :)

3. Markers - Several of the holes are well marked, but others are missing markings to direct you to tee boxes. This is a minor issue though. Most are not hard to find. A few tee boxes are on the paved walking path, which aren't marked all that well if you haven't played at WR before. Which leads me to my next con.

4. Pedestrians - I realize this is a multi-use park, but the tee boxes on the path can be hazardous for pedestrians and sometime they don't know they are in the way. There was a guy hanging out with his family and dogs around the bend on 18 and I warned him that people would be throwing blind from around the corner on the blue tees. He said we're fine. I said OK, but when they hit you it's going to hurt like hell. Never did find out if someone nailed him or not. :)
Other Thoughts:
Over-all I rated this course excellent, because of the variety of shots you have to master to do well. The layout is superb and interesting. I play here pretty much every day and have yet to be bored. I would say this is one of the premier courses in south king county. The only thing keeping me from rating this 5 discs are the few cons I posted, but they are far outweighed by the fun to be had on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No complaints here

2-4    3/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is excellent. You can play from pro or am tees, and these often give you very different looks. Sometimes you hit holes like hole 3 where the only difference is the length, but overall the red and blue tees add to the experience of the course without making it more confusing. There's a nice variety of holes here that will challenge every aspect of your game. The wooded holes don't get too overgrown either, so you (hopefully) won't spend too much time searching for your disc.
Cons: The signs at the tee pads are falling apart. They're attractive and unique, but need some TLC. That's really all I can call a con though.
Other Thoughts: I've only played the winter layout. I get the need for a different layout in summer, but it's kind of a bad idea. I know I scream words that kids probably shouldn't here exploding out of the woods more often than I should, and who wants to watch their mouth while playing disc golf? But having two layouts is way better than shutting down one of the best courses in the area for three prime months. Don't forget to stop by Mando's while you're in town. It's just as impossible to play White River without shopping for discs as it is to play Lakewood, SeaTac, or Terrace Creek.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/7/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: general_anhyzer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the better courses down here in south king county. really fun course never gets old. many fun and challenging shots, decent signage easy enough to figure out.
Cons: park gets busy on sunny days, quite a few trees but its really not that bad.
Other Thoughts: watch out for hole 13 the river is a raging and unforgiving. other than that great course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Quiet course

5+    6/2/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro and Am tee pads, Summer course set up and a winter course set up, multiple pin locations, wide variety of shot selection, very quiet, practice basket, Restrooms near parking lot, free, very close to town and friendly locals that encourage and practice course etiquette.
Cons: Tee signs on # 6 say #8, tee signs for #7 is log 9, after hole #6 go right log says #9 though, Hole # 11 tee sign says log #12, rubber pads on #14,4, Tee pad for #10 is on the path and not clearly marked. Some tee signs do not offer current info for the hole or may be missing.
Some tee pads on the red course are natural and tend to allow water to puddle over it making you to throw from the side of the pads
Other Thoughts:
I mentioned that some tee signs do not correspond to the holes, but if you follow the "next tee signs" and disregard, the log signs at the tee pads. This course has a small parking lot but seems to have a few parking spots available every time, giving the impression of a crowded course. After you finish hole #1 you quickly step inside a thick lush green mystic world with a touch of serenity to the game. You will encounter many obstacles, tunnels, big arm drives, technical throws, and elevation changes. The red course offers a completely different game compared to the blue, both bringing out your A-game. One time playing this course, I literally have only heard the footsteps of joggers faintly over the sound of the river nearby! The locals take pride in their course and have posted a sign frowning on those that litter and encourage packing it out. I stumbled across a show on TV that was offering a hole-by-hole description of the course layout. It was very thorough with the summer and winter layout and offered advice to what type of throw and disc to use for each hole!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/24/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Rainier
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A great mix of open and tight hole layouts.
- easy to follow course layout.
-Very well maintained course.
Other Thoughts: this was the first course i started to play disc golf on and i have become an instant addict to the sport. This is an excellent course with a great mix of hole layouts.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must play

5+    1/25/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a variety of open shots, wooded shots, good for left handers and right handers equally, and water does come into play on a hole as well. There are some OB lines (walking paths), and some mandatories.
There are some black markers that indicate where the basket is located, so when you are teeing off look for a black marker to give you a generally idea where the basket is.
You can play from two different teepads, blue and red. Red is a little shorter course but does offer a different shot all together on some holes.
There is also a nice practice basket.
Cons: Ok, there is a winter course and a summer course and sometimes it can be confusing when you are looking at hole numbers. Also, one hole is kinda rediculous, too many trees in the way, maybe if they just got rid of one sappling on a hole it would be more legit. Other than that though not much in the cons, maybe better signage from tee to tee and on the box (but it isn't that bad)
Other Thoughts: This is a public park so be watchful for pedestrians. Nice park and nice course, go check it out!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    7/19/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: TheDrizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with an awesome and challenging layout, I played in the White River Open while back home in Washington visiting family and I really had a blast playing this course, the local's were great(they served awesome lunches both days) and helpful with different lines to take on the course.
Cons: Some holes are crazy tight with trees. and very heavy brush so it makes you think a little more about shot selection.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.