Irvine, CA 
Deerfield Community Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #2 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice for a quick round!

1    3/12/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful park setting. It is slightly wooded and with slight elevation with enough technical elements to make it challenging. It is indeed a pitch and putt type of course, but that's okay in my book. I met a couple of friendly locals who were happy to show the course and the long version (see Sinator's review)- which really made the course a lot more fun and challenging.
It is absolutely perfect for beginners. More advanced players will be kicking themselves if they are not driving within the putting circle on most holes.
Cons: Though it wasn't a major problem the day I played, the other park users can delay your game, as many (including the school kids nearby) are oblivious to disc golf.

Many fairways overlap, yet many of the Discers immediately behind us threw their drives toward us without waiting for us to clear out.
Other Thoughts: I came here to avoid the crowds at Huntington which I've heard about. This place was very uncrowded for a Tuesday afternoon - though the locals I played with said it was unusual for the park to be so quiet.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring the whole family

2-4    11/24/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 241  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical neighborhood nine hole course. Course does a great job of blending into a multi-use park.

It is a very short course with short holes. Great set up for first time players including kids. Stroller friendly.

I would be happy to have this course in my neighborhood as a opportunity to practice and have a place to take newer players.

Easy to navigate even without a map. There were nice tee signs on each hole. I was shown the unofficial "long" tees. The long tees added a nice change and challenge to the holes.

Regular tees are made with rubber mats or use existing sidewalks. "Long" tees use sidewalks and parking lots.

I was amazed at the number of players here. They were mostly new players and families. I saw tots and grandparents.

Nice full service restrooms close to the first tee.

Cons: Nothing really negative to say about this course. It would be great to have in my neighborhood, but not really worth the drive to play from out of town.

This is a short course in a multi-use park.

Other Thoughts: It is an average nine hole course for your average neighborhood park and the rating reflects this.

Park is in nice area. I felt safe playing alone.

Please be respectful when the park is in use by others. There is a lot of traffic for such a small park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/23/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees
pretty nice park
they have an "around the world" kinda set up at one of the holes if you get tired of playing reg disk golf
signs are easy to read
Cons: there are people that walk along the perimeter of the park, kind of get in the way every once in a while
Other Thoughts: this is a nice park. fairly easy but nice. On the way out, we were asked to fill out a "survey" type thing because apparently they are trying to take this disk golf course out. =[

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lil 9 Holer In A Clean Park!

1    4/4/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deerfield Community Park is your typical little city park containing slightly rolling terrain, a sand volleyball court, big toy play area and a pool. It's has some lovely old California Sycamore trees at the one end which make # 8 an interesting throw. The basket is protected by three of these beautiful trees. The course is the perfect little practice course. Bring your mid-range and putter! It has nice informative signs. The pads are either rubber mats or marked on sidewalks with a simple little non-obtrusive green icons. Note to Ford Park in Redlands-Put these on your sidewalks. It has nice numbered DGA baskets. The course loops around the park starting and finishing near the little recreation office. # 5 has the nine little putting stones circling it so you could practice there.
Cons: I gave this course a 2.5 with says Decent/Typical and that's exactly what it is. I really don't see any cons. You may have to be careful of other park users at certain times.
Other Thoughts: # 3 was kind of an interesting hole. The basket is in the corner between a building and a tennis court fence. It's 198 ft. roller shot under the trees. Just roll your disc into that corner and putt for a birdie!

Another "What you see is what you get" course. It's not a destination course. It's just a fun little city 9 hole practice course. If I lived close, I'd run over at all hours for a quick practice round or to try and increase my meager career ACE count. Enjoy it!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First hole is near parking lot, course loops back for smooth play of multiple rounds.
-Logical 9 hole layout. More or less a counter-clockwise circle around unused portents of park.
-Numbered DGA baskets are all easy to see. No blinds.
-Trees require you to think at least a little bit about your throw.
-A few wide open drives add to the variety.
-Clean tee signs and markings on sidewalk designating where to throw and possible OB's.
-Rubber tees when they are not located on the sidewalk.
-Clean bathrooms & drinking fountains are never too far away.
-LIGHTS! (mostly)
Cons: -Some tees are VERY close to the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: This course plays a counter-clockwise loop around the border of a neighborhood park. Most holes incorporate enough trees and moderate rolling hills to keep the course interesting. All holes are played on very well kept grass.

The park was actually quite busy with golfers when we stopped by. Perhaps its because this is the only 9 hole course in Southern-ish Orange County worth playing at. Families and people of all ages were playing. Great casual vibe. Course is definitely easy enough for the beginner but still fun for those that know what they are doing.

About half of the tees are very close to the previous basket. Like, 15 feet BEHIND it. Generally the people behind us did not start playing their hole until we finished driving for ours. Not only are they close, but they are in areas that a disc would typically land on a good long throw.

I did not see any indicators of it, but I have no doubt that there is a monster course layout here. The flow of the park and locations of the baskets make this a versatile area for safari golf.

The last three holes and tees play close to each other, but not so close that anybody is in the way. We actually had some good conversation with the very friendly locals. They are proud of their course.

While not particularly freeway friendly, if you have a thing for checking out 9 hole courses, this is one to check out. Very well manicured park, good flow, good vibe. We should have played a few more rounds here instead of checking out nearby Frontier Park. Will definitely go back if in the area.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little 9-holer

2-4    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent rubber/sidewalk tees. Grippy when wet even.
-Nine nice DGA baskets, all in good shape, all accurately numbered in bold, bright orange numbers
-Very clean park setting
-Restrooms and drinking fountains on site
-Course flow is as logical as it gets. Very easy to find your way around.
-Strategic use of trees as a ceiling and as obstacles
-Accurate signs
Cons: -For golfers used to longer holes, this course will feel cramped. I do the whole course with an Aviar and a Core. Fun to play and will make your short and mid game better, but remember to leave the drivers at home.
-Some of the baskets are right on top of the following tee. Could be dangerous.
-A couple weird sign orientations. Looking at the signs, you have to spin around 180 degrees to look at the basket. I can't explain why, but it bothered me. :/
Other Thoughts: This neat little 9-holer in Irvine is a great place to work on your short game. The design centers around the trees, as there is very little elevation change. The designers couldn't have done a much better job with the piece of land.
Never many people there when I have played it and you can easily do the whole 9 in a half hour.
Great place to spend an afternoon golfing in the sun with many an ace opportunity!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all

2-4    6/11/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 91  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed and nicely maintained. Clearly marked and easy to navigate. Concrete tees. Enough obstacles to make it interesting and reasonably challenging. Free. Playgrounds, restrooms and other facilities. Nice variety of holes.
Cons: Short. Some tees are on the walkway. Park is well used by walkers/joggers/families.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this little course. It has recently been redesigned and updated, and it shows. The park is small, but it makes great use of the available space. It's nice when disc golf can co-exist with other activities in a neighborhood park like this.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.