Buffalo Grove, IL 
Willow Stream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
5 / 400ft.   5 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Crowded beginner-friendly 9 holer

5+    11/27/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: Illinidiscgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -As a fairly basic course without too many hazards to watch out for and not incredibly long this is a good course for beginners to learn the game on.
-Giant cement teepads are in great condition (almost unnecessarily big).
-Elevation on first 3 holes adds some difficulty (1 is a long uphill shot, 2 has a reservoir-like area to the right, and 3 is a short downhill shot around a decent sized tree in the center that I like)
-Being more on the open side versus wooded, good winter golf location and nearly impossible to lose a disc on.
-Decent baskets and signage.
-Ample parking, and course loops around right back to hole 1/parking lot (easy navigation)
-Port-o-potties present
Cons: While this is one of the courses I learned on and play the most often due to location, the negatives pile up. I want to rate it higher and I do enjoy getting some rounds in here, just cannot rate it higher for the following reasons.

-My biggest gripe is due to the beginner-friendly nature of this course. The course gets CROWDED (sometimes you have to wait for 4 groups til you can tee off and pace can be slow). Highschoolers and beginners flood the course, which I wouldn't mind because I want the game to spread, but groups of 8 who are slow and have no etiquette annoy me.
-Course is short and overall boring. Holes 1 and 8 are really the only holes where big arms can let it rip. I don't mind short courses if they're technical, but this course is on the boring side and only uses the woods on the borders. It'd be nicer if they'd utilize the woods a little more with a few wooded tunnel shots.
-Safety-Bike path with oblivious bikers/runners crosses holes 4,5, and 7 in particular. How there have not been incidents similar to the recent problems at Lombard blows my mind. The soccer fields can pose some safety issues on holes 4 and 5 but nothing major in my opinion as long as you don't shank it to the left
-Layout does not force any good RHBH hyzer routes. Open holes you can throw whatever. Shorter/tighter holes favor a RHFH or RHBH anhyzer.
-Pool along hole 9 can have some annoying music sometime and can affect your shot if you shank it to the left.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent 9 hole course for beginners or to use as practice. Course is set in a multi-use community park that has tennis courts, soccer fields, baseball fields, running/bike path and pool. The course itself loops around some woods. As a RHFH thrower who relies on accuracy over distance, I like 6 and 7 which are short holes with a few trees to get around. Wind can be a factor at his course as well. While I still enjoy playing there it can get boring at times, but there's not many decent courses in this area, so it's better than nothing if you live nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A few minor changes would make a big difference

2-4    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great! cement teepads.
- Good tee signs
- Hole 1 and 9 are good holes.
- Well manicured
- Play when windy if you want it to be somewhat challenging
- Descent attempt to put in a course.
- Good for beginners
Cons: - SOCCER!!!!!!
- Too easy!
- I would say par is more realistically 48-50
- Needs better pin placement and a couple moves of the tee pads - see below
- There is way too much going on in this park. My guess would be morning to early afternoon weekdays would be best for playing
- The woods in the center of the course were not used at all
- Not a repeatable course, i will only play this once a year when the doubles tournament is held.
Other Thoughts: The designer of the course tried to put in a nice course, he really did (i think). There is alot of limitations to what could be put in, from walkers and bike riders on the path to the hordes of soccer families clueless as can be.
A intermediate player should easily shot a -4 to -8 first time through. Play it through twice and forget about it. Even when the wind is super strong its not much of a challenge.
Here is what i think could be done to make it a much better course:
-Move hole #2's basket to the other side of the ravine to the right just inside the treeline (obviously clear a green area.
- With #2's basket move you can bring #3's tee further back and to the left. Or leave #3's tee and make #4's basket the pin for #3.
- Take out #4
- move #6 tee pad much further back by the intersection of the bike path.
- With #4 gone now you add a wooded hole through those wonderful woods. Very easy to find discs
- #7 move the pin about 50-100' to the right and longer into the woods.
- **not necessary** Move #8's basket a little further closer to the pine trees
- **not necessary** #9 would be really sweet if the tee pad was about 50ft further back

Favorite hole #1 - Hole 1 is a bit deceiving. When you look at this 390ft uphill drive into a light patch of trees, you think your about to play a sweet course. Especially when you consider looking at hole #9 behind you. The basket on 1 is at the crest of the hill protected by 2 trees. There is a tree directly behind and to the right that acts as a backstop. The pine trees short and to the left will also catch shots, leaving a descent putt.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very fun course to play with friends, as you can play closest to the pin on nearly all the holes, while a few holes offer some difficult shots. The first 2 holes are well designed, but tricked me into believeing that this course would be worth playing. One or two holes you can air it out on, and this does add to the fun factor
Cons: Extremely easy, and many short holes. Confusing to find the first tee if you don't know where you are going. Not much diversity between holes. There are a lot of short holes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: chestdisc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Huge concrete tee pads
- Good signage
- Course is very easy to navigate
- Good distance variety
- Some decent elevation on holes 1-2.
- Baskets are numbered on top and are in good shape.
- Some mature trees as obstacles.

Cons: - Repetitive
- Younger players to the game seem to lack proper disc golf etiquette.
- Large groups crowd the area.
Other Thoughts: Park at the parking lot by hole 1 and 9 for less walking.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate Course

5+    5/17/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some elevation change on first 3 holes. 1st hole is 400'+ up a hill, which makes it tough to get a 2, or a 3 for some people (including me). Second hole slightly downhill, with a blind basket, and a depression to punish shots that go too far right. Third shot a short downhill shot.
- Two holes over 400' to satisfy the bigger arms
- Shorter holes still require some thought, only one has straight line to basket. Requires minor line shaping, nothing crazy.
- Excellent tee pads, signs, and baskets are OK too.
- Almost always windy, which helps add to the difficulty.
Cons: - Packed packed packed. Groups of 8 almost guaranteed. People are always on the walking path, at all times. Soccer spilloff, occasional cross country meet, there is always something to ruin an afternoon.
- People on the walking path probably know more about the game than most people with discs on this course.
- Watch your back on almost all teepads, even a good shot can seem to head towards the next tee. Especially true on Tees 2, 3, 5, 7, 8.
- Kids used to steal discs, but I think the recent removal of a big chunk of the forest has cut this down a bit.
Other Thoughts: This course is very Jekyll and Hyde. You can go on a windy day, and fight your way to make par. You can go on a calm day, and get 2's on all seven holes under 400'. Sometimes there is nobody there, sometimes there are 20 people waiting to tee off.

I want to rate this course higher, but the cons just pile up too quickly. If it was in the middle of nowhere, I think it would be better received. Whenever I am off of work at odd times, I always try to fit a round in when nobody is around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open 9 Holer

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huge concrete tee pads
- Good signage
- Course is very easy to navigate
- Good distance variety
- Some decent elevation on holes 1-2.
- Baskets are numbered on top and are in good shape.
- Some mature trees as obstacles.
- Strong winds (may be a con for some)
Cons: - Not very difficult.
- Some holes are repetitive (4,6,7)
- Multi -use park. Crowded with walkers, park district sports etc.
- Many younger players to the game seem to lack proper disc golf etiquette.
- Large groups (I have seen 8 before) back up the course.
- Strong winds (may be a pro for some)
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice 9 hole course. I consider this my home course and have played it many times. Often times the biggest challenge is the wind. It gets very frustrating to see your disc get up and "walk" in the wind for 20+ feet. If you come on a weeknight expect to wait on other golfers and other park users. Some park users seem to have no idea that it is a disc golf course. Also good to note on hole #7 that local league play has a mando to the left of the big tree over the path. League play also utilizes two sets of alternates that make the course a little more interesting. A local league guy can likely help you around the alternates.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner Cource

2-4    11/15/2009   1/31/2010
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great big Concrete Tee Pads

Very Nice Signs

A few holes to break out the drivers (1,8)

Good distance variety 195'-420'

Very nice park

Some good elevation:
1: Big Uphill drive
2: Rolling hills with blind basket because land ultimately slopes down and steep trecherous green
3: Nice little downhill putter shot with many plants around basket

Easy to navigate

Great family course
Cons: Gets very crowded and backed up

Too many duece or die holes in between 190 and 300. Overall the course is not very chalenging at all for expirienced players.

4-9 are pretty much flat

Boring holes: 4,6,7

Some baskets and tees are too close together. 2tee is too near 1 basket, 2 basket way too near 3 tee (and its a blind shot over the hill so you cant even tell where they are), and so on...


Other Thoughts: A very nice 9 holer if you're in the area

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5+    8/20/2008   1/11/2010
Review By: Papa T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like i said in the title, this course is great for beginners. The holes are relatively short, making it ideal for practicing short/approach style shots.

Tee Pads and Baskets are in great shape. And the landscaping is very well kept.
Cons: Only nine holes, and quite short. The course encircles a small "forest". This makes just about every hole look the same. Right forehanders or left backhanders would have a very easy time.

There are little to no real obstacles, other than the "forest" if control is lossed on the throw.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to all players who are looking to improve their short game. The course is set in a beautiful park right in the heart of the town.

The problem with this area is that there just aren't all that many quality courses. I have played this more than a few times because, when I lived in the area, it was the best course around, atleast to my knowledge.

Its not challenging, but its great for whats available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/24/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: rosh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy going course, few hazards, easy to navigate with the worlds largest tee pads. Decent mix of hold lengths.
Cons: Not challenging, can be slow going on Friday and Saturday evenings when there is tendency for large groups to play together who are relatively clueless
Other Thoughts: This is my 'home course' and I play it quite frequently since it is just a mile from my house. You can play two rounds of 9 in about 45 minutes, so works well for a quick round after work. The paths others have talked about are rarely a big issue, most rounds I rarely have to stop play to wait for pedestrians to get walk by. Bigger issue is large slow moving groups, but you typically only see those in the very late afternoon. Often the are oblivious and won't give you an opportunity to pass (so, if playing in afternoons, plan to play multiple discs on each hole). Mornings on weekends and during most days the course is quite empty. A couple of times a year on weekends they close off part of the course due to soccer tournaments.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Average 9 holer

1    8/16/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads (ridiculous how big they are!!!!) I played with Doktor John and I agree with his assessment "There must have been a sale on concrete!!!!!"

2) Nice park with lots of other activities and plenty of room. A pool and athletic fields, basketball and other activities including a lot of walkable sidewalks.

3) Nice changes in distance. Ranges from 195' to 420'. It is nice to see a course vary their distances so much allowing for different discs to be thrown.

4) Course is very beginner friendly because it is open with almost no place to lose a disc.

5) Gravel around the baskets help mark your target and also keeps the dirt down from compaction.

6) Although there isn;t a lot of elevation changes it does use the hills as well as it can. #1 goes up the hill, #2 goes up and over the crest of a hill. #3 goes back downhill slightly to a protected basket.

7) Nice tee signs with maps and distances.
Cons: 1) Course doesn;t incorporate the wooded area that the course runs completely around. I would like to have seen a hole or two through the woods maybe instead of all 9 out in the open (for the most part)

2) Walk path comes into play too often, there seems to be enough room in the park to have altered the course to avoid the paths or vice versa. If it is crowded with other people doing other things I can imagine it taking a long time to play a round. I was there early so we didn;t have to wait more than 1-2 times and only briefly.

3) Fairly simple boring holes. Not enough obstacles used and no other course features like wooded holes, water, elevation, etc. etc. etc.

4) Missing the one great hole to make it a course to keep people coming back. #9 is the best hole with the large trees on the left and the woods on the right. Skip one off the path for a birdie opportunity, but it just isn't a hole or course that says come back and play me again. I would play it again but only because I am hooked but I wouldnt go out of my way for this course alone.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad 9 holer, but the park seems like it could have been better used for disc golf to incorporate the wooded area and avoid the walk paths on some of the other holes. It is beginner friendly which is always a positive. There isn;t a lot of elevation chainge and no water in play (except maybe in spring on the right of #1 and #2) Not sure if that low area holds water or simply is a low area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center