Auburn, WA
White River Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #8
3 / --   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Busy but worth it.

1    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout with long and short tee pads on many of the holes.

Pretty well marked. (Although bringing a map doesn't hurt if you haven't played it before)

Drains well and stays dry most of the time.

Dog friendly(leash).
Cons: Parking is limited.

Not a whole lot of distance. Only a couple of holes that really let you air it out.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the river on the 13th hole.

Quite a few left-curving holes. Convenient if you're a RHBH player.

The course gets pretty busy but most of the people play quickly so there isn't a lot of wait time.

You'll probably break in a few discs in the course of a round with all the trees to shoot around/thru.



1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Quiet course

5+    6/2/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro and Am tee pads, Summer course set up and a winter course set up, multiple pin locations, wide variety of shot selection, very quiet, practice basket, Restrooms near parking lot, free, very close to town and friendly locals that encourage and practice course etiquette.
Cons: Tee signs on # 6 say #8, tee signs for #7 is log 9, after hole #6 go right log says #9 though, Hole # 11 tee sign says log #12, rubber pads on #14,4, Tee pad for #10 is on the path and not clearly marked. Some tee signs do not offer current info for the hole or may be missing.
Some tee pads on the red course are natural and tend to allow water to puddle over it making you to throw from the side of the pads
Other Thoughts:
I mentioned that some tee signs do not correspond to the holes, but if you follow the "next tee signs" and disregard, the log signs at the tee pads. This course has a small parking lot but seems to have a few parking spots available every time, giving the impression of a crowded course. After you finish hole #1 you quickly step inside a thick lush green mystic world with a touch of serenity to the game. You will encounter many obstacles, tunnels, big arm drives, technical throws, and elevation changes. The red course offers a completely different game compared to the blue, both bringing out your A-game. One time playing this course, I literally have only heard the footsteps of joggers faintly over the sound of the river nearby! The locals take pride in their course and have posted a sign frowning on those that litter and encourage packing it out. I stumbled across a show on TV that was offering a hole-by-hole description of the course layout. It was very thorough with the summer and winter layout and offered advice to what type of throw and disc to use for each hole!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/24/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Rainier
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A great mix of open and tight hole layouts.
- easy to follow course layout.
-Very well maintained course.
Other Thoughts: this was the first course i started to play disc golf on and i have become an instant addict to the sport. This is an excellent course with a great mix of hole layouts.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Dang Word of Mouth

5+    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Hadley K
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is well laid out and marked. Thanks for all the hard work Tom!
Cons: Started playing this course about two years ago, a lot has changed since than. It used to be that you would maybe run into 2 or 3 groups of four when you would play, now you better call and get a T-time (no you can't really call and get a T-time) on most days even weekdays there is no parking spots left and there is sometimes a half-hour wait to tee off not to mention you have to wait ten minutes at each hole for the group ahead of you. It is great to see the sport explode the way it has out here but SSHHHHHH keep it to yerself or else blindfold the Newbies so they have to go with you and can't tell everybody and their mom.
Other Thoughts: Rumor has it that another course is in the works for the Auburn Kent area so please lets keep this one on the down low or else we shall see the same fate.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty sweet

5+    2/27/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: DgUI
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautifully designed course, almost every hole is unique plus flowing
For the most part total seclusion, just you and your buddies throwing into the woods, feels like camping
I've only ever met great people playing and played here a bunch
Not too challenging for me(beginner) at least plenty of pars and maybe better from reds, some pars and plenty worse from blues
Really rewarding thread the needle shots, sucks when you miss them but each through is worth at least 3 pinballs of death
Practice basket for HORSE while waiting for your round
Cons: Busy year round, only time ive played a round seeing no one was at 7 am
Only 18 holes ha
Other Thoughts: My favorite course, when I think about disc golf this is the course I want to play, worth the drive from the eastside. Love the fact you are just out in the woods not even close to anything or anyone in the world, just trees baby. Stop by mandos, awesome shop, nice guy!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A must play

5+    1/25/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a variety of open shots, wooded shots, good for left handers and right handers equally, and water does come into play on a hole as well. There are some OB lines (walking paths), and some mandatories.
There are some black markers that indicate where the basket is located, so when you are teeing off look for a black marker to give you a generally idea where the basket is.
You can play from two different teepads, blue and red. Red is a little shorter course but does offer a different shot all together on some holes.
There is also a nice practice basket.
Cons: Ok, there is a winter course and a summer course and sometimes it can be confusing when you are looking at hole numbers. Also, one hole is kinda rediculous, too many trees in the way, maybe if they just got rid of one sappling on a hole it would be more legit. Other than that though not much in the cons, maybe better signage from tee to tee and on the box (but it isn't that bad)
Other Thoughts: This is a public park so be watchful for pedestrians. Nice park and nice course, go check it out!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    7/19/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: TheDrizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with an awesome and challenging layout, I played in the White River Open while back home in Washington visiting family and I really had a blast playing this course, the local's were great(they served awesome lunches both days) and helpful with different lines to take on the course.
Cons: Some holes are crazy tight with trees. and very heavy brush so it makes you think a little more about shot selection.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Growing on me.

1    8/10/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful course along the white river in Auburn. Easy to find your way around. For the most part they are well designed holes with birdie opportunities that can easily turn into a bogie, plus great hole variety. Plenty of parking, even restrooms and a water fountain.
Cons: A couple of holes have very wooded fairways ( I spent about 15min looking for a disc in the middle of the fairway on hole #5). IMO hole #13 is bad and should be moved. They have you throwing at a fairway that runs right along the river walking path. and then the basket is right up against the disc eating white river.
You also have watch out for pedestrians on holes #1 and #17
Other Thoughts: I Don't know if this is a Pro or Con, but they move the baskets around constantly. I've played here about 5 times with 3 different basket/hole layouts. I guess its a Pro because you get more variety, but its frustrating to walk up to your disc in the fairway and realize you just threw the wrong direction or the basket is not there.
I didn't like this course the first time I played it. But now it's one of my Favorites.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Blackberrries

1    8/25/2007   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun and modestly technical (need an accurate shot)
Good for all types of players
Lots of wildlife around
Late summer early fall there are blackberry bushes full of great fruit. Just the thing for a hot summer day.
Cons: Needed a guide to get around
Other Thoughts: It was a while ago when i played this so it may have change a bit since then.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful day on the river

2-4    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: DiscoKid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course IMO, is in good shape; delivers a good balance of tight and "air it out" holes... Particularly enjoy the back nine as you get some elevated tee boxes where good drives are rewarded--and quite pretty to watch!
Cons: Though the course is very dry (for those of you outside the Seattle area, we've had a very dry spring/early summer); this has kept the undergrowth/brush fairly tame yet--it's still very possible to lose a disc or two--even in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really enjoy White River... Today was another gorgeous Seattle sunshiny day... round of disc golf with my 23 year old son and two of his buddies and... the old man comes up victorious--again! 65 today from the blues... Life is good!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.