Buffalo Grove, IL 
Willow Stream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Crowded Beginner 9 Bagger

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Willow Stream is a located in the center of a nice park. It has mild rolling terrain on the first 3 holes and the rest is flat as a pancake. There are a few scattered trees and very little rough comes into play.

The tee pads are absolutely HUGE! I have never seen bigger concrete tee pads. You can park an RV on these bad boys.

The baskets are in good shape.

There are adequate tee signs on every hole.

There is a decent variety of distances on this course. 1 hole-under 200ft. 5 holes -200ft-300ft. 2 holes 400ft+

Excellent beginner course. Very few obstacles. and easy to navigate. Very difficult to lose a disc.
Cons: This course is super popular and very busy. Be prepared to wait. On top of that there is a super busy walking path that comes into play.

It's a very wide open course with very few obstacles.

Moving a few baskets into the woods or farther back behind obstacles could add some much needed difficulty and variety to this course. Those holes included 2, 3, 4, 6, & 7.

This course will be very repetitive in shot selection. I throw a right hyzer on 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, & 9.
Other Thoughts: If you play on/over the walking path out of bounds you can add a little difficulty to this course.

There is a nice pool right next to the park. It has a pretty sweet water slide. Twin Creeks Park is right up the street and is another great beginner course.

Might sound crazy but I know a player who threw and Epic thumber on hole #8 for an Ace. Absolutely sick hole in 1.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Ace game

5+    6/27/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My favorite thing about this course is its location in a very nice park with lots more besides disc golf. There are baseball fields, soccer fields, a community pool, basketball courts, a bike/walking path, and a playground. Because Willow Stream Park has so many nice features, it is very well maintained. Signs and tees are great! In fact, the tees are bigger than any I've ever played on before.

There is decent challenge in distance on two of the holes with hole 1 being 390' uphill and hole 8 being roughly 420'

The trees on this course force newer righ hand backhanded throwers to work on straight shots or anheisers.
Cons: Because it is such a nice park, Willow Stream often attracts quite a lot of people, and unfortunately the bike path of the park goes through many of the course's holes. Makes for a slow 9 holes.

Although some of the distances are challenging, I remember coming to Willow Stream as a new disc golfer and finding the distances of the shorter holes too short even then.
Other Thoughts: If you live in within 5 miles of Willow Stream, there aren't a lot of good courses to be played. As a resident of Palatine, I often choose to go to Willow Stream over my home course because it is a more enjoyable experience. A sidenote:

*The course has a random doubles league that plays on Monday nights at 6:00. They use alternate tees and therefore, on these nights, the course becomes very congested.

*Wind is of medium strength

*New waterslide to the left of hole 9 is a recipe for disaster... be sure to throw your discs safely away from it! (as if you wouldnt be able to determine that when you actually go)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/23/2010   4/5/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 668  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Willow Stream is one of the many nine hole courses that dot the Chicagoland area and it shares many features with the stereotypical area course: mostly open, fairly easy, and good for newer players. The course does have a few nice features such as elevation on a few holes - We're not talking ski-hills here and the majority of the park is pretty flat even by midwest standards, however, the designers have done a nice job incorporating what elevation murmurs there are. Hole three is probably the most interesting in this respect because it not only has a nice downhill pitch to it but it also has a pretty view.
Cons: Challenge: The course pictures tell most of the 'con' story here, this place is wiiiide open. Rarely will the player getting ready to tee have to consider anything more than what disc will be appropriate for the distance of the shot and what the wind is doing. After that, throw a hyzer, turnover, roller, whatever really - there isn't anything but air out there unless you really shank one!

Busy: Other reviewers have commented on the course being crowded with disc golfers, I have not experienced this (having only played in late fall/winter) but I have encountered many non-disc golf users while playing because the fairways are so close to other activities. Keep a heads up especially near the walking and biking paths so that you aren't shooting when someone is biking or running towards you.
Other Thoughts: Amongst the ocean of nine hole courses in the Chicagoland area, Willow Stream is a relatively little fish. There aren't many aspects of challenge here and the replayability of the course is very low. Newer players will likely enjoy the course because of the openness and low liklihood of losing discs but experienced players will be disappointed by the lack of challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Crowded beginner-friendly 9 holer

5+    11/27/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: Illinidiscgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -As a fairly basic course without too many hazards to watch out for and not incredibly long this is a good course for beginners to learn the game on.
-Giant cement teepads are in great condition (almost unnecessarily big).
-Elevation on first 3 holes adds some difficulty (1 is a long uphill shot, 2 has a reservoir-like area to the right, and 3 is a short downhill shot around a decent sized tree in the center that I like)
-Being more on the open side versus wooded, good winter golf location and nearly impossible to lose a disc on.
-Decent baskets and signage.
-Ample parking, and course loops around right back to hole 1/parking lot (easy navigation)
-Port-o-potties present
Cons: While this is one of the courses I learned on and play the most often due to location, the negatives pile up. I want to rate it higher and I do enjoy getting some rounds in here, just cannot rate it higher for the following reasons.

-My biggest gripe is due to the beginner-friendly nature of this course. The course gets CROWDED (sometimes you have to wait for 4 groups til you can tee off and pace can be slow). Highschoolers and beginners flood the course, which I wouldn't mind because I want the game to spread, but groups of 8 who are slow and have no etiquette annoy me.
-Course is short and overall boring. Holes 1 and 8 are really the only holes where big arms can let it rip. I don't mind short courses if they're technical, but this course is on the boring side and only uses the woods on the borders. It'd be nicer if they'd utilize the woods a little more with a few wooded tunnel shots.
-Safety-Bike path with oblivious bikers/runners crosses holes 4,5, and 7 in particular. How there have not been incidents similar to the recent problems at Lombard blows my mind. The soccer fields can pose some safety issues on holes 4 and 5 but nothing major in my opinion as long as you don't shank it to the left
-Layout does not force any good RHBH hyzer routes. Open holes you can throw whatever. Shorter/tighter holes favor a RHFH or RHBH anhyzer.
-Pool along hole 9 can have some annoying music sometime and can affect your shot if you shank it to the left.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent 9 hole course for beginners or to use as practice. Course is set in a multi-use community park that has tennis courts, soccer fields, baseball fields, running/bike path and pool. The course itself loops around some woods. As a RHFH thrower who relies on accuracy over distance, I like 6 and 7 which are short holes with a few trees to get around. Wind can be a factor at his course as well. While I still enjoy playing there it can get boring at times, but there's not many decent courses in this area, so it's better than nothing if you live nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A few minor changes would make a big difference

2-4    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 177  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great! cement teepads.
- Good tee signs
- Hole 1 and 9 are good holes.
- Well manicured
- Play when windy if you want it to be somewhat challenging
- Descent attempt to put in a course.
- Good for beginners
Cons: - SOCCER!!!!!!
- Too easy!
- I would say par is more realistically 48-50
- Needs better pin placement and a couple moves of the tee pads - see below
- There is way too much going on in this park. My guess would be morning to early afternoon weekdays would be best for playing
- The woods in the center of the course were not used at all
- Not a repeatable course, i will only play this once a year when the doubles tournament is held.
Other Thoughts: The designer of the course tried to put in a nice course, he really did (i think). There is alot of limitations to what could be put in, from walkers and bike riders on the path to the hordes of soccer families clueless as can be.
A intermediate player should easily shot a -4 to -8 first time through. Play it through twice and forget about it. Even when the wind is super strong its not much of a challenge.
Here is what i think could be done to make it a much better course:
-Move hole #2's basket to the other side of the ravine to the right just inside the treeline (obviously clear a green area.
- With #2's basket move you can bring #3's tee further back and to the left. Or leave #3's tee and make #4's basket the pin for #3.
- Take out #4
- move #6 tee pad much further back by the intersection of the bike path.
- With #4 gone now you add a wooded hole through those wonderful woods. Very easy to find discs
- #7 move the pin about 50-100' to the right and longer into the woods.
- **not necessary** Move #8's basket a little further closer to the pine trees
- **not necessary** #9 would be really sweet if the tee pad was about 50ft further back

Favorite hole #1 - Hole 1 is a bit deceiving. When you look at this 390ft uphill drive into a light patch of trees, you think your about to play a sweet course. Especially when you consider looking at hole #9 behind you. The basket on 1 is at the crest of the hill protected by 2 trees. There is a tree directly behind and to the right that acts as a backstop. The pine trees short and to the left will also catch shots, leaving a descent putt.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very fun course to play with friends, as you can play closest to the pin on nearly all the holes, while a few holes offer some difficult shots. The first 2 holes are well designed, but tricked me into believeing that this course would be worth playing. One or two holes you can air it out on, and this does add to the fun factor
Cons: Extremely easy, and many short holes. Confusing to find the first tee if you don't know where you are going. Not much diversity between holes. There are a lot of short holes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: chestdisc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Huge concrete tee pads
- Good signage
- Course is very easy to navigate
- Good distance variety
- Some decent elevation on holes 1-2.
- Baskets are numbered on top and are in good shape.
- Some mature trees as obstacles.

Cons: - Repetitive
- Younger players to the game seem to lack proper disc golf etiquette.
- Large groups crowd the area.
Other Thoughts: Park at the parking lot by hole 1 and 9 for less walking.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate Course

5+    5/17/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some elevation change on first 3 holes. 1st hole is 400'+ up a hill, which makes it tough to get a 2, or a 3 for some people (including me). Second hole slightly downhill, with a blind basket, and a depression to punish shots that go too far right. Third shot a short downhill shot.
- Two holes over 400' to satisfy the bigger arms
- Shorter holes still require some thought, only one has straight line to basket. Requires minor line shaping, nothing crazy.
- Excellent tee pads, signs, and baskets are OK too.
- Almost always windy, which helps add to the difficulty.
Cons: - Packed packed packed. Groups of 8 almost guaranteed. People are always on the walking path, at all times. Soccer spilloff, occasional cross country meet, there is always something to ruin an afternoon.
- People on the walking path probably know more about the game than most people with discs on this course.
- Watch your back on almost all teepads, even a good shot can seem to head towards the next tee. Especially true on Tees 2, 3, 5, 7, 8.
- Kids used to steal discs, but I think the recent removal of a big chunk of the forest has cut this down a bit.
Other Thoughts: This course is very Jekyll and Hyde. You can go on a windy day, and fight your way to make par. You can go on a calm day, and get 2's on all seven holes under 400'. Sometimes there is nobody there, sometimes there are 20 people waiting to tee off.

I want to rate this course higher, but the cons just pile up too quickly. If it was in the middle of nowhere, I think it would be better received. Whenever I am off of work at odd times, I always try to fit a round in when nobody is around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open 9 Holer

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huge concrete tee pads
- Good signage
- Course is very easy to navigate
- Good distance variety
- Some decent elevation on holes 1-2.
- Baskets are numbered on top and are in good shape.
- Some mature trees as obstacles.
- Strong winds (may be a con for some)
Cons: - Not very difficult.
- Some holes are repetitive (4,6,7)
- Multi -use park. Crowded with walkers, park district sports etc.
- Many younger players to the game seem to lack proper disc golf etiquette.
- Large groups (I have seen 8 before) back up the course.
- Strong winds (may be a pro for some)
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice 9 hole course. I consider this my home course and have played it many times. Often times the biggest challenge is the wind. It gets very frustrating to see your disc get up and "walk" in the wind for 20+ feet. If you come on a weeknight expect to wait on other golfers and other park users. Some park users seem to have no idea that it is a disc golf course. Also good to note on hole #7 that local league play has a mando to the left of the big tree over the path. League play also utilizes two sets of alternates that make the course a little more interesting. A local league guy can likely help you around the alternates.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner Cource

2-4    11/15/2009   1/31/2010
Review By: steven2361
Played: 231  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great big Concrete Tee Pads

Very Nice Signs

A few holes to break out the drivers (1,8)

Good distance variety 195'-420'

Very nice park

Some good elevation:
1: Big Uphill drive
2: Rolling hills with blind basket because land ultimately slopes down and steep trecherous green
3: Nice little downhill putter shot with many plants around basket

Easy to navigate

Great family course
Cons: Gets very crowded and backed up

Too many duece or die holes in between 190 and 300. Overall the course is not very chalenging at all for expirienced players.

4-9 are pretty much flat

Boring holes: 4,6,7

Some baskets and tees are too close together. 2tee is too near 1 basket, 2 basket way too near 3 tee (and its a blind shot over the hill so you cant even tell where they are), and so on...


Other Thoughts: A very nice 9 holer if you're in the area

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.