Irvine, CA 
Deerfield Community Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Sweet little 9-holer

2-4    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent rubber/sidewalk tees. Grippy when wet even.
-Nine nice DGA baskets, all in good shape, all accurately numbered in bold, bright orange numbers
-Very clean park setting
-Restrooms and drinking fountains on site
-Course flow is as logical as it gets. Very easy to find your way around.
-Strategic use of trees as a ceiling and as obstacles
-Accurate signs
Cons: -For golfers used to longer holes, this course will feel cramped. I do the whole course with an Aviar and a Core. Fun to play and will make your short and mid game better, but remember to leave the drivers at home.
-Some of the baskets are right on top of the following tee. Could be dangerous.
-A couple weird sign orientations. Looking at the signs, you have to spin around 180 degrees to look at the basket. I can't explain why, but it bothered me. :/
Other Thoughts: This neat little 9-holer in Irvine is a great place to work on your short game. The design centers around the trees, as there is very little elevation change. The designers couldn't have done a much better job with the piece of land.
Never many people there when I have played it and you can easily do the whole 9 in a half hour.
Great place to spend an afternoon golfing in the sun with many an ace opportunity!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/16/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: scootertrash
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Since it is a short course it is great too practice your midrange shots and work on accuracy. The park is a very nice with good facilities. As mentioned hole 5 has the pavers in a circle around the basket to practice your putting is a great idea!
Cons: I played in the middle of the day on a Monday and the park got busy when the school that is right next door let out for gym and the kids were using the walking path for a jogging track. I know it is a public park but just something to be aware of.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Deerfiled New and Improved

5+    8/1/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: newhuck
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a very relaxed feel and is a great little course. Since it has been redesigned all holes have nice baskets and tees or concrete path. I play here weekdays and weekends and crowds have never been a problem. Plenty of parking all around, safe to take the kids to the playgrounds within the park. This course has a lot of trees and they create many obstacles, but you shouldn't lose any discs on this course.
Cons: This course is short and when you go to a La Mirada type course, you realize you are not as good as you thought.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be great for beginners that want an easy introduction to the sport.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all

2-4    6/11/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed and nicely maintained. Clearly marked and easy to navigate. Concrete tees. Enough obstacles to make it interesting and reasonably challenging. Free. Playgrounds, restrooms and other facilities. Nice variety of holes.
Cons: Short. Some tees are on the walkway. Park is well used by walkers/joggers/families.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this little course. It has recently been redesigned and updated, and it shows. The park is small, but it makes great use of the available space. It's nice when disc golf can co-exist with other activities in a neighborhood park like this.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: KalakonuKine
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good Park. It has all the basket already and layout already set. Also had paint on the walkpath tell you. Every holes has post by numbers and pars and picture of where target. Targets are easy to notice. Best useful is mid-range disc.
Cons: CAUTIONS!!! People include community with children whose guide by staffs around the park, and some layout too close to target ( if for d.golfer whose target out of bound would hit them). Head up!
Other Thoughts: It's cute place where you can enjoy having children play while you goes disc around the park. Mostly the courses are around the playground where children plays in middle of courses. There are 2 playground either place are good place. I would go there again with more family and friends include children. ( not meant the babies).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Recently reopened!

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was pulled out due to somebody griping about discs flying too close to kids or something like that.

Now it's been reinstated, and here's what it's like.

Nine holes, groomed grass, some rubber tees (most just marked on concrete walkways), brand new DGA baskets, perimeter warning signs all over the place.

This is an exceptional practice course. The holes are all < 300 feet with a couple < 200. Some trees to negotiate, no elevation to speak of, a few buildings and other OB areas. Bring your midrange discs and work on your short game.

One "special feature" is a set of bricks embedded in the ground around the #5 basket, all at varying distances. You putt around the circle, working your way out to about 20'.
Cons: A few places where fairways cross walkways, so watch out for non-players, especially on hole #4 where people can appear from behind the tennis courts with no warning at all.
Other Thoughts: There's a community center of some sort there with restrooms and so forth. I only saw one person there but he was very helpful and friendly. Lots of signs around explaining the rules of the game - it looks like the community wants the course there after all :-)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ididntcareforit

1    2/24/2006   2/24/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Um. they had one basket i think. Oh they had maps!
Cons: -object holes
-throw through populated areas
-terrible layout
-feel like your just playing catch with yourself
Other Thoughts: I didn't even play it a 2nd time. One and done.

**7/14/2009 I guess this course has been re-designed, so my review doesn't apply.**

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.