Poplarville, MS 
Wildcat Trace DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Another one bites the dust...

1    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two tees on every hole
-Free to play
Cons: -Too few trashcans
-Too few benches
-No course map
-Neither holes nor tees are numbered
-The rough is ROUGH!!!
Other Thoughts: This course is another example of a college installing a DGC and then doing nothing else.
There was some flow up until I finished Hole #7 and then nothing. I had no idea where to go next. The pictures posted show nice brick rings around the baskets; these have been dug up, broken, or otherwise rearranged. If these schools aren't going to manage their courses, they should donate their baskets to someone who will.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Orchestral Thunderstorms

1    3/11/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice campus hosts 18 or so baskets organized in such a way that if you can figure out how to play all of the holes, it is a solid disc golf course.

A guide would be helpful, I'd do what you can to find someone to show you around.

Once I figured out where all of the holes were, I was pleasantly surprised by the variety. There was a decent balance of elevation, wooded and open holes, water in play, and some manmade obstructions (tennis courts). The holes are designed as such there are few ace runs though most baskets can be reached in 1 if you can hit your line and a birdie is relatively rewarding.

Length. Several short to medium length technical holes with some long 400+ foot bombs.

Access. Not far off the freeway, easy for travelers to get to.

Tees. Though slightly overgrown and some were covered in crap, dual concrete tees were provided for most (not all) holes.

Coeds. Though my overall experience was negative with a friendly lady pointing me in the wrong direction to find some holes (30 minutes of wandering around in the woods anyone?), I think this belongs in the pro section.
Cons: Navigation. Hole 1 was relatively easy to find, and the course flowed fairly well through hole 7. I kind of made it up from there. Across the road and behind the nursing building from hole 7 I found tee 10. From 10 it backtracks then flows fairly well to 16. At that point there are obvious holes, though I'm not sure what they're numbered or how they flow, we'll call them 8,9,17 and 18. In all, I believe I found 18 playable holes (15 was under construction). A map would be helpful. Find a guide.

Lack of maintenance. It seems that a lot of effort went into putting the course in, landscaping and clearing of fairways, but not much has been done to upkeep it. This results in the confusing layout, overgrown tees, and a course that is rough around the edges. A touch of maintaining and this could be a very nice course.

Other users. A parking lot, some campus roads, tennis courts, and campus buildings all come into play, hazards for those not aware, be careful.

Local Scene. I'm not so sure anybody plays this course.
Other Thoughts: If you like being confused and like trying to solve the puzzle of how the course flows, I believe you'll enjoy the holes that are in play on this very nice campus.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: karottop420
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: it's a course lol, deacent mix of hole types, w alt pin placment on a few holes. deacent amount of elevation change. well placed with avablitly of land
Cons: a lot of distance between a few holes. it get kind of hard to navigate at time but after the first round it isn't to bad just kind of a wierd flow. a few of the tee boxes are missing
Other Thoughts: would like to see more people on the course. i've played it a few times and have only ever seen ONE other person on the course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pearl River CC

1    3/17/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Good mix of hole types
-Good use of terrain and natural obstacles
-College campus scenery
Cons: -The layout and flow of the course is hard to follow at times.
-Signage and hole markers were in poor condition or non-existent.
-Not many benches or trash bins that I noticed.
-Maintenance and manicuring seemed lacking.
-(This is more of an opinion) I don't really appreciate a course with more than 18 holes. Something just doesn't seem right about that. Why not make the first 18 holes good enough? The first two con's listed above added to my dislike of the extra holes. I stumbled on some hole marked with "24" or something crazy and was wondering if I had made it to a different course.
Other Thoughts: I played the course a Saturday before a tournament there and the lack of maintenance on the course just didn't impress me. The course design seemed pretty good with the terrain that was available; although, it was hard to follow at times and there was one big break between holes while walking over a parking lot. Overall course was fun. I has a mix of wooded and open holes. The course has water in play on three different ponds/lakes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: boggystudios
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded shots for both distance players and accuracy players.
Cons: Course doesn't have a lot of local players that help maintain it. Most maintenance work is done by the college - which is far and few between - and other than that it is kept up by locals.
Other Thoughts: There is pine trees planted on holes 15 - 19. Can't mow or burn the grass because the trees are too small. Lots of work is being done to get the course looking good but it is slow going.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.