Bennington, VT 
Willow Park Share



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Keeps getting better all the time...

5+    8/9/2013   7/29/2009
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent view of the Bennington Monument. Nice bathroom right near the first tee. Nice picnic spots. Great elevation changes. There are 4 holes that use the woods to nice advantage. Beginner friendly shot making.

With the upcoming alternate tee locations, there will be a short and a long tee on every hole. The short tees are beginner friendly without being too easy, the long ones will challenge your accuracy as well as your arm strength. Alternating shorts and longs will give you a good 18 holes if you walk two loops.

The maintenance on the course has REALLY improved. The bulk of the low brush is gone, and the woods holes are much more forgiving of errant throws.
Cons: The nine holes available right will not challenge your shot making skills that much. I base this on the number of discs I need to use on a course, and the number of alternative throws (thumber, forehand, backhand, roller, bomb, etc.) that you need to use. You can throw all backhand all the time if you throw it where you want it to go.

Ticks abound during tick season, bring your bug spray, wear long pants, do a check after your round.

The layout is short.
Other Thoughts: Expansion still in the works.

There will be nine more tee locations before the end of the fall 2013, along with new signage.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not too many, other than the possibility that someone can resurect this good idea gone bad. As others have said, good elevation, sizable area, nice baskets.
Cons: Oh man, this is unforunate. It has great potential, but there are very few signs or directions. Some signs that are present don't make any sense(maps that don't resemb;e anything in the area of the tee). Too close to playground and picknick area. Baskets missing. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, unless you're just out practicng your putting or different shots, it's not worth playing. Disappointing. I gave it a half point for the scenery.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign coming

5+    8/14/2010   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 89  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 31.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice scenery with the Bennington Monument and Mt. Anthony. Bathrooms in two locations within the park near the pavilions.
Cons: Some holes unplayable due to missing basket or pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: This course will be getting a facelift in 2010 with updated signage, tee boards and the replacement of missing #2 basket. Also included in the redesign will be the moving of a couple holes that are too close to the playground/ballfield/court areas.

The redesign will also allow for an easy addition of holes in the unused wooded areas in the west side of the park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You could find Hole #12?

1    7/10/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Rizbee
Played: 248  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 38.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There were some baskets. Seriously - the park has some nice elevation change, nice grass and is nice and clean.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate. Very few tee signs, and those that were there were often difficult to make sense of. Lots of potential, which makes the navigation issues that much more frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Is there a local who could work with the park officials to fix this place up? Stopping here was an opportunity to stretch our legs after a long drive, but we don't think we actually played the right layout.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  What's up with this course?

5/24/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: Christer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This could be a good course, the park has lots of elevation and nice views of the valley and Bennington Battle Monument.
Cons: No maintenance on this course, bad layout, no course map, most baskets not out, signs in the wrong place, simply not playable.
Other Thoughts: I had high hopes for this course, was a quick stop over while I was camping. Aced hole 1 with a roc.... WHOOOOHOOOOO! But there is no basket on 2, 3 is an insurance claim waiting to happen... the playground is definately in play, and seriously... an open 310ft hole marked as a par 4? Hole 4 hard to find and then you can't find anything. I played 6 to 7's basket... I think. Hopefully this course gets a makeover soon but as it is it isn't playable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.