Bennington, VT 
Willow Park Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
What the heck

1    6/14/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 279  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 28.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs
Several good holes
Good use of elevation and some natural features on several of the holes
Good baskets
Very scenic park
Cons: Has a few ridiculous holes that are flat out unsafe and almost unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Ok so this web page had this course listed at a 9 hole course. When I arrived I found out that after 3 years, someone finally added 9 more holes for 18.

Cool right? Well, when you get to those new holes they are horribly designed. You can tell they were designed by an amature that has no idea about safety and the flow of a course.

Ok, so lets go over this course
Hole 1 is a great starter hole a little farther from the parking lot than I would like, but it i a good uphill hole with a few trees making the shot fun.

Hole 2 is great little turnover shot (for right handed players) with a well defined green and trouble all around it.

Hole 3 Another good hole up a nice tunnel shot.

Hole 4 is a decent downhill hole with some rocks and trees making it fun.

Hole 5 is a pretty wide open shot with the baskets tucked under the edge of a tree stand with trouble behind the basket.

Hole 6 was great, long tunnel shot down an old lane.

Hole 7 Short little shot on the edge of a hill with a few trees guarding the basket.

Hole 8 Elevated tee down across a field. Good hole for how open the area was.

Now we get to those ridiculous holes.

Hole 9 was just a start basket is tucked into the rough. Your best off just throwing to the sign then laying up to the basket. If you go for the basket from the tee, you looking forever.

Hole 10 was so crazy, I didn't even bother playing it. frst off the tee was WAY TO CLOSE to the #9 basket. Then you had no fairway to the basket, it is a throw and pray you can find your disc.

So I walked over to 10 and could not find the basket for a long time, it was a crazy shot into the woods with no fairway. This area was not as overgrown as the last 2 holes, but it would still have taken a while to find my disc if I had thrown it. I skipped it too. I didn't have the daylight left to go hunting for a disc.

Hole 11 Horrible horrible horrible you should NEVER be throwing across a parking lot and into an area of soccer practice. I was lucky no one was around. If it were not for those things it was a good hole with the basket tucked way up on the side of a hill with a lot of rough around it.

Hole 12 Another hole to loose your disc on. Worst part, the tee for 13 is too close to the normal flight path of a right hander.

Hole 13 Your run of the mill throw across a field. Hope no one is having soccer practice or you will not be able to play this hole.

I honestly can't remember if I got all the holes correct. I think I skipped 14 and 15 due to it getting close to dark and they were more holes in the rough.

Hole 16 Horrible fairway, you should never put a fairway down a walking path, specially next to a ball field.

Hole 17 Simi short wide open birdie hole.

hole 18 Nice finishing hole, slightly uphill with a few key trees defining the fairway.

Ok, I know I was in a hurry to finish up before dark, but this course has a lot of potential. about 1/2 of the holes are great, then you hit those "new" holes that are almost unplayable if your in a hurry. They were not fun to say the least. The land is there, a little tweaking and this course would be great and deserve a much higher rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great views, course in nice shape

1    7/28/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: ricklev
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice views. Can even see the Bennington Battle Monument - Revolutionary War -- from here
-Grass mowed, short, so not buggy when I was there
-Reasonably easy to get to if travelling through Bennington. Nice place to take a driving break
-Hills are a fun challenge, especially since I'm from Florida
-Easy parking
Cons: -Signage was there, but not that easy to figure out
-Hot in the summer, really hot the day we were there
Other Thoughts: I just stopped there to take a driving break on the way through town. If I had more time, and if the weather was cooler, I would like to have played the entire course. The park is very nice, especially the views.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I Learned A Lesson-Park Over By # 9-Take The Long Walk First!

1    8/5/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything at Willow Park felt a little old and used to me. I take that this park has been here for generations. I know for a fact that Ethan Allen, himself, built these baskets by hand in his little shop down on 4th Street back in 1785 or maybe 86. Of course, double chains weren't invented until much later.

The course plays around the perimeter of Willow Park. I think the designers did an admirable job with this design.The course has these big old tee signs which are quite faded. I thank the person who used his sharpie to record the distance and par on them. There are standard pads. Some holes are using the sidewalk (#1) or exciting concrete slab (# 2) while most are just natural surface. Some had a front board.

# 4 & 5 were both fun downhill throws. The basket on 4 was tucked in behind a couple of trees and four large rocks making this 317' downhill toss even more interesting. # 5 was interesting, too. It's 292' to a basket just in front of the woods, Then 6 & 7 play down this tight little path. # 8 is a fun, short 187' Ace run and then you finish with # 9's 455 toss across fields to a basket just in front of some tall grassy area.
Cons: Some more legible tee signs would be nice. Kind of like giving your house a fresh coat of paint!

What's with posting the Disc Golf Rules sign at # 4? That's kinda strange.

And of course, you gotta mention the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: My GPS lead me through the gate and I parked above # 1. So when I finished, I had this long walk and this was my third course played of the day. I spotted some locals parking down by # 9 and walking up to # 1. Ah, park there and take the long walk when you're not so tired. Put your faith in the locals!

I liked this course for the most part. I could see myself playing it on a regular basis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Views

5+    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: space mann
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Views. Love the use of the sidewalks as T boxes. Volunteers are keeping the wood holes nicely cared for. Great short course for beginners. Holes 2, 6, 9 play better for a lefty, holes 3, 5 are easier for a righty. Not crowded. As soon as you know where all the holes are it is great to get around.
Cons: Some of the Tee Boxes are hard to find. Hole one is by the baseball field at the bottom of the hill. look for a white sign and a blue mark across the sidewalk. Hole 5 is up the hill by the swing set. Hole six is down the rocks then continue a bit down the path. You should be able to find all the other holes easily.
Other Thoughts: It is easy enough to play 18 holes by playing alternative T-Boxes. It is easy to find distance and obstacles when you come up with alternative starts.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Christmas Day

5+    12/25/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice elevation shots, also usually very well maintained park, often there is some wind, that makes the longer shots interesting, gave a slightly higher rating to compensate some of the older very bad ratings, think these were given on an older layout
Cons: only 9 baskets, but no real problem
Other Thoughts: very nice to have the rest rooms a the course, all in all, one of our favorites in the area

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not as bad as these reviews

2-4    2/20/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes had nice wide open downhill/uphill shots, woods fairways were good, I think some of these really bad reviews are from a previous layout. Signs showed me the flight path and length. View of the mountain and the Monument were great. It's actually a nice park.
Cons: baskets are very old and beat up, one basket I could not find (missing??) but they catch. I normally don't play 9-hole courses but have decided to play every course in northern/western New England to see what's around.
Other Thoughts: Just moved to the area from the midwest and am having fun exploring the courses around here. I probably won't be back to this one though as it seems there are other better ones to be explored.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 THIS IS NOT A COURSE

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2012
Review By: M@MARRO
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You get to play disc golf.
Cons: only 8 baskets.
not maintained.
the signs don't match up with the holes.
one of the signs had been set on fire.
one of the baskets wasn't removed before someone did some tree work and it landed on it.
you get to throw through a pedestrian walk way and over a play ground. which has to be skipped rather than injure a small child.
you can only play the final holes if the local sports team isn't using the field you throw through to get there.
Other Thoughts: don't go.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little course

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: WesternMADG
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course. Quick round. It's pretty easy but a great course to take someone for their first round. A couple on site bathrooms. It's in Bennington!!
Cons: A little buggy. If the park is busy a few holes might be crowded. I was there on the 4th of July and had no issues. Not the place to go for a real challenge.
Other Thoughts: First hole is down by the BMX track. If you park there the walk back from 9 isn't too bad. If playing for the fist time note where the next hole is at the tee sign, they are tough to find sometimes if you don't check

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Around the Park

1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tees are sometimes on pavement, other times well built natural tees. Tee Signs for every hole had par, distance, and a good map. Clever path in one big circle around the park. Holes 2, 3, 6 and 7 are woodsy. Holes 1, 4, 5, 8 and 9 are open fields. Good placement of baskets with natural obstacles.
Cons: The next tee indicators were not easy to read or remember: they were on the last tee sign. Only one long hole, #9. Only one real short ace run hole, #8. Long walk between #9 & #1. No clear indicator where to start. Billboard introducing the sport is at hole #4. Walk from #4 to #5 is back up hill on south side of playground.
Other Thoughts: The low course rating from older reviews should be disregarded because recent improvements elevate the variety and difficulty. The photos on this website have the old hole #s: Old 1, 3, & 6 are no more. Old 2=5 now, 4 = 7, 5 =9, 7=1 sort of, and old 8 = 2 now.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/14/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 472  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 15.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - a couple cool holes
- used to have really nice signs, but there has been some redesign so they are now inaccurate, but thankfully a local has gone around and corrected them all with black sharpie, so you can easily find your way around the course if you follow the sharpie signs
- good use of park space
- always empty
Cons: - basket 2 is missing, so you just play to tee sign 3
- hole 6 throws right over basket 5, and directly away from where you have to go for hole 7, which is poor course design and annoying
- holes 8 & 9, while creative and fun the first time, were really just thrown in to get you back to the parking lot
- no tees per-say, you just throw from next to the sign
Other Thoughts: I'll be posting pictures of this course soon, as soon as I can upload them from my camera.

When looking for hole 4, walk directly left from basket 3, through the open gate in the chainlink fence. 4 plays in the woods on the other side of the fence.

The "E St" in the directions actually means "East St", not the letter "E". You can easily miss the turn if you're not paying attention for this.

Contrary to what a few other people have said, the course does not interfere with any other activities unless there is a soccer game going on, then you can't play 5 or 6.

Bennington VT is a fun little town, and a nice place to visit. The Willow Park course is an okay 9 hole course, but it's obvious that no one in this town (save the guy that wrote his phone number on tee sign 1, begging to play with you), plays disc golf. Course maintenance is poor, it's only mowed because of the other activities that people come to the park for.

Fun, but not worth going out of your way for.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.