Whitehall, MI 
Whitehall Township DGC Share
Uploaded By: RonRoc Hole #D8
3 / --   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #D8 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Winning at Whitehall

1    7/21/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee Posts have Hole # and distance. It helps with navigation and it helps you find the basket a little bit. There also is a rudimentary routered line for direction of the hole.

2) Dual tees, the main tee is concrete and the forward tee is dirt.

3) These are what I would call fast greens because they are compacted. Anything that hits the green area with speed will take a monster skip. There also are a few dropoffs around a few baskets which make them a little tougher, effectively making a 20' putt feel like a 30' putt.

4) Plenty of benches and chairs for those hot days.

5) Excellent variety in shot shaping in the woods. You need to throw hyzers, straight shots, and even a few anhyzers or flicks.

6)The woods seem to be very clear of underbrush . . . I have a feeling this is simply just a really healthy forest. I don't think this course has ever been overrun with buckthorn or honeysuckle, I just think it was naturally a clean forest. The trees are awesome, healthy, and large!

7) The all sand power line easement makes for a different feel. I wish maybe they would have put more than just one basket out there. It makes it feel like you are on the beach and it makes for an interesting shot decision on how to land it close to the basket.

8) Kiosk is availabe at the first tee area.

9) The lawn ornaments make the course feel interesting . . . especially when the few I found were all headless.

10) 3 Nine hole loops coming back to the parking lot. Ufortunately, we missed one of the 9 hole loops, now I have to go back.

11) Practice area with some benches and two baskets . . . a nice feature for what I assume is a very popular local course.

12) Elevation is found to be good on a few later holes, and simple rolling undulations early on. It is a nice mix of elevation change from subtle to moderate.

13) Very well defined clear executable lines . . . this always makes for a more enjoyable round.

14) Good distance variation with 100's 200's and 300's from the short and 400's from the long plus one 600' on the deep 9.

15) Portopotty is available near the prking lot. It's out in the sun so I am sure it is not always pleasant.

16) The variety of the course is much improved when you add in the Deep 9. There is a different feel on those holes than on the other 18.

17) This area of the park is completely dedicated to disc golf. It is nice to not have to worry about other park users. Just get up and throw!

18) Discatchers are a great basket for this course it makes them so much easier to see in the woods.
Cons: 1) While the soil is healthy and soft and sandy, it still is bare soil at times. It may not be extremely compacted except around the greens, but it will be messy after a rainfall.

2) Garbage cans by the entrance for recycling and such. Really unattractive to the entrance to the park and it blocks the kiosk.

3) Tee posts should have a simple diagram . . . because there are a few longer or blind holes that make it hard for the first timer. All it has is a simple inscribed line on the sign.

4) A sign near the entrance showing you where each 9 starts would have helped me not miss the third 9. Oh well.

5) Slight repetition and similarity in the feel of the holes, fortunately for me I like these holes, but a little more variety would have been good in terms of hole types.

I don't have a lot of negatives, but I think there will be a few more when I get back for the additional 9. Apparently it is can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: I agree with the sentiment that this course feels like a private course. It is clean and beautiful and quiet . . .something you typically only get at a private course. It is nice to see that it is well taken care of by the club and the local players.

I enjoyed myself thoroughly and would come back anytime if I was closer.

My rating is about only the original 18 because I . . . like others . . . missed the Deep 9. I know we aren't supposed to write reviews without seeing the entire course, but I know I will be back, probably soon, and i just didn't want to forget anything in my review.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Change of Pace

1    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is for the original 18 as we did not play the deep 9 when we were there.

Whitehall is a a heavily wooded course with no long open shots. The trees are mostly all tall slender evergreens so you usually have a nice tall canopy to work with. Because the trees are mostly evergreens, you rarely have to search for discs. which is kind of unusual for a wooded course, especially this time of year (fall). The course is beaten in really well. The paths from hole to hole are very well defined by logs on both sides. We spent no time at all searching for where the next tee was.
The baskets are disc catchers which was great because the yellow really stood out in the woods. There were very few holes where we had to walk ahead to figure out where to go. The baskets were in awesome shape. Many of them appeared to be brand new.

Plenty of technical shots off the tee that were usually in the 200-280 foot range. The course is enjoyable for all skill levels. Tee signs weren't sexy, but they were accurate and helpful which is all they need to be.
This course is very well taken care of by the local club. There are plenty of amenities and it has a "hangout" type feel which you don't always get with courses at pubic parks. There were plenty of little extras like brooms to sweep off tee pads, which only added to the enjoyability of the course
Cons: The course can feel quite repetitive. It seems like you threw the same 3 or 4 shots over and over again....which is fine in short doses, but does grow a bit tiresome by the end of the round. Other than that, there are no complaints.
Other Thoughts: After playing most of the courses in the Ludington/ Shelby area, Whitehall was a great change of pace. I am really pleased with the course they have put together and I assume that basically all the work was done by the local club, which only adds to the positive impression I walked away with. Perhaps the deep 9 would have changed my review a bit, but we just didn't have time to play it.

Overall, I really enjoyed it. They did very well with the land they had to work with. I will definitely play this again if we are ever blessed to be in the area. It is a testament to the quality of courses in the area, that Whitehall is one of the lower rated courses there. It is definitely worth the trip. Thanks to those who worked hard to put it together...and continue to make it better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Whitehall

5+    5/19/2014   9/6/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. i like the tree branch lined walkways between holes for the first 18. Concrete pads were great. plus brooms were available for a lot of the holes to sweep them if they were dirty. very clean course. Each nine got progressively harder as you went along Shot lines were well defined. If you threw off the line discs could still be easily found. Very quiet course. when i got there the lot was half full, but during the round i only saw 4 other people. could hear chains rattling but couldn't really see anyone else. There were easy to find short tees for the first 18. Deep nine now has the concrete tees
Cons: Should have a sign near lot pointing towards the practice baskets. Also there should be a sign in the power line access area directing towards the deep nine. there is a sign on the path to it but if you don't go down that path you won't see it. on the deep nine i was wondering where the ninth tee really was. saw arrows pointing in the general direction followed them for a bit was almost ready to turn back when i found it.
Other Thoughts: Overall i totally love this course. I love the fact that it is only for disc golfers no interfering with any other activity there. Was like taking a nature hike through the woods while enjoying a round of disc golf. Friendly golfers the ones i did see wished me a good round while i was there. Very well maintained course. I highly recommend that if you are in the area that you should really play this course. I live like 30 minutes away from it and would easily drive it to play it again. would probably drive 60 miles to play it again I liked it that much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great use of land

1    9/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed
Lots of garbage cans
Great lines through woods
Easy to follow course
Cool practice baskets,even thought I found after back nine
Cons: Disc catcher. I'm a chain star man myself.
Favors a rightly
Deep nine needs better signage to next tee.
Other Thoughts: The
is was a great course that is not physically challenging. The course get progressively harder. Watch out deep nine will get you. If you need discs go to white lake furniture.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Whitehall: Where every day is Arbor Day!

5+    8/29/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Densely wooded fairways with lines that are well thought out and challenging, requiring control and finesse. Most holes have an obvious line to follow, with a few 'alternate' lines that can work out pretty well (even if you didn't intend to throw them). Branches and small trees lining the path to the next tee are a simple, aesthetically pleasing, and very effective aid to navigation (along with the occasional arrow painted on a tree trunk). Tee markers with distance and basic line to the basket are again, elegant in their simplicity, yet quite effective. Given that many holes are 'nearly blind,' the bright yellow chastity belts certainly make this course much more playable (but first timers and infrequent visitors will still want to scout up ahead). Designers did a great job working with and around what they had. Mostly short runs with a decent mix of left, right, and straight fairways, with a few holes running longer plus the Deep 9.

The Deep 9 is a welcome supplement to the course. More than just another 9 holes, they add a dimension previously missing. Still heavily wooded, they certainly play quite a bit longer and more open than the original 18. The additional distance means discing up and throwing harder, which makes placement iffier, thereby bumping up the the risk/reward factor. By the time I played, the fairways for the Deep 9 had been quite well established and executable, although there appeared to be some work still in progress (distances on a few tee signs, as well as some path lining from basket to next tee), but still quite playable. D2 really plays like two holes in one - offering you 2 separate and distinct fairways that are clearly defined hyzer and annie paths to the left and right of an island of trees that extends 90% of the way from the tee to the pin.

This course is a high intensity workout for mids and putters and is a great place to work on shaping lines and improving your short game. I've played here several times, and find it maintains my interest despite its repetitive nature.

Challenge ramps up from the front 9 to the back 9, bumping up another notch on the Deep 9.

With no dense brush, risk of disc loss is greatly minimized, but discs can be tough to find if they bounce off trees with some zip. White and bright colors are easier to find here, - darker colors, not so much.

Well maintained pleasant course on land dedicated to disc golf. Locals have added tables, chairs and benches at several tee areas to give it that homey touch. Bags for trash and cans for cigarette ashes at many (if not all) tees to help keep it clean.

Tons of trees = lots of shade on hot summer days.

Concrete pads on the original 18, with sand on the Deep 9 (not sure if concrete pads are planned for the Deep 9 as of yet).
Cons: Personally, I REALLY like this course and always have a blast playing here. Nonetheless, the course has its limitations, and anyone considering a round here should be aware of them.

In many aspects, Whitehall lacks variety, and I can't fault those who would say it's monotonous, and that few holes stand out. The first 18 are essentially different variations of tunnel shot after tunnel shot. While noticeably wider than the orig 18, even the fairways on the Deep 9 bottneck in spots, and never truly open up. A few holes open up a bit in spots, but placement is important on every single hole. Bouncing one long off a tree could cost you a stroke or two, and there's no denying it's a significant possibility on all 27 holes. Guaranteed frustration for those who hate this sort of thing.

Bring discs that can take a beating - unless you're looking to break a disc in fast, this course isn't friendly to DX/Pro-D plastic. Speaking of plastic, opportunities to use drivers are few and far between. Absolutely no grip 'n' rip holes.

Not that much can be done about it, but this course is essentially flat, with only a few holes featuring little to moderate elevation change.
Other Thoughts: If you like tight and technical, you'd be a fool to pass this up, But there's simply no escaping the fact that Whitehall isn't everyone's cup of tea. If hole after hole of threading the needle or bouncing off trees isn't your thing, stay away.

Whitehall isn't destination disc golf by itself, but given that Flip City, the Mason County triplets and Leviathan are all within a 45 min stretch of US 31, it's certainly a nice addition to the local scene. IMO, it's a nice change of pace from the others and fits in well as part of a multi-day disc golf excursion.

Prior to the addition of the Deep 9, I'd have given this course a 2.5 or a 3.0, but he increased challenge and ability to throw drivers on a few holes bump it up a 3.5 in my book.

Feels like you're miles away from everything, but it's literally less than 5 minutes down road from road from every fast food joint you can think of. But if you want really want to unwind after great day of Michigan DG, head another 3-4 miles west on Whitehall Rd into Montague for some laid back local charm and good food.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice little jaunt through the pines. Whitehall has really grown on me since I first played it. It was hard getting accustomed to the technicality and the tightness of this course, but it forced me to learn how to throw diverse shots and focus on control versus brute force. lt will definitely let you utilize every shot in your repertoire and cause you to develop more. The terrain flows well and has good variety of right and left bends and mild uphill and downhill shots in a few places. Mandatory routes through tight spaces are a challenge if your control is off. Pin placements are challenging in some of the more densely wooded areas where vision is obscured by foliage.
Cons: Not much in the way of negative aspects at Whitehall. If I dig for something to say I would start with the fact that this course can be frustrating and is probably not a good choice for rookies unless they are looking for a trial by fire. Could be discouraging. This will get your skill level up in a hurry though. There is no water here. Doesn't bother me, but some require water hazards as a mark of a good course. Also the ceiling is pretty low through the vast majority of the holes which makes it feel claustrophobic and almost indoors at times. I would like to see a bit more open sky in a few places, but that is not the style here. This is a forest. Lastly as I think about it, there is not any particular hole that stands out as awe inspiring or even moderately striking here. It is very businesslike. Not saying that a "signature hole" is a necessity but uttering the word 'wow' is probably not going to happen here. The holes on the original 18 are, however, all consistently solid with very little absurdity. The deep nine is a bit unrefined at the moment and I am ill prepared to talk about them as I only vaguely remember them.
Other Thoughts: Whitehall is a great place to play. It definitely requires you to come with some quality shot making and will bring you to new levels of control and ingenuity. And whoever busted up the baskets needs to get wrecked.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is essentially 3 9 hole courses. You can start at 1 and go through 9 back to the lot or similarly 10-18 or D1-D9.

The 3 courses range in difficulty. Holes 1-9 are a bit easier, almost like warmup holes. Holes 10-18 are a bit more difficult and get you stretching the arm a bit more. The Deep 9 are by far the most difficult and have the longest holes.
Cons: As I understand it, the Deep 9 is a newer addition to the course and thus it is not nearly as well marked, nor is it as easy to navigate. It also doesn't have the tee pads yet.

I was also disappointed to find that at least 6 of the brand new baskets in the Deep 9 had been broken, and the basket part was only hanging by the chains. Seems that some people just don't respect things.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, and I think as time goes on and some work gets put into it (especially the Deep 9), this course could easily be bumped to a 4 or 4.5. Great course to play on the way to Flip City to warm up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 deep 9

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: grass_stain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very fun new nine holes, very wooded. i enjoyed the bobseld trail. i also liked the longer holes.
Cons: need some work on the last couple. my friend and i were not sure which basket to throw to on nine, we picked the new one. really need to watch your disc.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very solid course and worth seeking out

1    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of available terrain (amazing how little space it takes up for the variety of holes)
Very well planned and laid out
Some of the most masterfully manicured paths between baskets I've ever seen...made it EXTREMELY easy to follow the course
Great mixture of hyzers and anhyzers in a great wooded context (so many wooded courses are redundant)
Very definable fairways--some are ultra tight (a favorite of mine)--but there is always at least one very clear path per hole, some have 2 or 3...it isn't just one of those wooded courses you just huck it and pray :)
Great risk and reward--if you get off the fairway you can really be punished
Good signage with a little diagram of the hole
Forces many different shots and precise disc selection to get the appropriate throw
Cons: Not many...I like this kind of course though...I would agree that beginners would be frustrated but that's not a "con" in my mind, just a point of fact...
It's pretty flat too--I wouldn't classify it as having real "elevation" changes, but it's not the fault of the course, it's just a pretty flat area.
Other Thoughts: Some may knock it for being a "short course" because there are no long holes...but the excellent design and challenging yet very doable narrow fairways make up for it

All in all, I would seek this course out again if I'm in the Grand Rapids area

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whitehall

5+    4/10/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Whitehall has a great course layout half the course is in pine trees and the rest in mixed woods makes for a fun day.
Cons: Narrow fairways can make for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: Whitehall will teach you how to play Disc Golf.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.