North Bend, OR 
Winsor Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #1
-- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 winsor

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only disc golf is played at this park. Can have friendly dogs. Baskets at holes. Cement tees in most cases. Course is pretty clean.
Cons: LACK OF DIRECTIONS AND TEE #s. It would be great if the course could get a few signs out there for visitors and others. It is a fun course but I end up playing every hole differently each round due to lack of knowing the course. Road noise, right on Hwy.
Other Thoughts: PLEASE PLEASE Make the park more user friendly with signs. Everyone loves the game.It would be great if the newer users could get to enjoy its full potential with some signs. I heard word there is a newer ,bigger course at the North Bend or Coos Bay airport. Check with the local club for an update.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My thoughts

5+    10/5/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has 9 baskets with 2 teepads per hole. Pads are nice, not a lot of slipage. Is a good layout with the little room to work with. Looks nice for being right beside the highway running right beside it.
Cons: Extremely short holes, mostly putter it. Good chance for aces with good aim. A hole (5?) needs a spotter as i lost a disc because i overshot it...
The teepad layout was kinda confusing playing the back 9 for me, ended up calling it a 9 hole day
Other Thoughts: Since playing for a year and learning a lot since i played here it was very short and not as challenging as i remember. It is nice but mingus is a much better course but not as played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 -

5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in decent shape
-Concrete tee-pads
-Course flow is decent
-Tee signs are clear enough
-Fairways defined and maintained
-Very fair for lefty vs. righty
-Local events available to participate in
-Locals are friendly and take care of the course well
-Some interesting tee shots in the back few holes.
-Great course to introduce the sport to a new player
-Dual tees per basket mock an 18 hole course
Cons:
-Very short overall. Most holes are around 200' (there is one that is 85'!)
-Tee pads are not all level, and are not of unifomr size. (I guess you don't need much for a 85' hole though?!)
-Tons of mosquitoes during spring / early-mid summer
-Kind of boring after the first couple rounds
-Underbrush can get pretty thick on a few holes
-No restrooms
-No water
Other Thoughts:
Coos Bay / North Bend have only got two courses between them. I personally think that Mingus is a much better course with wonderful elevation and better tee-shots. However, Windsor is very easy to play, requires no hiking, and is great for a 20 minute round, or for taking family, friends, and children out for their first time.

The course is not challenging at all for experienced players, and as I stated above, can be pretty boring after the initial few rounds. The main thing that Windsor has going for it is that along with Mingus, there are no other courses within an hour and a half.

If you're passing through Coos Bay, it's a quick enjoyable round of golf.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.