Urbana, IA 
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #16 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 309ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee B pin



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
My new favorite course

5+    11/3/2016   11/3/2016
Review By: conroy_01
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I bot love and hate this course. It's a beautiful quiet secluded course that can and will test your abilities. It is well maintained and has a variety of shots needed for the course. Tee pads are excellent, tee signs are informative, and it is rather easy to navigate. If you like a heavily wooded course with some hills thrown in you would love this course..
Cons: Some holes are easy to lose a disc. There is no cell service except for a few holes like 7, 8, and 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall best course around. Play it if you ever get the chance

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in Iowa!

5+    6/7/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: mdeeter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a ton of great holes and a beautiful layout.
+ It is well cared for and maintains its stature throughout the year.
+ The baskets are moved regularly and there are multiple pads on many of the holes.
+ The hole signage is gorgeous.
+ Well shaped fairways - even though you're in the woods a ton, every hole has multiple options.

I love playing this course, definitely one of my all-time favorites!
Cons: - Stay close to the fairways... some of the holes have some thick rough if you get too far off.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/23/2016   6/4/2016
Review By: MarkDSM
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One astonishingly beautiful hole after another.
Active and thoughtful course maintenance
Seasonal camping directly onsite
Constant rotation of pin positions with indication on teesigns
Art on the course, spot the mushrooms
Navigation signage
Great welcome kiosk with info, scorecards, and donation box
Front and back loops from hole one
Cons: Mild walk to main campground for water and toilets
Spotty cellular and radio signal on course


Other Thoughts: Walk in 10$ primitive camping with fire rings to the north of hole one is very awesome. (i love it !)
Nearest full disc shop is Titan Disc Golf in Cedar Rapids located at Shaver Park. (search Titan Disc Golf - Facebook)
A few other good courses within 45 minutes to include onsite camping at Sugar Bottom in Solon, Iowa
Check Wildcat Facebook page for tourney days
Limited services in Urbana a mile north on the course. One large convenience store (Casey's) and one bar with simple food (The O-Zone at 309 W Wood St)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Superb

2-4    4/7/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Log242
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging
Fun
Additional Holes
Additional pads to throw from
Nature
Cons: Muddy
Wet (Depending upon last rain)
Other Thoughts: This year I'm making it an objective to play some different courses and this is the second new course that I've discovered and I'm glad I did. It's the most fun and challenging course I've ever played. Granted, I've played a handful of courses, but it has the credentials of being one of the best I'll ever play.

I ended up playing 4 rounds of 21 and I still feel like I haven't had enough if that says anything.

Personal Best (out of 18 and all par 3):
0 2 1 2 0 1 0 1 1 0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 0 (+20)

Definitely a must practice course. If you want to have a tough practice, I would recommend this if you want to improve your game.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Iowa

5+    3/29/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 107  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There is camping right next to the course.
Many Varieties of shots.
Well manicured.
Great elevation change with some holes you would never expect to see in Iowa!
Cons: The only con is that this course is really hard in the long position, but that isn't really a con.
Other Thoughts: This is the course by which I judge all other courses. I have not played a better course in Iowa and I have played 50+ Iowa courses.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Iowa Course

5+    11/28/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: caleb1989
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easily the best course I've ever played, it is primarily wooded only open hole is hole 1. The course is well laid out and marked, every hole have signs and a lot of holes have two tee pads. There are multiple basket locations and are moved pretty regularly sign is marked to let the thrower know which location the basket is in. Is extremely technical but a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Hard to come up with anything, is on public hunting land so they recommend your wear orange during hunting season.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic Course, fun to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tough, challenging course

1    8/23/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tees are in real good state of repair, benches and signs are really good also.
Great opportunities for a variety of shots (forehand, backhand, rollers, tomahawks). Definitely a course that demands a player think and execute well. Didn't encounter a single hole that didn't reflect good thought (none are boring, simple, straightforward bomb it, putt it kind of holes). You will get a good walking workout and a challenging round.
Cons: Parking is a bit limited, but no big deal. Best bet when really busy is to park in the RV area and make the short walk in (which is really only about 100 feet - probably not a problem if you are playing disc golf, right?).
Other Thoughts: Sure, some drives are very tight and that's expected when playing a tough course.
There are some very cool stump carvings around the course (some appear to still be in progress). Coolest one (to me) is a gigantic morel mushroom.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf heaven

1    1/31/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: timj5304
Played: 134  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is a true disc golf paradise, true woods golf, true hit your line or you will be punished. This course flows great, well maintained, very safe with nice concrete pads, retaining walls, nice stairs. This is a championship level course that will test every shot in your bag over and over as well as your mental game.
Cons: There are none, place is perfect.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the 2 hours out of the way during my trip to Des Moines. Wish it had not been raining pretty much the entire round.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

I didn't want my round to end!

1    10/30/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2016
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --When you get to the first hole there is a big course map sign and you can pick up a great scorecard with the course map on it.
--I was greeted at hole 1 by one of the crew members who offered some great advice and recent hole placement changes.
--This course was quite the challenge and only the first hole was out in the open, then you enter a wooded paradise.
--Beautiful scenery!
--Amazing signage and easy course navigation
--Benches and seating at every tee pad and a trash can on almost every hole.
--Even though heavily wooded, there are distinct, narrow fairways.
--I like how they were able to squeeze in 3 more holes, labeled A, B, and C.
--Elevation was fun when the basket was down a hill like on hole 12 for example, but quite the beast on a couple uphill holes.
--Hole 8 was one of the best holes I've ever seen!
--Easy 20 min drive North from Cedar Rapids
Cons: --Not much room for parking.
--I have an arrow putt and approach disc so I didn't have to much trouble with rollouts but I can see how that can be an issue for some players.
--Keep a keen eye on your disc because there is a lot of leafage on this course.
--I can see this course being overgrown during the spring in summer months with thorn bushes but that is just my assumption.
Other Thoughts: This course was frickin awesome, hands down the best course I've ever played so far. Fun factor 10/10. I can see why it is rated the number 1 course in Iowa. If you call yourself an avid disc golfer and live in IA, you need to make the drive to play this course, no excuses people its that good! I will definitely play again and bring my friends to this course.

Just a heads up: There is some road construction going on in Urbana but just follow the detour signs and you'll find your way.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: Chris_cldg
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Definitely a challenging one but, all around great course.

- mostly wooded with a couple open holes
- lots of elevation changes
- lots of unique hole layouts
- multiple pin locations for every hole
- a couple alternate tee options
- well maintained & respected (tee areas, fairways, everything)
- nice tee pads & baskets
- well marked for easy navigation
- scenic
- located in a campground (a couple tent sites available off hole 1 fairway which is neat)

Pretty much the perfect Iowa disc golf experience.
Cons: Only minor thing is that the parking can get a bit congested at times
Other Thoughts: scorecards with map are awesome

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.