Whitehall, MI
Whitehall Township DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #9 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Change of Pace

1    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is for the original 18 as we did not play the deep 9 when we were there.

Whitehall is a a heavily wooded course with no long open shots. The trees are mostly all tall slender evergreens so you usually have a nice tall canopy to work with. Because the trees are mostly evergreens, you rarely have to search for discs. which is kind of unusual for a wooded course, especially this time of year (fall). The course is beaten in really well. The paths from hole to hole are very well defined by logs on both sides. We spent no time at all searching for where the next tee was.
The baskets are disc catchers which was great because the yellow really stood out in the woods. There were very few holes where we had to walk ahead to figure out where to go. The baskets were in awesome shape. Many of them appeared to be brand new.

Plenty of technical shots off the tee that were usually in the 200-280 foot range. The course is enjoyable for all skill levels. Tee signs weren't sexy, but they were accurate and helpful which is all they need to be.
This course is very well taken care of by the local club. There are plenty of amenities and it has a "hangout" type feel which you don't always get with courses at pubic parks. There were plenty of little extras like brooms to sweep off tee pads, which only added to the enjoyability of the course
Cons: The course can feel quite repetitive. It seems like you threw the same 3 or 4 shots over and over again....which is fine in short doses, but does grow a bit tiresome by the end of the round. Other than that, there are no complaints.
Other Thoughts: After playing most of the courses in the Ludington/ Shelby area, Whitehall was a great change of pace. I am really pleased with the course they have put together and I assume that basically all the work was done by the local club, which only adds to the positive impression I walked away with. Perhaps the deep 9 would have changed my review a bit, but we just didn't have time to play it.

Overall, I really enjoyed it. They did very well with the land they had to work with. I will definitely play this again if we are ever blessed to be in the area. It is a testament to the quality of courses in the area, that Whitehall is one of the lower rated courses there. It is definitely worth the trip. Thanks to those who worked hard to put it together...and continue to make it better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Whitehall

2-4    3/24/2012   9/6/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. i like the tree branch lined walkways between holes for the first 18. Concrete pads were great. plus brooms were available for a lot of the holes to sweep them if they were dirty. very clean course. Each nine got progressively harder as you went along Shot lines were well defined. If you threw off the line discs could still be easily found. Very quiet course. when i got there the lot was half full, but during the round i only saw 4 other people. could hear chains rattling but couldn't really see anyone else. There were easy to find short tees for the first 18. Deep nine now has the concrete tees
Cons: Should have a sign near lot pointing towards the practice baskets. Also there should be a sign in the power line access area directing towards the deep nine. there is a sign on the path to it but if you don't go down that path you won't see it. on the deep nine i was wondering where the ninth tee really was. saw arrows pointing in the general direction followed them for a bit was almost ready to turn back when i found it.
Other Thoughts: Overall i totally love this course. I love the fact that it is only for disc golfers no interfering with any other activity there. Was like taking a nature hike through the woods while enjoying a round of disc golf. Friendly golfers the ones i did see wished me a good round while i was there. Very well maintained course. I highly recommend that if you are in the area that you should really play this course. I live like 30 minutes away from it and would easily drive it to play it again. would probably drive 60 miles to play it again I liked it that much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

original 18 rather quick/but fun

1    8/27/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 685  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2012
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Navigation here a breeze. Was "getting dark" as we arrived; but we found our way around easily, and enjoyed a fine round.
Nice concrete tees.
Basic, but functional tee signs.
This one has an ease factor (for original 18) that can help your full day score, if you've been playing tougher courses in the area.
Friendly locals wished us a good round. As I noted, we played late in the day; so, most of these guys were hanging in the lot discussing their rounds. Parking lot equals clubhouse in disc golf/ball golf terms; and it's always nice to see everyone telling of their day's exploits, with a happy/tired smile.
Solid technical course design (original 18). Shot shaping required here. Holes are fair and require accuracy. Schule off fairways not stressful; course well broken in.
Couple well designed dog legs and a couple of multi route shots.
Nicely maintained course.
Unfortunately, I can't comment on the D9; but, I can say that having played a large chunk of the western Michigan courses in two journeys; one trip coming down through the U.P. and one coming up from the south; that one fine, "big impression" is that pretty much every one of these courses is in the process of upgrade on nearly all of the 15+ courses played. Kudos to Western Michigan designers/clubs.
Cons: No signs telling you of the new back nine.
Original course a bit on the short side. Holes a bit repetitive; nothing signature.
Other Thoughts: I mixed this course review up with another course of a multi course trip. Therefore, I have had to come here and change this entire review around; and, I must confess; I probably would not even be writing a Whitehall review if not for the fact that it was already mistakenly here. I really can't do this course justice without seeing the D9....
Drats...unlike me to not read reviews for a course before heading to it; but, this one was originally a back up plan that found it's way into play. (Glad we came, but wish we had known about the back nine). The original 18 is perhaps a weak 3 rating; and the D9 may very well push this up to 3.5....for now, I'll just have to compromise with a 3 and remind all traveling players to make sure to play the most recent addition.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great use of land

1    9/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed
Lots of garbage cans
Great lines through woods
Easy to follow course
Cool practice baskets,even thought I found after back nine
Cons: Disc catcher. I'm a chain star man myself.
Favors a rightly
Deep nine needs better signage to next tee.
Other Thoughts: The
is was a great course that is not physically challenging. The course get progressively harder. Watch out deep nine will get you. If you need discs go to white lake furniture.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Whitehall: Where every day is Arbor Day!

5+    8/29/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 152  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Densely wooded fairways with lines that are well thought out and challenging, requiring control and finesse. Most holes have an obvious line to follow, with a few 'alternate' lines that can work out pretty well (even if you didn't intend to throw them). Branches and small trees lining the path to the next tee are a simple, aesthetically pleasing, and very effective aid to navigation (along with the occasional arrow painted on a tree trunk). Tee markers with distance and basic line to the basket are again, elegant in their simplicity, yet quite effective. Given that many holes are 'nearly blind,' the bright yellow chastity belts certainly make this course much more playable (but first timers and infrequent visitors will still want to scout up ahead). Designers did a great job working with and around what they had. Mostly short runs with a decent mix of left, right, and straight fairways, with a few holes running longer plus the Deep 9.

The Deep 9 is a welcome supplement to the course. More than just another 9 holes, they add a dimension previously missing. Still heavily wooded, they certainly play quite a bit longer and more open than the original 18. The additional distance means discing up and throwing harder, which makes placement iffier, thereby bumping up the the risk/reward factor. By the time I played, the fairways for the Deep 9 had been quite well established and executable, although there appeared to be some work still in progress (distances on a few tee signs, as well as some path lining from basket to next tee), but still quite playable. D2 really plays like two holes in one - offering you 2 separate and distinct fairways that are clearly defined hyzer and annie paths to the left and right of an island of trees that extends 90% of the way from the tee to the pin.

This course is a high intensity workout for mids and putters and is a great place to work on shaping lines and improving your short game. I've played here several times, and find it maintains my interest despite its repetitive nature.

Challenge ramps up from the front 9 to the back 9, bumping up another notch on the Deep 9.

With no dense brush, risk of disc loss is greatly minimized, but discs can be tough to find if they bounce off trees with some zip. White and bright colors are easier to find here, - darker colors, not so much.

Well maintained pleasant course on land dedicated to disc golf. Locals have added tables, chairs and benches at several tee areas to give it that homey touch. Bags for trash and cans for cigarette ashes at many (if not all) tees to help keep it clean.

Tons of trees = lots of shade on hot summer days.

Concrete pads on the original 18, with sand on the Deep 9 (not sure if concrete pads are planned for the Deep 9 as of yet).
Cons: Personally, I REALLY like this course and always have a blast playing here. Nonetheless, the course has its limitations, and anyone considering a round here should be aware of them.

In many aspects, Whitehall lacks variety, and I can't fault those who would say it's monotonous, and that few holes stand out. The first 18 are essentially different variations of tunnel shot after tunnel shot. While noticeably wider than the orig 18, even the fairways on the Deep 9 bottneck in spots, and never truly open up. A few holes open up a bit in spots, but placement is important on every single hole. Bouncing one long off a tree could cost you a stroke or two, and there's no denying it's a significant possibility on all 27 holes. Guaranteed frustration for those who hate this sort of thing.

Bring discs that can take a beating - unless you're looking to break a disc in fast, this course isn't friendly to DX/Pro-D plastic. Speaking of plastic, opportunities to use drivers are few and far between. Absolutely no grip 'n' rip holes.

Not that much can be done about it, but this course is essentially flat, with only a few holes featuring little to moderate elevation change.
Other Thoughts: If you like tight and technical, you'd be a fool to pass this up, But there's simply no escaping the fact that Whitehall isn't everyone's cup of tea. If hole after hole of threading the needle or bouncing off trees isn't your thing, stay away.

Whitehall isn't destination disc golf by itself, but given that Flip City, the Mason County triplets and Leviathan are all within a 45 min stretch of US 31, it's certainly a nice addition to the local scene. IMO, it's a nice change of pace from the others and fits in well as part of a multi-day disc golf excursion.

Prior to the addition of the Deep 9, I'd have given this course a 2.5 or a 3.0, but he increased challenge and ability to throw drivers on a few holes bump it up a 3.5 in my book.

Feels like you're miles away from everything, but it's literally less than 5 minutes down road from road from every fast food joint you can think of. But if you want really want to unwind after great day of Michigan DG, head another 3-4 miles west on Whitehall Rd into Montague for some laid back local charm and good food.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 home

2-4    7/4/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent upkeep. Regulars take excellent care of this course and there is a broom and garbage at every tee pad.

Variety. There are a lot of different shots needed at this course. From accuracy shots through thick woods with narrow fairways, to wider open shots along the powerlines.

Location. Love the fact that this is a disc only course. no sharing the course with picnickers and other yahoos doing non-disc things.
Cons: needs updated tee signage at some point. Other than that, no issues.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner this course has a little bit of everything. I love variety, it gives me a chance to work on every type of shot I need to improve my game.

This course is five minutes away from my home town of Montague and there is a ton of family and friends in the area which makes it even more attractive to go home.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice little jaunt through the pines. Whitehall has really grown on me since I first played it. It was hard getting accustomed to the technicality and the tightness of this course, but it forced me to learn how to throw diverse shots and focus on control versus brute force. lt will definitely let you utilize every shot in your repertoire and cause you to develop more. The terrain flows well and has good variety of right and left bends and mild uphill and downhill shots in a few places. Mandatory routes through tight spaces are a challenge if your control is off. Pin placements are challenging in some of the more densely wooded areas where vision is obscured by foliage.
Cons: Not much in the way of negative aspects at Whitehall. If I dig for something to say I would start with the fact that this course can be frustrating and is probably not a good choice for rookies unless they are looking for a trial by fire. Could be discouraging. This will get your skill level up in a hurry though. There is no water here. Doesn't bother me, but some require water hazards as a mark of a good course. Also the ceiling is pretty low through the vast majority of the holes which makes it feel claustrophobic and almost indoors at times. I would like to see a bit more open sky in a few places, but that is not the style here. This is a forest. Lastly as I think about it, there is not any particular hole that stands out as awe inspiring or even moderately striking here. It is very businesslike. Not saying that a "signature hole" is a necessity but uttering the word 'wow' is probably not going to happen here. The holes on the original 18 are, however, all consistently solid with very little absurdity. The deep nine is a bit unrefined at the moment and I am ill prepared to talk about them as I only vaguely remember them.
Other Thoughts: Whitehall is a great place to play. It definitely requires you to come with some quality shot making and will bring you to new levels of control and ingenuity. And whoever busted up the baskets needs to get wrecked.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is essentially 3 9 hole courses. You can start at 1 and go through 9 back to the lot or similarly 10-18 or D1-D9.

The 3 courses range in difficulty. Holes 1-9 are a bit easier, almost like warmup holes. Holes 10-18 are a bit more difficult and get you stretching the arm a bit more. The Deep 9 are by far the most difficult and have the longest holes.
Cons: As I understand it, the Deep 9 is a newer addition to the course and thus it is not nearly as well marked, nor is it as easy to navigate. It also doesn't have the tee pads yet.

I was also disappointed to find that at least 6 of the brand new baskets in the Deep 9 had been broken, and the basket part was only hanging by the chains. Seems that some people just don't respect things.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, and I think as time goes on and some work gets put into it (especially the Deep 9), this course could easily be bumped to a 4 or 4.5. Great course to play on the way to Flip City to warm up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    5/15/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow, there is no way you will get lost. Nice cement tee pads. after each group of nine holes you come out to the parking lot so you can play them in any order. first 18 holes are all fairly short and technical. decent variety, You have to go left and right. difficult but not impossible, each group of 9 gets harder. Pretty hard to lose discs here.

some holes that I really liked:

16: 355' downhill shot. a few different lanes, you can throw FH or BH.
http://www.dgcoursereview.com...16&page=1#

D2: the most unique hole I've played at any course. It's set in part of the forest that looks like there was a fire (trees are all charred and black). There is a sort of "double" tee pad, and 2 distinct fairways so you can take a FH or BH shot or hyzer/anhyzer.
http://www.dgcoursereview.com...20&page=1#

Cons: so many trees that if you get off the fairway it's quite frustrating. While the shape of the shot changes a lot, the terrain stays the same throughout the first 18. There is no water, which to some people is a con.

overall I think this course could be improved by removing a few trees. I get that It's supposed to be tight and difficult but it might be overdone a bit.

Hole I dislike
D6: 650'. It is really long but there are too many trees to really bomb it.
http://www.dgcoursereview.com...24&page=1
Other Thoughts: EDIT: The Deep nine has cement tee pads now. I bump my rating from 3.5 to 4

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    10/11/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays through a dense pine forest, with mostly flat land and a couple rolling hills. A few times, the course emerges into open sandy areas or grassy meadows, and the design makes great use of these by shooting into or out of the trees to make interesting challenges.The rest of the holes are almost all tight lanes through a pine forest with low ceilings and lots of branches to grab your drive.

There is a good mix of straight shots and shots that turn right or left, and the course felt fairly balanced overall. The course builds through each 9. The first 9 is almost all ace runs if you hit your gaps in the trees. The middle 9 has some more length, with a few longer holes and a few ace runs. The newest 9 has the most length and challenge, and offers a couple holes where if you risk it, you can throw a real drive. It was fun to have the course get progressively harder through each 9 hole loop, especially since each loop comes back to the parking lot allowing players to play them in any order.

There are good concrete tees on the original 18 holes, with good surface and plenty of room. The original holes have good wooden tee signs with basic layout and distance, and it looks like those are in the works for the new 9. The course was easy to follow, with good flow, and never any conflict between any of the holes, it felt very secluded even with a handful of other groups playing.
Cons: Especially at the beginning of the course, it can get to feeling a bit repetitive, with a few too many short tight holes that basically feel the same. The deep 9 made up for this with some different types of holes, but the original 18 just doesn't have enough variety.

The deep 9 still needs some work, with no signs, poor tee surfaces, and some work to do to get the fairways in shape. It looks like all this is in progress though, so I don't think it'll be a con for too long.
Other Thoughts: This course is nice and short for beginners, though there are lots of tight gaps, and punishment if you stray from the fairway that might frustrate beginners. More advanced players will have fun with their short game here, and will need accuracy to get those 2s, but there isn't a whole lot of challenge or uniqueness here.

If you're in the area, this course offers something different than the other nearby courses, and is worth a stop. Don't drive out of your way just for this one, but put it on your list for your Flip City trip.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.