Irvine, CA 
Deerfield Community Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Warning sign on the ground by hole #6/#7



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/5/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First course i ever played (glad it was, and would recommend it to new players any day)
-Some semi technical holes
-Awesome safari layout
-Reasonably cool locals
-Discs available for rent from park staff
-Disc golf course wraps around outside of park, there isn't much interference from other park users
Cons: -Very short holes, a definite mid-range / Putter practice course
-Horrible mud on hole 6 , watch out when it's wet
-Only 9 holes, but i can't see them safely fitting in any more
-Slippery rubber teepads (Thankfully you won't need a run up on any of the holes with teepads)
Other Thoughts: Not a course to go out of your way to play , i work in Irvine so i play when i get off before 5 pm, a GREAT place to pratice your mid range drives and putter shots , biggest hole can't be much over 250 FT.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game Practice

1    12/8/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a clean park. and there are a couple of challenging holes (1 and 8). This was nice for some practice on my short game. It also helped a bit with depth perception and picking the right disc, and throwing with the right strength.

For you "regular" Disc Golfers, the bathrooms are really clean.
Cons: Not a challenging course. There are not too many hazards. It is lightly wooded but easily manageable.

Most courses I play on, the other golfers are mellow, sociable and easy to approach for advice or conversation. But this was not so on this day. It could have been a fluke, but it left a bad first impression.

This park is also used as a public daycare recreation center. Although the staff is very friendly and helpful, there are many kids running through the course at any given time. To be more specific, I played this at 1:00pm on a Thursday and it must have been recess time; rug-rats all over the place.
Other Thoughts: I would most likely not schedule a return to this course, unless someone invited me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    7/9/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This is a nice well maintained course.
-The holes are easy to find, and flow counterclockwise around the outside of the park.
-Good use of space and tress (as good as it could be)
-well maintained baskets
-all wholes either teed off from rubber tees, or cement
-quiet on the weekend
-rentals available
-pleanty of shade and facilities
-good signs
Cons: -It's only a 9 hole, and the holes are relatively short.
-Not very technical
-not very difficult.
Other Thoughts: This was a warm up round before we hit the course at hunninginton. don't expect much. it's a nice little course to play on the way home from work or something, but as far as courses go, the only thing this place is how well maintained the grounds are. This is not a destination course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Neighborhood Course

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice little neighborhood course with good signage, accurate distances, and quality DGA baskets. This is a great course for introducing players to the sport. Good location for a quick round with a putter or your favorite midrange disc. Tees were either on the concrete sidewalk or rubber mats if the tee was in the grassy area. The park was a beautiful, well manicured location for a neighborhood course.
Cons:
Short holes. Not much shot variety, every hole can be played with a RHBH hyzer shot. Multi-use park area leads to a lot of interference from non-disc golfers.
Other Thoughts:
This course was surprisingly crowded for such a short little course, there were four or five other groups playing the same time I was there. Do not try to play this course at 2:30pm on a weekday as the adjacent school lets out at that time and the park is flooded with kids and parents walking the kids home. I didn't see the previous layout of this course but it seems like the redesign was a good idea. Certainly not a destination course and not worthy of consideration for a serious round of golf. But not a bad course for what it is.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Sweet

5+    5/3/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all hats off to the designers of this course. For a small multi-use park they managed to fit in 9 holes making good use of all available obstacles. Even with the short length the course offers a variety of holes and forces you to throw a few anhyzers now and then.

The park is kept in pristine condition and has all the standard amenities: signs, tee pads, restrooms, etc. The biggest plus is that this park is never crowded. You can easily play 9 holes in under 30 minutes at a moderate pace, making it an excellent practice course.
Cons: Short, short, short. Multiple holes under 200' and nothing close to 300'. Lots of kids, joggers and other park users that are oblivious to the fact that there is a disc golf course (remember to be courteous, the course is here provisionally),
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to introduce your friends to disc golf and to use as a practice course.

I am writing to the Parks Dept. to try and keep this course here. Please let them know if you like this course, or at the very least try to be courteous to other park users so we can keep it here.

**Update 8/11**
Hole 4 basket moved to super short and Hole 5 tee moved up out into the open. I understand that they were moved because neighbors were pissed but this makes both holes much much easier. Hole 5 was the toughest of the old layout and now they are both short,wide open and boring.

PLEASE DON'T DRINK OR SMOKE POT ON THIS COURSE!!! Apparently the neighbors are looking for a reason to shut this course down and have the cops on speed dial. Normally I could care less if you do either but be advised this is not the place. For a lot of people this is the closest course so don't ruin it for us.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Fun= Good Quick Fix

1    2/23/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent teepads (sidewalks and rubber pads). Beautiful new Chainstars. Trashcans throughout and a clean restroom at the parking lot. Very well maintained park. Nice teesign and easy to follow and navigate. Good flow to the course. Some tight shots. Fun for ace runs.

One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there
Cons: Really short. Can get crowded. Gotta wait for people on paths. Nothing really to gripe about, just a a short, bland course
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing, shot a ton of birdies and missed a ton too. If I lived here I would play here, but I don't so you figure it out...

No favorite hole to report here

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.