Irvine, CA 
Deerfield Community Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: ogeesus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: great park for practice and beginners, this is where i learned to play.
safe community
clearly marked teepads and well kept course, trashcans everywhere.
a few low ceilihg shots as well as some open huck holes.
fun to go around 2-4 times, each lap takes about 20-30 minutes.
unofficial alternate tees for each hole can add some difficulty and length for more experienced throwers.
Cons: its at a community park so other park-goers can obstruct play sometimes.
some holes are really short,
not much variety.
not-420 or alcohol friendly.
not for full day of disc golf.
hole 5 had the teepad moved because people were hitting parked cars, now the hole is like 150 feet.
Other Thoughts: fun little course, and the only one in south orange county, great for practicing and beginners, safe environment, you see some of the same people there all the time.

but if you are looking for a full day of disc golf i suggest looking elsewhere, its a shame that this is the only course in south orange county.

Good little local course.

5+    9/17/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Nice baskets. Lots of shade and grass. Restrooms and drinking water available. Good for working on your short game. Aces are there for the taking. My first time out I couldnt locate the first tee, a nice gentleman working in the community center pointed me in the right direction
Cons: Pedestrian traffic comes into play, as well as parked cars on the side of a few holes. Tee pads are marked sidewalks and also a few rubber mats.
Other Thoughts: Small course in the middle of a neighborhood with short holes. Precision shots needed. Is nice to play a small course once in a while. I've played during the week before noon and it wasn't too crowded, I got thru 2 rounds of 9 in about an hour. No driver needed, except for maybe the last hole. Mostly mid rangers and putters needed. Was for sure worth playing, and I'll be back. I just read TheSinators review with the modified 9 hole longer layout that I'd like to try out. Do remember, because this course is at a park/community center, there's other people there who know nothing about disc golf, so try to be patient while sharing the park.

 Short, but try my alternate tee suggestions

5+    6/1/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If viewed as a Par 18, this course isn't bad. When played from alternate tees (par 27--see below), it's even better. In fact, this course has really grown on me. Beautiful trees and well-manicured grass provides a great setting. The trees provide a decent enough challenge--especially when compared to the openness of the major courses in the area (HB, LaMir, and ElDo's back 9).

I like the putting circle on #5. Simple, but cool.
Cons: Can get pretty crowded, both with non-DGers and DGers (holes can get backed up so much so that playing through is not really an option).

Extremely short--unless playing as safari or "from the blue tees". Nearly every hole can be played with a putter. In fact, when I don't play it from the tees listed below, I consider it Par 18.
Other Thoughts: [NOTE: Most of these "blue tees" can only be used if you are at least a hole ahead of the player/group behind you.] These alternate tees make for a decently challenging round of Par 27:

#1 - From the original tee pads, walk back until you hit the sidewalk. Teeing off from here adds many challenges: more length, more trees, and some really tough elevation challenge (you have to get it over the initial hump--where the original tee pad is--but under the tree canopy). Very tough window to drive through.

#2 - Basically, go to the hill on the other side of the playground next to the teepad for #1, and tee off from the hill. Adds much length and some decent elevation.

#3 - Option A (nice challenge): There's a walking path that goes around the school's big recess field. Walk 100 feet or so east down this path until you get between two really tall trees. Drive from there and consider anything right of the drainage concrete path thing as OB. Adds a lot of length and some challenge.

#3 - Option B: from the other side of the hill next to the school's basketball courts.

#4 - From the original tee pad, walk back as far as you can without getting too close to the pin for #2.

#5 - Immediately after leaving the basket from #4, tee off for #5. This brings a lot of length and some tree canopy into play.

#6 - From #5's basket, walk towards the jogging path, but go back a little and tee off from the concrete spot under the tree. Adds even more distance and makes it tougher to get around the trees.

#7 - This one is only possible to do if there is no one behind you. From #6's basket, walk back past the #7 tee on the path until you get to the light pole. If you tee off from the east side of that pole (on the grass), it makes for a nice challenge in trying to drive under the tree branch, but over the slight rise in elevation.

#8 (MY FAVORITE) - Walk across Deerwood Rd and tee off from on top of the little hill between Deerwood and Irvine Center Dr. This elevation also makes it really tough to fit under the tree branches.

#9 - From #8's basket, walk west and tee off from the back path. There is a small driving window that goes under the branches.

Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good, SHORT, and Irvine!

5+    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: big six
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I overheard a group of younger kids complaining about the course as they walked through nicely manicured grass among nice mature trees, while carrying their parks and rec loaned discs..... I told them, " for what this is, and where this is, it's perfect"
Good signage at each hole
Distances may be off, as within the last week or so they have moved the #5 tee closer to the hole

nice manicured grass
large mature trees
many holes are a bit technical, offering a few trees and multiple approach choices

Parks and rec center building on site that will loan discs for those that don't have their own

Bathrooms, (always a plus)

Good for beginners and younger players that havn't developed a nice drive yet

I think this course is doing a lot to promote the sport
Cons: SHORT!
I thnk the longest is 266???

As with any course set in a public park, lots of foot traffic ant various other park users

although sign are posted for them to be aware that disc golf is in play, most are oblivious and it's hard to bite your tongue, when the oblivious family decides to start a soccer match in the fairway of the 9th hole

Don't bring beer, smoke, or cigs.... it's Irvine and you be damned suprised how quick the police responce time is to a "family " park. Cigs in the parking lot is ok

Tee pads are inconsistent
There are a couple rubber mats, and a couple marks on the path. Most not big enough for a long walkup, and often times sandy, dirty makes for unsure footing

Hole 1, 5.6.7 play along the street, and people park right there, so bad shots could do damage, be aware

Jams up a bit at the basket for 6, as it is near the tee for seven as well as the tee for 9

Can get crowded, as does every course, and with the other park traffic, a wait often occurs. Sometimes, just a polite explanation of what you are about to do, will send a family picnic off to the side for your tee off, be polite, and don't be a dick, some people really have no idea there is even a course in their park.
Other Thoughts: Like I told the kids griping about the beautiful park they get to play this awesome game in...... it's great for what it is. I prefer longer holes, as I would assume most veteran players do, but when you just wanna throw and you are in the area, perfect spot for potential aces on many holes. I go there to work on my short game, lord knows we can all improve that. Fun for the younger kids, I take my 6 year old and he winds up with me and we let loose. The people playing are very friendly as most are happy to have a course so close. Watch for roaming groups of angry Irvine teenagers! haha, they have no idea how good they have it. Big arms and long drivers will definintely not enjjoy this course, but it's good to pad the stats every once in a while. This course is bringina bit of awreness to the community, which is good for the sport. Saw an elderly couple playing.... I mean 70's at least, along side suburbanite family of four, along side some pros shooting for eagles. All in all, when you can't make it to La mirada or Long Beach, but you have that itch to throw, perfect for what it is

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/16/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: scootertrash
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Since it is a short course it is great too practice your midrange shots and work on accuracy. The park is a very nice with good facilities. As mentioned hole 5 has the pavers in a circle around the basket to practice your putting is a great idea!
Cons: I played in the middle of the day on a Monday and the park got busy when the school that is right next door let out for gym and the kids were using the walking path for a jogging track. I know it is a public park but just something to be aware of.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Recently reopened!

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was pulled out due to somebody griping about discs flying too close to kids or something like that.

Now it's been reinstated, and here's what it's like.

Nine holes, groomed grass, some rubber tees (most just marked on concrete walkways), brand new DGA baskets, perimeter warning signs all over the place.

This is an exceptional practice course. The holes are all < 300 feet with a couple < 200. Some trees to negotiate, no elevation to speak of, a few buildings and other OB areas. Bring your midrange discs and work on your short game.

One "special feature" is a set of bricks embedded in the ground around the #5 basket, all at varying distances. You putt around the circle, working your way out to about 20'.
Cons: A few places where fairways cross walkways, so watch out for non-players, especially on hole #4 where people can appear from behind the tennis courts with no warning at all.
Other Thoughts: There's a community center of some sort there with restrooms and so forth. I only saw one person there but he was very helpful and friendly. Lots of signs around explaining the rules of the game - it looks like the community wants the course there after all :-)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.