Urbana, IA 
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 292ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
The best course in Iowa!

5+    6/7/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: mdeeter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a ton of great holes and a beautiful layout.
+ It is well cared for and maintains its stature throughout the year.
+ The baskets are moved regularly and there are multiple pads on many of the holes.
+ The hole signage is gorgeous.
+ Well shaped fairways - even though you're in the woods a ton, every hole has multiple options.

I love playing this course, definitely one of my all-time favorites!
Cons: - Stay close to the fairways... some of the holes have some thick rough if you get too far off.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/23/2016   6/4/2016
Review By: MarkDSM
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One astonishingly beautiful hole after another.
Active and thoughtful course maintenance
Seasonal camping directly onsite
Constant rotation of pin positions with indication on teesigns
Art on the course, spot the mushrooms
Navigation signage
Great welcome kiosk with info, scorecards, and donation box
Front and back loops from hole one
Cons: Mild walk to main campground for water and toilets
Spotty cellular and radio signal on course


Other Thoughts: Walk in 10$ primitive camping with fire rings to the north of hole one is very awesome. (i love it !)
Nearest full disc shop is Titan Disc Golf in Cedar Rapids located at Shaver Park. (search Titan Disc Golf - Facebook)
A few other good courses within 45 minutes to include onsite camping at Sugar Bottom in Solon, Iowa
Check Wildcat Facebook page for tourney days
Limited services in Urbana a mile north on the course. One large convenience store (Casey's) and one bar with simple food (The O-Zone at 309 W Wood St)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Superb

2-4    4/7/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Log242
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging
Fun
Additional Holes
Additional pads to throw from
Nature
Cons: Muddy
Wet (Depending upon last rain)
Other Thoughts: This year I'm making it an objective to play some different courses and this is the second new course that I've discovered and I'm glad I did. It's the most fun and challenging course I've ever played. Granted, I've played a handful of courses, but it has the credentials of being one of the best I'll ever play.

I ended up playing 4 rounds of 21 and I still feel like I haven't had enough if that says anything.

Personal Best (out of 18 and all par 3):
0 2 1 2 0 1 0 1 1 0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 0 (+20)

Definitely a must practice course. If you want to have a tough practice, I would recommend this if you want to improve your game.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Iowa

5+    3/29/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 107  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There is camping right next to the course.
Many Varieties of shots.
Well manicured.
Great elevation change with some holes you would never expect to see in Iowa!
Cons: The only con is that this course is really hard in the long position, but that isn't really a con.
Other Thoughts: This is the course by which I judge all other courses. I have not played a better course in Iowa and I have played 50+ Iowa courses.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Iowa Course

5+    11/28/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: caleb1989
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easily the best course I've ever played, it is primarily wooded only open hole is hole 1. The course is well laid out and marked, every hole have signs and a lot of holes have two tee pads. There are multiple basket locations and are moved pretty regularly sign is marked to let the thrower know which location the basket is in. Is extremely technical but a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Hard to come up with anything, is on public hunting land so they recommend your wear orange during hunting season.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic Course, fun to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tough, challenging course

1    8/23/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tees are in real good state of repair, benches and signs are really good also.
Great opportunities for a variety of shots (forehand, backhand, rollers, tomahawks). Definitely a course that demands a player think and execute well. Didn't encounter a single hole that didn't reflect good thought (none are boring, simple, straightforward bomb it, putt it kind of holes). You will get a good walking workout and a challenging round.
Cons: Parking is a bit limited, but no big deal. Best bet when really busy is to park in the RV area and make the short walk in (which is really only about 100 feet - probably not a problem if you are playing disc golf, right?).
Other Thoughts: Sure, some drives are very tight and that's expected when playing a tough course.
There are some very cool stump carvings around the course (some appear to still be in progress). Coolest one (to me) is a gigantic morel mushroom.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf heaven

1    1/31/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: timj5304
Played: 132  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is a true disc golf paradise, true woods golf, true hit your line or you will be punished. This course flows great, well maintained, very safe with nice concrete pads, retaining walls, nice stairs. This is a championship level course that will test every shot in your bag over and over as well as your mental game.
Cons: There are none, place is perfect.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the 2 hours out of the way during my trip to Des Moines. Wish it had not been raining pretty much the entire round.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

I didn't want my round to end!

1    10/30/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2016
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --When you get to the first hole there is a big course map sign and you can pick up a great scorecard with the course map on it.
--I was greeted at hole 1 by one of the crew members who offered some great advice and recent hole placement changes.
--This course was quite the challenge and only the first hole was out in the open, then you enter a wooded paradise.
--Beautiful scenery!
--Amazing signage and easy course navigation
--Benches and seating at every tee pad and a trash can on almost every hole.
--Even though heavily wooded, there are distinct, narrow fairways.
--I like how they were able to squeeze in 3 more holes, labeled A, B, and C.
--Elevation was fun when the basket was down a hill like on hole 12 for example, but quite the beast on a couple uphill holes.
--Hole 8 was one of the best holes I've ever seen!
--Easy 20 min drive North from Cedar Rapids
Cons: --Not much room for parking.
--I have an arrow putt and approach disc so I didn't have to much trouble with rollouts but I can see how that can be an issue for some players.
--Keep a keen eye on your disc because there is a lot of leafage on this course.
--I can see this course being overgrown during the spring in summer months with thorn bushes but that is just my assumption.
Other Thoughts: This course was frickin awesome, hands down the best course I've ever played so far. Fun factor 10/10. I can see why it is rated the number 1 course in Iowa. If you call yourself an avid disc golfer and live in IA, you need to make the drive to play this course, no excuses people its that good! I will definitely play again and bring my friends to this course.

Just a heads up: There is some road construction going on in Urbana but just follow the detour signs and you'll find your way.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: Chris_cldg
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Definitely a challenging one but, all around great course.

- mostly wooded with a couple open holes
- lots of elevation changes
- lots of unique hole layouts
- multiple pin locations for every hole
- a couple alternate tee options
- well maintained & respected (tee areas, fairways, everything)
- nice tee pads & baskets
- well marked for easy navigation
- scenic
- located in a campground (a couple tent sites available off hole 1 fairway which is neat)

Pretty much the perfect Iowa disc golf experience.
Cons: Only minor thing is that the parking can get a bit congested at times
Other Thoughts: scorecards with map are awesome

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/29/2016   5/28/2014
Review By: RussMB
Played: 113  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2016
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wildcat Bluff is a Fantastic Professional Caliber course that plays through the woods, up and down hills, and across deep ravines. Beautiful Scenery and rugged trails! This is an extremely challenging and technical course!
Bulletin Board at the start where you can pick up a Map and scorecard. There is also a donation box.
Tee Area: Teepads are concrete bricks that are attractive and grippy. Tee signs with maps and distance, as well as basket position indicators.
Tee pads have benches and garbage cans.
Bright Orange painted baskets show up nicely in the woods.
Alternating basket locations. Colored markers on the teesigns notate which position the basket is in.
Wildcat Bluff is well manicured and built up to be a solid course. Designers have taken great pride in making this an attractive course!
Navigation is easy, although you'll want to make sure get a map. There's a couple tee's that aren't easy to spot.
*Legit Par 4's and 5's. You will be required to make a second shot placement on some of the fairways.
Variety of fairways types: Canyon shot over deep ravines, doglegs through the woods, uphill and downhill shots, rolling fairways. You'll throw a number of different lines here.
Risk/Rewards: In most cases, bad throws could cost you extra throws to get back to a place where you have a line. (i.e. Landing at the between a rolling hill or at the bottom of a ravine.)
Has a Figure 8 Layout, and the front and back 9's start and play back to the Parking area.
No Filler Holes or Gimme shots, Every Fairway here is well layed out, and has a strategic flow to it.
Easy access from the Interstate.
Cons: This is really rare for an 18 hole course, but there really aren't any major Cons here. Those who have designed this course, have done a great job here at Wildcat! I've got a few concerns that will come across as nitpicking. This is a well built course that was strategically laid out. These are just some concerns that caught my attention. None of these will affect ones decision to play here.
I forgot to mention, there is Hunting allowed on this course from September to May. Break out the Hunter Safety Orange Vests if you play here during Hunting season.
Stay out of the rough! There are some dense knee-high plants in there that can hide your disc.
*Although there are legit Par 4's and 5's, there is no official par per hole on this course. A course of this level should have them listed, especially when having to make second shot placements. It's part of the challenge and strategy of playing a course of this caliber.
Adding shorter tee's for beginners on some of the longer holes. Who knows though, it may be in the works. The Teepads they have now are extremely nice, and look sharp and were probably pretty costly. The reason I mention it is because this is the only course in the area.
There is no cell service, so if you use UDisc or the PDGA app make sure you save the course data before you arrive. (Update: I did get some service in the higher points of the course. This may vary depending on your carrier)
(This was gone as of the last time I played, but I'm leaving it here. I still laugh) Who ever put pants on the logs that were under a fallen tree on #20, your bit worked. I seriously thought a tree fell on top of someone. It startled me and forced an "Oh My God!" out of my mouth! Kudos to you! You got me! :)
Other Thoughts: What else can be said, this is a fantastic course! It had the right mix of Challenge, Fun, and Appeal! It is a must play and well worth a drive from anywhere! This is a must play course!! It will challenge you, and you will play smarter. No two fairways play the same, and the shorter holes still meet you with a challenge. You'll find fairways that require you to be fairly accurate at long distances, as well as throwing tight finesse shots. You'll have a blast playing here.

You will want to some comfortable shoes that are built for hill climbing and long walks. You will be trekking over all kinds of terrain. There is a Casey's Gas Station in Urbana, but once you get out of town there is nothing nearby. Even the bathrooms in this campground are the old school outhouses. Be mindful before you arrive.

This is a stellar, well maintained course! If you are planning a road trip in, through, or to Iowa, this is a must play. Wildcat Bluff is worthy of a 5 star rating.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.