Urbana, IA 
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 365ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Somewhat disappointing

1    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros:
- Facilities available
- Elevation
- Two separate loops, so you can play the front side and be done or the back and be done.
- Signs show current pin locations
Cons:
- Too much poke and hope
- "FAIR"ways should be stressed here. Don't get me wrong, there are some good fairways here, but there are also some really bad one's too.
- Storm damage brush piles make it very difficult to find your disc's right now (I am sure eventually the piles will disappear), but reviewing this in its current state.
- Teepads can be difficult to maneuver.
-- After a little raing those bricks are pretty slick, so watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: I want to give credit to the WB crew as it is very apparent that they have put in a ton of hours into making this course a reality. They keep the course very clean as well. Now, to play devils advocate, I was not all that impressed by the course overall. It was too much of poke and hope.

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best IA courses

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 9/27/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Major elevation and heavily wooded with tight fairways. The fairways are tight enough to create a challenge but not too tight as to create lucky and unmakeable shots, great job. Multiple pads and multiple pin placements that can easily mix this course up very well. It also has a good amount of long and memorable holes. Most of the holes can or are blind shots, which is a tell of how good the course is. Due to the blind shots there are colored washers on the tee to show the player what placement the pin is in. Excellent maintenance, baskets, teesigns, benches, and pads. This is a challenging course not to be missed.
Other Thoughts: This is a vastly different course than some of the other top courses I've played. This is a 5 rating wooded course.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wildcat Bluff

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 54  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Very well laid out and maintained
-Full of very nice baskets, pads, and signs.
-Every sign shows all of the pin locations and points out which location it is currently at and therefore it is very easy to follow.
-There are many interesting shots with good changes in elevation and good use of trees to make the play tough.
-It is a challenge to play but the course is so nice that you appreciate it even though it kicked my butt.
Cons: -The pins were almost all at the long position when I played the course and that made it nearly impossible. The fairways were well to narrow to have to throw the disc 500ft. However, if the pins were at the short locations I think that the course would have been near perfect.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the state and is defiantly worth the trip to go and play a couple rounds.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/12/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: gdl17921
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well thought out course
the work put in by the Wildcat crew is evident
lots of trees
clean
no traffic
lots of different shots and obstacles
great tournament course - a super mental challenge at managing your game, and weighing risk with reward.
Cons: couple of loose tee pads, I recommend sanding them in.
I'm not a fan of the tee pad surface when they are wet - no problems otherwise
this is not a beginnger friendly course
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Iowa. The course has grown beautifully since their opening in 2007. The transformation in that short period of time since then is amazing. It will only continue to get better with time. The Wildcat Brew, I mean Crew, is great with feedback. The first time I was there the tee pads were about 4 or 5 pavers long, and there was a lot of talk about them needing to be longer on a few holes. Since then, the crew has extended nearly or every tee! They have also used said pavers to create some very nice steps on some of the big hills, making the course a much easier walk than it was when it first opened. Thank you Wildcat Crew! You guys are awesome. This course is all about the little details. Take your time when you play here, enjoy, and take it all in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Place

2-4    5/4/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: When you arrive, you feel as though you are going to enjoy it right off the bat. It is a very well kept place and you can tell that people really respect the park. Whom ever built the course or maintains the course really has put a lot of time and effort into it. Never once did me or my girlfriend feel unsafe. (Walking across logs, down steep hills. Very nice path and steps going down and up hills.)

I really enjoy how there are multiple pin placements for each hole. Although I have played this course 4 or 5 times and they always seem to be on the very far pin location on each hole (My guess is for a tournament) but makes this course extra hard.

River views on the front nine are awesome.
Cons: Hunters allowed on course until May 16th. I'm not trying to get shot playing disc golf by some stupid person with a gun.

The back 9 is a little long. Lots of shrubs that make losing your disc very easy, which can throw off your game if you spend too much time looking. On that note some holes should be considered par 4.

The tee pads have gotten much better from when I first played this course last year. They have made a lot of them wider and even longer but some are still short or awkward when teeing off.

Poison Ivy in the summer. Wear pants
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course and anyone who is considering playing this course should do so. If you play bad, well it ends up being a very nice hike in the woods.

21 holes is perfect! Gets me that little extra disc golf fix I need.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and Challenging

1    3/2/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Bathrooms, hiking trails, hunting.

Camping. Onsite camping only a few feet from hole 1! Can't complain. $8-12.

Well Maintained. The local crew puts a lot of work into this course and it shows, everything is in top notch shape, fairways are clear, no trash to speak of.

Winter Maintenance. A shovel and broom could be found at hole 18 tee pad, tee pads were clear of snow and debris.

Technical Variety. After an open hole 1, every hole is a tight technical shot, a great place for an advanced player to work on accuracy. If big arm open holes is your thing, avoid this course. If you enjoy tight, technical, placement shots, do not miss this one.

Birdies are achievable but feel extremely rewarding, triple and quadruple bogeys might sneak up on you with one bad shot.

Scenery. Beautiful about sums it up. The front 9 plays along a ridge with a large variety of scenic holes, the biggest jaw dropper being hole 8. A huge downhill (across a valley) shot, especially from the long tee, it's hard to find a comparable hole. Bring your camera.

Local Scene. Tournaments, leagues, and active locals.

Elevation. Huge drops, fast greens and punishing rollaways add a significant challenge.

Signage. Every hole has a sign showing hole # and distance with a colored washer marking the pin placement.

Navigation. Relatively simple to follow, in any place where it might be confusing there is a sign directing the way.

Baskets. All are in good shape. Multiple pin placements on all holes. No practice basket available.
Cons: Punishing/Frustrating. The fairways are not very forgiving, unless you have perfect placement and can hit your lines every single time, this course will be punishing, a shot off by a couple inches can catch a branch and get sent hundreds of feet down a hill requiring several shots to get back on track.

Not beginner friendly. For the reasons stated above a beginner could get very frustrated here (I brought a rec level player and he nearly swore off the game forever because of this course, not to mention that my round was slightly less enjoyable because he spent the entire time complaining).
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the stop if traveling past, would be a great destination course with 21 holes on site and camping available it is a perfect place to spend a short weekend.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 the crowning jewel of iowa wooded courses

2-4    10/10/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: medicinalfunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2011
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: where do i even begin with this course...as soon as we pulled into the parking lot, i knew i was somewhere special. you can just feel it about the air...you are in a sanctuary built to the sport of disc golf. the course is absolutley pristine: the teepads are made from creative brick patterns, the signs are hand carved and in perfect shape, the baskets are perfect and always kept in great shape. so many things to say about this course...

- first of all, you can tell that every disc golfer who plays this course has incredible respect for it. there is NO vandalism, nearly no trash (not even cigarette butts) or litter at all (I've only seen a beer can once!). each teepad has a bench and a garbage can. this is the cleanest disc golf course i've ever been to.

- the guys that built and maintain this course know what they are doing: we're talking about a group of guys that love disc golf more than life itself. they are always mowing, weed-whacking, trimming, and keeping the course groomed to championship caliber season-round. this isn't only the cleanest course i've ever been to, but the most inspired. the way the course is carved into the bluff is brilliant.

- this is a very special, technical disc golf experience that will test even the most advanced of players. with multiple tee pads on the front 9 and frequently changing basket locations, you can tell the guys who manage it are frequent discers themselves who have the time and manpower to make this course one of the best in iowa. the course is easy to navigate, a map is available for viewing at the first hole.

- when basket locations change, so does the marker on the sign, so you'll always know exactly where you are going

- be prepared to have your breath taken away when you get to the pro pad for hole 8

- forces you to hit big, tricky lines and stay on the fairway. everything off of the fairway is almost nothing but skinny trees that are nearly impossible to throw through

- one way to describe this course would be "humbling". if you think you've got game, this is the course to come to and test your moxie. long, booming holes with well thought-out lines.

- a great community within the course. the guys there are constantly returning lost plastic (even when unmarked) they find in the park when doing cleanup duty and playing their regular rounds

- course is never crowded, tucked a few miles off the interstate. take as much time as you need with your shots.
Cons: - there is nothing wrong with this course at all. i cannot think of a single plausible con. if i'm going to get extremely picky, i suppose i could say that the mosquitoes get very thick on humid days in the summer. THAT. IS. IT. this is an incredible disc golf experience

- this wasn't a problem for me, but it seems to be for other players. some of the teepads feel a little snug, but they were still manageable. it appeared too that a lot of them had been expanded to be longer and accommodate a longer run-up
Other Thoughts: to me, and to many iowa disc golfers, THIS course is the mecca of wooded courses. writing this makes me want to make the drive up north to shoot it again. if you are in the area, you HAVE to play this course. i cannot overstate what a beautiful place this is thanks to all the hard work the crew puts into the place on a regular basis. this is THE championship disc golf experience.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Need to try again

1    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: svngs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course as all have mentioned - would play again, this may be an addicting course calling you back to do better each time!
Cons: Did not know basket location when teeing off - can see less than 1/2 from the tee pad.
Need velcro tags showing current location - course to hilly to walk up and look prior to each tee shot.
Other Thoughts: This has more potential and is already great.
Bring bug spray during the summer months!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wildcat Bluff

5+    4/18/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Swisher Streets
Played: 72  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - First off its absolutely beautiful. Tucked away in a nature area about a mile from town, great wooded course with a lot of full grown trees, streams, and wild life. The Wildcat Crew devote a lot of time to this course and it really shows. There is never any trash or fallen limbs on the course for more than a day before its taken care of. You also never get caught behind other groups and have to wait.

-21 holes that were well thought out. Minimal walking in between holes, and its incredibly easy to navigate even if its your first time playing. Tons of different angles and lines for a wide variety of shots on every hole. Most holes have 1 or 2 alternate pin placements and alternate tees, so the course changes up a lot. Awesome use of the elevation and terrain, Hole 8 is one of the coolest disc golf holes I've ever played. 400-500ft holes in woods isn't easy to accomplish and there are multiple ones here. I cant imagine the amount of work they put in to accomplish this.

- A lot more difficult than surrounding courses. I go to UNI in the Cedar Valley and I head straight to Wildcat whenever I get tired of the easier courses there. You will need to bring every shot in the bag for this course. I never throw overhand or sidearm but they are well tested to get out of trouble at WC. The challenge of the course is very fun, and I find myself throwing a number of drives off the tee until I hit that line just right.

-Benches are at almost every hole, including some unique makeshift stumps, fallen trees, and logs. There are also trash cans scattered around the course, so you don't have to haul your empties with you the whole time.

-Although a really bad shot on a number of holes and leave you looking for a while, rest assured the Wildcat Crew WILL find it and return it to you or post of its finding on Iowadg.com forums if its without a name.
Cons: In my eyes there are only two cons to this course, both being pretty minor.

-Although the teepads look aesthetically appealing, they aren't very practical. Some of them work well and have no problems. While playing in the dubs tournament there last weekend some of the cement tiles the pads are made of were loose and shifted with my weight as I would tee off. Some of them are a little on the short side, but I was told by the Wildcat crew that they were planning on extending them.

- Too far away from Cedar Falls that I cant play it everyday! =P. So in all fairness, the only flaw in my eyes would be the teepads.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is well worth the drive to play Wildcat Bluff. The tournaments there are awesome, I played in the doubles and will be playing again next year for sure. Among the large number of Iowa courses I've played this definitely ranks in my top 3. Its my understanding that this course was made in memory of the Wildcat Crews friend that passed away, I'm sure I speak for a large majority of players that have played your course by saying he would be proud of the work you guys have put in. Keep up the good work, I'll be playing it for years to come!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course.

2-4    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: xharkx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to start right? First off the course layout and design are amazing. The baskets are colored with blaze orange so they stick out. Multiple basket locations. Some holes have A and B tees as well. I believe it was maybe three or four of them. Benches at almost every tee. Which is nice because hiking up the hills gets a little tiring. Hole signs are perfect for the most part. Lots of elevation changes. The steeper hills have steps built into them. Garbage cans throughout the course. A sense of isolation when you play.
Cons: The only con I can really think of are the tee pads. Some are just too short. It is kind of out of the way but the directions to it are spot on. If you are coming from Urbana you turn right before the river.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most well cared for courses I have played at. The people who built and designed it did an amazing job and you can tell they have a lot of pride in their course. It is also one of the most unforgiving courses I have played. Keep your drives in the fairway for sure. We will be making this course a regular stop on our way to play the cedar rapids courses. Looking forward to many more rounds here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.