Independence, MO 
William Yates Sprint DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #11 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 110ft.   3 / 108ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Junior and Beginner course

2-4    8/17/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of elevation present, especially considering it's on school property. It is also used with a great variety of uphill, downhill, and valley holes. 10/10

They did a great job of using the obstacles that they had in such a small area to make a good 18 hole course. They could have maybe made a 9 hole course with more length and still had junior tees that were just as short or have 3 tees, but considering the intent it's 9/10.

There is a good variety of openness on shots, holes 4-11 are through the woods, and the rest are more open, but still have enough hazards to make the holes interesting. My only complaint here is that the variety is not mixed in very well. 8/10

There is actually pretty good variety in the distances of the holes, there just aren't any long ones (except for 14 kind of). Most of the front nine is quite a bit shorter and then the back nine has a little more length. 7/10

Discs are generally pretty easy to find. The brush in the woods is a little thick in some places like hole 4 and 17, and the tree line to the right of 15 and 16 could eat discs too. 7/10

There is a good variety of shot paths required here. Holes 2, 10, and 16 are right to left, while 3, 5, 11, and 17 are left to right. 7/10

The course is mowed very well, but the tees and signs are deteriorating a bit and there has been some litter both times I've been there. 6/10 on course maintenance

Navigation between holes is okay. The third tee was a bit hard to find, and I had some trouble with 14 and 17 as well. Some are on walking path's or the asphalt playground (5, 14, and 18) which makes them a little harder to find. Overall 6/10

There are some holes that force you to make decisions about how to play them. This is more true from hole 14 on, but is present a few times on the front nine too. 6/10
Cons: I saw two posts set up for alternate hole positions, but most only have one setting. (There were also two baskets set up for 18, not sure if one was a spare in case another got damaged?) 1/10

The baskets only have the one ring of chains and the tees are small and gravel for the most part. The size isn't too bad since it's so short so you don't really need much of a run-up, but they could use some evening out. 3/10

Navigation on the holes themselves was probably good when the course was new, but now some of the tee signs are missing or the maps are illegible. On some holes it's not much of a problem, but on hole 1 for example, you can see 3 baskets from the tee that are all about the same distance away. Also I think the first time I played from the 15 tee to the 16 basket without noticing. 4/10

This course will not provide experienced players or players with any distance with a challenge, and is pretty much just good for practicing approaches for these players. It is only for beginners learning accuracy and junior players. Multiple sets of tees help a little, but even the back tees are very short. 4/10 on challenging all levels
Other Thoughts: Overall Challenge 2/10 from shorter tees, 3/10 from longer tees.

The is a good course to bring new players to to let them get a better feel for what longer courses are like without making them throw 400ft holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

2-4    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: pauldst
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short! Don't have to take hours to play it, does not wear your arm out. Only need putters and mids...and maybe not even the mids.

Good neighborhood! Don't have to worry about your safety or your car.

Variety! Uphill, downhill, over valleys, over rises, along hillsides, open, through woods, and over and by creeks. Different directions, so wind and sun coming from different ways. Basket to the left, right, and straight ahead.

Challenging! Ability to make different shots needed to score well. Long tees increase the challenge, not just the distance. You can one disc this course fairly easily, but it definitely lowered my score when I did; it is useful to have at least one each of overstable, neutral, and understable discs. Several holes really seemed to me to need a mid, rather than just a putter (1, 5, 14, 17, & 18). At least half the holes I really felt that I accomplished something to get par (3).
Cons: Many of the signs are broken and/or missing. Some tees are not in good shape. A few tees are almost not there, some are not marked, some poorly marked. Some of the tees are very short, not allowing any runup. Some places, even with the map, it is hard to tell where to go next. The baskets are not numbered and don't have flags.
Other Thoughts: Not just a walk in the park, what with the hills it is good exercise.

There are a few trashcans scattered around. No benches, but I am considering this neutral, rather than a con, because of the course being so short.

Sign (at tee 5!) says hours are 4:15 to sunset on school days. Other days either 8 or 9 AM (I don't remember for sure) to sunset. There are some other rules which can be summed up by: There are little kids around, so be courteous and behave yourself.

Watch out for thorns of various sizes in the woods and by the creeks.

If I lived closer to this course I would play it often. If it were not for the sign and directional problems I would rate this a 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cute and Short

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
Pros: Good use of elevation and trees.
Despite the extreme shortness of the course, there are some very good technical shots.
Cons: There needs to be a course map at the start of the course as there are some holes (mainly the first few holes) that are confusing as to which basket is the correct one to throw at.
I believe they could have put some more distance on the holes. If not, a longer 9 hole course would have been nice instead.
Other Thoughts: It was a nice course to play on the way from Wilbur Young (Blue Springs) to Rosedale.

 A Blast for non power players

1    11/27/2010   12/2/2010
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great techinical course for those of us who are not big throwers. Elevation changes, mandos through the trees, holes hidden behind trees were a challenge that didn't require a 350 foot drive.
Cons: New hole layout for 10, 11, 12 intially difficult to follow, but my son and I figured it out.
Other Thoughts: Can not play while school is in session.

The idea behind the developement of the course is to get kids out and get them some exercise, since the course is built on the elemetary school property.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is a “Mini-Me” of a Pro Designed Course

1    3/25/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one was tough to review and this is why. It has many of the things that some really good course have, but on a very short and small scale. The holes are very short on many of the holes even from the long tees. They have done some great thing to this place considering the size and area. This course has woods, wide-open fairways, OB, mandos, elevation, possible water in a little creek like area, some protected pins and a couple doglegs. Many of the holes were fun to play. I enjoyed the double mandos where you had to shoot through a tree with the dual trunks in a big V shape. The wooded holes were really great. It is almost like having a pro course for little kids.
Cons: This course has limited public access due to school. At the time of this review, during school days the course is closed 9am to 4pm. So that basically leaves nights, weekends, holidays, and summer. The holes are very short from the short tees and normal short form the long tees. The long tees were put wherever they could find a spot. You will find many of them on sidewalks and one is even on a basketball court. (see pictures). You could really use a map to find the long tees. One basketball court is within the driving area of hole #14 from the long tee. The chance of hitting someone on #14 long tee should be a concern if people are present. The tee pads are a mix of cement sidewalks, asphalt, gravel, & rubber. There are some nice tee signs, but they are not all up to date as of the time of this review.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was pretty good. I really enjoyed seeing such a fun design on a small scale. This is in no way a real challenge for the average player, but it was without a doubt enjoyable. It was easy to see why there were so many 3 ratings before mine. If I rated it as a kids only course a 4 would be well deserved. We do not rate course on here as kids or adults only courses. So to give it a 4 or higher would be falsifying how it plays for most people.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly the best for the purpose anywhere

5+    8/18/2009   3/20/2010
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing use of great land--hills, woods, open. Tight alleys demand precision, to teach straight throwing. More open holes at the end allow longer drives. For adults, a great midrange/putter workout. Designed for kids, so that's how it should be reviewed.
Cons: Last few holes are sort of crammed in, but still not horrible. Enough to knock it down from a 5 in my book.
Other Thoughts: The use of mandos, doglegs, and the natural lay of the land is amazing. Possibly the best-designed course, relative to intent and land available, I've seen anywhere. I can't imagine what would be better. This is a MUST PLAY course for anyone, you'll leave with a huge smile! DO NOT TAKE ALCOHOL OR OTHER RECREATIONAL SUBSTANCES ON THIS COURSE. And, PICK UP YOUR TRASH!! But, most of all, have fun with your midrange.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Little Course

5+    5/9/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: KC Red
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging shots even though they are short.
Course is clean and well taken care of.
Cons: No restroom facilities.
Course closed during school hours (understandably)
Other Thoughts: This is a quick course that provides a challenge for even skilled players. Even though the holes are not long enough to do some serious driving it provides great upshot practice and a chance to put away that driver and take out your favorite mid-range disc.

I would give this course a rating of 5 for kids and beginning players.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 How sweet to have disc golf for PE class!

1    10/9/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course Level: Green (most suited for kids, short throwers, and players rated 775-825.)
This is an excellent Green level course. The course was mainly built for school kids, so it's most appropriate for them, and it excels for that group. This means, though, that most experienced adult males will find the course way too short, especially from the short tees.
Note: This course was hard to rate. This is the highest rating I've given to a Green level course. If I only rated this course by how enjoyable it is for the intended player level then it would easily be rated a 5. But for consistency in my rating system I consider challenge for an adult male to be an integral part of my rating, so my highest ratings are reserved for more challenging courses, and Green level courses are rated lower.

This is the best 18 hole Green level course that I've ever played! Most Green level courses are only 9 holes anyway. I saw a dad out with his 10 year old daughter and I thought that's what this course is all about. They've put in a great deal of care into the design and a lot of work and resources into the course.
Nice elevation changes! 9 are up and 9 are down. The maximum changes vary from 22 ft down to 21 ft up.
There's a good mix of wooded mixed, and open holes. (Long = 7 Wooded/ 2 Open/ 9 Mixed)
Two sets of tees on 7 holes. The longer tees give more challenge to more experienced players.
Cement Tees.
Tee signs are very good, with lengths and pictures of the holes.
Map- Online aerial map is very helpful.
There's a practice basket near 18's basket, so if no one is on hole 18 you can throw back and forth between them.
Cons:
Baskets- Lightning DB-5s are a little lower quality.
Other Thoughts:
My favorite hole: 6. Downhill through a tree lined fairway to an excellent green with a creek in front of it.

-By design all of the holes are short. The short tees are 17 of 98-145 ft/ 1 of 176 ft. The long tees are range from 108 to 245 ft with 12 holes in the 100-150 ft range.
-I got a kick out of a 145 ft par 4 hole.
-The school stipulated that holes 12-18 had to be more open so that they could monitor kids in PE classes. (I sure wish that I could've played disc golf during PE in elementary school!)
-Understandably, the course is closed during school hours: M-F 8 am - 4:15 pm

If you know a kid that wants to learn disc golf then by all means take them here. Even if you're an adult who is new to the game, you can still hone your game and learn the fundamentals on an easier, shorter course. I wish that my area had a Green level course like this where my kids could have learned the game on a course designed for them. John Theiss is to be highly commended for designing this great addition to the KC plethora of fine courses!

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cool little course

5/21/2008   5/21/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well used space
Nice use of elevation
Nice challenging Mandos
Good variety
Requires technical accuracy
Good upshot practice (from tees)
Cons: On school grounds - so closed until after school
Short holes
Can get bottled necked if non-technical players are there...with all the obstacles
Other Thoughts: The reson I rated this kinda high for a short, little course is because it is well laid out given the space to work with...they were able to make it as fun and challenging as possible.
I've been to some courses in similiar settings that have been totally redundant and boring compared to this one.
Unfortunately, this course is "competing" with some awesome courses in the KC Metro area, so if I lived around there I would prefer to make the drive to some of the others...but if I had a restricted time schedule and just wanted to have some fun threading the needle...this course would fit the bill

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.