Abilene, TX 
Will Hair Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #6
3 / 285ft.   3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So much fun. 4.0 Golf, 2.0 Amenities.

1    8/31/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Discatchers
Good Concrete Tees
Multiple Tees on every Hole
Well Kept and mowed
Plenty of Benches and Trashcans
Bathrooms (at #7)
Plenty of Parking
Most holes have some shade
Shouldn't interfere with other park activities

Awesome use of the land available
Looks like it would allow for expansion
Every hole was unique and fun (no repetition)
Great Variety:
Some up /flat/down
Some Right/straight/left
Some Open/technical/tight
Some long/short
Multiple Tees are set up well: Some short Tees are easier and some just offer a totally different hole.
Great use of the Creek on 6-9
Love the way the land rolls on 1-5
10 makes a decent finishing hole.
Decent to good Risk/Reward
Not Crowded
Really good park to work on your accuracy. Good for Rec to Advanced
Something for everyone.
Basket ball courts
Picnic areas
Pavilions for gatherings/tourneys

Favorite Hole(s): #6-Top of the world across the creek, #8-Cross the creek to Basket on Cliff
Cons: No Signs
Only 10 holes (no big deal)
No Signs
The water in the creek is stanknasty. (Just don't throw in there)
No Signs
A couple of holes play by the Parking Lot or Road (CONTROL, People)
No Signs
Trapezoid Tees are backward (lol)
No Signs

Seriously if this Park had some good signage/directionals, it would be a 4 based on the Play.
Other Thoughts: Over all this in a fun, challenging course to play. Definitely worth a stop if you are in Abilene. Since it has no directionals or Teesigns, I would recommend hooking up with a local or giving yourself time to make sure you are throwing at the right basket.

Bring water as it will get hot during the summer.

This Course has a lot of Fun Factor. #6 and #8 will make you throw several "extra" Tee shots just to see if you can "hit the spot."

When I'm in Abilene again I will surely hit this course again. This, along with the Fun Factor, is what I think makes a Very Good course. I weight my "Disc Rating" heavily toward the Fun and had to bump this one down a 1/2 disc for the complete lack of signs or directionals.

PM me and let me know how I can make my reviews "more helpful."

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Stroll

5+    6/17/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer16022
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice stroll around the creek
Two tees per hole
Lots of challenges
Cons: Round goes fast
Fear of losing a disc
To many blind shots
Other Thoughts: This course is a great in between course for those who aren't advanced and those who are still begining.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All around, a good course

1    6/14/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: trevzilla
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very Nice Tees, two for every pin.
-Nice Baskets
-Fun layout! Nice Loop around the park!
Cons: -Very Hot
-Nasty water. If your disc goes in it's as good as gone. (Mine went in)
-Confusing layout around Pin 2. It was difficult to know which pad was Tee 3.
-Missing hole info. It seems the tee markers have been vandalised, and so it makes finding the next tee rather difficult. Also, we ended up starting on hole 10 instead of 1, simply because we didn't know which hole was which.
Other Thoughts: This is all in all a very fun course. I would certainly recommend it. Just be sure to keep your disc out of that water. And as always, it'd be nice if there were more than 10 holes, but oh well. I certainly believe a little facelift could be used here though. Get info at the tees, and put decals on the pins to indicate which pin it is.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So hot...

2-4    7/7/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: wtrace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes were very well spaced out. Nice hole lengths and mix between left and right curves to the basket. Nice concrete tees and variety of trees vs no trees.
Cons: Hole 1 hard to find at first. The distances or numbers and location of all the baskets are not marked well on the tee. If you throw in water, i would imagine it is basically impossible to get the disc back.
Other Thoughts: Other than it being pretty dry and sandy/rocky, very nice course. Sometimes you have to wait a little for cars to drive by because a few holes are pretty close to the drive, but an overall fun course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Course got a Wax Job....in a good way

5+    4/28/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: Disczilla
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This past year the City of Abilene has cleared the park's creek that runs throughout most of the course. Pesky brush and dead trees were removed giving the course a new, clean, makeover look. The City also put in dual short and long and REVERSED cement tee pads which is awesome and lengthens the course with the space provided. With little traffic through the park, anytime of day is a good time to get a round in as it is a quite and clean park.
Cons: With the new clearing, the park can almost play against you. The slopes are vicious on 4 holes with no back stop like before, giving it a new degree of difficulty. With new tee signs in the works, replacing the warped wooden sign is next on the clubs list of to-dos.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging. Disc Loss Expected

2-4    9/10/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: bmw06g
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course provides a lot of interesting challenges with varying elevations, water (which affects at least four holes), mandos, narrow holes, and different angles. Whoever laid it out was definitely thinking of how to make a good disc golf course, and not how to fit as many holes in an area as possible.
Cons: If you go OB, which is very likely with the small spaces to play around every basket, you will almost certainly lose your disc. Also, some of the holes are not as well marked as others, but anyone could figure out the layout.
Other Thoughts: I gave it a 4.0 rating, just because of how challenging it is. It is definitely the most challenging course in Abilene, and probably one of the most challenging in all of West Texas. Possible Improvements: more holes and updating the signage on a couple tees. Beware: beginners WILL lose discs. Wait to play this one until you've gotten down your accuracy. Power will not help as much here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 10-Hole course

2-4    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: WD09
Played: 253  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well laid out; it uses the park well. Several baskets are protected by water, trees, and/or road, which must be OB. There are some elevation changes and a good variety of distances for the holes, though only 2 holes had distances marked at the tee. After playing both, I prefer this one to Cal Young, though it is only 9 holes. (UPDATE: The course has been greatly improved with both long and short concrete tee pads on every hole with distances marked.)
Cons: Having baskets near the road adds difficulty for some holes, which I like, but there were several times when I needed to wait for cars to move through before I threw. On hole 8 I would be concerned that a car could come into view after the disc was released and be hit by a drive that flew past the basket. Several of the tees were totally unmarked. I had to get help finding the tee for hole one. I found the tees for holes 5, 6, 7, and 9 by wandering in the general direction where I thought they might be. There are short boards in the ground at the front center tee-off position. (This problem has been remedied. The new concrete tee pads are nice and make the course easy to navigate.)
Other Thoughts: The layout of this course is very nice. The two baskets reported missing on the PDGA directory have been replaced with Discatchers, which are new and great.If it were well marked, I would give it a higher rating. Say "hello" to the dedicated watch dogs in the yard next to the tee for hole 4. They will introduce themselves when you get into the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.