Bennington, VT 
Willow Park Share
Uploaded By: DaKineSurfer32 Hole #7 (Taken 10/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great views, course in nice shape

1    7/28/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: ricklev
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice views. Can even see the Bennington Battle Monument - Revolutionary War -- from here
-Grass mowed, short, so not buggy when I was there
-Reasonably easy to get to if travelling through Bennington. Nice place to take a driving break
-Hills are a fun challenge, especially since I'm from Florida
-Easy parking
Cons: -Signage was there, but not that easy to figure out
-Hot in the summer, really hot the day we were there
Other Thoughts: I just stopped there to take a driving break on the way through town. If I had more time, and if the weather was cooler, I would like to have played the entire course. The park is very nice, especially the views.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I Learned A Lesson-Park Over By # 9-Take The Long Walk First!

1    8/5/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything at Willow Park felt a little old and used to me. I take that this park has been here for generations. I know for a fact that Ethan Allen, himself, built these baskets by hand in his little shop down on 4th Street back in 1785 or maybe 86. Of course, double chains weren't invented until much later.

The course plays around the perimeter of Willow Park. I think the designers did an admirable job with this design.The course has these big old tee signs which are quite faded. I thank the person who used his sharpie to record the distance and par on them. There are standard pads. Some holes are using the sidewalk (#1) or exciting concrete slab (# 2) while most are just natural surface. Some had a front board.

# 4 & 5 were both fun downhill throws. The basket on 4 was tucked in behind a couple of trees and four large rocks making this 317' downhill toss even more interesting. # 5 was interesting, too. It's 292' to a basket just in front of the woods, Then 6 & 7 play down this tight little path. # 8 is a fun, short 187' Ace run and then you finish with # 9's 455 toss across fields to a basket just in front of some tall grassy area.
Cons: Some more legible tee signs would be nice. Kind of like giving your house a fresh coat of paint!

What's with posting the Disc Golf Rules sign at # 4? That's kinda strange.

And of course, you gotta mention the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: My GPS lead me through the gate and I parked above # 1. So when I finished, I had this long walk and this was my third course played of the day. I spotted some locals parking down by # 9 and walking up to # 1. Ah, park there and take the long walk when you're not so tired. Put your faith in the locals!

I liked this course for the most part. I could see myself playing it on a regular basis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Views

5+    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: space mann
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Views. Love the use of the sidewalks as T boxes. Volunteers are keeping the wood holes nicely cared for. Great short course for beginners. Holes 2, 6, 9 play better for a lefty, holes 3, 5 are easier for a righty. Not crowded. As soon as you know where all the holes are it is great to get around.
Cons: Some of the Tee Boxes are hard to find. Hole one is by the baseball field at the bottom of the hill. look for a white sign and a blue mark across the sidewalk. Hole 5 is up the hill by the swing set. Hole six is down the rocks then continue a bit down the path. You should be able to find all the other holes easily.
Other Thoughts: It is easy enough to play 18 holes by playing alternative T-Boxes. It is easy to find distance and obstacles when you come up with alternative starts.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Christmas Day

5+    12/25/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice elevation shots, also usually very well maintained park, often there is some wind, that makes the longer shots interesting, gave a slightly higher rating to compensate some of the older very bad ratings, think these were given on an older layout
Cons: only 9 baskets, but no real problem
Other Thoughts: very nice to have the rest rooms a the course, all in all, one of our favorites in the area

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not as bad as these reviews

2-4    2/20/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes had nice wide open downhill/uphill shots, woods fairways were good, I think some of these really bad reviews are from a previous layout. Signs showed me the flight path and length. View of the mountain and the Monument were great. It's actually a nice park.
Cons: baskets are very old and beat up, one basket I could not find (missing??) but they catch. I normally don't play 9-hole courses but have decided to play every course in northern/western New England to see what's around.
Other Thoughts: Just moved to the area from the midwest and am having fun exploring the courses around here. I probably won't be back to this one though as it seems there are other better ones to be explored.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/19/2010   7/19/2012
Review By: M@MARRO
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You get to play disc golf.
Cons: only 8 baskets.
not maintained.
the signs don't match up with the holes.
one of the signs had been set on fire.
one of the baskets wasn't removed before someone did some tree work and it landed on it.
you get to throw through a pedestrian walk way and over a play ground. which has to be skipped rather than injure a small child.
you can only play the final holes if the local sports team isn't using the field you throw through to get there.
Other Thoughts: don't go.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little course

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: WesternMADG
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course. Quick round. It's pretty easy but a great course to take someone for their first round. A couple on site bathrooms. It's in Bennington!!
Cons: A little buggy. If the park is busy a few holes might be crowded. I was there on the 4th of July and had no issues. Not the place to go for a real challenge.
Other Thoughts: First hole is down by the BMX track. If you park there the walk back from 9 isn't too bad. If playing for the fist time note where the next hole is at the tee sign, they are tough to find sometimes if you don't check

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Around the Park

1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tees are sometimes on pavement, other times well built natural tees. Tee Signs for every hole had par, distance, and a good map. Clever path in one big circle around the park. Holes 2, 3, 6 and 7 are woodsy. Holes 1, 4, 5, 8 and 9 are open fields. Good placement of baskets with natural obstacles.
Cons: The next tee indicators were not easy to read or remember: they were on the last tee sign. Only one long hole, #9. Only one real short ace run hole, #8. Long walk between #9 & #1. No clear indicator where to start. Billboard introducing the sport is at hole #4. Walk from #4 to #5 is back up hill on south side of playground.
Other Thoughts: The low course rating from older reviews should be disregarded because recent improvements elevate the variety and difficulty. The photos on this website have the old hole #s: Old 1, 3, & 6 are no more. Old 2=5 now, 4 = 7, 5 =9, 7=1 sort of, and old 8 = 2 now.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    10/14/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - a couple cool holes
- used to have really nice signs, but there has been some redesign so they are now inaccurate, but thankfully a local has gone around and corrected them all with black sharpie, so you can easily find your way around the course if you follow the sharpie signs
- good use of park space
- always empty
Cons: - basket 2 is missing, so you just play to tee sign 3
- hole 6 throws right over basket 5, and directly away from where you have to go for hole 7, which is poor course design and annoying
- holes 8 & 9, while creative and fun the first time, were really just thrown in to get you back to the parking lot
- no tees per-say, you just throw from next to the sign
Other Thoughts: I'll be posting pictures of this course soon, as soon as I can upload them from my camera.

When looking for hole 4, walk directly left from basket 3, through the open gate in the chainlink fence. 4 plays in the woods on the other side of the fence.

The "E St" in the directions actually means "East St", not the letter "E". You can easily miss the turn if you're not paying attention for this.

Contrary to what a few other people have said, the course does not interfere with any other activities unless there is a soccer game going on, then you can't play 5 or 6.

Bennington VT is a fun little town, and a nice place to visit. The Willow Park course is an okay 9 hole course, but it's obvious that no one in this town (save the guy that wrote his phone number on tee sign 1, begging to play with you), plays disc golf. Course maintenance is poor, it's only mowed because of the other activities that people come to the park for.

Fun, but not worth going out of your way for.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Keeps getting better all the time...

5+    8/9/2013   7/29/2009
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent view of the Bennington Monument. Nice bathroom right near the first tee. Nice picnic spots. Great elevation changes. There are 4 holes that use the woods to nice advantage. Beginner friendly shot making.

With the upcoming alternate tee locations, there will be a short and a long tee on every hole. The short tees are beginner friendly without being too easy, the long ones will challenge your accuracy as well as your arm strength. Alternating shorts and longs will give you a good 18 holes if you walk two loops.

The maintenance on the course has REALLY improved. The bulk of the low brush is gone, and the woods holes are much more forgiving of errant throws.
Cons: The nine holes available right will not challenge your shot making skills that much. I base this on the number of discs I need to use on a course, and the number of alternative throws (thumber, forehand, backhand, roller, bomb, etc.) that you need to use. You can throw all backhand all the time if you throw it where you want it to go.

Ticks abound during tick season, bring your bug spray, wear long pants, do a check after your round.

The layout is short.
Other Thoughts: Expansion still in the works.

There will be nine more tee locations before the end of the fall 2013, along with new signage.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.