Auburn, WA 
White River Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #5
3 / --   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Triple Mando!

5+    1/23/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: John M. Fretz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course layout and flow. They've improved things here and you can really tell by how well course looks and flows, especially on the back.
Beautiful scenery: trees, river, etc.
Hole 14 triple mando is AWESOME and challenging
Cons: I would've rated this excellent or higher if there was better signage on both red and blue tees. I know my way around here, but better/more signs would help newbies or non-locals.
A couple Natives were shooting at squirrels or something with .22 rifles behind fence by holes 8, 9, and 10. Kind of unnerving while trying to drive to be worried about getting shot in the back
Other Thoughts: awesome course, Great improvements, I'm sure they'll update sign situation soon, too

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great White Park

2-4    11/6/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This slightly-out-of-the-way course defines and adorns the old-growth riverbottom style. I played the winter layout.
A towering mix of second-growth firs and giant maples/alders provide great shade in summer, and heavy leaf cover on about half the holes in the fall. There's some flattish, open fields on a number of holes, but most of the ground is humpy or sunken, and river rock becomes a good bit of the ground cover on #s 11-16. #s 1-2 and 6-7 have disc-hiding undergrowth lining the fairways.
#1 has all of the above features, and has got to be the toughest 1st hole I've ever seen. #2 is similar but gives you a bit more lane.
#s 3-5 let you air it out on the flattest, grassiest part of the course, but a couple of very full firs require some honest effort.
#s 6-7 give you uneven ground, big trees, big undergrowth and a big RH anny.
#s 8-12 have various-shaped lanes through smaller firs and mixed hardwoods, in a flattish, rocky, old highwater river channel.
#13 is a mid-range RH flick along the walking trail cut, to a pin tucked in the 30' pines on a bank that slopes into the river, where the water is deep and swift.
#s 14-16 again use old rocky river paths for abrupt elevation changes among nice lanes.
#s 17-18 use the fields below the parking lot for some wide-open hucking.
2 tees per hole, with the shorter mostly being rubber instead of cement. Benches on most long tees, trashcans in the lot and the gazebo near #5.
Cons: Its possible to throw the entire course RHBH, with a couple of big annys on #s 6-7, the exception being #s 13 & 15. I threw a lot of lefty flicks, but managed a par for the round.
Signage was the bare minimum to navigate the course--mostly just little blocks with numbers propped up on the ground. The original signs, of which there are a very few left, were beautifully rendered rounds of cedar.
Walkers can give you a few moments' pause on #s 13 and 17.
Other Thoughts: Though this course isn't as readily accessible to I-5 as Fenwick, its well worth the extra 5 miles, so play a few rounds.
Plenty of stores/eateries 1-2 miles before the park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Non-local review

2-4    1/26/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: Phlick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Varied terrain
* Tight wooded shots
* Opportunities to air it out
* Red/Blue course with different pin positions
* Great park with river setting
* Bathrooms on site
* Challenging course/pin positions!
Cons: * Crowded if playing popular time/day
*UPDATED TO ADD: DO NOT LEAVE VALUABLES IN YOUR CAR. My car was broken into in the parking lot.
* NPC's on course
* Parking could be an issue if crowded
* Several holes are 'poke and pray'.
* Mats on a couple of tees
* Seats lacking
Other Thoughts: Great course. Probably my favorite Seattle area course given the multiple tees for every hole (red/blue courses) and the varied and well utilized terrain. There are also multiple pin positions for several holes keeping it interesting. The course is set in a park with a trail that the course runs along.that is popular for walkers/runners/bike riders. The terrain and trees/foliage exemplify the 'PNW Experience' with huge old pines, ferns and moss with some holly and blackberry thrown in to keep it interesting. Lots of trees on this course, lots and lots of trees. Interspersed among the tight tree shots, the course has a couple of open bombers (14 is currently playing 655' par 4) as well as some birdi-able 3's - if you get the right line. I don't believe that a couple of the holes have 'fair' fairways.. (new #1 red being one of them) and feel like it takes more luck than skill to make a good shot - but still - the huge trees, the rushing river, the elevation changes - this course has it all. Well done to the course designer and Mandos DGC maintaining the course. The only down side for this course I can think of would be the need for more trash cans and benches - which you need to deal with the crowds - both disc golf players and the walkers/bike riders on the paths that come into play on a couple of holes. Get there early on the weekends and beat the crowds - or play weekday if you have the luxury of doing so! I'm hard pressed to pick a favorite hole - I aced red 15 playing it the second time, which was beautiful, but I think I'll remember taking a 7 on hole 13 in a tournament even more. I think that has to be the signature hole for the course, even though it's not the longest or most scenic - it's really nerve jarring and a great risk/reward shot!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fall Fun

1    11/27/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very popular...all ages were playing even on this late fall day. Course has many unique and hidden baskets which required many different drives and then many different second shots when the drive didn't (or did) work. Great bathrooms and park amenities.
Cons: Small parking lot. I can see this is one busy busy course in the summer. And is probably way more scenic then also. Signs were all over but it didn't help for us visitors. Luckily a local player joined us or we would probably still be looking for the number 6 basket. Watched the video on YouTube which seemed good---downloaded a score card which seemed good. None of that helped.
Other Thoughts: Even with the cons the course was fun and challenging. Looking forward to playing it in the spring or summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great course for variety

5+    8/5/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: Amuzed2pieces
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my favorite DGC in W. WA. The variety of terrain is unique, esp the old river bottom on a few. Thick trees on some, open angles on others, woods, park, brush, left and right, up, down, you name it, White River has it. Its a great course.
Cons: No drink vendors on the back holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to test you game, if you have a weakness, this course will find it. Bombers may not like the only few really long holes, so it doesn't have the rep SeaTac does for those folks. i am finesse player, so it rocks.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Washington

2-4    12/20/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course has every shot that a disc golfer would want. Shots require hyzer, anhyzer, tomahawk, and even rollers on occasion.
-Very rugged, yet scenic holes.
-Some holes are exceptionally wooded, making for necessary skill shots. There are no "gimmes" on this one.
-Well maintained area, other golfers are respectful of the park.
-Tees are in perfect condition, Mandos aplenty. Elevation changes, too.
-Very few bystanders the few times I was there.
-Has camping and a nice park area, incredible glow golf games to be had.
Cons: -The baskets can be hard to locate from the tee pads and golfing with someone who has done the course several times is suggested.
-The signs at the tee pads need some fixing-up. It would really add to the course's value and make it more welcoming for first-timers.
-The White River is a roaring, large river that will take your disc away. There are a few holes that border it, and a clingon will force you to sacrifice your disc to the disc gods. Beware!
Other Thoughts: Every time I have visited this course I walked away very pleased. It is a rugged Washingtonian course, but every hole is so worth it. No wide-open "gimme" shots, and each hole requires a certain foresight and preparation. You need to be able to throw straight on this course. It contains some of the funnest holes I've ever played in Washington state.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses around

1    8/17/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: JJBladester
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of wooded holes and a lot of open holes, lending to diverse play.

There are restrooms and a practice tee just to the side of the parking lot.

Friendly locals offered advice and didn't rush me.

Two approaches to each hole (red and blue I believe).

Nice baskets.

Very little trash. Clean course.
Cons: Tons of cars and fellow players. If you can be patient for players before you to progress, this isn't too much of an issue.

The one hole next to the creek is a surefire way to lose discs. There were bikers riding in the way of that hole so they were apt to get hit unless you waited for them to cycle by.
Other Thoughts: I have never seen a more well-designed and fun course. I've only been to 5 or 6 courses and I'm an amature, but this was my favorite course without a doubt.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    7/11/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: mlihlen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Awesome Layout - The course flows nicely from hole to hole.

2. Mostly Paved Tees - There are a few that are dirt or mat.

3. Quality Baskets - They are all the same and in good repair.

4. Basket Placement - There are several pin positions on most holes.

5. Friendly Players - Most will let a solo or fast two-some play through.

6. Terrain - Varies from hole to hole so you never get bored. There is a nice variety of paths to the basket also, so even experienced players with face challenges.
Cons:
1. Busy - Which really isn't a con so much. It's nice to see the course get used and meet new people to play with. The only thing that could speed things up is breaking up some larger groups, but that really isn't a dig at the course itself.

2. Basket Visibility - There is an orange stripe around the pole, but sometimes they can almost be impossible to see even from close up, depending on the lighting conditions. It would be nice to see the baskets painted some sort of bright color. Small peeve though, it is easier once you've played there before but can still mess with you if they move the basket. :)

3. Markers - Several of the holes are well marked, but others are missing markings to direct you to tee boxes. This is a minor issue though. Most are not hard to find. A few tee boxes are on the paved walking path, which aren't marked all that well if you haven't played at WR before. Which leads me to my next con.

4. Pedestrians - I realize this is a multi-use park, but the tee boxes on the path can be hazardous for pedestrians and sometime they don't know they are in the way. There was a guy hanging out with his family and dogs around the bend on 18 and I warned him that people would be throwing blind from around the corner on the blue tees. He said we're fine. I said OK, but when they hit you it's going to hurt like hell. Never did find out if someone nailed him or not. :)
Other Thoughts:
Over-all I rated this course excellent, because of the variety of shots you have to master to do well. The layout is superb and interesting. I play here pretty much every day and have yet to be bored. I would say this is one of the premier courses in south king county. The only thing keeping me from rating this 5 discs are the few cons I posted, but they are far outweighed by the fun to be had on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No complaints here

2-4    3/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is excellent. You can play from pro or am tees, and these often give you very different looks. Sometimes you hit holes like hole 3 where the only difference is the length, but overall the red and blue tees add to the experience of the course without making it more confusing. There's a nice variety of holes here that will challenge every aspect of your game. The wooded holes don't get too overgrown either, so you (hopefully) won't spend too much time searching for your disc.
Cons: The signs at the tee pads are falling apart. They're attractive and unique, but need some TLC. That's really all I can call a con though.
Other Thoughts: I've only played the winter layout. I get the need for a different layout in summer, but it's kind of a bad idea. I know I scream words that kids probably shouldn't here exploding out of the woods more often than I should, and who wants to watch their mouth while playing disc golf? But having two layouts is way better than shutting down one of the best courses in the area for three prime months. Don't forget to stop by Mando's while you're in town. It's just as impossible to play White River without shopping for discs as it is to play Lakewood, SeaTac, or Terrace Creek.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/7/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: general_anhyzer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the better courses down here in south king county. really fun course never gets old. many fun and challenging shots, decent signage easy enough to figure out.
Cons: park gets busy on sunny days, quite a few trees but its really not that bad.
Other Thoughts: watch out for hole 13 the river is a raging and unforgiving. other than that great course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.