Ottumwa, IA 
Wildwood Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #13 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 329ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wildwood Park

5+    2/19/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: bengal4life11
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are easy to locate for each hole, well marked. Variety of shots needed to obtain good scores. Good elevation on some holes. Some holes have pretty decent length to them, others are fairly short but overall there is a good blend of distances.
Concrete tees on all 18 holes, signs with distance marked on all 18 holes.
Cons: No bathrooms, limited trash cans. Often has tire tracks throughout the park due to immature residents 4-wheeling up and down the hills during snowy weather.
Trees can play a major factor with some shots, especially on windy days.
Poorly placed parking along hole 16 causes problems when the adjacent neighbors have company.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Wildwood is the course I play the most often and is my favorite course. If you are planning on playing in Ottumwa, I would definitely recommend Wildwood Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Ottumwa

2-4    9/15/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good baskets and tee pads, nice layout, good information and course map at hole 1, good mix of shot types,
Cons: no bathrooms but plenty of trees :)
Other Thoughts: The best course in the Ottumwa area in my opinion, a few really fun holes that are original and creative

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Disc Golf Course

2-4    9/10/2010   2/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee's, Good signs, (Number 7 sign was missing)
-Mixed Baskets, Some DISCatchers, others Mach Series
-Varying terrain, good up and down hill shots
-Course flows nicely up and down the Hill, eventually crossing the creek and winding up back, close to the start.
-Great course for beginners, yet challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy.
-Has a couple of great down hill holes. Open up and let'm fly
-Multiple Tee's, (The long tees are not a full concrete teebox but, according to a friend of mine, there are markers. The last time I played it was in the winter time, so I couldn't find them due to snow)
-Wildwood has one of my favorite Tunnel shots, (Hole 17) It's a risk/reward shot. The risk being a 15 foot ravine
-Good pin placement and good course design
-Wildwood Park is a fun course to play, and is a landmark course in Southeastern Iowa.
-Is a good course for casual play, as well as being a good course for introducing friends to the sport of Disc Golf.
-Is challenging enough, that many PDGA tournaments have been held at this park
-Course Map at Hole One (See Links/Files Tab for picture)
-Practice Basket Near hole one, across the road. You'll pass the basket on the left, before you get to hole one which will be on the right.
-No hiking shoes are needed for this course, but they could be handy for walking up and down the hills.

UPDATE: There is a new bridge leading to 15. 18's bridge was gone, I'm guessing it's going to be replaced as well.
Cons: -Although there are no convenient bathrooms on the course, there are a couple of bathrooms in the park. If you entered the park off Shaul, then the first playground on the right has bathrooms.
-I wished there were more shots in the wooded area along the creek.
-I'm just throwing it out there, Poison Ivy & Sumac could be a problem for some players.
-Navigation could be a little tricky. I didn't have too much of problem, of course I took a picture of the course map with my phone. This could be easily remedied by adding an arrow that shows the location of the the next teepad on the Tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Wildwood Park is a landmark Disc Golf Course. It was built in 1980, and was the 6th course built in Iowa. Many a tournament has been played here, and is synonymous with the City of Ottumwa. Even though it's not the most challenging course, It is still a fun course to play, and have a good time playing with friends. The PDGA frequently hosts tournaments at Wildwood park. There are 2 other courses nearby(Indian Hills and Memorial Park), which can make a trip to Ottumwa a worthwhile venture. I try to make it to Wildwood everytime I'm in town for a visit.

For your GPS: According to Google Maps the approximate address is:
110 Shaul Ave.
Ottumwa, Iowa 52501

The Big Lutheran Church that looks like Noah's ark at the top of the hill is
295 Shaul Ave
Ottumwa, IA 52501
The Church is on top of the same hill as the park. If you find the church, you've found the park.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A course to play a few times

5+    10/16/2008   6/16/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very open and allows you to let rip on quite a few holes. However there are a few good skill shots in and around some massive trees that get thicker towards the back 9. Overall a very good course, just be careful where you throw on the back 4! You may just end up in a huge ravine with a shallow creek.

signs and directions are very nice, with people's names and dates of their aces on the back of the metal signs.
Cons: -not a whole lot of skill shots like you get in highly wooded courses. But if that's not your cup of tea, then this course is for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.