Buffalo Grove, IL 
Willow Stream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great for Beginners

5+    8/20/2008   1/11/2010
Review By: Papa T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like i said in the title, this course is great for beginners. The holes are relatively short, making it ideal for practicing short/approach style shots.

Tee Pads and Baskets are in great shape. And the landscaping is very well kept.
Cons: Only nine holes, and quite short. The course encircles a small "forest". This makes just about every hole look the same. Right forehanders or left backhanders would have a very easy time.

There are little to no real obstacles, other than the "forest" if control is lossed on the throw.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to all players who are looking to improve their short game. The course is set in a beautiful park right in the heart of the town.

The problem with this area is that there just aren't all that many quality courses. I have played this more than a few times because, when I lived in the area, it was the best course around, atleast to my knowledge.

Its not challenging, but its great for whats available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

5+    7/4/2015   9/24/2009
Review By: rosh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/5/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy going course, few hazards, easy to navigate with the worlds largest tee pads. Decent mix of hole lengths, but only a couple that are even remotely long.
Cons: Not challenging, can be slow going on Friday and Saturday evenings when there is tendency for large groups to play together who are relatively clueless
Other Thoughts: The course has gone through some significant changes. Spring 2015 they re-worked the course and some things are better, some worse. Holes 1 to 3 are the same, but 4 and 5 are totally new, and probably adds a little length over the previous 4 and 5. The path than ran near 6 to 8 has been moved, and is no longer a concern. 8 has changed twice in the last few weeks, but the last change was to give it back most of the length it originally had. 9 is a new hole, which is too bad, since the old 9 was one of the few challenging holes as far as trees, but now that area is a parking lot. 9 has also changed twice in the last few weeks, since the first time they seemed to set it up backwards, and have now flipped tee pad and basket.

This is my 'home course' and I play it quite frequently since it is just a mile from my house. You can play two rounds of 9 in about 45 minutes, so works well for a quick round after work. The paths others have talked about are rarely a big issue, most rounds I rarely have to stop play to wait for pedestrians to get walk by. Bigger issue is large slow moving groups, but you typically only see those in the very late afternoon. Often the are oblivious and won't give you an opportunity to pass (so, if playing in afternoons, plan to play multiple discs on each hole). Mornings on weekends and during most days the course is quite empty. A couple of times a year on weekends they close off part of the course due to soccer tournaments.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Average 9 holer

1    8/16/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 902  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads (ridiculous how big they are!!!!) I played with Doktor John and I agree with his assessment "There must have been a sale on concrete!!!!!"

2) Nice park with lots of other activities and plenty of room. A pool and athletic fields, basketball and other activities including a lot of walkable sidewalks.

3) Nice changes in distance. Ranges from 195' to 420'. It is nice to see a course vary their distances so much allowing for different discs to be thrown.

4) Course is very beginner friendly because it is open with almost no place to lose a disc.

5) Gravel around the baskets help mark your target and also keeps the dirt down from compaction.

6) Although there isn;t a lot of elevation changes it does use the hills as well as it can. #1 goes up the hill, #2 goes up and over the crest of a hill. #3 goes back downhill slightly to a protected basket.

7) Nice tee signs with maps and distances.
Cons: 1) Course doesn;t incorporate the wooded area that the course runs completely around. I would like to have seen a hole or two through the woods maybe instead of all 9 out in the open (for the most part)

2) Walk path comes into play too often, there seems to be enough room in the park to have altered the course to avoid the paths or vice versa. If it is crowded with other people doing other things I can imagine it taking a long time to play a round. I was there early so we didn;t have to wait more than 1-2 times and only briefly.

3) Fairly simple boring holes. Not enough obstacles used and no other course features like wooded holes, water, elevation, etc. etc. etc.

4) Missing the one great hole to make it a course to keep people coming back. #9 is the best hole with the large trees on the left and the woods on the right. Skip one off the path for a birdie opportunity, but it just isn't a hole or course that says come back and play me again. I would play it again but only because I am hooked but I wouldnt go out of my way for this course alone.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad 9 holer, but the park seems like it could have been better used for disc golf to incorporate the wooded area and avoid the walk paths on some of the other holes. It is beginner friendly which is always a positive. There isn;t a lot of elevation chainge and no water in play (except maybe in spring on the right of #1 and #2) Not sure if that low area holds water or simply is a low area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for casual/new players, not for those who love the sport.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 247  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple long holes on 1 and 8 (400+). Decent shots required on 2,5 and 9 to make birdies. Cement tees are HUGE! Baskets are decent.
Cons: Very boring course. Wide open. Really short simple holes on 3,4,6,7 which are barely worth playing. This course will not work your game if you love the sport and are looking to improve. Course gets a ton of play from casual players which makes for alot of back-ups. Park also gets a ton of usage with its many other facilities, so watch out for pedestrians!
Other Thoughts: Park is so heavily used that there isn't alot that can realistically be done to make this a fun course. It is what it is, a boring 9 holer. If you need a place to play in Buffalo Grove, there aren't any better options available.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flowing Practice Course

2-4    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice flowing 9-hole course that serves either as a practice course for experienced player or good introductory course for beginners. It runs along a park and is really well maintained. Concrete tees and great baskets that are easily spotted. Really easy to navigate around the course.

Hole 1 and 8 are the longest holes and great for the strong drivers. The rest are easily approached. Hole 9 is probably the most "difficult" hole on the course with it being behind some trees. Hole 3 is also a great ACE opportunity since it is short and downhill.
Cons: No real sense of DG etiquette here. People will just hang around a basket after they're done totally oblivious to the fact there are other people playing. Hole 9 is usually used as a practice basket by people waiting for Hole 1. I've ran into groups of 8 people which is just too much.

Other park-goers will usually be around and sometime they don't realize what you will be doing until you yell FORE. Don't expect a true challenge with the trees serving as the "obstacles," it is easy to beat it.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to get here early or you'll end up waiting on this course behind people with no sense of the game. This is a great course to bring somebody who is still new but improving on their game. If you're in the area and got some time to kill, check this course out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Timing is everything

5+    7/29/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good medium distance holes. Well maintained. Flows well. Tee signs. Elevation changes on 1, 2, 3. Runs along woods on 4, 5, 6, 7. Nice long challenge on 8. Tree challenges on 1, 3, 9. This is a busy park with a lot to do. The course does not overlap or cross ball fields, soccer pitches, etc. Nice. 8 is getting shorter as my arm is getting bigger... same can be said for 5. Update. I have now aced 3... so it is a bit special for me. have come close a few more times as well. With more experience this course now feels quite a bit shorter. Park is generally clean with little trash. A few garbage cans on a few holes are good to have and well used by locals.
Cons: At times too crowded with teens just goofing off. I might just be jealous that I am beyond being a teen and being able to just goof off, but it makes for less fun at times. 7 can be a bit buggy in summer 'cuz nearer the woods. *8could be better if the basket were moved over by the pines. 5 could be nice with an alt basket placement more annie to the right.
Other Thoughts: The basket for 9 and the tee for 1 are on top of each other as are the basket for 2 and the tee for 3. Eyes open and aware and courteous helps. I got hit by a strong drive to basket 9 while waiting to tee off on 1. Overall a good longer course than over at twin Creeks... but both are good. Recent pool improvements has had trees removed and landscaping improved on 9. 1 less big tree and 9 is an even better hole as it has a clear tree tunnel if you can fling one SUPER straight.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

5+    6/11/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in one part of a large park with some hills, and a central wooded area that provides a nice rough along 6 of the holes. Most of the holes have some scattered trees on the fairway or protecting the pin. There is some nice elevation on the first three holes for the Chicago area, adding a different dimension than many other area courses.

The holes are a nice mix of lengths, from under 200' to over 400'. The trees in play define some differently shaped fairways, that encourage a variety of different shots to score well. The holes range from ace runs to longer or more technical holes, and offer more challenge than any other of the mediocre 9 holers around.

The amenities of the course are very nice. There are excellent large concrete pads on all holes that are in perfect shape. There are nice tee signs on all holes with accurate hole maps and distances that make the course very easy to navigate.
Cons: The course tends to be crowded on weekends and in the evening. In the summer if you play at a busy time, expect to wait on nearly every hole, and wait a while at the beginning of each round.

A significant number of the players are young and/or inexperienced, and so there is a serious lack of education on proper course etiquette, and no real desire to learn it. Along with this, a walking path is in play on 7 of the 9 holes, and only about half of the other park users seem to have any idea that they are also on a disc golf course. This slows play down even more, as you'll end up waiting for walkers and joggers to clear the fairway.

Right now, basket 7 is missing the basket, though the pole and chains are still there. You can still tell when a putt would have probably gone in, so it's not a huge deal.

Update: The basket is back, now all 9 are in good shape and playable.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9 hole courses in the area, and is slightly more interesting and challenging than the rest. For me, this is overshadowed by how long a round takes with so many new players, and so much overlap with other park users.

If you can play this park during the day on a weekday, it's a fun little course. Otherwise it's not worth driving out of your way to spend a lot of time waiting.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trip to the Grove

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easygoing, nice spread of holes, if you're good you can impress the newbies, their oos and ahs will make you feel like a pro
Cons: Way too crowded, and it's not uncommon to run into big groups (5-8 ppl)
Other Thoughts: You might as well bring a lawn chair if you arrive in the afternoon, it's gonna be a long wait

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Same old same old

5+    5/2/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course to work on wide open shots. pretty short course but gets the job done. very slight elevation change.
Cons: can get very crowded simply because there is not many courses close by. wraps around a very small wooded patch and your done.
Other Thoughts: wind can make things a little interesting on windy days but thats goes without saying.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

5+    9/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2009
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(If you play the sidewalk and beyond as OB on 7 & 9 there is a little punishment on this course. Other than that, a horrible shot is not punished any worse than an OK shot. For this reason this course is below average - a grade of C- is generous in my mind.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(1 & 8 are too long where I have no realistic chance at a 2 and tap-in 3's are routine. 5 & 9 (and 2 somewhat) are rewarding. The rest are too short to be anything but gimme 2's. 2.5 holes out of 9 that are rewarding score-wise does not make for a high fun factor in my book.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
(Hole 9 is the only hole that really forces you to shape your shot one way or another with any challenge factor at all. There are other holes that you have to bend your shot, but with no specificity.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The park is clean and well maintained. Nice mowed grass and litter free. Seclusion is zilch as you are in sight and earshot of houses the entire round with the exception of hole 3.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center