Urbana, IA 
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 351ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee from B pin



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Challenging and Superb

2-4    4/7/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Log242
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging
Fun
Additional Holes
Additional pads to throw from
Nature
Cons: Muddy
Wet (Depending upon last rain)
Other Thoughts: This year I'm making it an objective to play some different courses and this is the second new course that I've discovered and I'm glad I did. It's the most fun and challenging course I've ever played. Granted, I've played a handful of courses, but it has the credentials of being one of the best I'll ever play.

I ended up playing 4 rounds of 21 and I still feel like I haven't had enough if that says anything.

Personal Best (out of 18 and all par 3):
0 2 1 2 0 1 0 1 1 0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 0 (+20)

Definitely a must practice course. If you want to have a tough practice, I would recommend this if you want to improve your game.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Iowa

5+    3/29/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 89  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is camping right next to the course.
Many Varieties of shots.
Well manicured.
Great elevation change with some holes you would never expect to see in Iowa!
Cons: The only con is that this course is really hard in the long position, but that isn't really a con.
Other Thoughts: This is the course by which I judge all other courses. I have not played a better course in Iowa and I have played 50+ Iowa courses.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Iowa Course

5+    11/28/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: caleb1989
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easily the best course I've ever played, it is primarily wooded only open hole is hole 1. The course is well laid out and marked, every hole have signs and a lot of holes have two tee pads. There are multiple basket locations and are moved pretty regularly sign is marked to let the thrower know which location the basket is in. Is extremely technical but a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Hard to come up with anything, is on public hunting land so they recommend your wear orange during hunting season.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic Course, fun to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tough, challenging course

1    8/23/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tees are in real good state of repair, benches and signs are really good also.
Great opportunities for a variety of shots (forehand, backhand, rollers, tomahawks). Definitely a course that demands a player think and execute well. Didn't encounter a single hole that didn't reflect good thought (none are boring, simple, straightforward bomb it, putt it kind of holes). You will get a good walking workout and a challenging round.
Cons: Parking is a bit limited, but no big deal. Best bet when really busy is to park in the RV area and make the short walk in (which is really only about 100 feet - probably not a problem if you are playing disc golf, right?).
Other Thoughts: Sure, some drives are very tight and that's expected when playing a tough course.
There are some very cool stump carvings around the course (some appear to still be in progress). Coolest one (to me) is a gigantic morel mushroom.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf heaven

1    1/31/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: timj5304
Played: 125  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is a true disc golf paradise, true woods golf, true hit your line or you will be punished. This course flows great, well maintained, very safe with nice concrete pads, retaining walls, nice stairs. This is a championship level course that will test every shot in your bag over and over as well as your mental game.
Cons: There are none, place is perfect.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the 2 hours out of the way during my trip to Des Moines. Wish it had not been raining pretty much the entire round.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

I didn't want my round to end!

1    10/30/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --When you get to the first hole there is a big course map sign and you can pick up a great scorecard with the course map on it.
--I was greeted at hole 1 by one of the crew members who offered some great advice and recent hole placement changes.
--This course was quite the challenge and only the first hole was out in the open, then you enter a wooded paradise.
--Beautiful scenery!
--Amazing signage and easy course navigation
--Benches and seating at every tee pad and a trash can on almost every hole.
--Even though heavily wooded, there are distinct, narrow fairways.
--I like how they were able to squeeze in 3 more holes, labeled A, B, and C.
--Elevation was fun when the basket was down a hill like on hole 12 for example, but quite the beast on a couple uphill holes.
--Hole 8 was one of the best holes I've ever seen!
--Easy 20 min drive North from Cedar Rapids
Cons: --Not much room for parking.
--I have an arrow putt and approach disc so I didn't have to much trouble with rollouts but I can see how that can be an issue for some players.
--Keep a keen eye on your disc because there is a lot of leafage on this course.
--I can see this course being overgrown during the spring in summer months with thorn bushes but that is just my assumption.
Other Thoughts: This course was frickin awesome, hands down the best course I've ever played so far. Fun factor 10/10. I can see why it is rated the number 1 course in Iowa. If you call yourself an avid disc golfer and live in IA, you need to make the drive to play this course, no excuses people its that good! I will definitely play again and bring my friends to this course.

Just a heads up: There is some road construction going on in Urbana but just follow the detour signs and you'll find your way.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: Chris_cldg
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Definitely a challenging one but, all around great course.

- mostly wooded with a couple open holes
- lots of elevation changes
- lots of unique hole layouts
- multiple pin locations for every hole
- a couple alternate tee options
- well maintained & respected (tee areas, fairways, everything)
- nice tee pads & baskets
- well marked for easy navigation
- scenic
- located in a campground (a couple tent sites available off hole 1 fairway which is neat)

Pretty much the perfect Iowa disc golf experience.
Cons: Only minor thing is that the parking can get a bit congested at times
Other Thoughts: scorecards with map are awesome

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/29/2016   5/28/2014
Review By: RussMB
Played: 113  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2016
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wildcat Bluff is a Fantastic Professional Caliber course that plays through the woods, up and down hills, and across deep ravines. Beautiful Scenery and rugged trails! This is an extremely challenging and technical course!
Bulletin Board at the start where you can pick up a Map and scorecard. There is also a donation box.
Tee Area: Teepads are concrete bricks that are attractive and grippy. Tee signs with maps and distance, as well as basket position indicators.
Tee pads have benches and garbage cans.
Bright Orange painted baskets show up nicely in the woods.
Alternating basket locations. Colored markers on the teesigns notate which position the basket is in.
Wildcat Bluff is well manicured and built up to be a solid course. Designers have taken great pride in making this an attractive course!
Navigation is easy, although you'll want to make sure get a map. There's a couple tee's that aren't easy to spot.
*Legit Par 4's and 5's. You will be required to make a second shot placement on some of the fairways.
Variety of fairways types: Canyon shot over deep ravines, doglegs through the woods, uphill and downhill shots, rolling fairways. You'll throw a number of different lines here.
Risk/Rewards: In most cases, bad throws could cost you extra throws to get back to a place where you have a line. (i.e. Landing at the between a rolling hill or at the bottom of a ravine.)
Has a Figure 8 Layout, and the front and back 9's start and play back to the Parking area.
No Filler Holes or Gimme shots, Every Fairway here is well layed out, and has a strategic flow to it.
Easy access from the Interstate.
Cons: This is really rare for an 18 hole course, but there really aren't any major Cons here. Those who have designed this course, have done a great job here at Wildcat! I've got a few concerns that will come across as nitpicking. This is a well built course that was strategically laid out. These are just some concerns that caught my attention. None of these will affect ones decision to play here.
I forgot to mention, there is Hunting allowed on this course from September to May. Break out the Hunter Safety Orange Vests if you play here during Hunting season.
Stay out of the rough! There are some dense knee-high plants in there that can hide your disc.
*Although there are legit Par 4's and 5's, there is no official par per hole on this course. A course of this level should have them listed, especially when having to make second shot placements. It's part of the challenge and strategy of playing a course of this caliber.
Adding shorter tee's for beginners on some of the longer holes. Who knows though, it may be in the works. The Teepads they have now are extremely nice, and look sharp and were probably pretty costly. The reason I mention it is because this is the only course in the area.
There is no cell service, so if you use UDisc or the PDGA app make sure you save the course data before you arrive. (Update: I did get some service in the higher points of the course. This may vary depending on your carrier)
(This was gone as of the last time I played, but I'm leaving it here. I still laugh) Who ever put pants on the logs that were under a fallen tree on #20, your bit worked. I seriously thought a tree fell on top of someone. It startled me and forced an "Oh My God!" out of my mouth! Kudos to you! You got me! :)
Other Thoughts: What else can be said, this is a fantastic course! It had the right mix of Challenge, Fun, and Appeal! It is a must play and well worth a drive from anywhere! This is a must play course!! It will challenge you, and you will play smarter. No two fairways play the same, and the shorter holes still meet you with a challenge. You'll find fairways that require you to be fairly accurate at long distances, as well as throwing tight finesse shots. You'll have a blast playing here.

You will want to some comfortable shoes that are built for hill climbing and long walks. You will be trekking over all kinds of terrain. There is a Casey's Gas Station in Urbana, but once you get out of town there is nothing nearby. Even the bathrooms in this campground are the old school outhouses. Be mindful before you arrive.

This is a stellar, well maintained course! If you are planning a road trip in, through, or to Iowa, this is a must play. Wildcat Bluff is worthy of a 5 star rating.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 5.0

1    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 113  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 12 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It doesn't get much better than this.

Wildcat Bluff was one of the most incredible disc golf experiences I've had to date and is a course that every disc golfer should have on their bucket list. My round here was such a wonderful experience that I found it worthy of my fourth ever 5.0 rating. These are the aspects of the course that reinforce this rating.

*The hole design at this course is incredible. The course carves its way through the Iowa woods going up and down the hillside. The lines are fair and the throwing lanes are wide enough to score well, but if you're not hitting your lines, your score will show it. Most of the holes have some degree of elevation, which adds a degree of "risk-reward" tradeoff.

The course features memorable hole after memorable hole. My personal favorite was a 524 foot downhill bomb over a valley lined with trees.

*It was evident that this course has a devout group of people that work hard to make it a great place to play. The upkeep was great. In addition to quality tee pads and baskets, Wildcat Bluff has benches, garbage cans, and "next tee" signs all over the course. Many of the holes here have multiple pin positions, which can cause confusion at some courses. The confusion is averted here because the tee signs effectively portray pin position with a colored button on each tee sign.

*The best part of Wildcat Bluff was that it serves as a mini-discgolfer getaway. It is isolated from the rest of the world and really lets golfers enjoy the beauty of their surroundings. The scenery here is second to none and as you walk up and down the wooded hills here it truly feels like you and your disc golfing buddies are the only people in the world.
As an Illinois resident, I'm surprised that I had not heard of Wildcat Bluff until last year. The course does not seem to garner as much attention as its neighbors in the Quad Cities, but for disc golfers making a trip to play West Lake Park and Camden, this one is well worth spending a day driving to and playing.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you grab one of the maps provided at hole one to help with navigation on this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Come hug a tree at Wildcat, you might just get hugged back.

5+    11/18/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2014
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Outstanding use of massive elevation changes, one of the few places where a description of "very hilly & heavily wooded" might be understating it a bit. A crazy amount of work has been done not only in clearing fairways but putting in tons and tons of stairs where they need to be. See the pictures of hole 8 for a good example.
-Like any well-designed wooded course, consistent accuracy is prized above sheer power, but you have to be on point and have some good distance to score well here.
-Course flow is excellent, very easy to figure out where to go next even with leaves covering every bit of ground. Scorecards with a map and pin distances are located at the little pavilion by the tee for hole 1.
-I consider the carved wooden signs in use at Wildcat to be perfect. Colored washers indicate the current pin position, with distance and map position color-coordinated. No more info than is needed, but no less either.
-Orange baskets are easy to spot in the trees; full disclosure these are homemade but appear pretty much built to spec and catch as well as any basket made by DGA, Innova or other manufacturer.
-Benches and garbage cans (with lids!) at nearly every hole.
-Even the short holes are not routine, as they are either uphill anhyzers or downhill at a protected basket with significant risk for roll-aways.
-The course is generally not busy at all. In the 20 or so times I've played here, I don't remember ever having to wait or let a group play through.
Cons: -You have to look hard for cons at Wildcat, but this would be a tremendously frustrating course for newer players.
-The rough can be brutal if you get a bad kick off the trees, and it should be punishing, but some places it can take 2 shots just to pitch out back to the fairway.
-This time of year you can easily lose discs under the leaves, but you can hardly blame the trees for being trees.
-Paver teepads are pretty good right now, but there are a couple spots where the pavers are starting to separate a little creating some borderline dangerous footing. This issue should be resolved in the next year or so when concrete pads are installed, at which point I would consider this a 5 star course.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for a good hiking day, and plan accordingly. After playing 2 rounds my gps said I covered right at 5 miles of distance and just under 6000 feet of elevation change! Very hilly indeed.
In chatting with a couple gents from "the crew" that built and maintain the course, it sounds like they've secured funding for concrete pads throughout. The current paver teepads are pretty good but can get a bit slick with dew/leaves/snow/etc., whereas the handful of new concrete pads that went in this year are awesomely textured and provide perfect traction when wet.

Hole-by-hole...
1- The only open shot in the course, a few fairway trees but essentially wide open and straight ahead.
2- The first of many uphill shots, with pins at straight, left and right positions. Not quite a narrow alley but a good introduction to what you can expect out here.
3- Reasonably wide alley, slight anny or straight ahead pins.
4- In A position it's a straight 250' with a decent lane. B is a tough hyzer through a tightening alley, and C really makes you think hard if you want to muscle it around an even longer hyzer or play the landing zone game. A bad tree kick to the left will turn an excellent drive into a struggle just to get back to the fairway.
5- The lane shrinks a little bit, still a pretty straight or slight left bend and you start to think "maybe I'll start teeing with my putter..."
6- Narrow and fairly long, pins around 300, 350 and 400 in various directions. Stay in the middle.
A- The first of 3 bonus holes, another tight and straight alley with brutal jail rough.
B- A little shorter but even tighter than hole A, an ace run that can be an easy birdie or a "how the *&@!% did I 5 that?"
C- Same formula as B but longer. With solid control you can make up strokes on the bonus holes, but a bad shank will leave you seeing red and test your mental game as much as anything.
7- A bit more breathing room than the last 4 holes, but still pretty tight. This plays downhill and can be easily overthrown if you're not careful.
8- The signature hole of Wildcat Bluff, a rad across-the-valley shot that plays fairly downhill and is easily reachable if you make your line. Photos don't really do this hole justice, as the ravine floor is much lower than it appears. A tree hit will usually drop you to the bottom, leaving a very hard upshot to save par.
9- Very downhill and and plays much shorter than you think, a neutral putter on slight anny will park this one.
10- Hard hyzer line with a low ceiling. There is a gulley to the left that positively eats discs off a skip, a spotter is not a bad idea on this blind shot.
11- One of my favorite holes out here. A nice 300' S-shaped alley that plays slightly downhill, and hitting the shot on this hole is at least as gratifying, maybe more so, than parking it across the ravine on #8. The C position is almost 500 and not reachable from the tee, but A and B can be parked if you nail your drive.
12- Another tough uphill, A is straight ahead and just over 200' but plays like 300'. B pin is 300' off to the left and requires you to navigate a large fallen tree on your way to the basket. Fairway is pretty wide open.
13- A lovely ace run in the A position that plays slightly downhill and perfectly straight. B position is a bit longer with just a hint of anhyzer.
14- Landing zone hole for sure, as the fairway plays over a couple ridges. Park your drive on the first ridge to have decent upshots for A and B pins. C pin is 550+ and a legit par 4.
15- Short, tight, straight and uphill.
16- Anhyzer line to both pin positions, both around 250' and reachable as it plays downhill.
17- Possibly my favorite hole, a long anhyzer bomb that plays in a downhill gulley the whole way. A fallen tree cuts horizontally across the entire fairway about 100' from the teepad and maybe 30' above ground, perfectly in the way if you're not careful. A and B pins can be reached with a good/great drive, and I'm sure some folks can reach C but 550' through the trees is pretty deep, even playing downhill.
18- Teepad is in the open but the pin is back in a tight row of pine trees. A straight or very gently bending drive will put you in pretty good shape to close the course with a birdie.


**update**
I have played Wildcat a few more times since posting this review, and have bumped my rating up to 5 because it straight up deserves it. Nearly all of the teepads are now nicely textured concrete, and a new pavilion was built this year which will make a great tournament HQ. A ton of work has been done clearing out new throwing lanes and old log piles, and a couple new pin placements have been added. This course is better than ever, and has to be one of the best in the country. **

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.