Disc Golf Store
Irvine, CA 
Deerfield Community Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: ogeesus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: great park for practice and beginners, this is where i learned to play.
safe community
clearly marked teepads and well kept course, trashcans everywhere.
a few low ceilihg shots as well as some open huck holes.
fun to go around 2-4 times, each lap takes about 20-30 minutes.
unofficial alternate tees for each hole can add some difficulty and length for more experienced throwers.
Cons: its at a community park so other park-goers can obstruct play sometimes.
some holes are really short,
not much variety.
not-420 or alcohol friendly.
not for full day of disc golf.
hole 5 had the teepad moved because people were hitting parked cars, now the hole is like 150 feet.
Other Thoughts: fun little course, and the only one in south orange county, great for practicing and beginners, safe environment, you see some of the same people there all the time.

but if you are looking for a full day of disc golf i suggest looking elsewhere, its a shame that this is the only course in south orange county.

Fun but busy

1    11/10/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept city park. The fairways are grassy with some nice mature trees. Several of the holes have low ceilings to navigate, and most have enough trees in place to keep things interesting. The course isn't very long, but it does a nice job of using the available trees to encourage a variety of different shots. The tees are a mix of nice rubber pads and marked areas on the sidewalk, both offer perfectly fine footing. The park is really nicely kept, and the signage is plenty adequate to follow the course.
Cons: There are a ton of safety issues here. Most of the shots play along or over walking paths, and they seem to get a pretty good amount of traffic. There are also several spots where the next tee is in the line of fire from the previous hole. The holes are very short, this is just a putter course for most experienced players. There are some places where the course encourages different lines but you can still get by with nothing but hyzers.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable and fun, with reasonable lengths and enough trees to make some cool holes. Experienced players won't find the course very challenging, but it is a fun quick putter round if it's not a time when the walking path is busy. I wouldn't recommend going out of your way for this one, but it does have some holes worth throwing if you're nearby.

Good little local course.

5+    9/17/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Nice baskets. Lots of shade and grass. Restrooms and drinking water available. Good for working on your short game. Aces are there for the taking. My first time out I couldnt locate the first tee, a nice gentleman working in the community center pointed me in the right direction
Cons: Pedestrian traffic comes into play, as well as parked cars on the side of a few holes. Tee pads are marked sidewalks and also a few rubber mats.
Other Thoughts: Small course in the middle of a neighborhood with short holes. Precision shots needed. Is nice to play a small course once in a while. I've played during the week before noon and it wasn't too crowded, I got thru 2 rounds of 9 in about an hour. No driver needed, except for maybe the last hole. Mostly mid rangers and putters needed. Was for sure worth playing, and I'll be back. I just read TheSinators review with the modified 9 hole longer layout that I'd like to try out. Do remember, because this course is at a park/community center, there's other people there who know nothing about disc golf, so try to be patient while sharing the park.

Nice for a quick round!

1    3/12/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful park setting. It is slightly wooded and with slight elevation with enough technical elements to make it challenging. It is indeed a pitch and putt type of course, but that's okay in my book. I met a couple of friendly locals who were happy to show the course and the long version (see Sinator's review)- which really made the course a lot more fun and challenging.
It is absolutely perfect for beginners. More advanced players will be kicking themselves if they are not driving within the putting circle on most holes.
Cons: Though it wasn't a major problem the day I played, the other park users can delay your game, as many (including the school kids nearby) are oblivious to disc golf.

Many fairways overlap, yet many of the Discers immediately behind us threw their drives toward us without waiting for us to clear out.
Other Thoughts: I came here to avoid the crowds at Huntington which I've heard about. This place was very uncrowded for a Tuesday afternoon - though the locals I played with said it was unusual for the park to be so quiet.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/5/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First course i ever played (glad it was, and would recommend it to new players any day)
-Some semi technical holes
-Awesome safari layout
-Reasonably cool locals
-Discs available for rent from park staff
-Disc golf course wraps around outside of park, there isn't much interference from other park users
Cons: -Very short holes, a definite mid-range / Putter practice course
-Horrible mud on hole 6 , watch out when it's wet
-Only 9 holes, but i can't see them safely fitting in any more
-Slippery rubber teepads (Thankfully you won't need a run up on any of the holes with teepads)
Other Thoughts: Not a course to go out of your way to play , i work in Irvine so i play when i get off before 5 pm, a GREAT place to pratice your mid range drives and putter shots , biggest hole can't be much over 250 FT.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring the whole family

2-4    11/24/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical neighborhood nine hole course. Course does a great job of blending into a multi-use park.

It is a very short course with short holes. Great set up for first time players including kids. Stroller friendly.

I would be happy to have this course in my neighborhood as a opportunity to practice and have a place to take newer players.

Easy to navigate even without a map. There were nice tee signs on each hole. I was shown the unofficial "long" tees. The long tees added a nice change and challenge to the holes.

Regular tees are made with rubber mats or use existing sidewalks. "Long" tees use sidewalks and parking lots.

I was amazed at the number of players here. They were mostly new players and families. I saw tots and grandparents.

Nice full service restrooms close to the first tee.

Cons: Nothing really negative to say about this course. It would be great to have in my neighborhood, but not really worth the drive to play from out of town.

This is a short course in a multi-use park.

Other Thoughts: It is an average nine hole course for your average neighborhood park and the rating reflects this.

Park is in nice area. I felt safe playing alone.

Please be respectful when the park is in use by others. There is a lot of traffic for such a small park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but try my alternate tee suggestions

5+    6/1/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If viewed as a Par 18, this course isn't bad. When played from alternate tees (par 27--see below), it's even better. In fact, this course has really grown on me. Beautiful trees and well-manicured grass provides a great setting. The trees provide a decent enough challenge--especially when compared to the openness of the major courses in the area (HB, LaMir, and ElDo's back 9).

I like the putting circle on #5. Simple, but cool.
Cons: Can get pretty crowded, both with non-DGers and DGers (holes can get backed up so much so that playing through is not really an option).

Extremely short--unless playing as safari or "from the blue tees". Nearly every hole can be played with a putter. In fact, when I don't play it from the tees listed below, I consider it Par 18.
Other Thoughts: [NOTE: Most of these "blue tees" can only be used if you are at least a hole ahead of the player/group behind you.] These alternate tees make for a decently challenging round of Par 27:

#1 - From the original tee pads, walk back until you hit the sidewalk. Teeing off from here adds many challenges: more length, more trees, and some really tough elevation challenge (you have to get it over the initial hump--where the original tee pad is--but under the tree canopy). Very tough window to drive through.

#2 - Basically, go to the hill on the other side of the playground next to the teepad for #1, and tee off from the hill. Adds much length and some decent elevation.

#3 - Option A (nice challenge): There's a walking path that goes around the school's big recess field. Walk 100 feet or so east down this path until you get between two really tall trees. Drive from there and consider anything right of the drainage concrete path thing as OB. Adds a lot of length and some challenge.

#3 - Option B: from the other side of the hill next to the school's basketball courts.

#4 - From the original tee pad, walk back as far as you can without getting too close to the pin for #2.

#5 - Immediately after leaving the basket from #4, tee off for #5. This brings a lot of length and some tree canopy into play.

#6 - From #5's basket, walk towards the jogging path, but go back a little and tee off from the concrete spot under the tree. Adds even more distance and makes it tougher to get around the trees.

#7 - This one is only possible to do if there is no one behind you. From #6's basket, walk back past the #7 tee on the path until you get to the light pole. If you tee off from the east side of that pole (on the grass), it makes for a nice challenge in trying to drive under the tree branch, but over the slight rise in elevation.

#8 (MY FAVORITE) - Walk across Deerwood Rd and tee off from on top of the little hill between Deerwood and Irvine Center Dr. This elevation also makes it really tough to fit under the tree branches.

#9 - From #8's basket, walk west and tee off from the back path. There is a small driving window that goes under the branches.

Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game Practice

1    12/8/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a clean park. and there are a couple of challenging holes (1 and 8). This was nice for some practice on my short game. It also helped a bit with depth perception and picking the right disc, and throwing with the right strength.

For you "regular" Disc Golfers, the bathrooms are really clean.
Cons: Not a challenging course. There are not too many hazards. It is lightly wooded but easily manageable.

Most courses I play on, the other golfers are mellow, sociable and easy to approach for advice or conversation. But this was not so on this day. It could have been a fluke, but it left a bad first impression.

This park is also used as a public daycare recreation center. Although the staff is very friendly and helpful, there are many kids running through the course at any given time. To be more specific, I played this at 1:00pm on a Thursday and it must have been recess time; rug-rats all over the place.
Other Thoughts: I would most likely not schedule a return to this course, unless someone invited me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good, SHORT, and Irvine!

5+    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: big six
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I overheard a group of younger kids complaining about the course as they walked through nicely manicured grass among nice mature trees, while carrying their parks and rec loaned discs..... I told them, " for what this is, and where this is, it's perfect"
Good signage at each hole
Distances may be off, as within the last week or so they have moved the #5 tee closer to the hole

nice manicured grass
large mature trees
many holes are a bit technical, offering a few trees and multiple approach choices

Parks and rec center building on site that will loan discs for those that don't have their own

Bathrooms, (always a plus)

Good for beginners and younger players that havn't developed a nice drive yet

I think this course is doing a lot to promote the sport
Cons: SHORT!
I thnk the longest is 266???

As with any course set in a public park, lots of foot traffic ant various other park users

although sign are posted for them to be aware that disc golf is in play, most are oblivious and it's hard to bite your tongue, when the oblivious family decides to start a soccer match in the fairway of the 9th hole

Don't bring beer, smoke, or cigs.... it's Irvine and you be damned suprised how quick the police responce time is to a "family " park. Cigs in the parking lot is ok

Tee pads are inconsistent
There are a couple rubber mats, and a couple marks on the path. Most not big enough for a long walkup, and often times sandy, dirty makes for unsure footing

Hole 1, 5.6.7 play along the street, and people park right there, so bad shots could do damage, be aware

Jams up a bit at the basket for 6, as it is near the tee for seven as well as the tee for 9

Can get crowded, as does every course, and with the other park traffic, a wait often occurs. Sometimes, just a polite explanation of what you are about to do, will send a family picnic off to the side for your tee off, be polite, and don't be a dick, some people really have no idea there is even a course in their park.
Other Thoughts: Like I told the kids griping about the beautiful park they get to play this awesome game in...... it's great for what it is. I prefer longer holes, as I would assume most veteran players do, but when you just wanna throw and you are in the area, perfect spot for potential aces on many holes. I go there to work on my short game, lord knows we can all improve that. Fun for the younger kids, I take my 6 year old and he winds up with me and we let loose. The people playing are very friendly as most are happy to have a course so close. Watch for roaming groups of angry Irvine teenagers! haha, they have no idea how good they have it. Big arms and long drivers will definintely not enjjoy this course, but it's good to pad the stats every once in a while. This course is bringina bit of awreness to the community, which is good for the sport. Saw an elderly couple playing.... I mean 70's at least, along side suburbanite family of four, along side some pros shooting for eagles. All in all, when you can't make it to La mirada or Long Beach, but you have that itch to throw, perfect for what it is

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Trip to Irvine

5+    6/11/2010   4/11/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first time I played this course was when it was the 18 hole layout. The course was really fun but not all targets were baskets and some holes shared baskets. I came back a year later while visiting family that live in Irvine and played the course several times, my map I had was much different so we went inside the parks building. A huge pro to this course was the staff. They were super helpful in pointing people in the right direction and giving very nice easy to read maps. They also had discs to borrow. This was a good play.
Cons: Some cons that I recall off the top of my head were there was a lot of people walking around getting in the way of the disc golfers. One of the tees is right next to a playground and others are right a long main streets. On hole 6 my cousin threw his disc and it hit a garage door of a near by house. We went to get the disc and the old lady who lived there had taken our disc hostage. We demanded it back but she said she had taken many discs and frisbees over the last few months and she was not budging. I pulled my phone out and said I was gonna call the Po and I told her she was a thief and she gave it back. But the people around the course are not too disc golfer friendly.
Other Thoughts: Over all pretty good course, hole 7 is a great Ace chance, I hit the basket twice and chains once, in that same day we saw two people ace it as well. I will play this course again but only because it is two minutes from my cousins house.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.