Ottumwa, IA 
Wildwood Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 196ft.   4 / 429ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course!

1    8/8/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: nummy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes
Nice park
Nice map at start of course
Easy to navigate
Cons: Some of the holes were pretty easy, but I'm not sure that's a con.
Wasn't quite sure which basket was for hole #5?
Some of the baskets could use some updated numbers. I think we figured all of them out though.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course that had a lot of variety. Some very cool holes. It's a course that seems to have something for everyone. There were a lot of people out playing disc golf, which was great to see. I'll definitely be playing this course again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wildwood Park - Ace on #7

1    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start out, there is a practice basket and an open field to practice some drives on before you even start your round.

Secondly, the course has both long and short holes. Each hole also allows players to think about various shots and what works best.

Good for all ages. Especially because of the short holes.

Signs make it easy to follow the course.
Cons: Even though, the signs make the course easy to follow, some holes force you to walk quite a ways until you get to the next tee, such as from hole 9 to hole 10, or from hole 14 to hole 15.

Few trashcans, not a bathroom close to the course, and a couple holes were a bit too short, straight, and well, easy.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely a great course, and a lot of fun to play. I really enjoyed it. And it seems to be a favorite of the people in the area as there were quite a few families and people playing the course this afternoon.

There were definitely some memorable holes too! Such as Hole #17 and #18. And I really like how the course starts out with Hole #1.

This course will definitely help you work on different shots and will give players a couple of chances for ace runs. This was my first time playing the course, and I hit an ace on Hole #7.

Great course, so go out and play it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: bengalsfan11
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: Good cardiac workout due to multiple hills to climb. Well maintained park. Course map at tee #1 on large sign. A couple of long downhill shots. Fair mix of shots that accommodate both forehand and backhand throwers. Great course for beginners to learn on.
Cons: Trees can come into play on most of the holes. Steps leading down to bridge crossing the creek from hole 14 to 15 are getting hard to cross and could be dangerous. Very popular course leads to sometimes longer wait to play if in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is my favorite course in Ottumwa and one of the best I've played.

 Wildwood Park

5+    10/19/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Concrete Teepads
*Sighns on all holes
*forces you to use all types of shots
*Great use of Elavation
*Well Maintained park
*Bathrooms (a short wal form 6 basket)
*Sighn with course map at 1's tee pad
* 2 tee pads (Pro not concrete and can be hard to find)
*Water shots on 17 and 18 (With little chance of loosing a disc
*hole 6 is a long down hill shot where you can let it fly and drive for distance
*course flows Nicely and ends a short distance from the start
* practice basket for Put and approch shots
*Practice basket can be used as a 19th hole useing 3's tee pad or throwing from grass above 18
Cons: *Sighns do not show direction to next hole (not a big problem as next tee pad is close to basket except 10 and 15 and they do have sighns to tell you where to go
*this is a popular park for all typse of use so at times it can be very busy and you may have to watch for park users.
*15 has a gravle parking area that may come into play at times
*there are leagues that play on Sundays so there can be long waits if you get caught behind them.
*Pro tees are wooden markers with stone corners in the ground making it hard for players that dont know where they are.
*The road through the park can come into play on 6,7, 15and 16 if you make a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park for New and advanced players. The course flows nicely through the park and is easy to follow. There is a bridge to cross after a steep stairway from 14 to 15 but the bridge on 18 has been washed out. There are plans to replace it next year.

Hole 17 all trees have been removed makeing this a much easyer hole but did take some of the fun factor out for more advanced players. Also they have added rock dams to the creek to help with erosion so there is now a waist deep pool on hole 18 you must throw across and you walk across the rock dam so watch your step.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.