Buffalo Grove, IL 
Willow Stream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 285ft.   4 / 295ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good for casual/new players, not for those who love the sport.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 231  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple long holes on 1 and 8 (400+). Decent shots required on 2,5 and 9 to make birdies. Cement tees are HUGE! Baskets are decent.
Cons: Very boring course. Wide open. Really short simple holes on 3,4,6,7 which are barely worth playing. This course will not work your game if you love the sport and are looking to improve. Course gets a ton of play from casual players which makes for alot of back-ups. Park also gets a ton of usage with its many other facilities, so watch out for pedestrians!
Other Thoughts: Park is so heavily used that there isn't alot that can realistically be done to make this a fun course. It is what it is, a boring 9 holer. If you need a place to play in Buffalo Grove, there aren't any better options available.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flowing Practice Course

2-4    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice flowing 9-hole course that serves either as a practice course for experienced player or good introductory course for beginners. It runs along a park and is really well maintained. Concrete tees and great baskets that are easily spotted. Really easy to navigate around the course.

Hole 1 and 8 are the longest holes and great for the strong drivers. The rest are easily approached. Hole 9 is probably the most "difficult" hole on the course with it being behind some trees. Hole 3 is also a great ACE opportunity since it is short and downhill.
Cons: No real sense of DG etiquette here. People will just hang around a basket after they're done totally oblivious to the fact there are other people playing. Hole 9 is usually used as a practice basket by people waiting for Hole 1. I've ran into groups of 8 people which is just too much.

Other park-goers will usually be around and sometime they don't realize what you will be doing until you yell FORE. Don't expect a true challenge with the trees serving as the "obstacles," it is easy to beat it.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to get here early or you'll end up waiting on this course behind people with no sense of the game. This is a great course to bring somebody who is still new but improving on their game. If you're in the area and got some time to kill, check this course out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Timing is everything

5+    7/29/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good medium distance holes. Well maintained. Flows well. Tee signs. Elevation changes on 1, 2, 3. Runs along woods on 4, 5, 6, 7. Nice long challenge on 8. Tree challenges on 1, 3, 9. This is a busy park with a lot to do. The course does not overlap or cross ball fields, soccer pitches, etc. Nice. 8 is getting shorter as my arm is getting bigger... same can be said for 5. Update. I have now aced 3... so it is a bit special for me. have come close a few more times as well. With more experience this course now feels quite a bit shorter. Park is generally clean with little trash. A few garbage cans on a few holes are good to have and well used by locals.
Cons: At times too crowded with teens just goofing off. I might just be jealous that I am beyond being a teen and being able to just goof off, but it makes for less fun at times. 7 can be a bit buggy in summer 'cuz nearer the woods. *8could be better if the basket were moved over by the pines. 5 could be nice with an alt basket placement more annie to the right.
Other Thoughts: The basket for 9 and the tee for 1 are on top of each other as are the basket for 2 and the tee for 3. Eyes open and aware and courteous helps. I got hit by a strong drive to basket 9 while waiting to tee off on 1. Overall a good longer course than over at twin Creeks... but both are good. Recent pool improvements has had trees removed and landscaping improved on 9. 1 less big tree and 9 is an even better hole as it has a clear tree tunnel if you can fling one SUPER straight.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

5+    6/11/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in one part of a large park with some hills, and a central wooded area that provides a nice rough along 6 of the holes. Most of the holes have some scattered trees on the fairway or protecting the pin. There is some nice elevation on the first three holes for the Chicago area, adding a different dimension than many other area courses.

The holes are a nice mix of lengths, from under 200' to over 400'. The trees in play define some differently shaped fairways, that encourage a variety of different shots to score well. The holes range from ace runs to longer or more technical holes, and offer more challenge than any other of the mediocre 9 holers around.

The amenities of the course are very nice. There are excellent large concrete pads on all holes that are in perfect shape. There are nice tee signs on all holes with accurate hole maps and distances that make the course very easy to navigate.
Cons: The course tends to be crowded on weekends and in the evening. In the summer if you play at a busy time, expect to wait on nearly every hole, and wait a while at the beginning of each round.

A significant number of the players are young and/or inexperienced, and so there is a serious lack of education on proper course etiquette, and no real desire to learn it. Along with this, a walking path is in play on 7 of the 9 holes, and only about half of the other park users seem to have any idea that they are also on a disc golf course. This slows play down even more, as you'll end up waiting for walkers and joggers to clear the fairway.

Right now, basket 7 is missing the basket, though the pole and chains are still there. You can still tell when a putt would have probably gone in, so it's not a huge deal.

Update: The basket is back, now all 9 are in good shape and playable.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9 hole courses in the area, and is slightly more interesting and challenging than the rest. For me, this is overshadowed by how long a round takes with so many new players, and so much overlap with other park users.

If you can play this park during the day on a weekday, it's a fun little course. Otherwise it's not worth driving out of your way to spend a lot of time waiting.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trip to the Grove

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easygoing, nice spread of holes, if you're good you can impress the newbies, their oos and ahs will make you feel like a pro
Cons: Way too crowded, and it's not uncommon to run into big groups (5-8 ppl)
Other Thoughts: You might as well bring a lawn chair if you arrive in the afternoon, it's gonna be a long wait

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Same old same old

5+    5/2/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course to work on wide open shots. pretty short course but gets the job done. very slight elevation change.
Cons: can get very crowded simply because there is not many courses close by. wraps around a very small wooded patch and your done.
Other Thoughts: wind can make things a little interesting on windy days but thats goes without saying.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

5+    9/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2009
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(If you play the sidewalk and beyond as OB on 7 & 9 there is a little punishment on this course. Other than that, a horrible shot is not punished any worse than an OK shot. For this reason this course is below average - a grade of C- is generous in my mind.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(1 & 8 are too long where I have no realistic chance at a 2 and tap-in 3's are routine. 5 & 9 (and 2 somewhat) are rewarding. The rest are too short to be anything but gimme 2's. 2.5 holes out of 9 that are rewarding score-wise does not make for a high fun factor in my book.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
(Hole 9 is the only hole that really forces you to shape your shot one way or another with any challenge factor at all. There are other holes that you have to bend your shot, but with no specificity.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The park is clean and well maintained. Nice mowed grass and litter free. Seclusion is zilch as you are in sight and earshot of houses the entire round with the exception of hole 3.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A simple course

2-4    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, easy to follow course. Concrete tees and decent baskets on all holes. Slight elevation changes on the opening holes is nice. Good course for a beginner or an easy round.
Cons: Very simple course, as there is very little by way of obstacles. Any trees on the course don't really serve as obstacles. There's a stretch of holes, I think 5, 6, and 7, that were just ridiculously short and easy. More holes were flat and boring than were elevated or somewhat interesting. The course is in the middle of a busy park, so it's easy to hit pedestrians or to have play interrupted by wandering park-goers. First hole is awful close to the parking lot, definitely dangerous for anyone parked there.
Other Thoughts: This was not an awful course, but there is very little you will find to be memorable. I had an okay time playing there, but by the time it was close to the end of our second round, I'd definitely had enough. I would say it's a good course if you're in the area or want a quick, stress-free round. There's just nothing remarkable or particularly interesting about this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    8/16/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: theseus414
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's close to my house.
Cons: Rush hour traffic makes getting there just 2 clicks from impossible, and once you do it is entirely to crowded. Going anytime in the afternoon results in an even split of playing and waiting to play while making fun of the tools who bring a bag full of discs to play this simple course. Also they have rent-a-cops driving around just so they can tell us not to smoke cigarettes, now that is outrageous.
Other Thoughts: It's close, and the players here are way nicer than the spoiled punks who play at Adler. I hate Libertyville people.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I was hoping for better

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A large hill on the first three holes makes it interesting. No hazards. A couple distance shots (1 and 8). Very easy to navigate. Good signs for each hole.
Cons: EXTREMELY CROWDED. Most holes are very short (under '240) and open, and thus boring. You might lose your disc in the big woods the course plays around.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I would have given it a better score if it wasn's SO CROWDED. I played at about 5:00 PM on a monday. There were only a few holes that interested me, including hole 9 which is a cool one to look forward to when you go play there. I stand by my 2.5 rating because it is definitely somewhere between ok and good, but probably closer to ok. Within 10 miles there are 3 courses I would much rater play, Keller, Fink, and Adler park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.