Whitehall, MI 
Whitehall Township DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    9/24/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an amazingly private feel to it even though it's very popular and has many players pass through daily. The entire course greatly utilizes the areas elevation and TONS of trees/ foliage, making it very challenging but loads of fun.

Each 9 hole segment is built like a stand-alone course with very well done layouts that always bring you back around to the parking lot. They are all very simple to follow and even first timers shouldn't get lost.

The course demands you to bring out every shot you can command, from deep hyzers, S-shots, annies, rollers.... it's all useful here! Hole length varies from ace runs to deep bombs with tight alleys to hit.

The main teepads are cement and in great shape; there are shorter dirt pads which I assume are for the ladies. Signs give basic information for the hole and the double chain baskets are in good shape and easy to spot.

TWO practice baskets, can be found just down into the woods by the #10 tee. They are numbered but don't worry, they are for practice.

Plenty of seating areas all over and there are trash cans and a port-a-potty next to the parking lot.

I definitely got a kick out of the amusing lawn ornaments scattered throughout the course. I don't know if the headless thing was done pre-course placing or what but those kind of give off a funny but creepy vibe for being in the middle of the woods
Cons: I would like the teesigns to include a detailed map since multiple holes require blind drives. I know this is not a necessary addition but it would definitely make this course even nicer!

A sign or course map next to the parking lot would be nice as well since I had to ask a local to point me in the right direction (the Deep 9 can be a little tricky to find).

Maybe a little less clutter around the parking lot... but again, minor details.
Other Thoughts: Since it seems many people miss the Deep 9 (easy to do), here's a hint: When you approach the tee for Hole #10, there is a trail just to the right of it with a sign on a tree that says "Deep 9" ... follow that path and voila, there is the first teepad!

I gave this course a 4.0 rating because it really is an excellent course, there is no other way to put it. I would like to see a couple of amenity additions be added to really make it a top notch course, but it the difficulty is high and the fun factor is very high, so quit reading me review and get out to this course ASAP!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

FUN

5+    8/4/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: DirtyA13
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice tees
seating
place to throw away garbage
great people always out and about
course is easy to follow whether you play the first 18 or the deep 9

Cons: bugs but hey were in MI get use to it
Other Thoughts: can be busy at times...that's ok though

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Whitehall

5+    12/15/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
This review was updated on 6/28/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Cement tees! - most have brooms!
+Look around, really nice, lots of trees!
+Baskets are nice
+Great course layout
+The deep 9 is one of my favorite spots to play ever!
+Great to play when the weather isn't so good because of the tree coverage
+Broken up into the front 9, the back 9 and the deep 9, what a treat! I love the deep 9!
Whats cool about this is they all loop back to the parking lot so you can mix and match which 9 or 9's to play!
+Sooo many good holes, what a great mix
of placement type to driving type, backhands, sidearms, thumbers, rollers, its pretty cool
+lots of benches and trash cans
+Really took advantage of the landscape with great tee to basket placements!
+Not far off the highway and food and gas are not to far either
+I have played here many times and often it seems there is someone on just about every hole!
+Great chances for an ace
Cons: Too many people! Ha!
Other Thoughts: ^They are adding on, that is aWeSoMe!
^Hikeing shoes, bug spray.
^Have seen all kinds of wildlife, really cool!
^Places to sit at every hole
^Dog friendly
^One of my favorite places to play, good place to break in new discs

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winning at Whitehall

1    7/21/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee Posts have Hole # and distance. It helps with navigation and it helps you find the basket a little bit. There also is a rudimentary routered line for direction of the hole.

2) Dual tees, the main tee is concrete and the forward tee is dirt.

3) These are what I would call fast greens because they are compacted. Anything that hits the green area with speed will take a monster skip. There also are a few dropoffs around a few baskets which make them a little tougher, effectively making a 20' putt feel like a 30' putt.

4) Plenty of benches and chairs for those hot days.

5) Excellent variety in shot shaping in the woods. You need to throw hyzers, straight shots, and even a few anhyzers or flicks.

6)The woods seem to be very clear of underbrush . . . I have a feeling this is simply just a really healthy forest. I don't think this course has ever been overrun with buckthorn or honeysuckle, I just think it was naturally a clean forest. The trees are awesome, healthy, and large!

7) The all sand power line easement makes for a different feel. I wish maybe they would have put more than just one basket out there. It makes it feel like you are on the beach and it makes for an interesting shot decision on how to land it close to the basket.

8) Kiosk is availabe at the first tee area.

9) The lawn ornaments make the course feel interesting . . . especially when the few I found were all headless.

10) 3 Nine hole loops coming back to the parking lot. Ufortunately, we missed one of the 9 hole loops, now I have to go back.

11) Practice area with some benches and two baskets . . . a nice feature for what I assume is a very popular local course.

12) Elevation is found to be good on a few later holes, and simple rolling undulations early on. It is a nice mix of elevation change from subtle to moderate.

13) Very well defined clear executable lines . . . this always makes for a more enjoyable round.

14) Good distance variation with 100's 200's and 300's from the short and 400's from the long plus one 600' on the deep 9.

15) Portopotty is available near the prking lot. It's out in the sun so I am sure it is not always pleasant.

16) The variety of the course is much improved when you add in the Deep 9. There is a different feel on those holes than on the other 18.

17) This area of the park is completely dedicated to disc golf. It is nice to not have to worry about other park users. Just get up and throw!

18) Discatchers are a great basket for this course it makes them so much easier to see in the woods.
Cons: 1) While the soil is healthy and soft and sandy, it still is bare soil at times. It may not be extremely compacted except around the greens, but it will be messy after a rainfall.

2) Garbage cans by the entrance for recycling and such. Really unattractive to the entrance to the park and it blocks the kiosk.

3) Tee posts should have a simple diagram . . . because there are a few longer or blind holes that make it hard for the first timer. All it has is a simple inscribed line on the sign.

4) A sign near the entrance showing you where each 9 starts would have helped me not miss the third 9. Oh well.

5) Slight repetition and similarity in the feel of the holes, fortunately for me I like these holes, but a little more variety would have been good in terms of hole types.

I don't have a lot of negatives, but I think there will be a few more when I get back for the additional 9. Apparently it is can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: I agree with the sentiment that this course feels like a private course. It is clean and beautiful and quiet . . .something you typically only get at a private course. It is nice to see that it is well taken care of by the club and the local players.

I enjoyed myself thoroughly and would come back anytime if I was closer.

My rating is about only the original 18 because I . . . like others . . . missed the Deep 9. I know we aren't supposed to write reviews without seeing the entire course, but I know I will be back, probably soon, and i just didn't want to forget anything in my review.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    5/12/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical course, a good challenge cut out of a forest. I enjoyed the little tree "structures" around the course and the little statues left had a surreal feel to them.
Cons: Some of the holes are ridiculously hard, but other than that I enjoyed my round here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: archon21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course. There's 3 9 hole loops to play that all come back to the parking lot. The first 18 are relitivly shorter holes with some difficult lines to follow adding a nice degree of difficulty. Built in a nice forest so there's a lot of trees to get by, but it makes the course look stunning. Deep 9 are longer holes with a bit fewer trees, but there's still the degree of difficulty that the trees create.
Cons: Lots of trees. If you hit trees often, you're going to hit them a lot more often here. Not a place for Dx or Pro D plastic. All the holes have a similar feel to them due to the same trees around. Only one hole feels different when there's a slight feild shot in the deep 9. Lots of downed trees laying around off the fairway so if a disc bounces off into it, you might just end up twisting your ankle.
Other Thoughts: Difficult course. I like it for the degree of difficulty it offers. Well planned out course layout. Another thing I noticed was there were always headless little lawn statues creeping me out. One of the heads ended up on top of a basket with a swastika painted on it's forehead. Creepy... But funny in a way.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

2-4    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a giant, wooded park, completely devoted to disc golf. Each 9 is a separate loop to customize your round.
- Biggest pro here is the constant challenge of shaping lines. From start to finish, an endless supply of pine trees and other typical foliage are present off the tee, in the fairway, and near the basket. The looks are fair, with well defined paths to take to the basket, but there are many spots where the line must be shaped from start to finish.
- Some fantastic shots here, with a plethora of various tunnels, hyzers, and anhyzers, and more if you got it. #2 Deep has a double teepad allowing for a big hyzer or anhyzer, extremely unique and enjoyable. #6 Deep is a true par 4, pretty much the whole deep 9 is great. Decent elevation changes in some spots as well.
- Awesome variety of hole length, with over 6 around 200', 7 over 350', and a lot in between. The break-up of each section lets people pick and choose in a good way; the front 18 are generally on the shorter side, with the deep 9 providing a lot of the distance. This also holds true with the difficulty, with the deep 9 designed for the more experienced players.
- Some tricky basket placements, due to sloped greens or other obstacles. Good shot placement off the tee can be critical on these holes.
- Signage isn't too bad, navigation on the holes and the course isn't too tricky. Good baskets, and good teepads.
Cons: - Obvious con at this course is the similar terrain. While the holes themselves feel different, the look is the same, the obstacles are the same, and the hazards are more or less the same (there is rough in places). If this isn't your type of golf then it's gotta be murder.
- A lot of short holes overall, so the difficulty factor is probably lacking for some. Tough lines for the most part, but it might be a bunch of approach shots for the big arms.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a solid course that demands accuracy on every throw. Tight pine tree lanes of all variety, noticeable elevation changes, and a wide range of difficulty. Beginners may find the lines too tight, with too many trees, and experts may desire some more length, but there is something for everyone.
- I would put the front 18 at a 3.5, but the deep 9 easily bump it up to a 4, almost a 4.5.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Whitehall, public but with many of the trappings of a top-notch private course, provides 27 holes of solid discin' set in moderately forested, moderately hilly terrain. Pines, both mature and young, mix with various deciduous trees throughout. Schule is minimal to non-existant: although the trees are numerous enough to create awesomely tight holes, little to no undergrowth impedes the round. The course is largley clear of the debris of fallen limbs, etc. giving the course a very clean and neatly groomed appearance. The park space seemed wholly disc golf dedicated. Distances vary from 187- 650'.
- Whitehall is comprised of three separate nine hole "loops," with each "loop" ending back at the parking lot. As one enters the park, the front nine is on the right with both the back nine and "Deep Nine" to the left.
- Elevation and vegetation are used to full potential. No major elevation changes, but enough throughout to keep the fun factor high. The fairways, defined by trees, are fair and spacious in places, but tight enough in others to be considered extremely technical, especially as the course progresses. Many holes offer multiple routes. Deep #2 goes so far as to have a dual tee and dual fairway, each route offering its own unique set of risk/reward.
- Amenities, details, upkeep and grooming. The people taking care of Whitehall are ahead of the curve. Besides the basics of deeply brushed, level, wide, long, grippy concrete tees (on the pros), descriptive and consistant signage, and solid baskets, Whitehall one-ups most other courses with brooms, patio furniture or benches, cans for cigarette butts, and large plastic trash barrels on most holes. Port-a-john in the parking lot. Chill spots, wooden indian statues, guardian frogs, defaced maiden statues and twin pink horses dot parts of the Deep Nine.
Cons: - #4's am tee was basically a pile of broken glass, the only part of the course to suffer any such treatment.
- Someone defaced a few of the maiden statues, albeit in a grudgingly humorous manner.
- The am and Deep Nine tees are above-average natural dirt tees, although I'd hesitate to consider this much of a drawback.
Other Thoughts: - A touch repetitive in places, in that you're getting a bunch of really awesome variations on the same theme, more or less. Personally, I could play Whitehall all day every day, but I prefer tightly wooded technical holes over bomber style courses. I do wish more of the course was like D6, easily the signature hole.
- Twenty-seven holes of Goodness. God Bless America for Michigan Disc Golf!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Workman-like, But Skilled

1    9/21/2010   2/11/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
3 sets of nines, each of which dumps you back at the parking lot, allowing for nice choices for 9 or 18 hole play.

A solo 27 hole round took me 90~100 minutes even with a busy lot.

Zero non-DG traffic.

Row pine forests make disc retrieval a breeze.

Well defined paths and serviceable tees on the original 18.

Playing in order allows you to warm up on shorter holes and then end with more distance challenge on the Deep 9.

Deep 9 is a significantly improved addition to the course. The greater distance and more challenging lines are not to be skipped. It smartly uses some higher ground to utilize some more deciduous vegetation. It feels like a different course.
Cons:
Lack of elevation. There are some mild peaks and valleys, and the Deep 9 is located up a bit of a hill, but this course is very level, and the elevation that exists, is ignored or countered, rather than being utilized in game-play.

Lack of variety. Pine forests are pretty dull to begin with, and I found the repetitive feel of the course by hole 10. Lots of slight to moderate dogleg left holes. The Deep 9 breaks this up to a degree, but much of that had to do with the still wild vegetation.

Lack of distance. Half of the original 18 holes are <250' and only one is >400'. The course is tight, but not especially difficult. I finished +1, which for me is very low on a new course. The Deep 9 dropped me much more significantly.

I was confused of where each set of 9 started, even with a map, and I didn't even notice the practice basket until the end of my round.. A couple of signs in the staging area around the kiosk would be of great help.
Other Thoughts:
I enjoyed playing this course, as I preformed very well, but I went a bit out of my way to play it, and it certainly didn't leave me with a desire to play any part of it again.

I perhaps am being a little hard on the course, as it has stiff local competition with Flip City, Branstrom, and Ludington being so close, but I just found it to be lacking any real character. This course does what it does, and you can like it or lump it.

This course is well designed considering the land they chose to use. At no time was i worried about other groups playing around me.

While I can think of many places where this course would be a significant improvement to the local DG community, Western Lower Michigan is so chock full of destination courses that you would be wise to leave this one till after you are bored playing the rest.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Whitehall

5+    12/10/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: Creepy Anhyzer
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Whitehall is in a great location right off the highway but snuggled into the woods. This course has a great 27 hole layout. The entire course requires accuracy and skill to post low scores. The Deep 9 were established in 2009 and will challenge even the best players. Play smart and enjoy the scenery. The Whitehall Disc Golf Club runs leagues here in the Summer and Winter they put in a great amount of time to make sure this course stays up to date and is taken care of.
Other Thoughts: Come Play the Harvest Moon Classic held every year in September.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.