Whitehall, MI 
Whitehall Township DGC Share
Uploaded By: RonRoc  



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid Wood

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice course overall, great example of a Michigan woods course. Benches, signs, and nice cement at every hole. This course is very well maintained, and provides a variety of shots for all players. Three nines all start by the parking lot, so it can be played a variety of ways. Great putting area between holes 10 and 18 by the parking lot.
Cons: Some people might have a problem with this course never leaving the woods. All shots have a fairway, but none are without constrictions. Deep Nine might not be for novice or beginner players.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite Michigan courses. I got my first ace on hole 6, my first time playing the course. I have seen the course develop and change into a fantastic 27 holes. The variety of shots throughout the course gives everyone a challenge. The newest addition of the "deep nine" has great character and is far more challenging than the traditional front and back 9. Its location to the highway makes it a great stop on the way to other awesome near by courses (Flip City, Mason County, etc..).

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 home turf

5+    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: jay roggero
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: a good mixture of length on holes especially with the newly added deep nine. good for forehand and backhand.long and short woods are tough but forgiving grounds well kept fun to play f your a beginner or advanced deep nine is pretty challenging especially holes 6, 7 and 8. plenty of straight away shots, hole 16 its either hit or miss you have a great show or a not so great shot , cement pads all discatcher baskets , fun to play a round of night golf very clean garbages at all holes alot of holes have butt cans also, port o john in the middle of course which makes it easily accessible bulletin board also makes it easy to find stores to buy discs and also tournaments in michigan
Cons: slightly repetitive, the only really open hole is number 6 on the deep nine, sometimes can be a little crowded on the weekends in the summer but most dg parks are.
Other Thoughts: home course and i love it

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 this looks like the last hole

1    9/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great cement tee pads
-pretty cool wood signs with # and yardage. hand made
-super flow and easy to follow paths
-clean
-RESTROOM at the 9 hole intersection
-representative landscape of the area. sand, dirt, rolling hills
-new "deep" nine addition
-the rough is clear and forgiving
-new hole #6 on new nine!
Cons: -repetitive holes that feel the same
-short holes. 160-290 a plenty.
-might miss the new deep nine to the right of tee #10
Other Thoughts: What a good little course just north of Muskegon. The course is very representative of the somewhat flatter and sandy environment of southern/western Michigan. The course is broken up into three nine hole sections now. This includes the the new deep nine loop which can be readily missed to the right of tee #10 if not careful. A local showed it to me as I was finishing the reg 18.

The first nine play through some typical Michigan pines. Short anys and hyzers and straight lines on a flat landscape. This was ace alley to say the least, which was obvious by all the folks writing their ace on the yellow bands of the Innova baskets. Really? Can't you just sharpie your disc instead of telling the world how mediocre you are by being proud you sank a 150' "ace putt"? anywho...first nine, eh.

The second nine across the sand lot adds a bit more length through the trees and some slight elevation but it still feels mighty repetitive. You can't really blame the course designers as they used this land to the best of it's abilities.

The deep nine is going to be the gold of this course once complete. Still dirt tee pads but the holes now ebb and flow through some bigger trees and bigger spaces. Hole #6 is a complete shock when you get to it. It sits in a grassy valley of the forest and plays 600'+. COMPLETELY different from the rest of the course. Very reminiscent of a hole you would find at the Leviathan course in Ludington, Mi. Such a great hole. Could have played this a few times alone.

SUMMARY. A very nice course obviously taken care of by a great community. It's nothing special, but then again to have a disc golf course is better than not too. Definitely not a destination course, but one you might hit on the way to or from the great northern/western Michigan courses.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 deep 9

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: grass_stain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very fun new nine holes, very wooded. i enjoyed the bobseld trail. i also liked the longer holes.
Cons: need some work on the last couple. my friend and i were not sure which basket to throw to on nine, we picked the new one. really need to watch your disc.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rustic

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Conveniently located about a mile off of Highway 31.
- Brooms & Hybrid Bucket/Trash-sacks at every hole. Tee signs are all intact. They're simple, yet effective.
- Benches made of logs at every hole. Paths between each hole were also lined with logs. I'm guessing that the trees that were cut down to make the fairways were then re-used to enhance the course. The fact that they weren't simply hauled off or burned is a credit to the course's designer.
- Teepads were better than average. Not overly long, but there was still ample room for any sort of run-up you could think of.
- Thanks to the aforementioned log-lined paths, it's literally impossible to get lost. When a new course in Michigan gets installed it dreams about someday being as worn in and user-friendly as this course is. The only possible time you could lose track of where you're going is near the parking lot between holes 9 & 10, but luckily there are convenient tree signs pointing you the right way.
- Despite there being a lot of holes ~200 ft, this is not a pitch & putt. You'll find yourself using your midrange a lot, but you'll need to be able to make it curve to suit the fairways. A forehand comes in handy, especially on hole #10.
- My wife liked that there was ample shade. This seems like it would be a good course to hit early in the afternoon before heading to the beach, if you're into that kind of thing.
Cons: - Repetitive is the key word here. Lots of holes blend together. 5, 10, & 18 were the only holes that really stuck out in my mind. Hole 5 was a drive from the open into the trees type of hole. Hole 10 was the severe dogleg I mentioned earlier. Hole 18 features the most elevation on the course, you actually walk uphill and then downhill which is amazing in this particular part of Michigan. The rest were all 200-350 feet with slight alternating doglegs.
- It was easy to find errant throws which some would consider a plus, but this was to the point where there almost weren't any consequences to a bad shot. A seasoned DGer would probably have no problem shooting under par their first time here.
Other Thoughts: - A solid yet unremarkable course with enough positives to make it slightly above average. It took me about an hour to play.
- There was a bulletin board and a port-a-potty at the beginning of the course. The bulletin board updated the status of the additional 9 holes that are being installed. 19-21 seemed to be playable but the rest were still under construction or unmowed. I look forward to seeing what they can do with the additional land.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A decidedly Up-North feel

2-4    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The directions to the course were spot-on and the parking area is large with a Kiosk, garbage barrels, and a Port-A-John on the premises. Everything was very clean and well thought out.

The course layout and trail markings are exceptional, with NO chance at getting lost. All three 9s (Front, Back, and Deep) circle back to a common crossing point just off the parking lot giving players a chance to head back to the car between loops for eats, beverages, bug spray, or clothing changes. This also allows for playing a short 9er or the same 9 twice. Even though the course is built on a sand dune, there was never any issue with loose sand or bad footing on the pathways. Almost all holes had some type of bench or chairs, brooms, and trash receptacles, and the relaxation spot at hole #9 was especially nice!. The tee signage was nicely done with etched-in hole #, footage, and directional lines, although the monochromatic color scheme was a little difficult to decipher for those of us with aging eyes. The cement tee pads were level, roomy and in great shape.

Hole design was quite nice given the property they had to work with. There was an even mix of straight, uphill, downhill, fading right or left, sharp right or left, and even "S" shaped fairways, and every tiny bit of elevation change available was put to good use. Distances of 187 to 394 makes a quick round here a very good possibility and keeps it mostly family and beginner friendly. Given the heavily wooded nature of this course, it was surprising that getting off the fairway was never a total disaster although there's rarely a clear route out and even overhand shots frequently aren't an option due to a low canopy in most places. The nature of the woods and brush here mean that lost discs shouldn't ever be a problem here, even when playing solo.

Highlight holes here include the almost J-hook shaped left on #4 with some intruding trees along the right edge that steal working room from your disc; the deceptively straight and open looking #5 and #7 that both require more disc control than you'd expect; the long tight #9 that opens into a sandy field; the evil, evil #16 with its tight fairway, scattered trees, fading right, and low ceiling; the curvy uphill #17; and the long S shaped #18.
Cons: The lack of any real elevation changes, truly interesting design elements, or any open holes where you could really let them fly keeps this course from ranking much higher on the ratings list. And, while each hole had at least one very obvious and well-defined fairway, all but a couple of holes just felt like "more of the same".

The scorecard shows that a short tee is available for all the holes, but beyond the orange dots spray painted on rocks on the first 2 holes, I never saw any type of alternate tee markers on the rest of the holes (not that distances under 400' really need alternate tees).

The trash receptacles were a very interesting design (the top ring of a 5 gallon bucket as a holder for a 100 lb feed bag), but many of the feed bags were disintegrating, leaving trash scattered around in several places.
Other Thoughts: ***Updated after a second round***

I went to play a send round here with the express intention of doing a fresh review, uncolored by playing Flip City first. Unfortunately, my original review (basically) and first impressions stand. While hubby loved this course, I felt that the lack of any truly stand-out design elements made much of this course feel like just more of the same. By hole 12, I was saying "oh gee, look, more trees!" While individual hole design and course layout were both excellent, this course had none of the "Wow!!" factor of most of its closest neighbors; Branstrom has stunning scenery and terrain changes; Ludington has incredible variety and multiple great courses; Northend Riverside has great design, plenty of variety, and multiple tee options; and Flip City has.....well, all of the previous and sooo much more! Given the other available options, I'd play this if I was already in the area, but certainly wouldn't drive down just to play this course.

As of 9/6/09, the Deep 9 are not yet fully playable. According to locals, 19-21 are ready to play, and the remaining baskets are in, but the fairways are not fully cut or mowed at all, and the pathways between holes are unmarked and difficult to find.

Sundays may be very busy due to a pretty active league and course work groups following immediately after.

I remembered my camera this time and have posted pics of all holes now.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Quick--fun--Easy to Intermediate

5+    5/26/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
Nice scenic course, with excellent design features and a superb layout.
Cement tee pads on every hole and in great shape.
Nice baskets.
Signs at every hole and well worn trails that make it impossible to get lost.
Each hole is wooded but has a path for every shot.
Good variation in long holes and short holes.
Cons: -
Very little elevation changes -- but does have few.
No water hole(s).
Somewhat repetitive, but STILL fun & good practice.
Other Thoughts: -
I really like this course. As soon as I played it I added in to my favorites. I just looked at is a perfect home course (if I lived close by), quick and great practice. It has very nice scenery and the turf and tree's make it an ideal course to play in windy and rainy conditions. The sandy clay surface soaks up the water and makes for interesting but predictable bounces off the turf. Each hole is unique and there is a really good variety of short and long shots. It is not the longest course but the course will test your accuracy and reward your distance. I found a path for every shot on the course and played through it quickly with no lost discs or time consumed looking for discs. There are also some really nice holes that are memorable and standouts. Again superb design.
I give outstanding props to the designer and township of Whitehall for putting this course in. It is easy to find of the highway and there is ample parking. This course, Flip, Ludington, Fremont, and Muskegon makes for an excellent destination in Disc golf in the area!!!

Also it is somewhat challenging to get under par here. If you do your doing really well. I have played much easier courses and this is probably right in the middle with a challenge.

Update June 2010
The Deep Nine is an excellent addition to this course. It is now a true 27 hole disc course that will challenge most skill levels yet keep it fun. It is still a course that turns quite a bit, you'll be going left or the hole is on the right, sometimes you'll see one straight. Very fun, good for most weather conditions, an awesome addition to the area!

Update Nov 2013
This course has been well
Maintained. Deep 9 makes this course a legit 27 hole course. I have really come to appreciate the subtle nuances this course offers. Imo it offers a lot and is highly underrated. A very fun course. Great challenge with deep 9. Great benches and maintainence. 4.5 is high but others have it far to low. An excelkent course! Much better than average.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very solid course and worth seeking out

1    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of available terrain (amazing how little space it takes up for the variety of holes)
Very well planned and laid out
Some of the most masterfully manicured paths between baskets I've ever seen...made it EXTREMELY easy to follow the course
Great mixture of hyzers and anhyzers in a great wooded context (so many wooded courses are redundant)
Very definable fairways--some are ultra tight (a favorite of mine)--but there is always at least one very clear path per hole, some have 2 or 3...it isn't just one of those wooded courses you just huck it and pray :)
Great risk and reward--if you get off the fairway you can really be punished
Good signage with a little diagram of the hole
Forces many different shots and precise disc selection to get the appropriate throw
Cons: Not many...I like this kind of course though...I would agree that beginners would be frustrated but that's not a "con" in my mind, just a point of fact...
It's pretty flat too--I wouldn't classify it as having real "elevation" changes, but it's not the fault of the course, it's just a pretty flat area.
Other Thoughts: Some may knock it for being a "short course" because there are no long holes...but the excellent design and challenging yet very doable narrow fairways make up for it

All in all, I would seek this course out again if I'm in the Grand Rapids area

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whitehall

5+    4/10/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Whitehall has a great course layout half the course is in pine trees and the rest in mixed woods makes for a fun day.
Cons: Narrow fairways can make for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: Whitehall will teach you how to play Disc Golf.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/14/2008   3/24/2009
Review By: Greater Visions
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: If you are looking to tighten up the precision of your shot, then look no farther. Very little room for error. Decent elevation changes.
Cons: Far too one dimensional. You'd be better off throwing a buzz saw off the tee box.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.