Irvine, CA 
Deerfield Community Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    2/23/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees
pretty nice park
they have an "around the world" kinda set up at one of the holes if you get tired of playing reg disk golf
signs are easy to read
Cons: there are people that walk along the perimeter of the park, kind of get in the way every once in a while
Other Thoughts: this is a nice park. fairly easy but nice. On the way out, we were asked to fill out a "survey" type thing because apparently they are trying to take this disk golf course out. =[

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Surprised!

1    2/10/2011   2/14/2011
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 134  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical
Great use of park
actually fun course with just a putter and midrange
very clean and great neighborhood
Cons: it is short...
School right next to park
lots of pedestrian traffic
Other Thoughts: I was very surprised to enjoy this course as much as I did. I sure it might get boring all the time, but I wish this park was right next to my house. Great use of 9 holes and the terrain.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go out of your way

5+    9/16/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: throwmadisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: They did a great job at the space they have, short holes mean here come the aces.Good baskets, good tees, extremely easy to follow. Trees provide for a little thought to your throw. That's all you can really say about this course.
Cons: Its Irvine, CA, I shouldn't have to say much more past that. Other park users have no clue what is going on, they climb in trees and do not listen to any type of warnings of a disc flying straight at them. This course has come under fire in the past because of the brainless people that use this park for everything other than disc golf.

The people that work at this park are nothing but Cop callers. I warn you now DO NOT DRINK OR SMOKE POT ON THIS COURSE!!! I have seen multiple times the workers ask what people are drinking EVEN WHEN THEY ARE DRINKING OUT OF A PEPSI CAN ETC. I play here all the time because it is local to me and I can't drive to the real courses everyday. We have had the cops come to harass us on multiple occasions claiming they received calls of people drinking etc in the park, and what do you know..they never find what they were called for.

So bottom line is..other park users almost ruin this course, employees of the park are out of control, it is extremely short. A TON OF BEGINNERS COME HERE IN HUGE GROUPS SOME TIMES. Newer people don't really pay attention and skip holes thinking they are playing the correct course.
Other Thoughts: More cons than pros. Its a solid course, its very short. Just don't go out of your way to come here. Go play HB or La Mirada.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    7/9/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This is a nice well maintained course.
-The holes are easy to find, and flow counterclockwise around the outside of the park.
-Good use of space and tress (as good as it could be)
-well maintained baskets
-all wholes either teed off from rubber tees, or cement
-quiet on the weekend
-rentals available
-pleanty of shade and facilities
-good signs
Cons: -It's only a 9 hole, and the holes are relatively short.
-Not very technical
-not very difficult.
Other Thoughts: This was a warm up round before we hit the course at hunninginton. don't expect much. it's a nice little course to play on the way home from work or something, but as far as courses go, the only thing this place is how well maintained the grounds are. This is not a destination course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Neighborhood Course

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice little neighborhood course with good signage, accurate distances, and quality DGA baskets. This is a great course for introducing players to the sport. Good location for a quick round with a putter or your favorite midrange disc. Tees were either on the concrete sidewalk or rubber mats if the tee was in the grassy area. The park was a beautiful, well manicured location for a neighborhood course.
Cons:
Short holes. Not much shot variety, every hole can be played with a RHBH hyzer shot. Multi-use park area leads to a lot of interference from non-disc golfers.
Other Thoughts:
This course was surprisingly crowded for such a short little course, there were four or five other groups playing the same time I was there. Do not try to play this course at 2:30pm on a weekday as the adjacent school lets out at that time and the park is flooded with kids and parents walking the kids home. I didn't see the previous layout of this course but it seems like the redesign was a good idea. Certainly not a destination course and not worthy of consideration for a serious round of golf. But not a bad course for what it is.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Sweet

5+    5/3/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all hats off to the designers of this course. For a small multi-use park they managed to fit in 9 holes making good use of all available obstacles. Even with the short length the course offers a variety of holes and forces you to throw a few anhyzers now and then.

The park is kept in pristine condition and has all the standard amenities: signs, tee pads, restrooms, etc. The biggest plus is that this park is never crowded. You can easily play 9 holes in under 30 minutes at a moderate pace, making it an excellent practice course.
Cons: Short, short, short. Multiple holes under 200' and nothing close to 300'. Lots of kids, joggers and other park users that are oblivious to the fact that there is a disc golf course (remember to be courteous, the course is here provisionally),
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to introduce your friends to disc golf and to use as a practice course.

I am writing to the Parks Dept. to try and keep this course here. Please let them know if you like this course, or at the very least try to be courteous to other park users so we can keep it here.

**Update 8/11**
Hole 4 basket moved to super short and Hole 5 tee moved up out into the open. I understand that they were moved because neighbors were pissed but this makes both holes much much easier. Hole 5 was the toughest of the old layout and now they are both short,wide open and boring.

PLEASE DON'T DRINK OR SMOKE POT ON THIS COURSE!!! Apparently the neighbors are looking for a reason to shut this course down and have the cops on speed dial. Normally I could care less if you do either but be advised this is not the place. For a lot of people this is the closest course so don't ruin it for us.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lil 9 Holer In A Clean Park!

1    4/4/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 609  Exp: 36.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deerfield Community Park is your typical little city park containing slightly rolling terrain, a sand volleyball court, big toy play area and a pool. It's has some lovely old California Sycamore trees at the one end which make # 8 an interesting throw. The basket is protected by three of these beautiful trees. The course is the perfect little practice course. Bring your mid-range and putter! It has nice informative signs. The pads are either rubber mats or marked on sidewalks with a simple little non-obtrusive green icons. Note to Ford Park in Redlands-Put these on your sidewalks. It has nice numbered DGA baskets. The course loops around the park starting and finishing near the little recreation office. # 5 has the nine little putting stones circling it so you could practice there.
Cons: I gave this course a 2.5 with says Decent/Typical and that's exactly what it is. I really don't see any cons. You may have to be careful of other park users at certain times.
Other Thoughts: # 3 was kind of an interesting hole. The basket is in the corner between a building and a tennis court fence. It's 198 ft. roller shot under the trees. Just roll your disc into that corner and putt for a birdie!

Another "What you see is what you get" course. It's not a destination course. It's just a fun little city 9 hole practice course. If I lived close, I'd run over at all hours for a quick practice round or to try and increase my meager career ACE count. Enjoy it!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Fun= Good Quick Fix

1    2/23/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent teepads (sidewalks and rubber pads). Beautiful new Chainstars. Trashcans throughout and a clean restroom at the parking lot. Very well maintained park. Nice teesign and easy to follow and navigate. Good flow to the course. Some tight shots. Fun for ace runs.

One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there
Cons: Really short. Can get crowded. Gotta wait for people on paths. Nothing really to gripe about, just a a short, bland course
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing, shot a ton of birdies and missed a ton too. If I lived here I would play here, but I don't so you figure it out...

No favorite hole to report here

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First hole is near parking lot, course loops back for smooth play of multiple rounds.
-Logical 9 hole layout. More or less a counter-clockwise circle around unused portents of park.
-Numbered DGA baskets are all easy to see. No blinds.
-Trees require you to think at least a little bit about your throw.
-A few wide open drives add to the variety.
-Clean tee signs and markings on sidewalk designating where to throw and possible OB's.
-Rubber tees when they are not located on the sidewalk.
-Clean bathrooms & drinking fountains are never too far away.
-LIGHTS! (mostly)
Cons: -Some tees are VERY close to the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: This course plays a counter-clockwise loop around the border of a neighborhood park. Most holes incorporate enough trees and moderate rolling hills to keep the course interesting. All holes are played on very well kept grass.

The park was actually quite busy with golfers when we stopped by. Perhaps its because this is the only 9 hole course in Southern-ish Orange County worth playing at. Families and people of all ages were playing. Great casual vibe. Course is definitely easy enough for the beginner but still fun for those that know what they are doing.

About half of the tees are very close to the previous basket. Like, 15 feet BEHIND it. Generally the people behind us did not start playing their hole until we finished driving for ours. Not only are they close, but they are in areas that a disc would typically land on a good long throw.

I did not see any indicators of it, but I have no doubt that there is a monster course layout here. The flow of the park and locations of the baskets make this a versatile area for safari golf.

The last three holes and tees play close to each other, but not so close that anybody is in the way. We actually had some good conversation with the very friendly locals. They are proud of their course.

While not particularly freeway friendly, if you have a thing for checking out 9 hole courses, this is one to check out. Very well manicured park, good flow, good vibe. We should have played a few more rounds here instead of checking out nearby Frontier Park. Will definitely go back if in the area.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    1/28/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2010
13 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -- Logical flow from hole to hole
- All holes have baskets now - in the past, some holes would play to light poles
- Tee signs clearly marking each hole
- Well manicured grass and trees, with several species of trees to keep things interesting
- Several alternate tees provide plenty of Safari Options
- Grippy Rubber Tee pads on most holes; some holes tee off from the sidewalk
- Clean Bathrooms and Drinking Fountains
- Exercise course provides additional fitness opportunities
- Rarely crowded
- Night Golf! There are lights on most of the course. # 3 is pretty dark though.
- Putting circle with numbered stones on Hole # 5 offers even more options for play and practice
Cons: - Cars come into play on a few holes and sometimes do get hit (Holes 5, 6, 7)
- Backyards and roofs come into play (Holes 5 and 6)
- Schoolkids on weekdays use the park during P.E. for Racquetball and Tennis (watch out on Holes 3 and 4)
- Tee and pin positions do not change
- Can sometimes be wet and muddy
Other Thoughts: The Deerfield course in Irvine recently underwent a design change (in 2009) and is now a full 9 hole course with baskets on every hole. The flow of the course now stealthily weaves around the volleyball courts and playground, instead of making these OB areas as was the case with the previous 18 hole layout.

It is apparently clear that this piece of land is more suited to a 9 hole layout - the flow of the course is much easier now, and makes for more elegant planning of angles and basket placements. The previous course had 1 hole that went directly through the volleyball area, and another one that went directly through the playground. Since this is a mixed use area, it was decided those angles were not appropriate. The result worked out better for everyone in the end.

Although a bit short in length, this is a challenge of a course and a great place to brush up on your mid range and putting game. Quite a few holes can be driven with just a mid range disc and a putter, and there are plenty of Ace opportunities to be had (although I haven't had one yet). Great lunchtime course - 9 holes can easily be played in 30 minutes or sometimes less.

This is one of my favorite courses to tune my game up at, and it is well maintained by the city of Irvine. There is plenty of opportunity for additional safari play as well, and I am listing my additional 6 Safari Holes below that seem to be the "most played". Some are even better than anything on the "Standard" course.



Standard Hole Breakdown:

Hole 1 - Between several trees with slight elevation change down then up. Pin Sits on a small hill in front of a large tree.

Hole 2 - Begs you to choose a line. Fairway is split by a large exotic tree with a thick Ash tree on the right and several smaller trees on the left. The basket is also hidden by a large palm with reaching branches. Some hyzer it, but the ash tree is thick with lots of branches and eats most shots

Hole 3 - Short RHBH hyzer behind some thick trees. Bonus: Tennis courts and racquetball courts act as a backstop and are only 8 feet behind the basket.

Hole 4 - Short RHBH hyzer with a few trees on the left. Great Ace opportunity. Don't go in a backyard here, the fence is at 250 ft.

Hole 5 - 2 Huge trees 60 feet from the tee eat most shots. If you make it through, a gradual hill goes up about 6 feet in elevation and the pin is at about 286 feet on an ever so slight hill. The putting circle with the numbered stones is on this hill.

Hole 6 - Slight elevation change down a hill, with several palms and other trees on the fairway. Great turnover shot with the basket on a well manicured slight hill in a sparse grove of palms.

Hole 7 - 2 Huge trees are 60 ft down the fairway on this hole. This one also begs you to choose a line - both Right and Left angles exist.

Hole 8 - Short one across an open meadow, with the basket protected by 3 huge trees. Good Ace opportunity.

Hole 9 - Wide open field shot that is about 280 - 300 ft. Big RHBH hyzer shot. This is really one to test your strength and accuracy.

Here's my additional 6 Safari holes that I have found to be the most popular:

Hole 3 alternate tee - The hill adjacent to the portables at the school, playing down to the basket

Hole 9 Alternate tee - The hill between the Rec Center and the final Exercise station (the horse) down to the # 9 basket.

Safari 3 - Lightpole that was "Old # 2 pin" next to the volleyball court, adjacent to the tee for # 4. Shoot over the volleyball court and to the # 1 basket. I am pretty sure this is the "Old Number 3".

Safari # 6 Long - From the # 6 tee to the # 7 Basket

Safari # 9 Long - From the # 8 tee to the # 9 Basket

Safari # 10 Long - From the # 9 Tee to the # 1 Basket

Update: Found another popular local alternate tee. On # 2 instead of teeing off from the sidewalk climb the hill directly behind the tee and trash can, next to the Balance beam. There is a worn spot of grass there underneath the hanging tree. Tee off from here and you get about 20' of elevation drop and 50' or so more out of the hole.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center