Urbana, IA
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lovely Place

2-4    5/4/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: When you arrive, you feel as though you are going to enjoy it right off the bat. It is a very well kept place and you can tell that people really respect the park. Whom ever built the course or maintains the course really has put a lot of time and effort into it. Never once did me or my girlfriend feel unsafe. (Walking across logs, down steep hills. Very nice path and steps going down and up hills.)

I really enjoy how there are multiple pin placements for each hole. Although I have played this course 4 or 5 times and they always seem to be on the very far pin location on each hole (My guess is for a tournament) but makes this course extra hard.

River views on the front nine are awesome.
Cons: Hunters allowed on course until May 16th. I'm not trying to get shot playing disc golf by some stupid person with a gun.

The back 9 is a little long. Lots of shrubs that make losing your disc very easy, which can throw off your game if you spend too much time looking. On that note some holes should be considered par 4.

The tee pads have gotten much better from when I first played this course last year. They have made a lot of them wider and even longer but some are still short or awkward when teeing off.

Poison Ivy in the summer. Wear pants
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course and anyone who is considering playing this course should do so. If you play bad, well it ends up being a very nice hike in the woods.

21 holes is perfect! Gets me that little extra disc golf fix I need.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and Challenging

1    3/2/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Bathrooms, hiking trails, hunting.

Camping. Onsite camping only a few feet from hole 1! Can't complain. $8-12.

Well Maintained. The local crew puts a lot of work into this course and it shows, everything is in top notch shape, fairways are clear, no trash to speak of.

Winter Maintenance. A shovel and broom could be found at hole 18 tee pad, tee pads were clear of snow and debris.

Technical Variety. After an open hole 1, every hole is a tight technical shot, a great place for an advanced player to work on accuracy. If big arm open holes is your thing, avoid this course. If you enjoy tight, technical, placement shots, do not miss this one.

Birdies are achievable but feel extremely rewarding, triple and quadruple bogeys might sneak up on you with one bad shot.

Scenery. Beautiful about sums it up. The front 9 plays along a ridge with a large variety of scenic holes, the biggest jaw dropper being hole 8. A huge downhill (across a valley) shot, especially from the long tee, it's hard to find a comparable hole. Bring your camera.

Local Scene. Tournaments, leagues, and active locals.

Elevation. Huge drops, fast greens and punishing rollaways add a significant challenge.

Signage. Every hole has a sign showing hole # and distance with a colored washer marking the pin placement.

Navigation. Relatively simple to follow, in any place where it might be confusing there is a sign directing the way.

Baskets. All are in good shape. Multiple pin placements on all holes. No practice basket available.
Cons: Punishing/Frustrating. The fairways are not very forgiving, unless you have perfect placement and can hit your lines every single time, this course will be punishing, a shot off by a couple inches can catch a branch and get sent hundreds of feet down a hill requiring several shots to get back on track.

Not beginner friendly. For the reasons stated above a beginner could get very frustrated here (I brought a rec level player and he nearly swore off the game forever because of this course, not to mention that my round was slightly less enjoyable because he spent the entire time complaining).
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the stop if traveling past, would be a great destination course with 21 holes on site and camping available it is a perfect place to spend a short weekend.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 the crowning jewel of iowa wooded courses

2-4    10/10/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: medicinalfunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2011
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: where do i even begin with this course...as soon as we pulled into the parking lot, i knew i was somewhere special. you can just feel it about the air...you are in a sanctuary built to the sport of disc golf. the course is absolutley pristine: the teepads are made from creative brick patterns, the signs are hand carved and in perfect shape, the baskets are perfect and always kept in great shape. so many things to say about this course...

- first of all, you can tell that every disc golfer who plays this course has incredible respect for it. there is NO vandalism, nearly no trash (not even cigarette butts) or litter at all (I've only seen a beer can once!). each teepad has a bench and a garbage can. this is the cleanest disc golf course i've ever been to.

- the guys that built and maintain this course know what they are doing: we're talking about a group of guys that love disc golf more than life itself. they are always mowing, weed-whacking, trimming, and keeping the course groomed to championship caliber season-round. this isn't only the cleanest course i've ever been to, but the most inspired. the way the course is carved into the bluff is brilliant.

- this is a very special, technical disc golf experience that will test even the most advanced of players. with multiple tee pads on the front 9 and frequently changing basket locations, you can tell the guys who manage it are frequent discers themselves who have the time and manpower to make this course one of the best in iowa. the course is easy to navigate, a map is available for viewing at the first hole.

- when basket locations change, so does the marker on the sign, so you'll always know exactly where you are going

- be prepared to have your breath taken away when you get to the pro pad for hole 8

- forces you to hit big, tricky lines and stay on the fairway. everything off of the fairway is almost nothing but skinny trees that are nearly impossible to throw through

- one way to describe this course would be "humbling". if you think you've got game, this is the course to come to and test your moxie. long, booming holes with well thought-out lines.

- a great community within the course. the guys there are constantly returning lost plastic (even when unmarked) they find in the park when doing cleanup duty and playing their regular rounds

- course is never crowded, tucked a few miles off the interstate. take as much time as you need with your shots.
Cons: - there is nothing wrong with this course at all. i cannot think of a single plausible con. if i'm going to get extremely picky, i suppose i could say that the mosquitoes get very thick on humid days in the summer. THAT. IS. IT. this is an incredible disc golf experience

- this wasn't a problem for me, but it seems to be for other players. some of the teepads feel a little snug, but they were still manageable. it appeared too that a lot of them had been expanded to be longer and accommodate a longer run-up
Other Thoughts: to me, and to many iowa disc golfers, THIS course is the mecca of wooded courses. writing this makes me want to make the drive up north to shoot it again. if you are in the area, you HAVE to play this course. i cannot overstate what a beautiful place this is thanks to all the hard work the crew puts into the place on a regular basis. this is THE championship disc golf experience.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Need to try again

1    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: svngs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course as all have mentioned - would play again, this may be an addicting course calling you back to do better each time!
Cons: Did not know basket location when teeing off - can see less than 1/2 from the tee pad.
Need velcro tags showing current location - course to hilly to walk up and look prior to each tee shot.
Other Thoughts: This has more potential and is already great.
Bring bug spray during the summer months!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wildcat Bluff

5+    4/18/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Swisher Streets
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - First off its absolutely beautiful. Tucked away in a nature area about a mile from town, great wooded course with a lot of full grown trees, streams, and wild life. The Wildcat Crew devote a lot of time to this course and it really shows. There is never any trash or fallen limbs on the course for more than a day before its taken care of. You also never get caught behind other groups and have to wait.

-21 holes that were well thought out. Minimal walking in between holes, and its incredibly easy to navigate even if its your first time playing. Tons of different angles and lines for a wide variety of shots on every hole. Most holes have 1 or 2 alternate pin placements and alternate tees, so the course changes up a lot. Awesome use of the elevation and terrain, Hole 8 is one of the coolest disc golf holes I've ever played. 400-500ft holes in woods isn't easy to accomplish and there are multiple ones here. I cant imagine the amount of work they put in to accomplish this.

- A lot more difficult than surrounding courses. I go to UNI in the Cedar Valley and I head straight to Wildcat whenever I get tired of the easier courses there. You will need to bring every shot in the bag for this course. I never throw overhand or sidearm but they are well tested to get out of trouble at WC. The challenge of the course is very fun, and I find myself throwing a number of drives off the tee until I hit that line just right.

-Benches are at almost every hole, including some unique makeshift stumps, fallen trees, and logs. There are also trash cans scattered around the course, so you don't have to haul your empties with you the whole time.

-Although a really bad shot on a number of holes and leave you looking for a while, rest assured the Wildcat Crew WILL find it and return it to you or post of its finding on Iowadg.com forums if its without a name.
Cons: In my eyes there are only two cons to this course, both being pretty minor.

-Although the teepads look aesthetically appealing, they aren't very practical. Some of them work well and have no problems. While playing in the dubs tournament there last weekend some of the cement tiles the pads are made of were loose and shifted with my weight as I would tee off. Some of them are a little on the short side, but I was told by the Wildcat crew that they were planning on extending them.

- Too far away from Cedar Falls that I cant play it everyday! =P. So in all fairness, the only flaw in my eyes would be the teepads.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is well worth the drive to play Wildcat Bluff. The tournaments there are awesome, I played in the doubles and will be playing again next year for sure. Among the large number of Iowa courses I've played this definitely ranks in my top 3. Its my understanding that this course was made in memory of the Wildcat Crews friend that passed away, I'm sure I speak for a large majority of players that have played your course by saying he would be proud of the work you guys have put in. Keep up the good work, I'll be playing it for years to come!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course.

2-4    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: xharkx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to start right? First off the course layout and design are amazing. The baskets are colored with blaze orange so they stick out. Multiple basket locations. Some holes have A and B tees as well. I believe it was maybe three or four of them. Benches at almost every tee. Which is nice because hiking up the hills gets a little tiring. Hole signs are perfect for the most part. Lots of elevation changes. The steeper hills have steps built into them. Garbage cans throughout the course. A sense of isolation when you play.
Cons: The only con I can really think of are the tee pads. Some are just too short. It is kind of out of the way but the directions to it are spot on. If you are coming from Urbana you turn right before the river.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most well cared for courses I have played at. The people who built and designed it did an amazing job and you can tell they have a lot of pride in their course. It is also one of the most unforgiving courses I have played. Keep your drives in the fairway for sure. We will be making this course a regular stop on our way to play the cedar rapids courses. Looking forward to many more rounds here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hiking Disc Golf

1    11/30/1899   12/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an execellent disc golf course! The locals have obviously spent a lot of time and money and effort to make this such a great disc golf course to experience. The first hole is straight and open, let it fly and hope to get a biridie, for you may need that for what lies ahead. Heavily wooded and hilly are an understatement. Be prepared to hike. Hole 2 is tight, wooded and uphill and doesn't get much easier after that. Some of the holes are around 200 feet or so while the longer ones are up to over 500 feet! For such a heavily wooded course that is a challenge. Narrow fairways bending left or right, up and downhills, you have to shape your shots carefully. Accuracy and skill are mandatory, for if you get off the fairway, you will struggle to make par. To me, this is a welcome challenge. I also like the fact that the fairways are not flat and have slight bumps or hills to them that hide the baskets. Multiple pin positions on every hole and multiple teepads as well. Therefore, lots of opportunity to change this course around a bit. The scenery is great and the large oak trees make you feel secluded from the rest of the world, and when discing, that is a good thing. Landscaping on this course is phenomenal. A few of the steep hills have nicely placed steps. The teeboxes are in prefect condition as well as the brick teepads which work well. Some of the teepads are elevated to give a nice level surface when throwing from the side of a hill. Teesigns are nice wood carvings with pin locations and distances. Baskets are painted orange for easy visibility and are in excellent shape. Navigation is easy with next teepad signs showing you the way. Some of the longer holes even have distance markers on them showing how far the basket is still away, much like regular golf, an neat detail. There is also an information kiosk at hole one with maps and scorecards. Camping area is also located just a few hundred yards from the first hole which would make for a great camping/discin weekend.
Cons: As much as I love heavily wooded and hilly courses, this was a bit much for me. I think a few more open holes would balance this out nicely. A couple of the holes felt the same.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! This is not a course that is beginner friendly. It will chew up, spit out and laugh at a beginner who tries this course. Got mad skills, then give this beast a shot. Camping close by would make for a great weekend geataway. At the time of this update, I have played over 80 courses and this one is definately in the top five for sure. This course is so close to getting a 5/5 rating. This course is kind of out of the way, but once you discover this course, you will be glad you did.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 2010

5+    9/9/2010   10/22/2009
Review By: Conler Milrad
Played: 114  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An extreemly well maintained wooded course. Hole 1 is the only "open" hole and that has some trees that come into play.

Good mix of long, short, and inbetween holes.

Tee signs on every hole with a colored marker indicating where the basket is.

Plenty of trash cans.

Orange baskest that are easy spot.

Camping on site.

Great elevation.

Baskets are changed often, but not evey hole at the same time. Mabey 1 or 2 holes will be in different placements week to week.
Cons: Bugs
Other Thoughts: The course will test your control and accuracy.

It is tough, but fair. Bring a positive attitude and don't be afraid of being over par.

This course is worth the trip, and one of the best in Iowa.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: G-MIL
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of the land, holes play for backhand and forehand players with multiple tees and pin locations. Course is well-maintained, you can tell the amount of work and pride these guys take in developing the course. Elevation change makes this course challenging and very fun to play. Since it's heavily wooded the wind doesn't affect shots much on windy days. Worth the drive. Camping is available on or near course.
Cons: This course is a ways off of 380 or 30 but is worth the drive.
Other Thoughts: Great course! I love playing this course everytime I'm home. Worth stopping regardless of your level of play. Fun and again, worth the drive.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome destination course

1    9/4/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All around sweet course ... you walk away thinking about how fun the course was & wishing you had time for another round
*Beautiful private setting in a hilly wooded glen within a county park
*Great campground within walking distance of the course & private walk in sites in a grassy meadow at the start of the course
*Valid wooded holes!! Finally a course with real fairways where small trees have actually been cut out of the middle of the hole! Only a few trees that need to go, but in amazing shape for only 2 years old
*Very well built - engineered stairs, supports, benches etc on almost every hole
*Great mix of terrain & shots required
*All holes have 2-3+ pin positions; many of them include a multishot legit par 4 position
*Some holes have two teepads
*Great variety of terrain -- uphill, downhill, flat, along a slope etc.
*Many memorable holes. #8 is an amazing downhill shot -- who knew they had hills like that in iowa? down and over a gully that's 100' below the pad in elevation -- also # 17 was a sweet downhill shot
*5 minutes off the interstate
*excellent signage; easy to navigate solo with no map
Cons: *Rural setting ... not really a con, but the place isn't close to anything except Cedar Rapids
*a few fairway trees, but only a few
*teepads -- the locals said they'll have concrete soon; at the moment there are short paver pads
*the 3 extra holes after #6 were out of character with the rest of the course ... too short, not as much to them ... if i were playing again i'd probably skip them
*hole 16 in the right position had no valid line; i note it because it was maybe the only hole i really didn't like so it stuck out
Other Thoughts: I played 6 courses during a work trip this week and this course was hands down the one that i'm still thinking about. this course is a great destination with onsite camping in a private setting -- this would make for an awesome weekend if you snagged the walkin sites that are next to hole #1 in a grassy field right next to a nice stream in lush green grass.

Course has great support by locals that have clearance to improve the course as they see fit ... and it shows....so it should get even better with time.

Concrete pads, a few trees out of the fairway & a few more years to break in & improve (was just opened in '07!!) ... and this is flirting with a 5 star rating.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.