Whitehall, MI 
Whitehall Township DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 161ft.   3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
The signage pointing players to the first tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 This One WIll Get You

5+    11/22/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: adidas1986
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I remember when I first played this course I really didn't think much of it. I was already hooked on playing at Flip City that was the only place I wanted to play. But the more I played this course the more it grew on me and I wanted to play this course almost as much as I wanted to play out at Flip. This is a good course to go to and learn how to throw period because it is so wooded that if you can play this whole course without hitting a tree you are good. There is a lot of technical play on this course to try avoiding the trees when throwing, but it is a great way to play and learn. I think that is one of the reasons why this course grew on me so fast. There are no real big holes on this course, but the part of the course where it will come and get you is all the trees. All in all this is a fun course to go and play, I would recommend this course to anyone that plays.
Cons: Trees, trees and more trees. Other than that, this course is great.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 whitehall

5+    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: DiscBiscuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight, technical, cement tees, cozy
1/2 planted pine, 1/2 michigan forest
separated by powerlines.
Cons: Not very long, but your score will be
high even with having short holes.
Other Thoughts: Its a good place for teaching a lesson
on how to throw a shot you've never
thrown.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/10/2014   11/3/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course consists of three separate nine hole loops which all end at the parking lot. The Front Nine consists of narrow fairways through a pine forest, the back nine has deciduous woods, and newer 'Deep Nine' which is longer and more difficult than the main 18. The 'Deep Nine' has longer holes and one fairway (Hole 6), with new cement tees added in late 2011. Mostly mid-range play with some longer drives crossing a sandy strip with power lines. Contrary to some other reviews, a couple of holes have to some room to drive in (Holes 7 and 8 are the among the best). Main 18 hole course is an easy 75-90 minute mid-range workout with less noise and traffic than most lower Michigan courses. Hole 16 (Back Nine) has a great downhill shot through trees that has a 350 foot pathway for RHBH throwers. Sandy topography is actually a bonus compared with other muddier area courses (Branstrom, McGraft, Rycenga), with few puddles even after a recent rain. Though most holes are tightly wooded, this makes the course the best in the area in bad weather.

Marked better and easier to follow than most courses. Excellent tee pads and good baskets. Terrific volunteer work establishing easy to follow trails. Benches on all tees on Main 18 (very nice feature), as well as a few in the Deep Nine. Relative seclusion (especially the Deep Nine), free admission. Some work has gone into the Deep Nine in 2012, and more Holes connecting to the Deep Nine are rumored.
Cons: Too many tightly wooded fairways, and somewhat short overall on the main 18. Also lacks some diversity, though the course itself has unique characteristics of the area. Course is a 'slow burn' with the first two holes in particular being unimpressive, but impresses more later in the course.

Work has continued on the back nine and on other parts of the course. Maintenance and tee pads are terrific, edging the course up in rating for 2014. Though many of the holes aren't quite the caliber of a 4.0-level course, the quality of the best front and deep nine holes as well as a 27-hole experience, better water drainage and poor-weather play lift this course to the top quartile.
Other Thoughts: The best course in Muskegon county, and better than any course in Ottawa or Kent County. Kudos to Whitehall Township for creating this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy counts

5+    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: RonRoc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice cement tee pads, benches on all holes, tee markers with distances, an info box with score cards. The course is kept up nicely, no trash around, Brooms on all tee pads, It is obvious that much attention goes into keeping this place nice. The figure 8 layout is genious, you can stop back at your car if you need to after the front 9, or even just start on 10 if you want to.

Very challenging for all levels of play, bring your bag of tricks.
Cons: Tight fairways may discourage newcomers,
Other Thoughts: The layout is fantastic, you begin in tight pines and weave your way around until it opens up into a few open areas and then out of the pines and into towering Oaks with some elevation change. This course gets criticized for being short, but believe me, it plays much longer than the card reads. There are defined lanes on every hole, but if you miss them you can get into trouble. If you play here you will definitely get the opportunity to throw a variety of shots. Anyone can go out a chuck a disc as far as they can on an open course, this course makes you think and shows true skill. Great place. Kudos to Whitehall Township.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Whitehall Township DGC

1    8/24/2008   8/28/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very clean and well taken care of. The baskets and the tee boxes are in very good conditions and there is a map for the course, but it flows so nicely you don't really need one. There is a map and distance of each hole at the tee box and sometime a broom to clean of the tee pad. Also I liked that the 9th and 18th hole brought you back out to the beginning of the course, so you can play the front of back 9. It is very wooded so if you like tight shots and threading the needled this is a good course for you.
Cons: Not a lot of open drives from the tee box. There are also a lot of trees so most of you shots have to be very accurate. None of the holes are above 400 ft long, there mostly short hole through wooded areas. I like to see a little most variety in the holes, but I think they did the best they could with the land they had. Maybe clear out some more trees so your drive is a little easier.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course and I would play it again if I was in the area. It is a great par 3 course, very clean and well maintained. I almost got an ACE on 15; it is 200ft strait shot hole through some tight trees. I hit the chains and the disc just out. For that I will never forget this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 sandy pine forest

4/29/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: Portablewalrus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice looking course, close to lake Michigan and is not usually crowed. It has a very "northern" feel, so if you like to travel and play this is a good one. It's also close to Ludington and Grand Rapids which have some nice courses too.
Cons: No good for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Lots of mid- distance holes that are pretty heavily
wooded. Strategy is rewarded.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the woods

8/25/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Attractive wooded scenery, mostly pine. Good variety of holes for both the lefty and the righty, long and short, some elevation changes on the back nine
Cons: like many a Michigan course, a bit too heavily wooded, which makes precision a priority and luck your best ally

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.