Urbana, IA
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: namar Hole #8 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The punisher

1    7/26/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 159  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is very easy to follow with a map and scorecards at the beginning. All basket locations are marked on the sign with an appropriate colored ring below the sign on the post.
-If you like a challenge the fairways are somewhat narrow, with most having a clear route to the hole. There is a variety of left, right and straight shots.
-Basket locations are varied between red, blue and yellow….And the baskets were painted bright orange which helps with spotting the basket.
-If you veer off of the fairway you are punished. Almost every time I went off the fairway I had no clear line to the hole. I was forced to pray I could get through…which I didn't most of the time, or lay up to the fairway. I don't think I pared a single hole I went off the fairway and a few times I ended up with a double or worse.
-Benches are by the tee pads
Cons: -Didn't like a couple of the tee pads, the brick didn't seem to be a problem, but on a couple I felt like the gaps between each brick made me a little uneasy about footing.
-Could remove some weeds off of the fairway. The ample amount of trees in the way is enough of a challenge, don't need to make it a challenge to find my disc.
-This is picky, but I wish they would change the numbers on the signs…..5, 6, A, B, C, 7, 8…..just make all of them numbers and end with 21 not 18.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of the best courses I've ever played. With the different basket locations it could be a completely different course. It isn't the most physically demanding course I've played on, but has a few hills that will make you work. It is probably the most skill demanding course I've played on. Long shots mean nothing if you can't control it. The course is out of the way but worth the drive. Most people are probably not used to driving on a gravel road to get to a course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of fun

1    3/25/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a hilly wooded park, the disc golf course didn't seem to share space with any other park activities. Elevation comes into play on many of the holes, with a few tough uphills and a few really fun downhill shots. 17 is a fantastic shot, with a long right turn down the hill through a wooded tunnel that's big enough to rip a drive but tight enough to punish mistakes. Throughout the course you can get in real trouble off the fairway but the rough isn't so thick that you won't have the chance to make a recovery shot.

There is a ton of variety on this course, I threw every disc in my bag and there are some really interesting and different lines to hit. The pin setup I played felt nicely balanced with left and right turning holes, as far as I could tell the other pin placements wouldn't change that. There is a good amount of distance variety as well, with a handful of ace run holes all the way up to some multi-shot holes that play long and wooded and make you execute a couple good shots to get to the pin.

The alternate pin placements change things up quite a bit. I played a mixed setup, it looked like the shorts would make the course easier without losing too much of the fun factor, and all longs would be a tough challenge for anyone. 5 holes have alternate tee pads as well, adding even more chance to mix things up, there's a really high replayability factor here. The tees are good, and most have nice benches. The signage is great, no navigation issues and the pin positions were marked so scouting wasn't necessary on the many blind holes.
Cons: A few holes felt a little less epic, I hesitate to call them filler holes but they didn't quite stand up to the rest of the course. The letter holes are three short holes in a row that felt a bit similar. Other than that there aren't a whole lot of cons here. There is still quite a bit of downed wood from storms, but the locals are obviously working hard to clean that up so I didn't take that into account in my rating.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast here, and would definitely recommend stopping if you're in the area. Beginners might find it a bit much even in the shorts, it's tight and long and there's not a whole lot of room for error. More experienced players will find great challenges here, a complete game including accuracy and distance on a variety of lines is necessary to score well. There's a nice little camping area right near tee 18, making this a nice spot to spend a weekend.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    4/8/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: HamNThemGoinHam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course in the corridor in my opinion. It's not only challenging but very well kept. It has 21 holes which require varying shot types to stay inside the narrow fairways. Every hole has alternate pin locations that are changed fairly often. A handful of holes also have alternate pad locations so you can change the feel of the course up even more. The best part about this course is the fact that no one is ever there. Either people don't know about it or choose not to drive all the way there.
Cons: The only thing that can be frustrating about this course is how extremely demanding and difficult it can be at times, but you can't fault a course for that. I enjoy the competition the challenge of the course creates.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 is my favorite hole I've played on any course. The drive over the huge ravine from one hill top to another is beautifully amazing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/25/2011   1/10/2012
Review By: nohr
Played: 95  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. The time and effort the local crew puts into this place is amazing. Very wooded. Very well maintained. Very challenging. Very fun.
Cons: Bugs can be an issue. Have to share land with hunters.
Other Thoughts: The wildcat guys read the reviews and improve the course anyway they can. Some earlier reviews knocked the course for not being able to see pin locations from the tee. Since then color markers are on all tee signs telling you where the pins are located.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a large, large county park that has tons of activities. Luckily, pretty much nothing interferes with the disc golfing. The only conflict might be parking, but that's about it.
- Almost every hole is located within a large forest, and each has a well defined line or lines that have to be hit. A very wide variety, especially with dual tee pads on some holes, and multiple pin positions on every hole. The pads do a good job of spicing things up, but the different basket positions make a world of difference. A few add 150' or more to the hole, as well as forcing some pinpoint shot placement and tough approaches. Everything from big RHBH annys (#7 - 400' 90 degree turn downhill), to sharp hyzers (#10 - 406' hole with a tough kink off the tee, uphill), to RHBH flex shots to RHFH flex shots, or multiples on the same hole.
- Lots of potential par 4's here; #6 is a snaking, carved 485' hole with a tight finish, #10 is 406' with the hyzer to start, #11 is 479' that likes a RHBH flex off the tee, to a hyzer approach, #14 is another long (564') shot that is tight the whole way. Distance and accuracy are both absolutely, without a doubt, critical to scoring well on these holes.
- Constant changes in elevation to be found here as well. Uphills aren't too bad, there are some shorter ones in the beginning (#2 and #3), a little bit on #10, and a decent hill on #12. Many holes have bumps in the fairways, as well as valleys. The downhill shots are the highlight here. #8 from the top pad is a HUGE, tight downhill shot at 450'-500' that plays somewhere closer to 300'. A RHFH flex shot made it down there for me, but it took a while to get there!!! #17 is another good one, a much longer, gradual downslope that allows for longer, smoother shots.
- Good variety in hole length here. There are a good amount of short ones to start off with, but they do not last. Definitely depends on the basket positions, of course, but a lot of the holes are long no matter what position the pin is in. And, some are short no matter what position the pin is in. Either way there will be some shorties, like #A-#C, and some monsters, like #14 and #17.
- Fairways here are very fair, for the most part. The lines are well defined and the luck factor is kept to a minimum with few random trees to punish an otherwise good shot. Instead, the bad shots are punished by being sent into dense forest and/or valleys with lots of brush and jail. Missing a line will surely cost a stroke, at a minimum. Many baskets are protected as well, either with slopes (a few), or trees (a lot more). The big tree that's down in front of #12 long really adds some challenge!! Not sure if that's a permanent addition.
- Tee signs are simple but effective, and have a colored marker stating the pin position, which is a HUGE plus with the longer, blind shots. Excellent teepads, benches at every hole, lots of garbage cans, baskets with patterened orange paint, everything is tip-top. Two loops (front 12 and back 9).
Cons: - Hole #13's teepad is definitely in play if #12 is in the long position. You can see them, and they can see you, so keep an eye out.
- The scenery doesn't change that much in the course; you are in the woods from start to finish. I am reaching with that one. Some very scenic views from the top of a hill, but there is only one shot that takes good use of it (#8). Probably no choice when designing it.
Other Thoughts: - Tough to come up with cons for this course. It starts off a little bland, and has a few dinky holes mixed in, but that is more than balanced with some of the beasts out there. The pin positions have a profound effect on the difficulty of the course, from challenging to professional-caliber. I played with 19 of the pins in the short position, and was almost glad for it.... almost. I am giving this course the 4.5, after much thought, as it is always going to be fun, challenging, or both, no matter what the layout is. Just gets in there with the short layout...
- I would say beginners might want to practice a bit before coming here, just to avoid being frustrated with some of the tighter lines and thick rough/jail off the fairway. Everyone else, bring those drivers.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 unbelievable

5+    10/18/2011   12/11/2011
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: great skilled shots required which make it a good challenge . peaceful and beutiful course to kick back and enjoy good elevation sik drops and hard which isnt really a pro .
Cons: not much i dont like about the course its an excellent adventure its more than golf , but if i had to pick one it would be tee pads only when wet otherwise fine .other con is that its 2hrs away
Other Thoughts: the crew there takes an amazing care of this place

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhat disappointing

1    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 62  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros:
- Facilities available
- Elevation
- Two separate loops, so you can play the front side and be done or the back and be done.
- Signs show current pin locations
Cons:
- Too much poke and hope
- "FAIR"ways should be stressed here. Don't get me wrong, there are some good fairways here, but there are also some really bad one's too.
- Storm damage brush piles make it very difficult to find your disc's right now (I am sure eventually the piles will disappear), but reviewing this in its current state.
- Teepads can be difficult to maneuver.
-- After a little raing those bricks are pretty slick, so watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: I want to give credit to the WB crew as it is very apparent that they have put in a ton of hours into making this course a reality. They keep the course very clean as well. Now, to play devils advocate, I was not all that impressed by the course overall. It was too much of poke and hope.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best IA courses

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 9/27/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Major elevation and heavily wooded with tight fairways. The fairways are tight enough to create a challenge but not too tight as to create lucky and unmakeable shots, great job. Multiple pads and multiple pin placements that can easily mix this course up very well. It also has a good amount of long and memorable holes. Most of the holes can or are blind shots, which is a tell of how good the course is. Due to the blind shots there are colored washers on the tee to show the player what placement the pin is in. Excellent maintenance, baskets, teesigns, benches, and pads. This is a challenging course not to be missed.
Other Thoughts: This is a vastly different course than some of the other top courses I've played. This is a 5 rating wooded course.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wildcat Bluff

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 44  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very well laid out and maintained
-Full of very nice baskets, pads, and signs.
-Every sign shows all of the pin locations and points out which location it is currently at and therefore it is very easy to follow.
-There are many interesting shots with good changes in elevation and good use of trees to make the play tough.
-It is a challenge to play but the course is so nice that you appreciate it even though it kicked my butt.
Cons: -The pins were almost all at the long position when I played the course and that made it nearly impossible. The fairways were well to narrow to have to throw the disc 500ft. However, if the pins were at the short locations I think that the course would have been near perfect.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the state and is defiantly worth the trip to go and play a couple rounds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/12/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: gdl17921
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well thought out course
the work put in by the Wildcat crew is evident
lots of trees
clean
no traffic
lots of different shots and obstacles
great tournament course - a super mental challenge at managing your game, and weighing risk with reward.
Cons: couple of loose tee pads, I recommend sanding them in.
I'm not a fan of the tee pad surface when they are wet - no problems otherwise
this is not a beginnger friendly course
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Iowa. The course has grown beautifully since their opening in 2007. The transformation in that short period of time since then is amazing. It will only continue to get better with time. The Wildcat Brew, I mean Crew, is great with feedback. The first time I was there the tee pads were about 4 or 5 pavers long, and there was a lot of talk about them needing to be longer on a few holes. Since then, the crew has extended nearly or every tee! They have also used said pavers to create some very nice steps on some of the big hills, making the course a much easier walk than it was when it first opened. Thank you Wildcat Crew! You guys are awesome. This course is all about the little details. Take your time when you play here, enjoy, and take it all in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.