Osseo, WI 
Wildapple Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: tick Hole #16 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Baskets



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So Much Variety!

5+    12/22/2012   12/22/2012
Review By: kjdutter
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wildapple Disc Golf provides disc golfers with every shot type imaginable, hyzer, anhyzer, roller, long turnover, forehand, monster drive, position drives...

The majority of the tee areas have benches, which is really nice.

There is now a 27-hole layout (with multiple different pin positions and tee pads on several holes)... offering the opportunity for a one stop, full day of disc golf on a beautiful property.

The course has O.B., water, elevation, mandos, par 4's and challenging par 3's... so basically everything.

The owner is very accommodating and always willing to play along or give maps and scorecards. Also, he has a pro-shop store on site so you can buy discs or apparel.

The course is always improving, so you can expect that each time you go back something will be better.

Cons: The tee pads aren't super consistent in terms of style or stability, and could use improvement. The 3 brick tees are nice though!

The navigation aspect could be an issue, but if you have a map with you you should be fine.

There are pretty much no garbage cans... but, if you brought garbage in, you should be able to bring it out.
Other Thoughts: There is league there every Sunday, year round!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A recent review

1    9/22/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: AdmiralQuack
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is laid out well, using the varying terrain effectively. You feel like the only living beings anywhere near the course while playing. Tick does have a full 18 hole course now with baskets, another 3 with chimes for 21 total. I don't believe there were 2 holes alike in this course, so everytime we approached the next tee box, we appreciated Tick's explanation of what we were facing. Tick definitely made us feel welcome, and told stories about creation of his course, as well as other discing stories. For the most part, it was easy to find our discs, but I can see that in full-on summer it may be a little more difficult. There are still more ways to play this course than you could count. Tick has printed new map and scorecards, and a ton of discs and other items in his shop for sale. He also will loan you a disc, if you are short on them, or if you see something you just want to try out.
Cons: Even with Tick guiding us through our first round, I am not so sure I could have found my own way through for a second round. Even holding and looking at the new map, as well as following Tick, I still felt discombobulated. The tee boxes were still varied and not all as level as I like to see. One kind of funny con is the fact that you have to sign a release form to play, and Tick kept joking about not being responsible if we "died out there". This did make me a little nervous, being that it was a course on private property.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I plan to keep playing at, but it does still seem to need a sort of polishing in order to get it rated better and played by more discers. I would like to see better tee boxes. I am a flicker who likes a run-up and a smooth surface to do so. We usually get an 18 hole round finished in less than 2 hours, this "tour" round took us almost 4 hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wildapple Wilderness

1    11/13/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Owner lives on site and plays regularly, so he is always maintaining the course when possible. He always seems to be wanting to add routes, new basket locations and tweak the layout. I like the idea of an onsite superintendent.

2) The setting of this course is awesome. It is in the middle of nowhere WI, yet only a few miles off of I-94. It is set on a diverse property with the typical topographical features of this part of Wisconsin: rolling hills, pastures, dense hardwood forest.

3) This course has so many layouts because the owner likes variety. He has an aces wild layout that you can play at any time as well as the regular course. The course has multiple basket locations, multiple tees, and multiple formats for play.

4) Variety is the spice of life here because the course plays through open pastures, down in a wetland, along a creek, through the tight woods, up and down the hills in the woods, and uses a little bit of everything to make it a course you could never get bored with.

5) Shot selection is key on this course with many holes playing differently than the next. There are options available on many of the holes also because of alternative fairways. Some more safe and much longer or some more tight and more rewarding of a great shot.

6) You are bound to see deer, squirrel, hawks, eagles, and all sorts of other plant and animal life on this course. Just beware of hunters who also apparently use this property with the permission of the owner.

7) Distance flags on #17 are nice to help you guage how far you threw and how far you have to go.

8) Scorecards and maps available in the mailbox on your way to his shed. The map is tough to figure out at times but does a good enough job to help you get your way around. Some tees will still be hard to find on your own however.

9) Pro shop and barn full of discs and other disc golf stuff. Give him a donation or just buy some plastic to help support this course!
Cons: 1) The biggest weakness here are the tees in my opinion. A few of them have been excavated and made out of brick and some have carpet laid down, and a few others are simply natural tees. The inconsitancy can be annoying. Some of the carpetted tees are lumpy and can cause issues with a runup. There also are a couple tees where a runup is virtually impossible because of the surrounding area as well as the slope that they are set on.

2) No tee signs indicating where you are, this could be confusing at times because they use colored flags to indicate the tees in play but there are so many flags its hard to keep track of what you are playing.

3) I have only played in the fall when the discatchers are in place, but if you play in season many of the holes do not have regular baskets. There are tone poles made out of a variety of things like wind chimes. You can see many of them off to the side during the fall and it is a great idea for a cheaper solution for a course, but I need a basket to putt into or it just doesn't feel the same. Those who have been playing longer probably do not care because that is how the sport originated. The discatchers make their way here from Tower Ridge in Eau Claire when the skihill goes in and the course gets shut down.

4) A guide is certainly needed the first time through the course because of no tee signs and some tees in locations you might not expect. There are no directionals because it is a private course and DOn would most certainly like to play with you the first time at the very least. After that he will give you permission to play on your own if you want, but do him and yourself a favor and play with him at least the first round.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course it was after a fresh 12" of snow. I played with Don and his friend Jerald and had a good time. I didn't write the review because I really wasn't sure what to think of the course with only that limited visibility round. I finally got back up there this November and got to see it with no snow (well there actually were a few spots on the course from overnight). I am glad I got to see it with no snow, but I also have still not seen it during the summer. I cannot comment on what this course is like with the tone poles, with the pastures mowed or unmowed, with leaves on the trees, so please take my review with a grain of salt. I liked the course but certain things keep it from being great in my opinion. I am sure as more people play it, more people will donate and maybe Don could continue to add to the basket collection and get his own all season. I have given him $5 both time regardless of him having waived the fee, because that is what I would expect to give to someone who lets me use his/her private land for disc golf. If you get there please be sure to slide Don a donation, lets help him better this already fun course.

I am giving this course a 3 overall. If it had permanent baskets in place all year, improved tee boxes, some tee signs and/or directionals, and the maintenance was on par with a city park I think this course could easily get a 4 rating from me, but in it's current status I think it is overall just above average. Some may think this is too harsh, but I am being consistent with my criteria for courses. With that said I would play this course any day, and would love to play more rounds with Don the owner. If I lived closer I would certainly volunteer my time and tools and expertise to help improve the course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of options

1    6/12/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was an extremely hard course for me to rate, but the fun, challenge, and ridiculous number of alternate tees and targets outweighs the minor navigation and maintenance issues for me. The course starts in a low pasture area surrounded by woods, and plays in and out of the trees. The back nine is across the road in steep wooded hillsides with dense trees, and one long open hole across the top of the ridge (including awesome distance markers to see how far you threw on the open bomb hole). There is a nice mix of mostly wooded holes with some more open holes for variety, and a lot of variety in length and hole shape that will make you throw lots of different shots accurately to be successful here.

The targets are a mix of various baskets (all in good shape) and homemade chime targets with a similar catching area to baskets so they fill in nicely. Don has created several layouts here, so there are up to three targets in place on many holes, and several alternate tees. We only got to play the main layout, but Don showed us most of the alternate tees and targets, and there are a ton of fun options out here. He runs an ace race using a shortened layout that looks like a great set of ace runs. There is a course map that does a pretty good job of showing you around the course, and Don was nice enough to give us the personal tour. If you need any discs, he's got a barn full, with fantastic selection.
Cons: There are some maintenance issues here, there are some areas of long grass that are difficult to keep mowed, and the wooded areas have some underbrush that is trying to overgrow the fairways. This is more understandable on a private course, but it does take away a little from the round when you have to look for your disc even on some fairways. There would also be some navigation issues if you don't have a guide, mostly because there are so many ways to play the course it's hard to tell which one is the 'standard' layout. The chimes weren't a con at all for us, but if you don't like non-basket targets you may not like them.
Other Thoughts: This is a course with lots of fun challenges, and an amazing number of ways to play it, you could play this course dozens of times before you came close to trying all the tee-pin combinations. There is nice elevation on the back nine, and nice variety throughout that make this worth a stop if you're anywhere near. If you can, play a round with Don, he's a great host and it's a lot of fun to get his perspective on the course and hear his stories about making it, and it's nice to have a guide here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Private Course

1    12/4/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 628  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course amazing.... three sets of pins(during winter, when tower ridge is pulled)
use elevation, some well marked out O.B. Placements that will get ya sometimes... Tee pads are leveled off Dirt some have carpet over them, making them decent.. Don has pretty much any disc u would need on site and for sale....
Cons: The 6 homemade chime baskets(when tower ridge is pulled) they work well to simulate a basket just wouldn't ever count an ace on em.... the have alt tees but some aren't up to standard.
Other Thoughts: When i played the course we had arrived on a leauge day and played a round of random doubles... awesome way to get to know the course but didn't really have time to get a good review in..

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Spirit of disc golf

1    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Owner Don Ticknor has taken his land and created a beautiful 18 hole dg course. Tons of risk rewards, open, narrow, water, elevation! Got lucky enough to play a round with Don and his friend, we had a blast. the course lay out challenging and smart!
Cons: A few of the holes lack baskets, BUT DON'T LET THAT SWAY YOU! These holes use a fun chime system that is just as hard to hit as any other pin!
Other Thoughts: The basket lacking can be fixed by visiting Don and paying to play (money goes toward the basket fund). Worth my time and money. this is a must play. Don and his course are full of the disc golf spirit!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center