Randolph, VT
White River DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #14 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 152ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Gnomes Await You

1    6/23/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two years ago, this course was nearly wiped out due to flooding from Hurricane Irene. Today, you wouldn't know it. The bridge has been rebuilt and the local volunteer effort has helped get the course back into great shape.

The result is a fun, technical course playing around a river which offers players a great way to cool off after a round.

There are definitely some memorable shots here, including one over the river (which, at 190' is easily reachable by most players).

Course flow is pretty intuitive and easy to follow. The only tricky part might be the long walk from 16 to 17.
Cons: It's very short. There really are no chances to throw big drives. In fact, I only used drivers on two tee shots.

There are a couple holes that have little to no fairway defined. There are definitely some opportunities for bad luck to ruin an otherwise good shot.

There are a few holes that are so short they're almost laughable. The tee shot feels more like a short upshot after a good drive on a typical par 3. Hole 11 especially is almost a jump putt from the tee.
Other Thoughts: There really is something for everyone here. Beginners will enjoy being able to reach the pin from the tee while more advanced players can enjoy deuce-or-die golf that tests midrange and putter play.

Overall, this is a great place for a fun, low stress round.

Look out for the gnomes, they are well hidden throughout the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Backyard Course

5+    11/22/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: sirenical
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of fun. There are a lot of opportunities for different types of shots. There are gnomes to be seen if you look carefully.
Cons: Currently the bridge is down thanks to Hurricane Irene. To play a full 18 holes, you must drive around. This is not as big a deal as it seems however.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I started playing on. It is a 2 minute walk from my front door. Needless to say, I get a lot of playing done at this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wrath of Irene

1    10/23/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations per hole.
Cons:
The bridge leading to the area containing basket-13 thru tee-18 was unusable, and the parking lot on that side of the course was closed.

Basket-10 missing - likely crushed, based upon its location on the map, and the large, fallen tree which currently occupies that area.
Other Thoughts:
The course is located in a multi-purpose public park, split by a small river. Holes 1-12 are on a bit of flat, forested land, sitting next to the river, and holes 13-18 are on the other side. From what I could tell, this course suffered greatly from the effects of Hurricane Irene. It appears a couple feet of silt/sand were dumped on the south side of the river, where 2/3rds of the course is located. Because of this, the baskets are quite low, and I was unable to find red tees for holes 5, 6, or 9, nor blue-6, so threw from locations that seemed reasonable, based upon the map. There is still quite a bit of debris (branches) on the course, and a few downed trees (R.I.P., basket-10, I assume).

The holes are, overall, quite short, particularly form the reds, although a few of the blue tees do add a significant amount of length. The lines needed to be hit were generous-to-moderate - nothing extreme here. Errant shots are not overly punished, as the trees are not densely packed together, so alternate lines are typically available for the wayward disc. However, there is a good chance a wayward disc will actually be in a neighbouring fairway, as the holes are jammed together fairly tightly. An even blend of gentle/moderate/sharp left/right/S-turning shots needed from the tee to reach the basket.

Please note the day I played the course (late October 2011). Until there is word that the bridge is repaired or the parking lot on the north side is open, this course will only have eleven playable holes: 1-9, 11-12. My score is based upon how the course was the day I played it - cleaned up a bit, and the other seven holes being available, would likely be worth an additional 0.5-1.0 points to the rating.

Experienced players throwing well should have a few ace runs and some birdy opportunities. For those with less experience, the course is good for developing a control-game, without punishing throws that aren't so controlled! Hope the course can be restored to the full 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in VT

5+    5/4/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Titan85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: This course is great, the shots are all very technical, kinda short, but that alright. Hole 13 is a great over the river shot, and 18 is probibly one of the hardest shots on the course. all in all this course is awesome
Cons: i don't have many cons for the course, its small so its easy to play up on someone if its busy, and the holes do cross a bunch.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play, i did lose 3 or 4 discs but i also found a few too so its all good.

 Pretty...Pretty Good

2-4    5/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: GTrotter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This course is good fun. A lot of interesting shots. A compact course that has some challenge to it. The White River is a beautiful hazard that cuts through the middle. Holes 13 and 18 are a lot of fun.
As a resident of the Upper Valley, specifically, Enfield, N.H., I would have to say this is one of the two best courses around (the other one being in Newport, N.H.). That's sort of sad commentary on disc golf around here but both are solid, if not spectacular, courses.
Cons: The holes are close to each other, so could get hectic on a crowded day. If there are crowded days. And I bet this course gets a lot more challenging when everything is overgrown in the summer months.

 Fun for all!!!

1    9/28/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you need somewhere for your family to have fun while you play, this is it! There are athletic fields, a playground, pool (when in season), and a small stream for fishing and swimming. A porta pottie is available right near the parking lot. There is a welcome board with plenty of course information and scorecards on the way to the first tee. Every hole has two sets of tee pads; red and blue. The walkways in between holes are clearly defined and easy to navigate even with all of the leaves on the ground. There are scattered trash cans and homemade benches. There is a really good mix of holes in the woods and in the wide open. The wooded holes vary from just a few trees to thicker than molasses. The holes in the open use protected pins (16) and a blind water shot (signature hole 18) make this course really fun. Even though the course itself isn't extremely challenging and the par is off I had an absolute blast here.
Cons: You might feel like a sardine while playing. Most of the front twelve holes are right next to each other and with a kick off of a tree... Well you get the picture. There are few next tee signs and the ones that are there aren't the easiest to see. The natural tee pads are quite uneven and slick in some areas. If your disc lands off the fairway you will probably get confused because of the several baskets in your sight. You have to cross the bridge several times and hope that nobody steals your disc while you go across the stream. There are several holes adjoining ball fields and the fishing/swimming area makes for some tricky tossing when the park is busy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I'll play again and again!

1    7/16/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Axl69
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -I'll play in the woods all day.
-It's a short but fun course.
-My wife and kids have plenty to do with the playground, pool or river right there.
-I love the over the river tee on the 13th but not the 18th.
-We saw the old maintenance guy walking through trimming things back in the woods section.
Cons: What's with the 18th tee? It was way overgrown and I didn't feel like losing my disc. Any toss from there would have been a blind hail-mary over the river and through the woods. I love the over the river idea but how bout tightening up on the 18th.
Other Thoughts: AN UPDATE TO MY CON SECTION:
after posting the above cons I saw the winter photo of the 18th and would love a shot at that, however come July bring your machete!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Trees Trees and more Trees!

11/15/2007   11/14/2007
Review By: Justin Porebski
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you like short holes with trees everywhere, then this course is made for you. Located in the middle of Vermont.
Cons: Trees! There are too many trees. I know it is Vermont and are crazy about trees, but I think on a few holes they should thin them down a little. Bring non-natural colored discs with you in the fall. Leaves everywhere, making it hard to find your discs.
Other Thoughts: I am not too fond of this course at all. It seems to be a little over crowded with trees, and found the holes to be too close together. And the co-op in town is closed by the way. So there is no place in town to get replacement discs when you lose them in the leaves.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.